Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Jun 13, 2016
    70
    P.O.L.L.E.N is a slick, atmospheric and unnerving experience that is let down by its short length, confused plot and tired storytelling devices.
  2. May 6, 2016
    60
    Retailing at £18.99 / $25, P.O.L.L.E.N. just doesn’t seem to offer enough content or mechanical diversity to justify a full-price purchase. Like a valuable trinket, it’s polished and pretty to look at, but doesn’t represent anything that hasn’t been done before.
  3. Apr 29, 2016
    60
    A promising first attempt at what could potentially be achieved with VR.
  4. Jun 5, 2016
    55
    P.O.L.L.E.N. fails to live up to its lofty narrative aspirations, but deserves credit for its considered, lovingly-crafted aesthetic and intriguing premise.
  5. May 2, 2016
    50
    Pollen’s visual design is beautiful and the atmosphere it creates is strong, but the game falls short when the narrative and storytelling method fail to give it substance.
User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 9 out of 17
  1. Jan 8, 2017
    8
    Very well made. Obviously a game for adults, not for kids, ence the poor reviews from the pew-pew kids crowd. Very good graphics, story soundVery well made. Obviously a game for adults, not for kids, ence the poor reviews from the pew-pew kids crowd. Very good graphics, story sound and atmosphere. Full Review »
  2. May 31, 2016
    8
    I suppose I can understand the mixed and negative reviews this game (for lack of a better term) has racked up among users. There's not much inI suppose I can understand the mixed and negative reviews this game (for lack of a better term) has racked up among users. There's not much in the way of puzzles to be solved, and the ones that exist are pretty rudimentary. It's really just a very well-crafted virtual reality space station (or Titan station - whatever) environment for you to explore (in alternating realities), while occasionally coming across weird and sometimes creepy clues as to what happened to the station's crew, concluding with an extensive, Space Odyssey-inspired VR roller coaster ride that looks amazing, even on a flat screen.

    Perhaps my experience was better because the game is included in Nvidia's Geforce Now streaming games package. I might have enjoyed it less if it cost me real money to play.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 26, 2016
    4
    This game had such potential, and it would have been great if the developer had just done a few things quite differently. The graphics andThis game had such potential, and it would have been great if the developer had just done a few things quite differently. The graphics and audio and cool rarely visited setting are awesome and that was what got me excited about the game in the first place. But the game is way too short for the price they're charging - something like 3 or so hours in total, with no real replayability. The story is pretty weird and confused and the ending is rushed and really left me dissatisfied, one of the voice actors got badly on my nerves doing some European accented Dana Scully impersonation or something, and other than some really basic puzzles and walking around there isn't much to the actual gameplay... I threw a space basket ball at a space hoop for a while. Then there are the technical problems... playing with rift was sort of immersive and there are features to help the player be less sick (so I might not be the only one who couldn't really enjoy that experience too much) but still it left me feeling really dizzy in a way VR hasn't made me feel before and even on a normal monitor it doesn't run all that well with some framerate issues and weird texture problems at times.

    If the game had have been an hour longer, or 10 dollars cheaper, or had a satisfying conclusion instead of the "ohno! we need to release this game but don't know how to end it, so let's make some fractal demo thingy!" ending, I'd have rated this a 6 instead of a 4.
    Full Review »