User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 198 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 198

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 25, 2022
    10
    100+ h of main story , good gameplay and progression, good music, excellent game for weebs and coomers.
  2. Oct 24, 2022
    10
    Absolute god of recent JRPGs.
    If you like turn based combat, it doesn't get better then Persona.
    A game that does everything as well as it could have, from music, to gameplay and aesthetic.
    Sets a standard for other developers to try and reach, though they will fail and we will keep waiting for Persona 6 on PC.
  3. Oct 25, 2022
    10
    Simply amazing. I finished this Game on ps4 and loved every minute of it. Now that is on pc, I'm playing it on steam deck and it is pure bliss. Simply the finest game I've ever played. Super stylish and an amazing story. Must buy.
  4. Oct 26, 2022
    7
    El juego tiene una cantidad de relleno abrumadora. Quitando la historia principal, la primera decena de horas de gestión de actividades, la exploración de los palacios, los combates y la gestión de los Personas, que son de altísima calidad. He tardado 20 horas para acabar el segundo arco argumental, de las cuales como mucho el 35% ha sido interaccionar y el 65% lectura. Lo que significaEl juego tiene una cantidad de relleno abrumadora. Quitando la historia principal, la primera decena de horas de gestión de actividades, la exploración de los palacios, los combates y la gestión de los Personas, que son de altísima calidad. He tardado 20 horas para acabar el segundo arco argumental, de las cuales como mucho el 35% ha sido interaccionar y el 65% lectura. Lo que significa que de 125 horas, 43,75 son de interacción y 81,25 de lectura. De esas 81,25 alrededor de unas 60 son puro relleno. Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2022
    10
    People have been waiting for a long time for this game to get on other platforms. I really liked this game. There's a lot that you can enjoy from this game. To the characters, the setting, and the themes it gives to the player. With extra content like the DLC, the achievements, and the in game award system. You are bound to play this game until completion. It has stole my heart and changedPeople have been waiting for a long time for this game to get on other platforms. I really liked this game. There's a lot that you can enjoy from this game. To the characters, the setting, and the themes it gives to the player. With extra content like the DLC, the achievements, and the in game award system. You are bound to play this game until completion. It has stole my heart and changed my mind by playing. Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2022
    10
    Honestly, it's amazing how I can finally play it again on PC! It is exactly as I remembered it!
    What's most impressive is that after all these years i'm still rating this a 11/10.
  7. Nov 20, 2022
    10
    [No-Spoiler]
    Persona 5 Royal is an fantastic mix of a round based JRPG with monster catch mechanics like Pokemon and a socialising game with a amazing story and a very good plot. The combat system is very sophisticated. You have the typical Pokemon like elements and weaknesses, etc but if you hit an enemy weakness you get an "1 More" and you can attack twice. This 1 more can be passed on
    [No-Spoiler]
    Persona 5 Royal is an fantastic mix of a round based JRPG with monster catch mechanics like Pokemon and a socialising game with a amazing story and a very good plot. The combat system is very sophisticated. You have the typical Pokemon like elements and weaknesses, etc but if you hit an enemy weakness you get an "1 More" and you can attack twice. This 1 more can be passed on to another teammate with a "Baiton Pass" and the damage ascends, so you can make very tactical and good damage-chainattacks. Then you have technical damage, like an burning enemy deals more damage if you hit him with wind attacks. Its wonderful and complex. If you hit down all enemys (because you hit everyone with the weakness or technical) you can use a finisher "all out attack" to deal massive and stylish damage. This is only a fraction of the combat system Persona Games and Shin Megami Tensei Games have. If you like good stories and Pokemon in Chernobyl, this game is a must have!

    One of my favorite games of all time!
    Expand
  8. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    Runs perfectly on prior systems. now runs even better on pc. Amazing game with an emotionally powerful story
  9. Nov 1, 2022
    10
    This is one of the best games I had played, and a personal favorite due to his stunning visuals, epic music, and captivating story. Truly, a masterpiece.
  10. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    It's persona 5 royal but on pc with 120 fps. It's great obviously. I love persona 5, and it's just as good on pc. The story, characters, visual style and music all hold up extremely well on pc. I just love this game to death. 10/10
  11. Nov 3, 2022
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game, from start to finish. Superb visuals, soundtrack, story and turn based gameplay. A few complaints like how the confidant system takes too long and some of them are almost useless, and the story taking too much time sometimes, aren't enough to eclipse this absolute gem of a game. You should definitely play this if given the chance.
  12. Nov 12, 2022
    10
    no words needed It was the best. It was so much fun for 100 hours. Music, battles, fun, and story are all there.
  13. Nov 26, 2022
    8
    The story is exciting and although sometimes it can be a bit heavy to read so much if the eventong is not in your language. The game tells you absolutely everything without leaving anything to the imagination or script gaps. The RPG part seems very complete to me but with some things that could be improved. And the combat and the creation system of "pokemons" is very interesting and complete.
  14. Nov 20, 2022
    10
    Had a great time playing this! Memorable beginning through end. Highly recommend.
  15. Nov 18, 2022
    10
    The 90+ hours i spent on this game were all worth it like every minutes are worth it , there is so much incredible things in this game that i think it's more relevant to point the single thing that isn't good in my opinion : the dates , like the romantic ones, if you play the game as an adult you can either date a minor and so it's erk or you can date an adult but since your character is aThe 90+ hours i spent on this game were all worth it like every minutes are worth it , there is so much incredible things in this game that i think it's more relevant to point the single thing that isn't good in my opinion : the dates , like the romantic ones, if you play the game as an adult you can either date a minor and so it's erk or you can date an adult but since your character is a minor you make the character you like the erk one , it's a lose/lose situation and it's kind of weird whennyou think about it but still it's THE only low of this game even with that it's the best game i've player in a long time Expand
  16. Nov 4, 2022
    10
    This game is a must-play for every JRPG fan. Probably one of the top 10 RPGs ever made.
  17. Nov 18, 2022
    10
    Best turn-based Rpg mechanics I have come across, the gun mechanic is great, weaknesses knocking over enemies makes stronger typed attacks actually feel good to hit. story is great.
  18. Nov 2, 2022
    10
    Steam bought it for the first time, the previous PS4 game time was 200h, P5 was the first in the world, and P5R was a god!
  19. Oct 31, 2022
    10
    Hat leider im Gamepass Skalierungsprobleme. Bei wem die Grafik verspixelt ist einfach in den Windows Anzeigeoptionen Skalierung auf 100% stellen. Ansonsten läuft alles Fehlerfrei
  20. Nov 14, 2022
    10
    The best JRPG ever made bar none. (Except, perhaps, Yakuza Like a Dragon)

    I highly recommend it to anyone!
  21. Nov 16, 2022
    10
    One of the best JRPGs I've ever played, the soundtrack alone is nice

    I love it
  22. Nov 20, 2022
    10
    No words, you must play it! It's insanely good! Plot, characters, gameplay mechanics, ost...
  23. Nov 20, 2022
    9
    I'd give it a 10, but holy Mementos is so bad, and the fact that you HAVE to do it for your confidants, as well as the main story towards the end, makes me subtract 1 star, simply for that boring abomination.
  24. Nov 28, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is the best game with music and gameplay and animation. I love pancakes Expand
  25. Nov 30, 2022
    10
    fresh parkour with cyberpunk style beauty. rare good game of the rusty pc game market.
  26. Oct 22, 2022
    10
    Rated M for Masterpiece....................................................
  27. Oct 22, 2022
    10
    P5R is a miracle -- rated M for masterwork. No story has ever carried my imagination farther than P5R; no other video game has ever reached such high emotional peaks or such deep psychological depths. P5R makes video games feel alive again, and it makes me feel alive again. The ultimate narrative experience, P5R sustains exhilaration for over 100 hrs, asking you to simply take your time asP5R is a miracle -- rated M for masterwork. No story has ever carried my imagination farther than P5R; no other video game has ever reached such high emotional peaks or such deep psychological depths. P5R makes video games feel alive again, and it makes me feel alive again. The ultimate narrative experience, P5R sustains exhilaration for over 100 hrs, asking you to simply take your time as you develop a beautiful friendship with the Phantom Thieves and learn more about yourself, in the end, wondering how a video game could take your heart. To quote my friend who bought me the game: "I have a feeling you're going to really like this game." Expand
  28. Oct 23, 2022
    10
    I'm getting a solid 60 fps on the Steam Deck for this amazing game! Awesome port!
  29. Oct 22, 2022
    10
    Beautiful game made much better on PC, it’s an impressive port on any standard of one of the greatest games of all time.
  30. Nov 12, 2022
    9
    Among other things that I have a great day and I will be at the shipping cost to you
  31. Oct 24, 2022
    10
    I'm very happy to have the game on Game Pass.
    That made me give her a chance.
  32. Oct 25, 2022
    10
    The best JRPG I've ever played, and it's an excellent port for PC.
    I'm so happy to play this game on Game Pass.
  33. Oct 24, 2022
    10
    Genuinely an amazing game through and through. I've encountered no errors or bugs so far, and even running everything on max settings I still manage to stay at a solid 120fps without dropping any lower than 100. Beautiful graphics and high quality sound. Despite what some say, it does infact go higher than 1920x1080 graphics.
  34. Oct 23, 2022
    10
    A lot can be a matter of opinion, such as whether the story is personally engaging or not.

    However, Persona 5 Royal is Peaksona of the turn-based JRPG genre. The weakness formula is perfected and enriched with game mechanics that complement the basic gameplay. The graphical presentation is stylish and aesthetic instead of realistic, something that will make the game age better as the
    A lot can be a matter of opinion, such as whether the story is personally engaging or not.

    However, Persona 5 Royal is Peaksona of the turn-based JRPG genre. The weakness formula is perfected and enriched with game mechanics that complement the basic gameplay.

    The graphical presentation is stylish and aesthetic instead of realistic, something that will make the game age better as the technology advances.

    The soundtrack is full of personality, ranging from smooth jazz you'd want to listen while studying, to rocking guitars.

    And as I said, whether the game is too long, too short or how much better or worse is compared to the other Persona games can be up to long-winded debates. However, what is not disputable is how Persona 5 Royal is that, unlike to what Square-Enix wants us to believe, turn-based combat can still be fun and engaging!
    Expand
  35. Oct 23, 2022
    10
    Truly a masterpiece. Great visuals, great characters, great soundtrack, great story, great gameplay. Truly nothing wrong with this game. The characters are all written great and have realistic goals and aspirations, they all have realistic reactions and emotions. The story is outstanding and has incredible twists and turns. My favorite video game of all time.
  36. Oct 25, 2022
    10
    Es mi juego favorito. Ya va a hacer dos años desde que lo jugué por primera vez en mi PS4. Pero ahora que lo conseguí gracias al PC GamePass, estoy maravillado por el apartado gráfico, el juego se ve hermoso y perfecto a la máxima resolución. Los demás apartados persisten igual se increíbles que en su versión de PS4 y poderlo streamearlo en Twitch cómodamente y poder subir la parte RoyalEs mi juego favorito. Ya va a hacer dos años desde que lo jugué por primera vez en mi PS4. Pero ahora que lo conseguí gracias al PC GamePass, estoy maravillado por el apartado gráfico, el juego se ve hermoso y perfecto a la máxima resolución. Los demás apartados persisten igual se increíbles que en su versión de PS4 y poderlo streamearlo en Twitch cómodamente y poder subir la parte Royal del juego sin tener que comprar una capturadora externa. Destacó también su excelente banda sonora la cual es brillante. El único punto negativo que le veo es que si juego en la red me da error cada dos por tres pero si no me conecto no pasa pero bueno sigue siendo un buen juego que si tienes mucho tiempo libre lo recomiendo mucho porque que es muy enganchante y largo. Expand
  37. Oct 26, 2022
    10
    Have been waiting for it since the original release back in 2016/2017 since I never had a PS4.
    Didn't want to use emulators nor watch much of the playthroughs.
    So happy I can finally officially play it and it's really meeting all of my expectations.
  38. Oct 22, 2022
    10
    Persona 5 Royal is the best Persona game. Although Persona 4 and PersonaQ and Q2 are all great games, this one has to be the best. It is Spectacular and might even be better than Elden Ring, released earlier this year.
  39. Oct 27, 2022
    10
    Persona 5 royal is best JRPG this game is my life 10/10 joker >3 ty game pass
  40. Oct 27, 2022
    10
    A masterful port of a masterpiece. High refresh rate, 4K textures and more made an incredible game even more incredible. Persona fans can finally Persona even better than before.
  41. Oct 30, 2022
    7
    Good game for sure but i got a lot of problems with performance. Devuno should be burned.
  42. Oct 24, 2022
    10
    As a console gamer I have played this before and I don't mind playing it for the third time on the PC version. The gameplay is excellent and the music is super awesome. The new characters looks super fantastic and yeah everything else is perfection. If only Atlus would of put the option to romance Yusuke Kitagawa and it would of been golden. It's definitely a must play and highly andAs a console gamer I have played this before and I don't mind playing it for the third time on the PC version. The gameplay is excellent and the music is super awesome. The new characters looks super fantastic and yeah everything else is perfection. If only Atlus would of put the option to romance Yusuke Kitagawa and it would of been golden. It's definitely a must play and highly and strongly recommend this game! Expand
  43. Oct 25, 2022
    10
    Hier wurde alles richtig gemacht. Persona 5 ist mein erstes Jrpg. Ich kann gar nicht mehr aufhören :-)
  44. Nov 20, 2022
    1
    I just lost 5 hours of gameplay because no autosave feature. What stupid design choice is that?
  45. Oct 29, 2022
    0
    Some slutter and three crashes on 13 hours of gameplay thanks to denuvo...., thanks for make the game worse for people that buy the game.
  46. Dec 5, 2022
    10
    The heart-touching JRPG comes back, and it is better than ever.

    Pros
    + Satisfied additional battle function (baton pass, gun, negotiate)
    + Truly captivating story and turning points
    + Really deep relationship between characters
    + Great Music

    Cons
    - Some repetitive activities
    - Semester breaks seem to lack activity
    - Atlus will have a hard time creating better Persona games
  47. Dec 3, 2022
    10
    One of the most unique experiences I've had from any kind of game. This was my first game from the franchise, but I finished it with a save file of 100+ hours poured into it. Definitely a game I will never forget. Great compelling story and absolutely amazing characters. I played with the Japanese voice over but I only heard good things about the English one if anyone's worried. And as aOne of the most unique experiences I've had from any kind of game. This was my first game from the franchise, but I finished it with a save file of 100+ hours poured into it. Definitely a game I will never forget. Great compelling story and absolutely amazing characters. I played with the Japanese voice over but I only heard good things about the English one if anyone's worried. And as a big bonus, the soundtrack of this game is insanely good, 100+ hours played, and not even once got tired of the music. Expand
  48. Dec 2, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is a masterpiece, an unforgettable experience, an adventure

    It takes a whole 140 hours to finish the game with the side activities, main story, palaces and stuff but it is all worth it. Probably the best 150 hours of your life

    Game gets really good after Sae's palace and onward, Sae, Shido and Maruki's palace are easily the top 3 palaces

    The main story is very engaging and can have you to be emotionally attached to the characters
    it even starts off very well with Kamoshida's arc

    10/10
    easily one of the best games I've ever played
    Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 4, 2022
    90
    An original, quality jRPG that manages to refresh the genre.
  2. Nov 9, 2022
    98
    Persona 5 Royal builds on the beloved 2017 role-playing game, with an experience that represents a new watermark for P-Studio. It's the rare reworking that truly justifies a second (or maybe even third) purchase.
  3. Nov 3, 2022
    90
    Persona 5 Royal is a JRPG that I can recommend with my eyes closed, open, one open and one closed, in any way you can imagine. It's a solid starting point for getting into both the genre and the Persona series. Yes, it's a relatively long experience, but it definitely worth it. The fact that it comes with such a successful PC port also makes my recommendation process much easier.