Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. May 19, 2020
    91
    Mafia 2: Definitive Edition is the best way to play one of the most enthralling stories of the past decade. A wonderful upgrade for a wonderful title, don’t miss it.
  2. May 19, 2020
    82
    Mafia II is one of the best stories of Italian-American gangsters that we can live in video games (and almost in the cinema). It's packed with cliches, but the narrative is fantastic and engaging from the get-go. As a remaster, it does the right thing thanks to 4K resolution and all the content of the DLC, although it drags the 2010 stops.
  3. May 24, 2020
    80
    Small problems as well as the not consequently modernized, but extremely hardware-hungry visuals are annoying - but despite all of this you still experience a thrilling gangster drama.
  4. May 19, 2020
    80
    Mafia II Definitive Edition is still the excellent game that was on day one, with an open world not so open and a mature story. Remastering is good and the addition of all the DLC increases the contents available.
  5. May 19, 2020
    80
    I liked Mafia 2 back then and I also like the Definitive Edition ten years later. The flaws of the game are of course even more noticeable today than in 2010. The game world is pretty, but unfortunately also completely irrelevant. Everything only serves as a backdrop. As a result, the sometimes long journeys to mission goals are boring. But those who stick out here will still be rewarded with a great, atmospheric gangster story that shines with interesting characters throughout.
  6. May 19, 2020
    80
    As often with light remasters, Mafia II: Definitive Edition offers marginal improvements over the genuine game, making it less attractive for those who already own it. For the others, it's a no brainer: this is the version to go for.
  7. May 20, 2020
    78
    Mafia II: Definitive Edition doesn't offer any extra content compared with the original version but still impress me with the immersive story and decent gameplay even after a decade. The graphic improvement doesn't stand out but there is no doubt that Definitive Edition is the best way to experience the adventure.
  8. May 19, 2020
    78
    Mafia 2: Definitive Edition is a fantastic opportunity to rediscover the adventures of Vito Scaletta around Empire Bay, now with all DLC and in 4k.
  9. May 19, 2020
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  10. May 19, 2020
    75
    Except for some small nuances, which are not able to meet today's triple A standards, such as audio imperfections - which cause some lines of dialogue (regardless of the language used) to overlap in an unnatural way or use different volume levels - or the sudden teleportation of some NPCs from one scene to another, is pure gameplay where the weight of the years makes itself felt most.
  11. May 19, 2020
    75
    A remastered old, single mission driven open world, with hi-res lights and textures on a basic fighting mechanic, helped by a well-written mob story.
  12. May 19, 2020
    73
    By today's standards the shootings are too static for my taste. In combination with the annoying graphics bugs, it is difficult for me to make an unreserved recommendation. If you just want to experience an adult story again that takes itself and its character seriously, then don't hesitate. But if you also hope for a dynamic gaming experience, there are certainly better alternatives by now.
  13. May 25, 2020
    70
    A poor remaster of a particularly good game, the Definitive Edition offers only but a few new things to owners of the original game and a lazy attempt to attract new buyers.
  14. May 20, 2020
    70
    Overall, Mafia II: Definitive Edition tells a story that is gripping and while it may not be largely unique in the span of Mafia lore, it’s one of the best available in video game form. I genuinely cared about Vito and the terrifying criminals that surrounded him. I grew to love their antics and laugh at their quirks, and feel sorry for the situations that they found themselves in. I think it’s a little unfair to class Mafia 2 as an open-world game, because the city does nothing but offer the setting for the story to g from point a to point b. If you’re looking for a city that is brimming with side quests and random activities, you won’t find them here. What you will find is a bittersweet, interesting period piece that looks at time that is not often explored in video games, and it’s a pretty damn memorable one at that.
  15. May 20, 2020
    70
    In a sense Mafia II is more like an interactive version of Goodfellas than an open-world mob experience that could only exist as a videogame. Vito’s rise is full of twists and turns that are always interesting even when they dip into stereotype and a facsimile of the classic cinematic mob epic. The expansions do flesh out the open-world setting of Empire Bay in interesting and meaningful ways, but in the end Mafia II: Definitive Edition remains an experience where the engaging story towers above all – sitting alongside the skyline of the impressive but only skin-deep Empire Bay.
  16. May 20, 2020
    70
    Mafia II: Definitive Edition is not especially a good remaster... Avoid if the game is fresh in your memories.
  17. May 20, 2020
    70
    A marginally prettier Mafia II with all its strengths and drawbacks. It aged quite gracefully and if you didn’t get to play it then, now’s your chance to do so on modern systems. And if you already own it, you get the remaster for free.
  18. May 19, 2020
    70
    Returning to Mafia 2 is definitely a great experience. I have understood why it was a great game ten years ago, although I think it could be better in visual terms, because it doesn't take advantage of new technologies.
  19. May 19, 2020
    70
    Despite not being a full on remake and still retaining the flaws of the original game, Mafia II Definitive Edition is a fairly enjoyable experience that, thanks to a good work of remastering, works decently ten years after its first release.
  20. May 19, 2020
    70
    There's so much about Mafia II that feels like a relic of a bygone era. Video game design has long surpassed and evolved beyond this approach to storytelling. Still, I find myself oddly charmed by it. I've played Mafia II twice now, once in 2010 and once in 2020. Its foibles that irritated me a decade ago seem more forgivable now. Maybe it's because I knew to expect a flawed experience, maybe it's because I'm getting more lenient in my old age. Whatever it is, I relished blowing through a thrilling mobster drama over the course of a weekend, knowing I wouldn't have to dedicated the better part of the next month to finish it. In a lot of respects, Mafia II hasn't aged all that well; strangely, that's why I think it's a better game than it was 10 years ago.
  21. May 19, 2020
    70
    Mafia II Definitive Edition does not offer players a significant graphic improvement that will justify a buyback, but today remains the best way to live Vito Scaletta's intense criminal career, especially in the context of the Mafia: Trilogy.
  22. 70
    Though it pulls a lot of the punches today’s open-world games freely throw, Mafia II is a time capsule in a lot of ways. Not only because its post-World War II Empire Bay lives and breathes only to have its face driven into the dirt by enterprising individuals fixated on the American dream, but because it’s a testament to the timeless, story-driven crime drama. The kind that became extinct once substance was forced to make way for Rockstar’s frenzied brand of mania.
  23. My new tires should have been looking better, Joe. This graphical remastering is not satisfying and brings a lot of visual glitches together. At the same time a lot of player having performance issues in a 10 years old game. This remaster is not a master's work. Hangar needs to be stopped.
  24. May 19, 2020
    60
    Mafia II: Definitive Edition is a remaster specially designed for nostalgic players fans of the original game. It is nice, pleasant visually speaking, the atmosphere is still efficient, until you see that some textures are poor, the animations are still stuck in 2010.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 77
  2. Negative: 25 out of 77
  1. May 19, 2020
    1
    Take original mafia 2 + vanilla-sweet face mod aaaand DONE. Only for 29.99$, Best True HD Top Quality MAFIA 2.
  2. May 20, 2020
    0
    Worst optimization ever.Never buy any game from this studio.Ни в коем случае не покупайте больше ни одно игру от этой студии.Сплошной обманWorst optimization ever.Never buy any game from this studio.Ни в коем случае не покупайте больше ни одно игру от этой студии.Сплошной обман потребителя. Full Review »
  3. May 21, 2020
    1
    This game is poorly optimized, frame rate drops, a lot of bugs and glitches, trophies that are not obtainable because they are bugged, i can'tThis game is poorly optimized, frame rate drops, a lot of bugs and glitches, trophies that are not obtainable because they are bugged, i can't even finish the story because the mission is bugged and there is no way to progress. stay far away from this "remaster". go play a stable version on xbox 360 or ps3 Full Review »