Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Dec 17, 2018
    90
    Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden is an exceptional take on the tactical RPG and the addition of a stealth system certainly sets it apart from the crowd. Both genres blend together in a way that’s satisfying, challenging and well designed, while an engaging and well-written narrative drives the player forward. The difficulty might be an issue for those new to the genre, but for those seasoned in turn-based tactics, this is an absolute must buy.
  2. Dec 6, 2018
    90
    Mutant Year Zero's clever focus on stealth and pre-combat preparation reward your diligence, its turn-based combat encounters are complex, and they help bolster its all-encompassing post-apocalyptic atmosphere. It is a superb tactical combat campaign that you shouldn't let sneak past.
  3. Dec 4, 2018
    90
    An unapologetically hardcore, deliciously twisted take on the turn based tactical combat genre. Come for the dry humour and intriguing anarchy, stay for the deep and satisfying mechanics.
  4. Dec 4, 2018
    90
    The inelegant blend of serious themes and wacky comedy, and the use of what I feel are dated strategy game aiming mechanics prevent Mutant Year Zero from being truly perfect, but it's still an incredible experience that you can't miss.
  5. Dec 17, 2018
    85
    Even though it draws inspiration from X-COM, Mutant Year Zero felt quite unique to me. The mix of real-time exploration and turn-based strategy elements, as well as the tactical decisions concerning each stalker's loadout, makes Mutant Year Zero one of the best games in the genre launched this year. The solid combat system, interesting setting and great voice acting, merge into an appealing formula that the alchemists at The Bearded Ladies unexpectedly discovered while experimenting with various concoctions.
  6. Dec 17, 2018
    85
    Hardcore fans of turn-based tactics may be slightly put off by Mutant Year Zero’s obvious missteps but that aside, The Bearded Ladies have cooked up a special game here that’s got great potential for the future. Road to Eden isn’t perfect but it’s definitely stood out from the crowd for me in what’s been an excellent year.
  7. Dec 9, 2018
    85
    With its interesting world and characters and excellent gameplay mechanics which advance the genre with the introduction of stealth and seamless exploration, Mutant Year Zero: Road To Eden is one of the best turn-based tactical games released in recent years. The story may have received a better focus, and the combat may have been a little less frustrating, but don't let these small issues block you from getting the game if you're a fan of the genre, as Mutant Year Zero: Road To Eden is well worth your time and money.
  8. Dec 6, 2018
    85
    People are so used to specific styles of turn-based strategy that the way Mutant Year Zero approaches things may seem too different, potentially scaring off fans of the genre as well as newcomers. That being said, there is a lot to like between the polish of the game’s world-building, the genuinely unique approach to encounters, and the flexibility of each character’s skills. If you’re not afraid of a little challenge and are looking for a strategy title that oozes charm, then you may want to dip a toe in the Zone with Dux and Bormin.
  9. Dec 5, 2018
    85
    Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden is a charming, fun and well-made game with plenty of humor and excellent gameplay. It's an example of how you can expand on a tried-and-true formula in a way that makes it distinctive and exciting. The only thing that drags it down are some bugs and occasional difficulty spikes that feel more frustrating than fun. If you're a fan of XCOM-style games but want a new approach, you should absolutely try MYZ, which is one of the best surprises of the year.
  10. Dec 5, 2018
    85
    The Bearded Ladies has created an impressive game that is able to make use of the XCOM formula and take it to the next level adding some exploration and stealth mechanics. The result is a fun, intelligent and original videogame that exceeds every expectation.
  11. Dec 4, 2018
    85
    Based on classic mechanics, Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden takes its own way in the genre of turn based tactics, pleasing our eyes and ears with huge graphics, nice music and duckly jokes.
  12. Dec 9, 2018
    84
    Take a handful of XCOM, spice it with a pinch of classic roleplaying game and ad an unusual scenario – finished is lovingly crafted insider tip for tactics fans.
  13. Dec 5, 2018
    83
    A tense tactical adventure in an absolutely convincing world that can’t keep the pace it is initially setting.
  14. Dec 4, 2018
    83
    Quite difficult turn based strategy battles in a densely narrated and graphically great looking post-apocalypse with fascinating animal heroes.
  15. Dec 4, 2018
    81
    While it lasts, Mutant Year Zero is a tense, absorbing and atmospheric new member of the XCOM family. I suppose wanting more of it is a good problem to have.
  16. Dec 17, 2018
    80
    Mutant Year Zero seems like the natural evolution for tactics games. The real-time aspects make things move faster and add a unique layer of tension. On the story end of things, it manages to keep you interested until the linear campaign finishes up. You won't find a groundbreaking narrative but it doesn't overstay its welcome, and the characters are just charming enough to keep you invested.
  17. Dec 17, 2018
    80
    Mutant Year Zero has appeared out of nowhere and turned out to be a very cool game. It's great for fans of difficult tactical games that don't want to spend millions of hours in XCOM or Jagged Alliance. Neat graphics, interesting characters, and a good storyline make this game the complete package.
  18. Dec 14, 2018
    80
    Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden is a good time and deserves to be checked out by fans of the genre. It isn’t something most will be able to jump right into with immediate success, but it’s a game that has a lot to offer for those willing to take the time to learn its ins and outs.
  19. Dec 13, 2018
    80
    Mutant Year Zero is a great turn-based strategy game with a fresh component of stealth and real-time exploration. A different and original approach to the genre.
  20. Dec 10, 2018
    80
    As it stands, MYZ is an excellent game that carved off too much meat when trimming the fat. It’s a delicious dish, but it might leave one hungry for more.
  21. Dec 6, 2018
    80
    Mutant Year Zero Road to Eden is a very good XCOM-like with a strong tactical gameplay, a lovely chara-design, and even a great sense of humor. We can only recommend that you have a look at it.
  22. Dec 4, 2018
    80
    Mutant Year Zero makes some subtle innovations for the tactical strategy genre outside of combat that transforms this from just another XCOM clone to a clever mixture of stealth, tactics, and RPG mechanics adding up to an adventure that’s highly recommended.
  23. Dec 4, 2018
    80
    Mutant Year Zero is a nice surprise. A very good tactical game with plenty of arguments to please fans of the genre. A beautiful artistic direction, interesting characters, a quality cast, an efficient and deep combat system, a dynamic exploration system... This is another approach to tactical and a must have for this type of game in 2018.
  24. Dec 4, 2018
    80
    Swedish pen and paper meets Xcom in a brilliant, post-apocalyptic wasteland. Oozing with atmosphere and intense battles, this little gem of a game should not be overlooked.
  25. Dec 4, 2018
    80
    Mutant Year Zero is a splendid romp through an apocalyptic world in which tactical stealth battles are the meat of the experience served with a deep, fascinating and carefully crafted world, inhabited by funny and interesting characters.
  26. Dec 4, 2018
    80
    Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden provides an exciting take on the strategy RPG genre. Fans of X-COM or similar games shouldn’t skip this one.
  27. Dec 4, 2018
    80
    Mutant Year Zero is not perfect, it is still at the beginning and it can improve, but it is already today a strategic one with a great character.
  28. Dec 4, 2018
    79
    In changing the interplay between stealth and combat, Mutant Year Zero spins an interesting and intense new perspective on turn-based tactics that pushes you to get the most out of every move you make.
  29. Dec 6, 2018
    78
    This is a great action and strategy game, that has the potential to turn into one of the best of the genre. It doesn’t achieve this because some of its design issues, but it is, overall, a great experience.
  30. Dec 4, 2018
    77
    Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden has some very good peaks, as for example stealth and exploration, but it also has some missing points, for example the lack of classes and a low number of weapons and powers.
  31. 77
    Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden is a game with a lot of charisma thanks to an exceptional characterization of the world and the characters that populate it. Unfortunately, the mix of turn-based tactics and stealth isn’t always working as it’s supposed to, but the game developed by The Bearded Ladies is still able to entertain for about fifteen hours. Maybe next time it would be appropriate to give to the gameplay the same care given to the narrative aspects of the game.
  32. Dec 5, 2018
    75
    From a gameplay perspective, Mutant Year Zero is a bold but brief experiment in the turn-based genre that largely pays off. Despite my complaints, I still enjoyed it, and I’d love to see more from the franchise. If you can stomach a huge letdown of an ending, the cleverly orchestrated combat and unique world are worth checking out.
  33. Dec 5, 2018
    75
    With better skill progression, a better take on combat hit percentages (like, removing them and relying on other methods to determine hits), a bit more originality, and a bit less linearity, Mutant Year Zero would have been an easy recommendation to just about anyone. Still, it’s a game that I really enjoyed and hope to see future content for. If you like tactical battles, RPG mechanics, and weird universes, you should definitely check this one out.
  34. Dec 5, 2018
    75
    In the end, if the balance of exploration, character progression, combat, and story felt more cohesive or in harmony then Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden could have easily been great. This is not to say that it simply needs an ‘easy mode’. No, the hardcore challenge tips the scale too far away from the sense of adventure and story and the RPG-like opening moments. Those first impressions. Whether or not this stance is too critical of the deep and well-executed combat, well, who the duck knows? If the idea of a hardcore XCOM-like experience in a post-apocalyptic mutant world sounds enticing, then, hey, this is essential.
  35. Dec 5, 2018
    74
    Strong in personality, limited in scope, Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden is an interesting tactical game which could be very tough if played with the highest difficulty settings.
  36. Dec 5, 2018
    70
    While it mostly iterates on the foundation laid by other games in the genre, quirky writing and characters help keep things fresh. Unfortunately, Mutant Year Zero’s short campaign and predictable story hold it back from being a slam dunk.
  37. Dec 4, 2018
    65
    Quotation forthcoming.
  38. Dec 4, 2018
    65
    Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden’s blend of turn-based tactical combat with stealth is interesting, but not always successful, and its story doesn’t take advantage of its unique setting. Although the ability to explore the world and sneak up on enemies adds a fun twist to the genre, it brings unwelcome complications and technical hiccups as well. I also ran into numerous performance issues, including game-ending freezes, that strained my initial fondness for the game.
  39. Dec 10, 2018
    63
    Occasionally, Road to Eden comes to life with fun, challenging combat and a smart implementation of stealth. But even so, the feeling quickly disappears as you remember that there’s little to enjoy after you’ve won. The game often seems empty and dull, with under-utilized characters and clumsy pacing, and not enough overarching mechanics to keep you engaged in the long run.
  40. Dec 12, 2018
    60
    As it stands now, Road to Eden feels less like a full release and more like an extended demo.
  41. Dec 4, 2018
    60
    It's tough not to imagine how a sequel could improve the writing and the exploration to realize what is, at this point anyway, mostly just a lot of potential.
  42. Dec 4, 2018
    50
    Mutant Year Zero: Road to Eden feels entirely spread too thin. Without much depth to its name, it remains a unique setting devoid of personality.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. I’m greedy. I want a bigger, beefier, more flexible Mutant Year Zero. But that’s because the small, linear but smart, powerful and atmospheric Mutant Year Zero I got grabbed hold of me so completely. [RPS Bestest Bests]
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 101
  2. Negative: 13 out of 101
  1. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    Great game! love the DUX, Game of the Year potential. Didnt think i would like turn based combat but they have managed to make it in a wayGreat game! love the DUX, Game of the Year potential. Didnt think i would like turn based combat but they have managed to make it in a way that is just pure awesomeness. Full Review »
  2. Dec 4, 2018
    10
    Summary: Glad I played this game! Its a great introduction to turn based strategy , a genre I easily dissregarded, telling myself I couldntSummary: Glad I played this game! Its a great introduction to turn based strategy , a genre I easily dissregarded, telling myself I couldnt get involved with characters, back story and especially combat in such a game. But Im glad I tried MYZ and I stand corrected. The art style, dialog and exploration (although minor) kept me engaged and I feel there is something special about this game in terms of athmosphere. You can see the effort and care put into it by developers and its a breath of fresh air among all the AAA titles that seemingly become more similar to eachother rather than taking some risk. The game also turns out to be quite challenging and I believe it will find its place among the less casual crowd.

    As for bugs I encountered a few, but nothing too dramatic and I believe some of the isssues are being addressed right now. If you are a turn based strategy sceptic like I was give this game a go, I dont think you will be dissapointed.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 5, 2018
    5
    In a word: Disappointing

    Pro's Wonderful art style and soundtrack Great characters Witty writing Polished proven formula for combat
    In a word: Disappointing

    Pro's
    Wonderful art style and soundtrack
    Great characters
    Witty writing
    Polished proven formula for combat
    Effective fusion of stealth mechanics with turn based strategy

    Cons
    Underwhelming progression system
    Limited skill trees/upgrades
    Limited replayabilty
    Short
    Mechanically baron
    Minimum settings/options
    Suffers from a lack of ambition

    Wait for sale
    It’s a cool little title, but I can’t in good faith recommend a game that I literally dove to the computer to refund, before it was too late.
    Full Review »