User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 197

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 21, 2019
    10
    Max Payne but 2d.
    I r8 10/10 goty nothing can top this
    But seriously the soundtrack is amazing and the gameplay was very enjoyable and unique.
  2. Jun 21, 2019
    10
    There is the maddest 2D shooter, for fast gamers. 6-9 hours gameplay and so easy high level difficult is the worst keys of this game
  3. Jun 30, 2019
    10
    Brilliant!!! ಠ⌣ಠ
    The game is Designed Profession-aly and it's almost Perfect!!!!!!!
    To Developers ::
    It was A Huge Honor to play your Master-Piece Guys...
    Keep going and keep making new awesome memories like this game for us.
    The Words can't describe what you did Fellas!
    XX with great Respect
  4. Jun 20, 2019
    8
    Forgive me for this really, really strained metaphor: My Friend Pedro is like eating a banana that's starting to rot as you're eating it. It's still a really good banana when you start, and the general core of the banana is still there but it starts to taste not as good. TLDR; I still recommend it, but it's not as good in the second half which focuses more on platforming than shooting andForgive me for this really, really strained metaphor: My Friend Pedro is like eating a banana that's starting to rot as you're eating it. It's still a really good banana when you start, and the general core of the banana is still there but it starts to taste not as good. TLDR; I still recommend it, but it's not as good in the second half which focuses more on platforming than shooting and has a suddenly turn towards making jokes about gaming and the internet.

    The game's opening hour and a half (out of around three) are incredible. First, the game shows it understands how to introduce mechanics and then really play around with them. But unlike a game like Mario, where it's simply an obstacle to get around, it is instead another way to either kill your opponents or prevent them from killing you, expanding your arsenal against mobsters, hitmen, gamers and "Internet Service Protectors" (I'll get to that). Once you make your way through the first section of the game, you're then dropped into what is essentially a series of gauntlets that ask you to really go all out in pulling off some amazing feats.

    This is helped by the controls. They're simple, and while finicky at times, let you really move around the stage. Jumping through the air, pirouetting in order to avoid enemy fire, before firing at two enemies at the same time sounds like it should be complex, but it's quite the opposite. Kicking things, while tough to line up, is also easy to do. You have to really learn how to use everything to your advantage, but the rewards for doing so are wonderful.

    Then the game decides to start turning its hand towards platforming. Now, for maybe one area this would be fine (and the justification for the more gamey style platforming challenges is a fair one), but the developer seemed to forget that the reason I was playing this game was to kill enemies. It'd be fine if it was woven into the shooting, but it does not feel like it is. So levels from the middle section onwards have chunks where you're spending more time solving small disconnected platforming puzzles than actually fighting mooks.

    Speaking of mooks, while the game does have a silly streak (Pedro being the main source of it), the halfway point suddenly marks a drastic change in tone. You go from a world that seems like a stylised version of our reality to an outright absurd one where hardcore gamers are living in the sewers and The Internet is a physical place that appears to have control over the world. You go from fighting mobsters in tracksuits and hitmen attending their annual Christmas party to fighting gamers dressed as knights and what basically amount to internet police. It goes from a gleeful but still somewhat grounded action romp to a story that seems to have stopped taking itself seriously and was dangerously erring on the side of meta. I was obviously not expecting anything groundbreaking from the story, but what I got was very underwhelming even for the standards of this kind of game. (Of note is the ending which left a lot to be desired, although the boss fights before it are actually pretty good.)

    It still has its incredible highs though. And because of said highs I recommend playing it. But be wary that it'll start to lose steam once you reach the halfway point.
    Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2019
    10
    One of the best games in this year. You should play to experience its gameplay with its story's geek
  6. Jun 20, 2019
    10
    Very cool game. Recommend to play. Music and gameplay the best. 10/10. GOTY.
  7. Jun 26, 2019
    10
    Short but rly fun game. 10/10 so far, soundtrack was good, weapons were rly rly good
  8. Jul 5, 2019
    9
    Cool and awesome game, it reminded me the ancient spectrum game "Rolling Thunder" mixed with the modern "Not a Hero". If you like 2D game shooters, this is one is for you. Great work here!
    PROS: quite funny to play + slow motion + each stage has diffent things + easy controls & easy to play + humor + bosses + jumps + etc
    CONS: easy difficulty (but i personaly prefer this than too hard)
  9. Jun 22, 2019
    10
    Игра просто зашкаливает музыка,оптимизация,качество просто ставлю 10/10 жаль что нельзя поставить 11/10 Советую купить она стоит таких денег
  10. Jul 19, 2019
    8
    Main evaluation criteria:
    -Story: 7
    -Atmosphere: 8
    -Characters: 5
    -Graphics and design: 10
    -Gameplay: 9
    -Sound and Music: 10
    -Bugs: 10

    Аdditional evaluation criteria (Do not really affect the assessment):
    -Freedom of choice:
    -Coop in Story mode: 0
    -Multiplayer: 0
    -Mods and the ability to change the game: 0
    -Interface: 9

    Scores from 1 to 10, the higher the better
  11. Nov 4, 2019
    8
    Short but sweet side scroller with great music. Would recommend even at full price.
  12. Nov 18, 2019
    8
    Corto, directo, adictivo y muy divertido.
    Sorprende la cantidad de situaciones y posibilidades a pesar de lo sencillo de sus mecánicas.
    Compra muy recomendable.
    * Puntuación con respecto al panorama independiente.
  13. Nov 20, 2019
    9
    Flash oyun olan My Friend Pedro çok severek defalarca oynadığım bir oyundu. Oyunun görece yüksek bütçeli bir versiyonunun Devolver tarafından desteklenmesi ve Steam'e gelmesi beni çok mutlu etti. Oyunun ilk defa fragmanını izlediğimde bu oyunun ne olduğunu anlamıştım. Çok sevdiğim 2D shooter türünde, durmayan bir aksiyonu olan, gaz müzikli, tatlı animasyonlu ve bol kanlı bir MFP görmüştümFlash oyun olan My Friend Pedro çok severek defalarca oynadığım bir oyundu. Oyunun görece yüksek bütçeli bir versiyonunun Devolver tarafından desteklenmesi ve Steam'e gelmesi beni çok mutlu etti. Oyunun ilk defa fragmanını izlediğimde bu oyunun ne olduğunu anlamıştım. Çok sevdiğim 2D shooter türünde, durmayan bir aksiyonu olan, gaz müzikli, tatlı animasyonlu ve bol kanlı bir MFP görmüştüm ki oyunun bana verdikleri tam olarak bunlardı. Defalarca aynı bölümü oynayarak S alamaya çalışmak oyundaki en büyük zevk orası kesin. Kendinizi farklı haraketler ve farklı combolara zorlamazsanız gerçek keyfi alamıyorsunuz. İlk oynayışımda rank olarak ne aldığıma aldırmadan oynadım. İyiydi ama bir şey eksikti. Sonra bir de S almaya kastım. Oyun işte burada bir şeye benzedi. He, S almak zorunlu değil ama mekanikleri dibine kadar tadabiliyorsunuz. Bölümü yalayıp yutup nerede ne yapılacağını ezberlediğinizde ve onları kaliteli hamlelerle birleştirdiğinizde ortaya görsel bir şölen çıkıyor ve çok zevk alıyorsunuz.
    Oyunun bir de hikayesi var ama laf olsun diye ki bu kötü bir şey değil. Her oyun mükemmel bir hikaye anlatmak zorunda değil. Oynanışı bu oyunu gayet kaliteli yapmaya yetiyor.
    Bölüm tasarımları hoş. Ben sadece ateş edip ilerleyeceğiz sanarken adamlar motor ve platforming bölümleri koymuş, çeşitlilik sağlıyor.
    Görsel olarak gayet tatmin edici. Vuruş hissi falan da gayet doyurucu.
    Bir de aklıma şu etkileşimli objeler geldi. Tavadır, ceset parçalarıdır bombadır falan. Ha bir de kaykay ama o ayrı bir mekanik. Bu objelerin kullanımı da çok hoş. Ayrı bir tat katıyor.
    Son olarak da müzikleri yeterli seviyede gaz.
    Velhasıl oyun mermi balerisi, kan şöleni, adrenalin tufanı. Hızlı ve tatmin edici 2D shooter arayanlar için birebir. Düşüncesiz aksiyon mis gibi. Yalnız o yapımcı ile olan boss savaşı olsaydı daha iyi olmaz mıydı? ;D
    Expand
  14. Jan 13, 2020
    8
    Мало движа, т.е. игра сама по себе динамична, дает тебе вариацию при прохождении, мнимую, но дает, но оригинальной динамики, сногшибающего эпика не происходит (разве что миссия на мотоцикле). Боссфайты вялые, для такого геймплея.Мало движа, т.е. игра сама по себе динамична, дает тебе вариацию при прохождении, мнимую, но дает, но оригинальной динамики, сногшибающего эпика не происходит (разве что миссия на мотоцикле). Боссфайты вялые, для такого геймплея.
  15. Jan 18, 2020
    9
    Gameplay inovadora e viciante, com boa variedade de armas e ótimo aproveitamento de mapa, com um design novo a missão, que acrescenta a gameplay e evita a mesma de ficar maçante.
    A OST é divertida e inclui muito no ritmo do game. A historia serve mais como um background a principio, mas até que é divertida visto o carisma da Banana. Os gráficos são básicos, e a otimização não decepciona,
    Gameplay inovadora e viciante, com boa variedade de armas e ótimo aproveitamento de mapa, com um design novo a missão, que acrescenta a gameplay e evita a mesma de ficar maçante.
    A OST é divertida e inclui muito no ritmo do game. A historia serve mais como um background a principio, mas até que é divertida visto o carisma da Banana. Os gráficos são básicos, e a otimização não decepciona, entregando 144hz sem demais problemas.
    Expand
  16. Feb 6, 2020
    8
    8/10 .........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  17. Feb 9, 2020
    9
    JOGO MUITO BOM, NO COMEÇO É FÁCIL, MAS AO LONGO DO JOGO VAI FICANDO CADA VEZ MAIS DESAFIADOR E OUTRO PONTO POSITIVO DO JOGO É A JOGABILIDADE FRENÉTICA, ONDE EM MOMENTO NENHUM FAZ VOCÊ RELAXAR OU SE SENTIR FRUSTADO.
  18. May 18, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Можно сказать, что My Friend Pedro это Hotline Miami, но только с паркуром и большим количеством экшена. Когда ты крутишь салютухи и при этом расстреливаешь ораву врагов, ты ловишь экстаз от такого количества эпичности и экшена. Головоломки не замысловатые, а поиск Игровых Модификаций на каждом уровне даёт большее желание перепройти уровень или даже игру. А когда в конце ты дерешься со своей сестрой, которая использует те же приёмы, что и ты, понимаешь, что это круто и эпично. Я рекомендую сыграть в My Friend Pedro, много времени это не займёт. Пройти игру можно в среднем за 2 с половиной часа Expand
  19. Jun 1, 2020
    8
    At first it wasn't good, and at the end I wanted to do more and more...
    I liked the cool ending. I recommend it.
  20. Jul 11, 2020
    8
    Very cool and unique 2d/3d shooting experience, Has a very very nice art style, The downside for it is that It's 20 bucks for a 4 hours game That's not really what I expected, Don't get me wrong the game is super rad but It's just short.
  21. Jul 18, 2020
    9
    I like this game. It gives to us very different dynamics and gameplay. This game is very cool.
  22. Jul 18, 2020
    10
    this game is very fun! i love the cinematic is so fun and unique and the combat is great. only 2 chapters in and i love it so much.
  23. Sep 8, 2020
    8
    the only negative i can think is it's only 4-5 hours other than that it was really fun the weapons were fun to use and shoot also it had a nice soundtrack
  24. Oct 5, 2020
    10
    This game is an amazing 2d platformer, taking inspiration from Max Payne and The Matrix. with fun level design and an array of weapons to choose from, it has great replay value. Some of the best moments in this game is when you effortlessly clear a room in a fluid motion, armed opponents falling to your unstoppable hellfire of bullets with precision accuracy, dodging bullets without aThis game is an amazing 2d platformer, taking inspiration from Max Payne and The Matrix. with fun level design and an array of weapons to choose from, it has great replay value. Some of the best moments in this game is when you effortlessly clear a room in a fluid motion, armed opponents falling to your unstoppable hellfire of bullets with precision accuracy, dodging bullets without a second thought Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 90
    A dream come true for action fans of all types, My Friend Pedro adds a fresh coat of paint to its classic flash game predecessor by incorporating new mechanics and improved visual flair.
  2. Aug 19, 2019
    80
    A brilliant arcade game about a bloodthirsty ballet dancer with a deadly aim - could there be anything more awesome? But beware - if you don’t like your stuff very much over the top in the vein of Japanese videogames, you might not be able to tolerate Pedro.
  3. Jul 22, 2019
    90
    It’s a pretty decent price for the fun that is to be had. In the end… you are just one man and his banana… and maybe that’s all you really need.