Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Feb 9, 2021
    100
    A perfect sequel. Expanding on what worked last time, improving what did not work, adding ideas that were missing, and taking the story to places we have never seen before. As a fan of Little Nightmares, you could not ask for more.
  2. Feb 9, 2021
    100
    A fantastic sequel soaked in atmosphere and tension. Little Nightmares II surpasses its predecessor far beyond what anyone would have expected. An outstanding finale which stretches from the finale boss fight from the closing credits will have fans desperate for a third installment.
  3. Feb 18, 2021
    91
    Little Nightmares II is a wonderful follow-up to the original, and manages to feel similar yet unique. The world-building is amazing, the puzzles are simple but fun, the story is intriguing, everything adds up to a really great experience. Tarsier Studios has outdone themselves with Little Nightmares II, and I cannot wait to see what they have in store for us next.
  4. Feb 10, 2021
    91
    Little Nightmares II is a masterclass in suspense and audio design that feeds on your childhood fears. This unsettling mix of whimsy and the macabre will urge you to push past your fears and a few frustrating mechanics in order to discover the secrets hidden in its grotesque world.
  5. Feb 27, 2021
    90
    As with its predecessor, Little Nightmares II is an extraordinarily strong game experience. Apart from its decent gameplay mechanics, it successfully emphasizes into creating an eerie atmosphere and depicting images that are hard to forget.
  6. Feb 22, 2021
    90
    A thrilling ride through the gentle and the macabre. Little Nightmares II is carefully packaged with a heartrending punch, tender flashes and bitter twists – all the while expanding on the already captivating mythos of the series.
  7. Feb 16, 2021
    90
    Little Nightmares II excels at creating a creepy atmosphere through its twisted nightmare dreamscape. You’ll feel compelled to keep pushing forward, as much to help Mono escape from this world as to discover the mystery behind the Signal Tower. Death awaits around every corner, but I felt that each death was a learning experience more than it was a source of frustration. After each one, I learned a little something, be it when to swing a pipe, where to make a jump, what to avoid knocking over, or that loose floorboards are probably a trigger for a trap. And with each death I picked myself up and pushed further on, because I had to see how this nightmare ended.
  8. Feb 9, 2021
    90
    A refined study in creepiness, Little Nightmares II is the first game of 2021 that I have recommended to all with any interest in video games. It is a gripping adventure that soars beyond its predecessor and raises the dark fairy tale to new heights.
  9. Feb 9, 2021
    90
    Little Nightmares 2 is bigger and better than the original, offering up a larger world to explore and all-new enemies waiting to devour you. In short, Little Nightmares 2 is a must-have if you are a fan of the first game or similar platformers like Limbo or Inside. It's creepy and gorgeous, and it flexes the puzzle-solving areas of your brain. It isn't perfect, but it is one of the best in the genre.
  10. I expected something scary, but the impeccable sound design, terrifying enemy encounters and clever puzzles make it worth revisiting, even after completion.
  11. Feb 9, 2021
    90
    Little Nightmares II is easily going to be one of the best games of 2021. Its horror themes weigh on the player throughout the entirety of the adventure to a climax that will leave you breathless. Pacing through the various puzzles creates a nice balance of linear game design and subtle exploration. It's a game that anyone can get through if they can stand to be scared a little, but the trial-and-error approach makes it an easy recommendation to gamers of all skill levels.
  12. Feb 9, 2021
    90
    Little Nightmares 2 is an enthralling, nerve-racking journey into madness. And it's all thanks to the terrifying imaginations of the people over at Tarsier Studios: a group of developers who seem dead set on giving us all childhood trauma even as grown-ass adults.
  13. Feb 9, 2021
    88
    Little Nightmares 2 is a fantastic sequel that greatly improves everything done by Tarsier Studios during the first game. With a creepy atmosphere and an excellent level design, this is a game that definitely deserves your attention.
  14. Feb 9, 2021
    86
    Little Nightmares 2 continues the adventure of this nightmare in a unique way, managing to exceed your expectations by introducing different novelties, although it was expected with a longer duration.
  15. Feb 9, 2021
    86
    Little Nightmares II is a gem of a game that successfully builds on everything that made the first one great. It's a short but well-polished and atmospheric horror-platformer that oozes with creepy charm. While its core physics-based platformer gameplay hasn't seen many radical changes, the setting, storytelling, and world-building alone make it worth experiencing. If you're a fan of the first entry or the likes of Limbo or Inside, LM2 is well worth the adventure … if you dare.
  16. Managing to go beyond the first game, Little Nightmares 2 successfully makes you feel like you are a weak character in a twisted world.
  17. Feb 9, 2021
    85
    Little Nightmares II honors its predecessor by taking up the basic concepts convincingly, while bringing some new features — such as NPCs helping you and melee combat. Even if the controllability isn't flawless and some technical imperfections remain, this doesn't take away from the high level of the game's artistic direction. The soundtrack alone manage to create a gloomy and uncomfortable atmosphere, all within a wide variety of environments — and some iconic enemies.
  18. Feb 9, 2021
    85
    Whether you're a seasoned survivor or an all-new player, you'll have a thrilling time with the sequel. It's ideal to start from the beginning, but it's not mandatory – this freaky story stands on its own.
  19. Feb 9, 2021
    85
    Not only does Little Nightmares 2 live up to its name, but it also improves on nearly every aspect of the first game. Players may run into a few frustrating hiccups along the way, but exploring this horrific world with Mono and Six is immensely satisfying. At the end of the day, I'd recommend this one to any fan of surreal horror stories with emotional twists, though you might have trouble sleeping when it's all said and done.
  20. Feb 9, 2021
    84
    Little Nightmares II is wonderful, captivating, creepy, and unsettling in equal measure - tapping into childhood fear and horror in a way that feels both deeply personal and like a distant, unknown memory.
  21. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    Little Nightmares II is a well-designed sequel that proves the developers have listened to opinions of gamers. It's not revolutionary in any way, but it eliminates the biggest flaws of the previous game, accentuates its advantages, and offers more content.
  22. PC Games
    Feb 9, 2021
    80
    Little Nightmares 2 is a really well done game, and once we're done typing this test, we'll keep our fingers crossed for a third part.
  23. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    Despite a couple of hurdles, Little Nightmares II remains true to the eerie, terrifying foundation built by its predecessor. It can't completely avoid comparison, but its expanded world and NPC co-op features are well implemented and make the journey worth taking.
  24. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    That same distortion and monstrous-like exaggeration of previous may be out in full force once again, but Little Nightmares II succeeds on its bolder and more refined continuation from the 2017 original. Stripped down to its most basic premise, the game still intrigues and invites through well-orchestrated puzzle segments and spots of subtlety that lend themselves to the creeping, anxious trek characters Six and Mono must make throughout the world.
  25. Feb 9, 2021
    80
    An amazing little horror game that can be as frustrating as it is brilliant.
  26. Feb 11, 2021
    78
    The dark and creepy world from Tarsier is still as excellent in Little Nightmares II as it was in the original. With decent puzzle-platforming, and a few new mechanics to keep things fresh, the sequel revels in all things big, small, and grotesque.
  27. GameStar
    Feb 9, 2021
    78
    Precisely because it is about dreams and fears, I forgive Little Nightmares 2 for this deliberately vague narrative style and I am all the more delighted with the playful and artistic freedom that the studio takes.
  28. Feb 10, 2021
    76
    Little Nightmares 2 understands exactly what it wants to be, and mostly pulls it off.
  29. Feb 9, 2021
    75
    Little Nightmares 2 succeeds in building on the foundation that the original game laid out. The folks at Tarsier Studios have expanded on the story and lore with new characters and settings, added gameplay mechanics that don’t overcomplicate the action or bloat the pacing, and proven themselves worryingly imaginative when it comes to thinking up dastardly denizens of a perfectly grim world.
  30. Edge Magazine
    Feb 25, 2021
    70
    Little Nightmares 2 is a slight dispersal of the original's concepts, adding some fabulous locations and grotesqes without cleaning up the platforming or developing a soul of its own, but it's in some ways a more complex horror story. [Issue#356, p.96]
  31. Feb 18, 2021
    70
    Little Nightmares II is a delightfully spooky foray into a horrifyingly gorgeous world. It's also a bit too long, occasionally frustrating and, in one key moment, inaccessible for players who are deaf or hard-of-hearing. But, overall, it represents a successful follow-up from Tarsier. With inventive puzzle design and some startlingly original levels, it isn't quite a dream come true, but it certainly won't have you waking up, bolt upright, screaming, in a cold sweat.
  32. Feb 9, 2021
    70
    Little Nightmares II is just a worse game than the original. Everything they added to the system feels clunky at best and unfair at worst. It’s a shame because this same story, with its same environments, same levels, same enemies, and same music and sound would have been infinitely better if they kept the mechanics from the original.
  33. Feb 9, 2021
    70
    An engaging and well-produced adventure, but regularly frustrating, both narratively and playfully.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 9, 2021
    When Little Nightmares 2 sticks to the things it does best, it’s a great horror game that feels entirely unique in its scares. Almost everything, from Mono’s perspective as a tiny, almost-powerless character in a giant world, to the grotesque monster designs, to the mysterious city that’s been taken over by its televisions, combines to create a wonderfully upsetting world that I didn’t want to stop exploring, even after the game ended.
  2. Little Nightmares II such is a splendid mix of cute and creepy, beautiful and awful, that it sort of defies categorisation. A childhood terror gothic, perhaps? [RPS Bestest Bests]
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 155 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 155
  1. Feb 14, 2021
    3
    Сказать, что я ужасно недоволен игрой - ничего не сказать. Игра никак не связана с предыдущей частью. В плане того, что это приквел, нетСказать, что я ужасно недоволен игрой - ничего не сказать. Игра никак не связана с предыдущей частью. В плане того, что это приквел, нет никаких намёков, никаких подсказок про получение шестой силы, ни про то, как она оказалась в Чреве. Искусственно растянутый гемплей доставляет огромное количество неудобств. Перенос предметов из одной точки в другую настолько замедлен и настолько скучен, что мне стоило огромных усилий сидеть и проходить до конца это "шедевр".На первых парах ты поражаешься красотой локаций, детальностью прорисовки (если в настройках ты достаточно выкрутил графику). Но это всё пропадает в середине игры. Больше всего бросается в глаза убогость одежды и лица доктора, который появляется не на долго, но своей модельной убогостью портит впечатление. Концовка вообще поражает своей тупостью и странной сложностью. Кстати про баланс: его нету. Монстры тебя могу увидеть еле повернувшись в твою сторону, те места, где в прошлой части Шестая допрыгивала сама, сейчас требуется её помощь, ведь наша Героиня в одиночку беспомощная. Я всё понимаю, в первой части вышло прекрасное DLC построенное на подобном взаимодействиями с гномами. Но зачем навязывать это. Шестая - самый поломанный персонаж в игре. Она может застрять в дверном проём, может занять место под столом так, что вас не пустит под него, и вас поймает монстр. Это особенная тема, которая напрочь убивает желание проходить игру. По итогу всего вышесказанного, я хочу сказать, что у второй части Маленьких кошмаров был заметно больше бюджет, чем у первой части. В первую часть приятно играть не из-за графики, не из-за гемплея, а из-за души, которую вложили авторы в своё творение. От второй же части пахнет тухлятиной. Создаётся ощущение, что они сделали игру ради того, чтобы было. Лишь бы денег побольше набрать. Я по прежнему обожаю первую часть данной серии, и это ничему не изменить, но мне откровенно стыдно говорить о второй части и даже смотреть на неё, зная её убогости. Под конец хочется выделить, что это лишь моё мнение, и ваше право соглашаться с ним или нет. Играйте в хорошие игры, а для плохих есть рецензии метакритик Full Review »
  2. Feb 17, 2021
    7
    Bafflingly overrated. Features the same exasperating control scheme as the original which is going on nearly four years old. VisuallyBafflingly overrated. Features the same exasperating control scheme as the original which is going on nearly four years old. Visually identical, similar linear chase sequences and trial/ error game play that made people loathe sections from the first game. The climbing, context sensitive interactions, and physics are still just as frustrating as they were four years ago too.

    Literally nothing is explained, and this is somehow a prequel- so good luck watching a dozen youtube channel's attempting to break-down this completely aimless plot or attempt to explain the utterly stupid ambiguous nature to everything going on.

    The monster designs have seemingly taken a backseat, and we get giant murderous hunter/ trapper, a teacher with a snake-like stretchy neck, a giant fat doctor who crawls around on the ceiling, and a thin-man ripoff from a million other SCP foundation/ creepy pasta stories.

    Something about the original felt, well- more original. This feels like a by-the-numbers sequel and I didn't have the patience to go through it again as soon as I found out its a "prequel." As soon as the developer announces something like that you just know its an excuse to do the same thing again, but pretend its somehow connected to the self-contained story from the first game.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 16, 2021
    7
    I loved the first game. I love the aesthetics of this one. And I do like some of the puzzles and passages. But then there are the abundance ofI loved the first game. I love the aesthetics of this one. And I do like some of the puzzles and passages. But then there are the abundance of frustrating trial-and-error passages that you have to redo 30 times to get it right. Half the time you get killed due to the finicky controls. The other half you'll struggle to hit all the checkpoints just right and simply continually fail before you reach a safe zone. I hate it!

    The worst part is the parts where you have to use the flashlight. I had to get up and calm myself down several times to avoid breaking my keyboard. It is so profusely frustrating to play through those parts! (searching the web I since discovered that these passages are A LOT easier if YOU DON'T RUN! While walking you can control the flashlight while holding down the right mouse button. You almost have no control over it when running, which is what I was doing all the time!)

    I'll give it a 9 for the parts that contain actual puzzles. But I'll have to subtract 2 for the parts that rely on twitch-reflex gameplay. I am SO bad at those types of games and I had no idea it would be such a huge part of this game. And it is NOT why I loved the first game. They tried implementing this in this game, and it almost ruins it for me.
    Full Review »