User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 88
  2. Negative: 32 out of 88

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 6, 2021
    3
    Extremely lazy port of what could be a great game. Literally pain to play if you do not have PS4 controller (even is you have XBox one). Avoid at all costs - play PS4 version if possible.
  2. Feb 6, 2021
    0
    this was an excellent game for PS4 but the pc port they completely messed it up. The game is unplayable because of cumbersome keyboard and mouse bindings which make any move or action impossible. Plus they left original PS4 button icons which generate a lot of confusion and completely undermine the gameplay. I have asked for a refund immediately
  3. Feb 6, 2021
    0
    a beautiful game totally ruined by awful controls and awkward mappings for the PC version
  4. Feb 6, 2021
    0
    I really don't understand why they ported the game in such a bad state. Game Controls are a complete disasters! They should tell me how are we supposed to play the game whis way? It's a nightmare. And every pop-up which keeps appearing on the screen refers to the console version key bindings, you will be blown away and stop playing it because it's annoying. Graphics is also very bad andI really don't understand why they ported the game in such a bad state. Game Controls are a complete disasters! They should tell me how are we supposed to play the game whis way? It's a nightmare. And every pop-up which keeps appearing on the screen refers to the console version key bindings, you will be blown away and stop playing it because it's annoying. Graphics is also very bad and not optimized. Textures are dull and seem from a game released in 2009-2010 Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2021
    0
    The game is totally unplayable on PC, control mapping is totally for PS users, why the dev team can offer such a game for PC users ? Play this game on PC is a nightmare, you must have to remember all keys in option menu in such a hardcore action game...
  6. Feb 20, 2021
    4
    Not understanding all the hype.Gamplay is mediocre ,poor dodge frames ,artificial difficulty with bosses and enemies dealing either too much dps or have too much hp even though you can be way above their level .Graphics and animations are super dated for a relatively recent release. Boss fights are nothing to remember since they all have repetitive attack moves and lazy level design .NiohNot understanding all the hype.Gamplay is mediocre ,poor dodge frames ,artificial difficulty with bosses and enemies dealing either too much dps or have too much hp even though you can be way above their level .Graphics and animations are super dated for a relatively recent release. Boss fights are nothing to remember since they all have repetitive attack moves and lazy level design .Nioh 1 was great ,this just feels like a recycled version of nioh .I'm not even sure why this was compared to dark souls or sekiro for that matter since they had memorable boss fights with interesting lore and fair difficulty. Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2021
    10
    This game is great! And for the people complaining, it's not really meant for keyboard and mouse, it's a controller game, similar to darksouls and NieR. Runs so much better on my PC compared to the PS4 and is honestly just super fun. 10/10 would recommend if you like difficult games.
  8. Feb 6, 2021
    0
    Can't believe the critics gave those high scores to this terrible PC port. Did they really test the PC version of Nioh 2? I don't think so. That was my biggest mistake to buy this game, as no workaround is viable to play the game devastated by unintelligible and illogical button mappings. The heart of Nioh 2 should be its top notch and fast gameplay, but by no means you will be able toCan't believe the critics gave those high scores to this terrible PC port. Did they really test the PC version of Nioh 2? I don't think so. That was my biggest mistake to buy this game, as no workaround is viable to play the game devastated by unintelligible and illogical button mappings. The heart of Nioh 2 should be its top notch and fast gameplay, but by no means you will be able to perform any action or move, because button mappings is totally f*cked up. I don't know if developers realized what they did, because it's unacceptable to release a game like that. Refund is the only solution Expand
  9. Feb 6, 2021
    0
    unless they release a patch (which I doubt) the game is totally unplayable on PC because keyboards/mouse controls are a tragedy. You will find tons of moves suggesting to press RT+B+Y (playstation) or similar different combination and you will have to press impossible key combinations to make them work on PC, like Shift or CAP or E and 1+4 all together! Imagine that in the middle of theunless they release a patch (which I doubt) the game is totally unplayable on PC because keyboards/mouse controls are a tragedy. You will find tons of moves suggesting to press RT+B+Y (playstation) or similar different combination and you will have to press impossible key combinations to make them work on PC, like Shift or CAP or E and 1+4 all together! Imagine that in the middle of the action while fighting a boss or tons of monsters, when a minimum mistake can make the difference between your life and your death...this is 100% deal breaking. Dunno why they have been so indolent not to care about that when porting the game. That should have been the most important aspect of a game like Nioh, completely based on those types of mechanics. For this defect, you will not even be able to complete the training because controls will give you strong headaches Expand
  10. Feb 6, 2021
    0
    Cons:
    -even if you change the key bindings this pc port from ps4 is a total mess to play
    -every action on screen refers to the ps4 buttons and is highly distracting -it's a very very lazy port, they didn't care about graphics which is just mediocre, not about optimization (barely 45 fps at 4k with my rtx 3070), nor about gameplay totally annihilated by troublesome controls -the game is
    Cons:
    -even if you change the key bindings this pc port from ps4 is a total mess to play
    -every action on screen refers to the ps4 buttons and is highly distracting
    -it's a very very lazy port, they didn't care about graphics which is just mediocre, not about optimization (barely 45 fps at 4k with my rtx 3070), nor about gameplay totally annihilated by troublesome controls
    -the game is very hard, you will be killed again and again...but this wouldn't have been a problem
    if the controls had been fine, which are not unfortunately
    -enemies are recycled, no variety

    Pros:
    -the level of challenge of this game, the quantity of moves, but that ascpect is totally annihilated by the bad controls, it makes a huge difference like rating a game 10 rather than 0. If you play it, you can understand what I mean. What a shame, with more attention that could have been a beautiful game also on PC. But the choices they did and their indolence wasted this unlucky port
    Expand
  11. Feb 6, 2021
    1
    Nioh 2 on PC in a few words: "how to destroy an excellent game".

    Visually it is unimpressive, dated graphics, badly optimised, few graphics options. No DLSS (it was promised). It doesn't look like a pc game, rather a flat console game from 2011 or 2012. Gameplay is demolished by inconvenient key assignments so that your game experience will be non-existent as you won't be able to
    Nioh 2 on PC in a few words: "how to destroy an excellent game".

    Visually it is unimpressive, dated graphics, badly optimised, few graphics options. No DLSS (it was promised). It doesn't look like a pc game, rather a flat console game from 2011 or 2012. Gameplay is demolished by inconvenient key assignments so that your game experience will be non-existent as you won't be able to perform the great majority of actions just because you only have 2 hands and 10 fingers, while producers think we are octopuses with many tentacles. Don't play it on PC. If you want to play it, do it on PS4
    Expand
  12. Feb 7, 2021
    0
    I wish I never bought this game but I did. What can I say about it? Bad graphics, high system requirements, bad optimization, bad controls all ruined my gaming experience. The game can't be played, any combo is a nightmare as keyboards controls are not practical to use and even using a separate controller is uneffective as the game bombed me all the time with all those playstation strangeI wish I never bought this game but I did. What can I say about it? Bad graphics, high system requirements, bad optimization, bad controls all ruined my gaming experience. The game can't be played, any combo is a nightmare as keyboards controls are not practical to use and even using a separate controller is uneffective as the game bombed me all the time with all those playstation strange icons. Battles are a lose - lose result all the time because of weird stupid controls. On top of that, game can't be even paused! If you press Esc on your keyboard the game continues to run and enemies continue to kill you. Asked for a complete refund on steam Expand
  13. Feb 6, 2021
    2
    I spent 59 euros to buy the PC version of this game on Steam but was totally disappointed. The game is unplayable, controls are mapped in such a way that you will not be able to play it at all. I spent hours trying to change them but no solution was possible because they are made with console version in mind. Playing this game on PC is like a pain in the a.s.s., the only thing I could doI spent 59 euros to buy the PC version of this game on Steam but was totally disappointed. The game is unplayable, controls are mapped in such a way that you will not be able to play it at all. I spent hours trying to change them but no solution was possible because they are made with console version in mind. Playing this game on PC is like a pain in the a.s.s., the only thing I could do was to abort the game and ask for a refund. Team Ninja what the hell did you do with this PC port??? Expand
  14. Feb 7, 2021
    10
    The negative reviews for this game are absolute crap. This game is amazing. The biggest complaint I see is the controls. Get a game pad. Its not meant to be a keyboard and mouse game. Don’t knock a good game over something so petty. Other than that some people are complaining of FPS drops (imagine that!). Im playing on a 9700k, with 32gb of ram, and a 1080ti. Maxed out settings no issues.The negative reviews for this game are absolute crap. This game is amazing. The biggest complaint I see is the controls. Get a game pad. Its not meant to be a keyboard and mouse game. Don’t knock a good game over something so petty. Other than that some people are complaining of FPS drops (imagine that!). Im playing on a 9700k, with 32gb of ram, and a 1080ti. Maxed out settings no issues. I am not sure but it seems like the newer series cards are supposedly experiencing this issue. Although nowadays PC players get their panties in a wad if they experience ANY frame rate drop. They can’t just simply enjoy a game. Because a 5-10fps drop is completely unplayable. (Sarcasm). Anyway. The game is excellent. The difficulty has been upped from the first game definitely. New weapons, new skill tree. Same base game with some additions. Its samurai souls with lots of loot and gorgeous levels. Expand
  15. Feb 7, 2021
    0
    Una porquería de optimización injugable los controles muy mal team ninja una falta de respeto
  16. Feb 9, 2021
    1
    nioh 2 is even harder than 1 in bad way which is about fairness. almost all of monsters punch you like a infighter boxing man but you die by their two shots or three shots. but you are not like that monsters. kodama collecting is more stressful than 1 too. cause if you don't collect kodamas in every chapters, this game is more insanely harder and harder. what a freaking game system.
  17. Feb 9, 2021
    10
    * This is a phenomenal game.
    * I've played the PS4 version on a PS4 pro, and the PC version with a 3080 + HDR 144Hz monitor, so though my time might show up as only a few hours here, I am also drawing upon my PS4 experience for this review.
    * It's a high quality port. * The combat is buttery smooth, the action is fast, fluid and * It has a ton of depth. People who love trying out new
    * This is a phenomenal game.
    * I've played the PS4 version on a PS4 pro, and the PC version with a 3080 + HDR 144Hz monitor, so though my time might show up as only a few hours here, I am also drawing upon my PS4 experience for this review.
    * It's a high quality port.
    * The combat is buttery smooth, the action is fast, fluid and
    * It has a ton of depth. People who love trying out new builds, new weapon loadouts and even fashion / customization will totally dig it. The character avatar creator is top notch, and all equipment has a transmogrifacation feature so you don't have to choose between gear that looks pretty vs. gear with good stats.
    * It's got a ton of replay value, in a way that's actually fun. I never play new game+ in most games, and in this one, I played all the way till NG+++ because the design is so well done for progression. In new game modes, you get better loot, more game mechanics, different enemy placement in levels, newer enemy movesets and so on. It's not just a rehash of making enemies health sponges.
    * If you get stuck at times since it's challenging, you can use either an AI summon or co-op summon to help you out.
    * The edition you are getting on steam includes DLC 1, DLC 2 and DLC 3. All three of these DLCs are excellent, notably the first two added a new weapon each, and
    * You might be thinking just one weapon each can't be the highlight of a DLC, though in this case each weapon has a ton of depth. You could basically make a new game with just one weapon out of this game, let alone the dozen or so they put in. DLC 3 adds a boss gauntlet.
    * Lowlights: Hardly any though if I had to pick, I'd say be prepared for it being challenging, and I wish the inventory management had less micromanagement. It could use some FPS polish but on the whole it runs fast. I was about to get 110 fps with it on my 3080.

    TLDR: This game is a delight. Get it.
    Expand
  18. Feb 7, 2021
    0
    It is a magnificent game with one very serious problem: controls suck. And they suck so much to make the gameplay unpleasant. One of the great pros of Nioh 2 for PS4 was the presence of an impressive number of combos and skills: here in this PC port just forget about them because you won't be able to perform them, key bindings are terrible and they require you to press an innaturalIt is a magnificent game with one very serious problem: controls suck. And they suck so much to make the gameplay unpleasant. One of the great pros of Nioh 2 for PS4 was the presence of an impressive number of combos and skills: here in this PC port just forget about them because you won't be able to perform them, key bindings are terrible and they require you to press an innatural combination of keys, quite often distant and bad-balanced. Having a gamepad doesn't help, it only complicates things as every single action or in-game advice will list PS4 buttons and make combat terrible. You'll die not because you suck in fighting enemies but because controls are terrible, they were designed in such a terrible way I never seen in any video game in my life. My strong advice is not to buy the game and I don't know if such a big problem can be patched...if yes, that would mean to rewrite all the game from scratch, a huge work for any programmer. The question is: why did they port the game like that? They destroyed all the beauty of Nioh 2, making it impossible to play it Expand
  19. Feb 7, 2021
    1
    So, we, pepole live in 2021 when devs live in a whole different dimension. They think that people are born with full sync of Playstation understanding into their one soul and play games accordingly. U know that PC key promts are necessary to understand how to play a game right? On a KEYBOARD? seems not. And how im supposed to remember your controls? by manually writing them on a paper?...So, we, pepole live in 2021 when devs live in a whole different dimension. They think that people are born with full sync of Playstation understanding into their one soul and play games accordingly. U know that PC key promts are necessary to understand how to play a game right? On a KEYBOARD? seems not. And how im supposed to remember your controls? by manually writing them on a paper?... It some sort of a weird torture that u find pleasing? It gets worse when u see a dated graphics that need a monster of a graphic card to run. U just messed up with every step u took. And it seems that u dont care, cuz your only purpose was to sell a game for a second time for PC. And u only care about your PS4 version. U know what? if u treat your players like **** they will treat u the same. Dont by this hell of a game. if it possible play a PS4 version Expand
  20. Feb 7, 2021
    1
    the biggest problem of this atrocious port are controls: keyboard is unusable because you'll find playstation buttons incons everywhere in the game for every single new thing you learn or new skill; controls are not intuitive and you'll have big troubles in accomplishing combos; gamepads are useless too, because any of them will be painful to use as the game was meant to be played withthe biggest problem of this atrocious port are controls: keyboard is unusable because you'll find playstation buttons incons everywhere in the game for every single new thing you learn or new skill; controls are not intuitive and you'll have big troubles in accomplishing combos; gamepads are useless too, because any of them will be painful to use as the game was meant to be played with playstation controller, and any other controller you'll use will get very uncomfortable. All those aspects affect playability in such a manner your only wish is to stop playing the game. Other problems of this port I found: terrible way of pausing the game, you have to press Esc and then in the menu you have to press again G (or other mapped button you wish). This makes for you impossible to glance towards the key bindings in the menu as by only pressing Esc the games doesn't pause itself, the character is freezed but enemies will move and assault you. You will be killed stupidly. Also, visually the game is a step behind in compared to Sekiro, textures are bland and not good to look at, levels design is just average and sluggish. I don't suggest you to buy the game, it's not worth 50+ quids Expand
  21. Feb 7, 2021
    0
    Worst game I ever played, totally uncontrollable. Buttons go crazy on screen, Yokai skills can't be used because controls are crazy and difficult, like someone drunk designed them. Tried 3 different gamepads: Logitech f310, Orda and Gamesir T4 pro but I haven't solved the problem. When trying with mouse and keyboard is even worse and challenging enemies means clear defeat
  22. Feb 9, 2021
    0
    I found it impossible to play the game with such bad keyboard controls. I hope they will be able to patch it soon because progression in the game is stronly jeopardised by that, some combos can't be performed by no means. Graphics is another very week point, it seems very outdated and uninspired
  23. Feb 9, 2021
    10
    Legit 10/10 for me, up there with Bloodborne.

    I tend to agree with negative criticisms on here, but I am having an absolute blast with this game. The last game I had this much fun with was Bloodborne years back. Performance wise, I have a 1070 GTX and my game is on an SSD, I've had no performance issues whatsoever and have kept a consistent 60 FPS graphics on high—looks exceptional to
    Legit 10/10 for me, up there with Bloodborne.

    I tend to agree with negative criticisms on here, but I am having an absolute blast with this game. The last game I had this much fun with was Bloodborne years back. Performance wise, I have a 1070 GTX and my game is on an SSD, I've had no performance issues whatsoever and have kept a consistent 60 FPS graphics on high—looks exceptional to me on my 1440p 144hz monitor. I have an Xbox elite controller and the controls have felt intuitive and fluid, better than 99.9% of games and I am not exaggerating, they nailed it. Games like this are never intended for keyboard controls, and most of the time that is fixed by modders soon after anyways. Look at DS3, terrible keyboard controls until modders fixed it. This isn't something to rate the game a 1 for when they literally designed the game, from top to bottom, with controller players in mind.

    Gameplay wise, the only thing I'll say is that if you are coming from Dark Souls, as I was, you'll want to learn the game mechanics as the combat has essential features that aren't what you'll be used to. Once you get the hang of it, this game is the same level of difficulty as Dark Souls. Until then, you are going to think the game is difficult and unfair. To be specific, you'll want to figure out burst counters and ki pulsing from the get go, without these down you will die a lot, since the stamina system heavily punishes players who don't ki pulse. Another thing is blocking, it gives 100% damage reduction in this game, unblockable moves will overlay a white or red glow over the enemy to give you ample time to react accordingly. Don't give up on this game until you beat the first few bosses, also, don't be afraid to use everything the game gives to you, guns and bows are something you should be using all the time—the game throws money at you that isn't needed and you can stock up at the blacksmith. This game is awesome!
    Expand
  24. Feb 7, 2021
    5
    A good game marred by a really lazy porting effort on PC. It runs poorly despite not looking that impressive, coupled with very few graphical settings to tweak your experience. It's 2021 now, standards should be higher than this.
  25. Feb 16, 2021
    1
    **** ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
  26. Feb 13, 2021
    8
    I would give a 8,5/10. It's perfectly playable with XBOX One Pad on PC. Gameplay is addictiv as ****
    It would give a 9/10 but the PC port is not optimized and the graphics are exactly the same as Nioh Part 1. Gsync compatible is not working on my LG OLED. It has bad frametimes above 60FPS and the ingame FPS limiter is terrible and buggy. Also i only get a good HDR picture when i use
    I would give a 8,5/10. It's perfectly playable with XBOX One Pad on PC. Gameplay is addictiv as ****
    It would give a 9/10 but the PC port is not optimized and the graphics are exactly the same as Nioh Part 1. Gsync compatible is not working on my LG OLED. It has bad frametimes above 60FPS and the ingame FPS limiter is terrible and buggy. Also i only get a good HDR picture when i use borderless windowed mode. Fullscreen is washed out as hell, even in SDR. And i can't set 2160p ingame without disabling the fullscreen optimization in the exe.
    Expand
  27. Feb 16, 2021
    0
    Its pure **** ****. Too lazy to use icons for pc and asks u a lot of effort for a **** game like itself.
  28. Feb 8, 2021
    8
    I've been waiting for the PC release of Nioh 2 and I have to say, this game is really great. I use an Xbox One gamepad and if I hadn't read about it in the many negative reviews, I wouldn't even know about the existence of control problems. Nioh 2 controls like almost all Souls like very well. Also, that the controls only refer to PS4 buttons is not true.

    Nioh 2 plays almost exactly
    I've been waiting for the PC release of Nioh 2 and I have to say, this game is really great. I use an Xbox One gamepad and if I hadn't read about it in the many negative reviews, I wouldn't even know about the existence of control problems. Nioh 2 controls like almost all Souls like very well. Also, that the controls only refer to PS4 buttons is not true.

    Nioh 2 plays almost exactly like Nioh 1 with a few new features and weapons. It therefore also has the same weaknesses such as repetitive enemies. I also suffer from the mentioned severe frame rate drops that sometimes come out of nowhere and are gone just as quickly. Despite the negative criticism here at the end, I don't know what I would rather play at the moment. Nioh 2 is really fun and I am nicely addicted to more.
    Expand
  29. Feb 7, 2021
    10
    The negative reviews here must be bought by a competitor, i am seriously mystified.
    The game runs absolutely great, it controls great and it looks just as good. I have had zero issues.
  30. Feb 7, 2021
    10
    It's funny to see players who have money to play but no money for a gamepad. Regarding the game: it is beautiful, convenient control, good optimization (1660 SUPER 60fps is stable at maximum graphics). The best soul game in my opinion.
  31. Feb 8, 2021
    0
    It feels rushed. Graphics cannot live up expectations of a 2021 game, it rather looks like a game from five years ago, colors, world and textures look generic. There is also a strong issue concerning playability, moves are very hard to be executed with a keyboard because key bindings are weird and redundant so as you progress the game you realize certain skills are totally out of range,It feels rushed. Graphics cannot live up expectations of a 2021 game, it rather looks like a game from five years ago, colors, world and textures look generic. There is also a strong issue concerning playability, moves are very hard to be executed with a keyboard because key bindings are weird and redundant so as you progress the game you realize certain skills are totally out of range, except in the case you own a ps4 controller + ps4 console. The game plays very unpolished. All the fun is diminished by many setbacks Expand
  32. Feb 9, 2021
    10
    My rate for the game 8/10 but for those who rate game by key binding i wanna say that some guy played Dark Souls on bananas so key binding problem of your hands not developers
  33. Feb 13, 2021
    0
    Good graphics, runs like crap sometimes though and the engine gets really slow.

    So satisfying, haven't finished though.
  34. Feb 9, 2021
    10
    Wow, I felt compelled to contribute a score for this excellent game because of all the fools in the user reviews giving it ridiculously low scores because it is not designed to be played with a KB/M setup. The game is a phenomenal action RPG and it has some lovely visuals. Performance has been fantastic for me at 1440p/120fps. Having said that I have a powerful rig (10850k and RTX 3080) so YMMV.
  35. Feb 10, 2021
    0
    I don't understand people rating 10 this rushed port. Did they actually play this game on PC? They did no efforts in making the game beautiful visually, one has the impression to play a game from last decade instead. You don't realize you're playing a PC game, but a rushed console port and all environments seem ordinary and lousy. Not only that, but the game is very demanding, having aI don't understand people rating 10 this rushed port. Did they actually play this game on PC? They did no efforts in making the game beautiful visually, one has the impression to play a game from last decade instead. You don't realize you're playing a PC game, but a rushed console port and all environments seem ordinary and lousy. Not only that, but the game is very demanding, having a 2080ti I barely hit 43 fps on 2160p and this is not acceptable. Controls are bad too, making combos a nighmare to be performed during battles and causing deaths after deaths. Overall, there is nothing I liked from it. Forgettable port and full of issues Expand
  36. Feb 7, 2021
    10
    Flawless port of an amazing game. For all the crybabies complaining about KB/M controls, how about you just get a gamepad then? Deal with it, ffs. What's the logic behind complaining about the controls and graphics, but then saying "hurr durr just play the PS4 version instead" when it looks much worse and doesn't support KB+M at all?
  37. Feb 11, 2021
    8
    First of all, the negative reviews are dumb. You can't rat a game 0/10, just because it is not perfectly optimized for PC. Most of the reviewers are all whining and complaining about it having poor controls on PC. That was never a problem with me, as my controller was ready before the game launched. Having said that, even if you wanna be a crybaby about it, drop 2 points maximum, notFirst of all, the negative reviews are dumb. You can't rat a game 0/10, just because it is not perfectly optimized for PC. Most of the reviewers are all whining and complaining about it having poor controls on PC. That was never a problem with me, as my controller was ready before the game launched. Having said that, even if you wanna be a crybaby about it, drop 2 points maximum, not freaking 10 and review bomb it 0/10. People are so stupid.
    Having said that, This game is just phenomenal. Even though they basically used the same engine, the gameplay enhancements and editions are great. I found it easier than Nioh 1, but the story is a bit lacking. Nioh 1 had a generic storyline, but even that was more interesting than Nioh 2's storyline. As I launched the game, it had to live up to many expectations that I had since Nioh 1 was a masterpiece to me, and I'm glad to report that it lived up to those expectations.
    New bosses, new monsters, new weapons, new moves, new regions...etc. I played a lot of Nioh 2, and I can't seem to get enough of it.
    I would give this game a solid high 10/10 if it was fully polished. The game drops to 4 fps when I go into fully detailed regions and that **** is unbearable. This crap deserves minus 2 points. I found switching to low or medium settings fixes the issue temporarily. Please stop releasing unpolished games!!
    Expand
  38. Feb 10, 2021
    0
    visally ugly game, empty world, bland sky and water, generic textures. HDR mode is a joke and adds nothing. Controls are 100% for the PS4 version, PC gamers are not considered at all. They didn't care about this port, no effort in working for it. Just like giving PC gamers a PS4 copy of the game with no adjustment. The game feels rough
  39. Feb 20, 2021
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. As someone who was not blown away by its predecessor that was starring William as the protagonist, I immediately fell in love with this one after the first mission. There's just something special in being able to make your own character. Also I personally enjoyed more the story of a character local to Japan rather than an Englishman form across the ocean (no hateAbsolutely amazing game. As someone who was not blown away by its predecessor that was starring William as the protagonist, I immediately fell in love with this one after the first mission. There's just something special in being able to make your own character. Also I personally enjoyed more the story of a character local to Japan rather than an Englishman form across the ocean (no hate on William though, he's great but not my cup of tea).

    There is some legitimate criticism towards the PC port, namely the controls on KB+M. But in all fairness, I have tried playing all of the Souls titles that had PC releases (so 1-3, Sekiro, remasters) and honestly none of them were enjoyable on KB+M. Every single time I have ended up switching to a controller, and frankly I believe this genre simply plays better on a controller. So do yourself a favor and grab that x-box or ps4/5 (by the way, dualshock4 has flawless support in this game, it's one of not many games that recognized mine right away and had all the PS4 button prompts). Just don't torture yourself trying to force KB+M on this game.

    DLSS was added in a recent patch and it's stellar. It allows me to run the game at pretty stable and smooth 120fps, while before it would chug a bit when particle effects appear in large quantities.

    The story is fairly simple, but very well executed. I saw some people make an argument that they didn't like "silent protagonist" deal, and that's a valid opinion; in my opinion the protagonist is rather expressive in his/her body language, facial expressions and actions, so you don't really need a voice or lines of dialogue. It's fairly hard to nail a voiced protagonist for a player made character that would please everyone (or even the majority), so a silent but expressive protagonist that leaves some blanks for you to fill is the next logical step and IMO it works well.

    Gameplay is crisp, there is a good variety in weapons and ways you can build your character, lots of stuff to farm and try after the main story is done. To me, Nioh 2 did what I wanted Sekiro to do - which is a punishing and difficult action/RPG set in feudal Japan, with character customization and different era accurate (and completely made up) weapons.

    In the 2020 - February 2021 draught of good video games Nioh 2 is a lush oasis, with lovely story, characters, amazing gameplay and co-op (and I know it came out a while ago on console, but I don't currently own one, the review is for the PC version). While other sequels and new entries in the latest history have been anything in-between extremely disappointing and criminally unfinished, Nioh 2 surpassed it's predecessor and didn't need microtransactions, lootboxes or other scummy practices to excel.

    The review above is my personal opinion. I definitely agree to some of the criticisms and am opent to discuss them, but I strongly believe that the "lack of DLSS" (false as of right now) or "bad graphics lol" are a valid reason to rate the game 0/10. If you are that immature that you gonna throw a temper tantrum over nothing and rate an otherwise with a score that would put it alongside the likes of Cyberpunk, Anthem, Andromeda, Battlefront 2 on release, etc. you have no business posting reviews.
    Expand
  40. Feb 16, 2021
    9
    The game right now isn't at the top with the graphics, but it still has been amazing for me playin it on a 3070, it's been a REALLY GOOD EXPERIENCE, and i'm completely new to the nioh saga, if you're searchin for something similar to dark souls this is the perfect game for you, a lot of possibilities for the builds and an amazing combat system. The main quest could have been better, but iThe game right now isn't at the top with the graphics, but it still has been amazing for me playin it on a 3070, it's been a REALLY GOOD EXPERIENCE, and i'm completely new to the nioh saga, if you're searchin for something similar to dark souls this is the perfect game for you, a lot of possibilities for the builds and an amazing combat system. The main quest could have been better, but i LOVED the way the game tells you about the japanese culture describing yokais, the locations, weapons, secondary characters' backgrounds and more. Expand
  41. Feb 17, 2021
    10
    Excellent Game if you Like Action rpgs.
    Combat offers a lot of variety and is really fun. Gamepad is a must and with a Xbox Controller i never had any issues. Runs with 60 fps on 1080 p with a geforce 1080 and I7 3770 k.
  42. Feb 17, 2021
    10
    This is a console game! Be happy that you pc gamers get the game at all! If u don’t like it then get a PlayStation as you should have done in the first place !
  43. Feb 20, 2021
    0
    I honestly expected a better port for pc, but it is terribly bad, play the ps4 version if you can because the pc version is horrible.
  44. Feb 12, 2021
    10
    These bad reviews are crazy, buy a controller! Some games just work better with a controller. Use the right tool for the right job. Xbox controller works great and all the on screen control show up correctly.
    Fantastic game, amazing combat. I can run everything on high using a geforce 1080 gtx gaming laptop and see no slowdowns (1080p 60fps).
    True rating 9, giving a 10 to help counter
    These bad reviews are crazy, buy a controller! Some games just work better with a controller. Use the right tool for the right job. Xbox controller works great and all the on screen control show up correctly.
    Fantastic game, amazing combat. I can run everything on high using a geforce 1080 gtx gaming laptop and see no slowdowns (1080p 60fps).
    True rating 9, giving a 10 to help counter the idiots.
    Expand
  45. Feb 18, 2021
    9
    easy 9/10 . Buy a controller if you really wanna enjoy a soulslike game , end of story . Putting 0 in such a wonderful game because the port does not do justice on keyboard is criminal . Amazing replay ability , interesting story if you pay attention to it , extremely good gameplay , you feel as the game progresses that you become even better at it
  46. Feb 20, 2021
    10
    Game supports controller. I suggest you buy or own one if trying to play game. Keyboard + Mouse is just **** combination to fast paced action game. Little bit more harder than Nioh but brings so much more content and upgrades to table that game is masterpiece.
  47. Feb 22, 2021
    10
    Disgusting average user reviews score. Game is easily a 9/10. Quite possibly the best combat system ever in videogames, tremendous build variety, great bosses and very good and improved level Design. Ignore those idiots and buy the game
  48. Feb 24, 2021
    9
    Nice game. If you like Souls series, Nioh 2 will take part of your life.
    P.s. you must use Gamepad to play this game. Mouse&keyboard play is like hell.
  49. Feb 18, 2021
    6
    I have an 3080 and only get 30 FPS (this bad optimized games aren't new for me as an Arma 3 player), this wouldn't be a problem if this came from 2015. The controls are also not the best (with keyboard), I bought an Play Station controller to play this game, with that it worked flawless. Its very challenging, that's a good thing. The levels are big and complex and the story is also notI have an 3080 and only get 30 FPS (this bad optimized games aren't new for me as an Arma 3 player), this wouldn't be a problem if this came from 2015. The controls are also not the best (with keyboard), I bought an Play Station controller to play this game, with that it worked flawless. Its very challenging, that's a good thing. The levels are big and complex and the story is also not bad. If you want to play this on PC don't aspect 120 FPS, more 40-60, but you should buy a Ps4/5 Controller if you want the best experience. Expand
  50. Feb 18, 2021
    7
    Como en casi cualquier juego de los que se evalúan aquí, ni se trata de una obra maestra (10) ni de un fracaso absoluto (0).

    Empiezo rebatiendo las notas negativas. El juego en la versión 1.25 corre a la perfección en un i7 con 8 GB de RAM y una GTX 1050 de 2Gb. Sin bajones de fps, sin bugs y sin fallos, por lo que no entiendo esa corriente general que dice que se trata de un juego mal
    Como en casi cualquier juego de los que se evalúan aquí, ni se trata de una obra maestra (10) ni de un fracaso absoluto (0).

    Empiezo rebatiendo las notas negativas. El juego en la versión 1.25 corre a la perfección en un i7 con 8 GB de RAM y una GTX 1050 de 2Gb. Sin bajones de fps, sin bugs y sin fallos, por lo que no entiendo esa corriente general que dice que se trata de un juego mal optimizado para PC. En segundo lugar, hace falta un mando para jugar, no quiero ni imaginar como debe ser jugar a Nioh 2 con un teclado. Que un usuario no disponga de mando no es motivo para dar una mala nota al juego, sería como criticar Gran Turismo porque con un teclado no hay dios que conduzca. Es obvio ¿no?

    En cuanto al apartado gráfico el juego se ve bonito. No es lo más puntero ni mucho menos pero en términos generales el juego aprueba con nota aunque he de reconocer que ciertas zonas me han resultado desagradables cromáticamente debido a que me costaba percibir el entorno, ya fuera en las zonas de niebla, en aquellas que te deslumbra el sol o en ciertos reinos oscuros.

    La jugabilidad es buena aunque el juego es difícil. No es un juego de From Software por lo que no se juega igual y si no aprendes a jugar según las reglas de Nioh, lo vas a pasar mal. Sobre todo con la gestión del ki. Además (y esto es mera opinión personal) el juego es "gratuitamente" más difícil que los juegos de From Software, por lo que hay que ir mentalizado de que vas a morir mucho de maneras que seguramente consideres injustas, pero tarde o temprano, con paciencia y aprendiendo de los errores, se puede superar el juego sin problemas. SI además dispones de un amigo que te ayude, la cosa debería mejorar bastante, aunque no lo he probado pues me gusta jugar solo a este tipo de juegos.

    El sistema de loot se parece al de un hack&slash y recibirás infinidad de objetos que no querrás para nada pero siempre pueden ofrecerse en el santuario para obtener amrita que podemos intercambiar para subir subir de nivel. Hay gente que encontrará esto genial y otros que lo verán un poco abrumador o "barato". Personalmente prefiero los juegos de From Software en este aspecto.

    El diseño de mapas es un poco flojo y peca de "copia-pega" y de reutilizar jefes, pero eso añade algunas horas extras de juego con las misiones secundarias y permite subir de nivel de una manera amena sin necesidad de repetir una y otra vez las zonas para obtener amrita.

    Las peleas con los jefes son lentas y tediosas, por lo que el mejor arma será la paciencia pero también es importante aprovechar todos los recursos que ofrecen el nitjitsu y la magia, pues aunque no juguemos ni como ninja ni como mago, todas las clases pueden acceder a las ayudas que brindan éstas haciéndonos las cosas un poquito más fáciles.

    La música es aceptable aunque no es una maravilla y en ocasiones me resultó un poco molesta. Esto también me pasó con los sonidos que hacían ciertos jefes lo que me obligó a quitar el volumen durante sus peleas.

    En conclusión Nioh 2 es un buen juego, bien adaptado al pc y que ofrece bastantes horas de juego tanto para aquellos que lo completen una sola vez como para aquellos que disfruten del NJ+ y de crear diferentes arquetipos de personaje. Yo personalmente terminé "quemado" de este juego y no inicie NJ+. No se si lo haré en el futuro pero esta tendencia de hacer los juegos frustrantes y tediosos es algo que empieza a cansarme.

    Sin embargo, no es una obra maestra y si no eres un verdadero fan recomiendo adquirirlo de oferta o cuando pase un tiempo y el precio baje.
    Expand
  51. Feb 22, 2021
    9
    Do not listen to the negative reviews for this game. Look like a bunch of bots saying the same thing anyhow. Game is amazing. All of these people with potato pc's with frame drops... yeah, what do you expect? Get a halfway decent rig.

    As for bad mapping and people complaining about the ps4 icons displaying instead of the xbox gamepad controls on pc... you can change this. in steam as
    Do not listen to the negative reviews for this game. Look like a bunch of bots saying the same thing anyhow. Game is amazing. All of these people with potato pc's with frame drops... yeah, what do you expect? Get a halfway decent rig.

    As for bad mapping and people complaining about the ps4 icons displaying instead of the xbox gamepad controls on pc... you can change this. in steam as well as in the game. Its one of the control scheme options, how much easier could it get.
    Expand
  52. Feb 26, 2021
    10
    doesnt get much better then nioh 2 in other games, combat system is endless, difficulty is hard to master but when you master it, you are asking yourself what was i doing previously lol

    1440P 60 fps easy on max with 3070
    4K around 45 frames per sec, i dont get the wining about performance. performance is ok, game has even DLSS now.

    Final Score:
    10/10
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Feb 25, 2021
    85
    Nioh 2 Complete Edition is not a flawless PC port and is not technically stable, but still delivers for those who never had the chance to try it on PS4.
  2. Feb 21, 2021
    86
    Nioh 2 is more about refining its core gameplay than making radical changes. By adding extra layers of depth to its well-tempered mechanics, it offers a high-quality Action-RPG which retains its unique identity, despite some technical issues. Last but not least, it's a more inviting experience this time around, but as it happens with all Souls-like games, player's commitment is mandatory to progress.
  3. Feb 19, 2021
    80
    Nioh 2 – The Complete Edition is a phenomenal game. And while I would personally recommend getting it on PS4 over PC due to personal circumstances, there really isn’t a whole lot else to say about this game that isn’t some form of praise. If you’re a fan of the original Nioh, or soulslike games in general, this is absolutely something worth picking up. And for those of you who aren’t so accustomed to games like this one? Well, so long as you go in with the right mindset and strive to keep improving yourself, you should end up loving it, too.