User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 38
  2. Negative: 13 out of 38

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 29, 2020
    9
    From Panzer General to Panzer Corps 2, beer and nuts war games have been great fun. Panzer Corp 2 brings 3D Graphics, a huge variety of vehicles, and great changes to the ruleset. I couldn't rely on my experience at first and had to relearn all over. Still easy to play but more strategic.

    Although the 3D rendering is a nice change, planes especially can be hard to find on the background.
  2. May 21, 2020
    3
    Waited it so long to be disappointed so much…. I don’t expect miracles from the industry these days, but to screw up a perfectly fine game, in exactly the same way SSI did it with PG2/3 – one would expect devs to do their homework. Who on Earth asked you to do a classic wargame in 3D? Oh, oh, I’m so happy my PzIV turns its turret, wohoo! C’mon. Air units sometimes are barely visible unlessWaited it so long to be disappointed so much…. I don’t expect miracles from the industry these days, but to screw up a perfectly fine game, in exactly the same way SSI did it with PG2/3 – one would expect devs to do their homework. Who on Earth asked you to do a classic wargame in 3D? Oh, oh, I’m so happy my PzIV turns its turret, wohoo! C’mon. Air units sometimes are barely visible unless you hit the Tab key, especially if located above multiple land units. Ok, my eyes are not what they used to be, but still. For me the only way to visually discern, say, Dorniers 217 from U-88 from Bf110 at normal viewing distance was to put different liveries on them. All in all, graphics are a step (or two) back. Thanks, thanks a lot for that. No, really, PG1, released 25 years ago, with simple, but reasonably detailed, unit icons and nice animations, looked better.
    Amount of content is, well, underwhelming. Ok, I understand, guys plan to sell lots of dlc like '39-’40-you name-it campaigns, Africa-corps 2, allied/soviet/pacific/alien-vs-predator corps 2 and so on, and live from it for years, but hey – for people to buy a dls to the game they at least have to remember it exists, which is not the case here.
    Balance seems… not really thought out. FlaK 18, the acht-acht, in terms of core slots costs as a Tiger, while lacking armor, ability to use it offensively, unless certain heroes are embedded, and decimated by “support fire” trait. Captured units, that provided so much fun in PC1, became almost impossible to obtain and operate, unless you are fine with severely reduced unit headcount and minimal to no reinforcements available. Artillery pieces cost sky high, and you need lots of them cos they’ve been nerfed compared to PC1. And remember – LeFH 10,5 will support your units against attacks of soft-type enemies, PACs – against hard types, SFH-15s – against both, and K-17, costing a small fortune – against none of them. Don’t mix it up, soldier!
    What else? Encirclements? Fine, but I can swear I’ve seen it somewhere nearby. Heroes fine, but mostly useless. Constant rush to capture all victory points in time while trying to figure out, whether you have to draw reinforcements and pay extra or can make do and save prestige, feels like work, not fun. Different types of objectives? Nope, never heard. When you move a unit there is no indication of terrain in target hex. Thank you very much, it cost me half of Tiger prototypes cos that hex turned out to be town.
    All in all? I’ve returned to PC1 to never look back. Game is not that bad on itself, it deserves 5 or six, but gets only 3 because most of the effort was put into wrong places. Let’s consider it “supporting fire” trait.
    Expand
  3. Mar 29, 2020
    2
    Waiting so long for such crap. What a disappointment. After years of working on the title, that's what we heard from the producer, we get a copy of PC1 only with other colors and 3D images. No improvements, maps are almost the same. One of the best strategy games since original Panzer General is not evolving. Actually you can play the original tile from 1994 and have the same fun withoutWaiting so long for such crap. What a disappointment. After years of working on the title, that's what we heard from the producer, we get a copy of PC1 only with other colors and 3D images. No improvements, maps are almost the same. One of the best strategy games since original Panzer General is not evolving. Actually you can play the original tile from 1994 and have the same fun without spending big cash on the 2020 remake, I feel cheated by this release from Slitherine....as the others said, it's a classic rip off. Better go for the Unity of Command II title in the same genre. Fresh, eyecatching strategy that brings a lot of fun, improvement and innovation. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2020
    2
    Gameplay is like in PzC1, but with 3D (which is unnecessary, 2D was better) and heroes (interesting, but we can live without them). You can find technical problems. And be ready to see short campaign (only 23-24 missions).

    The worst thing of the game is publisher. Slitherine is absolutely inadequate company. I’ve said here about no bonuses for those who are in quarantine (for example,
    Gameplay is like in PzC1, but with 3D (which is unnecessary, 2D was better) and heroes (interesting, but we can live without them). You can find technical problems. And be ready to see short campaign (only 23-24 missions).

    The worst thing of the game is publisher. Slitherine is absolutely inadequate company. I’ve said here about no bonuses for those who are in quarantine (for example, new stage of beta), no preload, overprice and censorship at the official forum (publisher closed some themes where gamers criticized Slitherine). And then I was banned forever. So, these guys will ban everyone who criticizes their games. Dear developers, please, find another publisher with adequate employees.
    Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2020
    0
    Very disappointing. First off, the release was over an hour late, so thanks for having me stare at the steam page refreshing every 2 minutes for an hour. Second off - I'm deeply disappointed, and hate the game. Which is sad, because I loved the first game. It suffers from the same crap Panzer General suffered from when it went from 2D to 3D - somehow they think they need to change otherVery disappointing. First off, the release was over an hour late, so thanks for having me stare at the steam page refreshing every 2 minutes for an hour. Second off - I'm deeply disappointed, and hate the game. Which is sad, because I loved the first game. It suffers from the same crap Panzer General suffered from when it went from 2D to 3D - somehow they think they need to change other things that worked too. I like the new tactical debth to some units, and hate the changes they made to others - like for instance that artillery now no-longer can support adjacent units being attacked by hard units(tanks etc), and is generally worthless when it comes to scoring any kind of damage. Now they are relegated to uber-crap support units.

    Here's my main gripes with the game, tho; As with Panzer General, it went from a somewhat "massive" scale, where you could have cool combinations of units and field quite a force, to now limiting you excessively, and leaving both you and the enemy with less units on the field, that for some stupid reason have more numbers per unit in a hex. This is terrible. Now you can't be as tactical as you could before, because there are so damn little units to play around with. There's a new core pool, and it's **** Instead of having a set number of units you can mix and match for the tactic of your pleasing, now you are limited to a core number that each unit fills up an excessive amount of, and oversizing units seems somewhat a must (infantry is oversized by default, and it sucks) - the graphics are messy and somewhat confusing, and hurts my attention-span to look at, and tires me.

    I did not enjoy this one bit. I wanted to. I've been looking forwards to it for years. But what they delivered is unacceptable garbage.

    I can't bother writing much more, but it's safe to say that unless they radically change the game, it's trash. Just stick to the original. It is still a 10/10 for me - this seems amateur-like, and just plain sucks. Devoid of fun. What happened with PG 3D? They removed the sense of tactics by severely limiting the number of units you can control - and the same is true here. Among several other terrible... TERRIBLE mistakes they've made decision-wise while making this pile of steaming ****.

    Steer clear. Not worth your money at the asking-price, or even a third of it. I wish I pirated it. I want my money back. This was garbage.

    Matrix/slitherine games are usually hit or miss. This was a huge miss. 2/10. Do better. I just really don't want to ever start this game up again.

    Had to go 0/10 to make the actual score more correct. Blatant idiots keep giving it 10/10. This is nowhere near 10/10. It's misleading BS.
    Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2020
    4
    almost nothing new besides heroes and overrun. short campaign with 23 missions, technical problems and so on.
  7. Apr 2, 2020
    10
    A treat for all strategy fans. Much improved graphics over Panzer Corps 2. Many new mechanics like encirclement, supply and core slots make this a fresh take on the series which . It is challenging and there is a lot of content. More will come in the form of dlc’s and mods.
  8. Apr 5, 2020
    1
    Really disappointed with this game . WAY OVERPRICED - A BIG RIP OFF. All scenarios very similar ! Now Unity of Command 1 and 2 they are GREAT games. Challenging , thoughtful scenario construction and re-playable again and again. PC2 £50 to change some camoflage on your units. WOW !
  9. Mar 23, 2020
    3
    This game's a rip off and a bad one at that. Even disregarding the price, it's still not very good and a major let down.

    First of all, the content. This game costs premium, but all you get is only the Wehrmacht campaign yet again. Yup, same old campaign that you've played dozens of times already if you're a fan of the genre. Panzer General had German campaign, but Panzer General 2 had 2
    This game's a rip off and a bad one at that. Even disregarding the price, it's still not very good and a major let down.

    First of all, the content. This game costs premium, but all you get is only the Wehrmacht campaign yet again. Yup, same old campaign that you've played dozens of times already if you're a fan of the genre. Panzer General had German campaign, but Panzer General 2 had 2 German campaigns, 2 Allied campaigns and a Soviet one to boot. This is just ridiculous. They claim the campaign has 60 scenarios or something, but of course in reality it's about 20, as it's a branching campaign just like in PC1 that you won't play more than once, cause you'll be bored out of your mind anyway.

    You now have two currencies to manage your army, as core slots aren't the number of units anymore. Different units have different core slots prices now and you need to mix and match. This sounds fine, but then you look at the system and immediately realize that the devs were either drunk, trolling or have extremely vague idea about their own game. For example fairly useless AA units can cost same, or sometimes even more, amount of slots as a full fighter unit. Just lol. Who in their right mind will use the AA units then? Congrats on completely invalidating an entire branch of units with their own models, stats, etc. Don't even get me started on other things, such as artillery pieces costing same as 2-3 tanks and other idiocies. This will probably get patched as time goes on, but still a massive rotfl and "you just have no idea what you're doing, do you" badge for all involved.

    The new graphic engine sucks, but everyone knew that already. Shooting for 3D in a niche strategy game when you don't have resources to make it look good, because you think it will bring more sales. Let's think how many times this has worked. Oh, right - never. All you get is poor readability and strategic overview when compared to 2D. The graphics are simplistic, blurry and some assets are just absolutely hideous - ships, for example. Some animations seem to be completely missing: destroyed tank will blow up and leave a wreckage, but artillery just vanishes into thin air. The music and sound design is poor as well. The production values are nowhere near the money demanded for this game.

    The game is also streamlined and a lot of features were stripped. There's a lot of that, so let me name a few: no different victory types based on performance, no SE units, smaller maps, lack of differentiation in objectives, copious amount of turns to complete each mission, lack of new equipment summary at the start of a mission...

    There are some things I like:
    - Heroes are now impactful with unique abilities like in PG2, not boring +number to a stat like in PC1
    - Units have new special abilities, which are often quite interesting, for example parking recon near an enemy unit will give accuracy bonuses to all attackers
    - Point buy system to customize your game with positive and negative traits

    Other changes are just meh/whatever, like splitting units in half when it costs additional slot and time or the need to re-base your aircraft to provide more air coverage, which again costs time.

    Overall, avoid this game now and maybe come back in a couple of years when there's some full dlc edition at like -60%. Even if you like what you see it's a horrible deal for the current price.
    Expand
  10. May 13, 2020
    9
    As a fan of grand strategy games end enthusiast of WWII i can highly recommend this title. Don't listen those frustrated guys who gave 2/10 because they didn't receive a tons of new content compared to PC1. You can expect a lot of fun on many prepared scenarios and on procedurally generated maps in a new game mode, so the sky is the limit!
  11. Mar 21, 2020
    0
    This game is not panzer corps at all. This game is order of battle with some skins. Play isn't fun anymore.
  12. Mar 29, 2020
    8
    Great game. The king is back ! If you are reading the reviews looking at if you should buy the game... I say: yes you must have it.
  13. Mar 25, 2020
    10
    A great turn-based strategy for VS or Co-op multiplayer. You can play it "via e-mail": make your turn and upload. You do not need to wait for your opponent in-game.
    A major improvement over Panzer Corps 1: the game is faster, good to look at and at the same time is more rewarding and tactical.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 23, 2020
    100
    In the Panzer Corps, we will change the course of the Second World War again. The second installment of the strategic series succeeded even without significant innovations. Most importantly, it is bigger and nicer than last time and lasts a long time. [Issue#303]
  2. May 20, 2020
    90
    Hundreds of hours of concentrated fun for every avid strategy gamer - but Panzer Corps 2 is surprisingly welcoming even to the newbies of the genre. The complexity is served up gradually, mercifully, but in the end, the game will challenge even the most experienced generals.
  3. Mar 28, 2020
    90
    The strategy game offers an insane amount with over one thousand different units and appeals through its neat visual design. The gameplay is fair, but quite challenging and can entice through its depth in mechanics. Rare crashes were only a minor inconvenience.