Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 19, 2019
    88
    Islanders is a uniquely-designed city builder that offers a relaxed experience even if you only have ten minutes to spare.
  2. Apr 27, 2019
    84
    GrizzlyGames offers a vision of city building with Islanders as rarely seen before. Forget the management of the population, the economy and all the cumbersome settings, the game starts with the bare minimum to travel and appeals to your optimization skills. Building a city has rarely been so pretty and satisfying, and you'll probably end up your games thinking "Come on, I can do better". We will simply regret the music being a little too repetitive.
  3. Edge Magazine
    May 23, 2019
    80
    Modest and ingenious and smartly priced, Islanders is as engaging to tinker with as a palate cleanser between bigger games as to take seriously in pursuit of a high score - wonky mansions and all. [Issue#333, p.120]
  4. 80
    ISLANDERS is great, especially for the extremely low price tag. At times it may feel a little simplistic, but I can see this being a great title to come back to whenever you have a few minutes to spare.
  5. Apr 9, 2019
    80
    Islanders is simple and straight-forward but still manages to make each of its city-building runs engrossing with a high-score to chase and procedurally-generated spaces to explore. It's the charming visuals and meditative soundtrack that make your brief stays worth it, enrapturing you in a relaxing aesthetic as you try to survive as long as you can.
  6. Apr 8, 2019
    80
    Islanders is a relaxing little builder more concerned with letting you get right to making the town than bogging you down with the details. There’s a learning curve, of course, but it’s a gentle one that lets you pick up the details at your own speed without feeling like it’s a failure when you can no longer advance.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Apr 5, 2019
    After gunning down enemies or carefully aligning resources in a survival title, sometimes my brain needs a little help winding down. Islanders is perfect for that; it’s a breath of fresh air in my game rotation.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jul 19, 2020
    8
    Not much to do and the game pretty much repeats itself. And still I keep getting back to it because it's so relaxing!
  2. Mar 10, 2020
    8
    I greatly enjoy playing Civilization VI and one day I realized that one of my favorite aspects is nailing absolutely gargantuan adjacencyI greatly enjoy playing Civilization VI and one day I realized that one of my favorite aspects is nailing absolutely gargantuan adjacency bonuses for my districts. Islanders is boiled down to just that, which I like a lot. If you like seeing big numbers, puzzles games, or just want to relax, consider picking up Islanders.

    I wish that there was a bit more and it's unfortunate that it's not being worked anymore as far as I know, but for it's price, it's not bad. I would have liked more variety in buildings (like a wool and milk industry with sheep or something) and a versus mode where you and someone else take turns placing buildings on identical islands.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 8, 2020
    8
    Score 8: Eine sehr entspannende Punktejagd (Denn das sollte man vor dem Kauf wissen: Das ist das Ziel des Spiels). Man setzt unterschiedlicheScore 8: Eine sehr entspannende Punktejagd (Denn das sollte man vor dem Kauf wissen: Das ist das Ziel des Spiels). Man setzt unterschiedliche Gebäude auf einer Insel, um mehr Punkte und mehr Gebäude zu bekommen. Das Design des Spiels ist einfach, aber gelungen und das Gameplay ist gut dafür, hin und wieder eine Runde zu spielen. Full Review »