Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Dec 11, 2020
    90
    Overall, my first impressions of this remaster is a good one and it just keeps getting better the more I play it. I have streamed it a couple of times not because tons of people have been watching but simply because I want to share my love for the game with others.
  2. Nov 5, 2020
    89
    Need for Speed Hot Pursuit Remastered is a good reissue of one of the best Need for Speed ever made.
  3. Nov 12, 2020
    80
    A bit aged in some respects, but perfect in others, Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit Remastered is still, after a decade, a great racing game with a spicy Burnout flavour.
  4. Nov 6, 2020
    80
    For most racing fans, Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit Remastered is a game that's still worth playing. The dual campaign between playing as cops and racers remains intriguing and exciting, since they both play so differently. While the presentation is a touch better than the original, it is the cross-platform play that is the big selling point of the remastered edition. If you're new to this title, it is an excellent racer. If you already own the original game on the PC, the unchanged campaign means that you'd only want this iteration if you're interested in the larger pool of multiplayer companions.
  5. 80
    Overall, the work carried out by Stellar Entertainment and Criterion is good but with several flaws. While many parts of the game got a visual upgrade, some of them remained incomprehensibly unchanged. Nonetheless, Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit Remastered is still an excellent arcade racing video game, even after ten years from the launch of the original game.
  6. Nov 5, 2020
    80
    Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit Remastered isn’t going to set the world on fire. However, it’s important to remember the dumpster fire that this franchise has been languishing in for the last decade. If a boringly good remaster is what it takes to get us back to the series I grew up with, I’ll more than take it. Hopefully, Criterion uses this momentum to deliver something that finally puts Need for Speed back on the map.
  7. Nov 5, 2020
    78
    Minimal remaster that changes almost nothing, doesn't look dewy fresh, but is still as much fun today as it was in 2010.
  8. Nov 5, 2020
    75
    Ten after its initial release, Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit is still a really good game, and the few improvements Stellar Entertainment has brought to refresh it a bit. Nervous, easy to learn and rather dense thanks to the addition of DLC, the title fits without much difficulty in a market where purely arcade racing games are rare, despite an aging general structure.
  9. Nov 8, 2020
    60
    On the technical site, Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit Remastered works like clockwork. However, 4K and 60 fps cannot save the game from an empty world, a severe lack of challenge, no dynamic weather and no global high scores. A game that drives mainly on nostalgia and lost its contemporary value.
  10. Nov 5, 2020
    60
    Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit Remastered is a technical mess and one of the worst ports we've seen in years.
  11. Nov 10, 2020
    50
    This remastered edition of 2010's Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit shows how aged the game has become. The graphics are slightly better, but the driving and missions truly remain all those years back.
User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 37
  2. Negative: 21 out of 37
  1. Nov 9, 2020
    0
    I must say that original one was a great game and I really enjoyed it but the remastered version is nothing but a **** cash grab. TheyI must say that original one was a great game and I really enjoyed it but the remastered version is nothing but a **** cash grab. They could've remade Most Wanted 2005 but nah let's release lazy remaster of 10 year old game that still looks beautiful and demand 35$ when the original (that only didn't have DLCs and multiplayer) has cost definitely less. Full Review »
  2. Dec 2, 2021
    0
    Worst gameplay. Worst gameplay. Worst gameplay. Worst gameplay. Worst gameplay. Worst gameplay.
  3. Nov 17, 2020
    1
    No steering wheel support. Max of 60 fps. Expensive.
    Joke of a remaster. Really expensive for what it is. NFS Hot Pursuit with better
    No steering wheel support. Max of 60 fps. Expensive.
    Joke of a remaster. Really expensive for what it is. NFS Hot Pursuit with better graphics. That's it.
    Full Review »