Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jun 30, 2017
    80
    Thanks to the addition of magic, Mirage breathes new life into the competitive melee arena. [Issue#263, p.71]
  2. 80
    Magic, deep combat and multiplayer arenas = good gaming. Mirage deserves to be that Cinderella story in multiplayer mode with unique aesthetics and hardcore combat. It’s pretty, it’s deep as any other FPS or multiplayer brawler out there, and it has clearly been designed by skilled people with love for complex games and the ability to make them fun.
  3. May 31, 2017
    80
    Mirage: Arcane Warfare is a game that improves the style seen in Chivalry and features new elements like magic, but without losing the exciting matches and the gore that we saw in these games.
  4. Games Master UK
    Jun 22, 2017
    74
    A unique twist on multiplayer combat, but niggling problems mean it's not a must-buy...yet. [July 2017, p.73]
  5. May 31, 2017
    74
    Interesting classes, engaging melee gameplay, and an exciting arena mode have the wind taken out of their sails by deserted servers.
  6. CD-Action
    Jul 20, 2017
    70
    If you’re familiar with Torn Banner’s previous title, Chivalry: Medieval Warfare, you’ll feel at home in Mirage, as both games are very similar (which of course is not an advantage if you expect something fresh). [08/2017, p.58]
  7. Jun 9, 2017
    70
    My favorite mode in Mirage: Arcane Warfare is the 3v3 Arena. In this mode, players are pitted against each other on a small map, keeping the action fast-paced and entertaining.
  8. Jun 2, 2017
    65
    While Mirage: Arcane Warfare offers some of the great combat that we love from Chivalry plus some magic, it fails to define to whom is it targeted.
  9. May 26, 2017
    65
    The steep learning curve paired with the limited tutorial, lack of any significant matchmaking options and the currently low player count make it hard to recommend Mirage: Arcane Warfare to anyone who isn't already a fan of their previous game Chivalry: Medieval Warfare. There's a lot of room to improve, though.
  10. Jun 5, 2017
    63
    Mirage: Arcane Warfare has some of the most fun and exciting melee combat around, but squanders the unique mechanics on dull game modes with low player counts in a transparent effort to ape Blizzard’s recent smash hit, and this ultimately works against the strengths of the gameplay to the point of bringing down the entire experience.
User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 9 out of 14
  1. Sep 7, 2017
    9
    Really fun game! Completely different combat style to anything else I've played. Imagine close combat with some mage spells added in. You haveReally fun game! Completely different combat style to anything else I've played. Imagine close combat with some mage spells added in. You have to time your attacks but there's no button combos (Unlike For Honor which is very hard to play). Its just skills and cool down management of those skills. Highly recommended! Easy to learn but hard to master. There are so many classes, spells, weapons, and play styles. Full Review »
  2. Jul 4, 2017
    0
    No players for a multiplayer game only..Well done devs. They should have stick to what they did the best,a dark, brutal medieval game withNo players for a multiplayer game only..Well done devs. They should have stick to what they did the best,a dark, brutal medieval game with team objectives instead of that cartoonish joke. Full Review »
  3. Jun 26, 2017
    10
    With chiv as my most played game on steam by far I have been looking forward to this game for years. I played the alpha which was fun and theWith chiv as my most played game on steam by far I have been looking forward to this game for years. I played the alpha which was fun and the full release does not disappoint. The servers had been low for the first month but w the first free weekend and the steam sale the servers are starting to snowball w more ppl already. At first it did seem that it was chiv w spells but the more I actually play the game and try the different classes the more I realize it's so much more . Yes chiv is classic but imo this game is actually better in a lot of ways. Unreal engine 4 is slick and responsive with great physics. The special abilities are fun and when you start to chain them together you will notice a depth in gameplay that they give that chivalry doesn't have. The movement/dodging is much better then chiv. The graphics obviously are. As well as the teamwork. I've noticed a lot more ppl seems to be sticking together and backing each other up. I personally like the colorful/vibrant art style. Give it up to the developers for making a different game then chiv in the art style as well as the gameplay. This game will blow up and become a classic over time. Lol at the hipster haters giving 0 out of 10. They won't stop this game. Full Review »