Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 12, 2015
    100
    Is it even possible to return to the roots of isometric RPG, and not only find them healthy but create such a wonderful game from them? Obsidian has proved they could do miracles when their hands are not tied. [Issue#252]
  2. Apr 15, 2015
    100
    This combination of beauty, highly detailed tactical combat, and expansive game world is something that you rarely see nowadays. In many respects, you haven’t seen it since Baldurs Gate II, which means that some of us have been waiting for this game for sixteen years.
  3. Apr 7, 2015
    100
    Pillars of Eternity demonstrates that a great RPG is as much in our own heads and hearts as it is a developer's vision relayed through a monitor. A must-play for fans of the genre, old and new.
  4. 100
    As a spiritual successor to some of my favourite RPGs of all time, Pillars of Eternity does those games justice with its ultra-traditional story, presentation and mechanics. But I recommend other people check it out as well, as it offers a sprawling world to explore, and a fantastic cast of companions to interact with, making it the perfect example of a retro genre done right.
  5. Apr 2, 2015
    100
    Pillars of Eternity is a masterclass in role-playing game development, recapturing the essence of the genre's past triumphs and repackaging them for a universal audience.
  6. Mar 26, 2015
    100
    Obsidian had a daunting task before them: to make a spiritual successor to a series of games that are inextricably tangled up in nostalgia, over a decade after the height of those games’ popularity. This is not the Baldur’s Gate of 2015, it’s Baldur’s Gate, Planescape: Torment, Icewind Dale, the best parts of the lot of them wrapped up in something new and brilliant.
  7. Mar 26, 2015
    100
    It's the best new, isometric RPG to come out in years.
  8. Apr 1, 2015
    99
    Despite drawing obvious inspiration from the Infinity Engine games, Pillars of Eternity manages to be so much more than a simple tribute. Carving out its own unique identity as a masterfully created RPG, it is sure to be remembered as a Role-Playing masterpiece of our times.
  9. May 1, 2015
    95
    Renaming the game to "Baldur’s Torment" may be the easiest way to describe the triumph of spirit, design and scope of this masterpiece made lovingly by Obsidian.
  10. Apr 22, 2015
    95
    The best RPG Obsidian has ever made. Just be ready to read.
  11. Mar 26, 2015
    95
    A game that will go down in history as once did the classics like Baldur's Gate and Planescape: Torment.
  12. Mar 26, 2015
    95
    Obsidian has targeted a very specific audience for this game. It's aimed at someone like me - a fan of Baldur's Gate and Planescape Torment. Someone who loves long documents, tactical battles, complex mechanics and stylish graphics. Pillars of Eternity isn't just a tribute - it's definitely more than that. It's a new, unique thing that sometimes surpasses the great cRPGs from the past.
  13. Mar 26, 2015
    94
    A masterpiece that looks like it came straight from the golden era of RPGs with isometric view. Pillars of Eternity is a worthy heir of the games from the Infinity Engine.
  14. May 25, 2015
    93
    Pillars of Eternity stands on its own merits without resorting to nostalgia too much. Truly a CRPG masterpiece, the game offers old school, real-time strategic combat, and a vivid world to explore. Not only do you get an overall well-made experience, but also a challenge you haven't seen since the 90's.
  15. Apr 21, 2015
    93
    A superb RPG, great history and a funny battle system. A tribute to the best titles of the genre.
  16. Apr 1, 2015
    93
    Players who have been waiting for a deep, true role-playing epic are virtually guaranteed to fall in love. Obsidian should have no shortage of fans cheering for another installment, and I’ll be among them.
  17. Mar 27, 2015
    93
    It has so many moving parts that work so incredibly well together with an unbelievably rich history and mythology.
  18. Mar 26, 2015
    93
    An extraordinary master class on how to recover an abandoned style of making RPGs, showing all its strengths. A superb story, plenty of role-pay possibilities and a beautiful trip. Hopefully, just the first stop of it.
  19. Mar 26, 2015
    93
    It's a fantastic return to the roots of RPGing on PC. Incredibly deep, to the point where discovering every outcome of the story will require hundreds of hours. It's fun and engaging to play. Everyone with a sweet tooth for fantasy and roleplay should consider this game, as it's a true masterpiece from Obsidian.
  20. Apr 7, 2015
    92
    Pillars of Eternity is an excellent RPG with a marvelous plot and an enormous amount of hours of gameplay. It has several flaws in the mechanics but you won’t notice them much.
  21. Mar 27, 2015
    92
    It's an RPG with a soul. Every little detail of it. Obsidian didn't just deliver what they promised, they built a bridge between the past and the present. It may be just one add-on away from being the best RPG ever released.
  22. Mar 26, 2015
    92
    A deep, rich, and wonderfully written RPG that lives up to the towering legacy of the games that inspired it.
  23. Mar 26, 2015
    91
    A fantastic throwback to the D&D classics of yore, Pillars of Eternity is also a brilliant modern RPG in its own right with none of the typical Obsidian problems at launch, be it bugs or performance issues. Tactical combat, excellent atmosphere and great writing coalesce into a beautiful experience. It would be a shame not to play it several times to experience all of the meaningful decisions and consequences. As great as Baldur’s Gate.
  24. May 18, 2015
    90
    Pillars of Eternity is not only one of the best role-playing games in a long time, it also keeps it up classics like Baldur's Gate and Icewind Dale. Expect a somewhat steep learning curve but once the mechanics has settle it is difficult to put away.
  25. May 11, 2015
    90
    Like so many RPGs, Pillars of Eternity is immense with an abundance of things to do. But unlike so many RPGs, it manages to fill its many spaces with craft and care.
  26. PC PowerPlay
    May 3, 2015
    90
    Sprawling and beautiful in equal measure. It can be a tough slog, but it's worth it. [May 2015, p.62]
  27. May 3, 2015
    90
    Obsidian has finally made the RPG we all knew they were capable of making and it's damned glorious. [Issue#160, p.98]
  28. CD-Action
    Apr 30, 2015
    90
    The game has its shortcomings, but until I completed it (in 60 hours) Pillars of Eternity was my air, my food, my life, my last thought when I was going to sleep (if I went to sleep at all, that is) and the first when I was waking up. I would come to the office sleepy, drink a bucket of energy drinks and feel the same excitement that overwhelmed me ten years ago when I played BioWare’s games. [05/2015, p.42]
  29. Apr 21, 2015
    90
    In almost every respect Pillars of Eternity is a true successor to the genre - a perfect introduction for RPG newcomers, and for everyone else, the game they’ve been waiting fifteen years for.
  30. Apr 14, 2015
    90
    Pillars of Eternity excels at bringing the look and feel of the Infinity Engine games to the modern world in an expertly written story that’s worth sitting through for over 70 hours...Honestly, it's one of the best RPGs I've ever played.
  31. Apr 9, 2015
    90
    Pillars of Eternity is a wondrous return to form, the latest and greatest from a recent move to revisit RPG classics. It's certainly the best RPG experience I’ve had for many years, and a massive part of that is how it approaches its story telling.
  32. Apr 8, 2015
    90
    Massive and beautiful. Classic roleplaying at it’s finest
  33. Apr 8, 2015
    90
    Strong thematic hooks, well-written characters and reactive quest design, all resting on an original set of tabletop-inspired mechanics, make this a triumphant return.
  34. Apr 8, 2015
    90
    An RPG in which you can easily lose hours, should it grab you.
  35. If you’re a real fan of classic FRP games, complex content of Pillars of Eternity will totally absorb you away from real life and keep you entertained.
  36. Apr 7, 2015
    90
    Pillars of Eternity is an outstanding game. It can be criticized with number of individual issues, but as a whole it works great, almost perfect. I know that all veterans of isometric RPGs will enjoy this game, and I firmly believe that not only them will do so.
  37. Apr 3, 2015
    90
    Pillars of Eternity is more than an appeal to nostalgia; it's a rich RPG in its own right, boasting enjoyable combat, a strong story, and masterfully paced quests.
  38. Apr 3, 2015
    90
    The promises Obsidian made definitely came true. Pillars of Eternity is the ultimate ode to RPG classics like Baldur's Gate, but it does have its own unique style to bring to the table.
  39. Apr 2, 2015
    90
    Obsidian’s Pillars of Eternity is a love letter to those gamers who remember RPGs of old – when parties were large, adventures were world-sprawling, and you read a book or two worth of words before the world was saved.
  40. Apr 2, 2015
    90
    A dream for all the old-school RPG fans, despite some typical Obsidian bugs. If you can, wait for a couple of patches before jumping aboard.
  41. Apr 2, 2015
    90
    Obsidian not only continues the tradition of classic party role-playing by merging virtues of Baldur’s Gate and Planescape Torment. They create a unique fantasy world far away from Dungeons and Dragons, thus demonstrating that creativity and passion are more important than any graphics engine.
  42. Apr 2, 2015
    90
    Pillars of Eternity is a must-buy for anyone who has played classic titles like Baldur's Gate, Neverwinter Nights or Planescape, and it will certainly deliver the story, the conversations, the companions, the combat and the big themes that they are yearning for.
  43. Apr 1, 2015
    90
    The writing in the game is second-to-none, and Pillars of Eternity shows how quality prose can augment the role-playing experience.
  44. Mar 30, 2015
    90
    Beautiful and complete, Pillars of Eternity is a captivating game mastered throughout. Despite a lot of text to read and lengthy load times, it stands out as one of the best RPGs of our time.
  45. Mar 27, 2015
    90
    Obsidian has met the expectations and delivered an outstanding old-school RPG, which doesn't feel "old" at all, but "classic".
  46. Mar 26, 2015
    90
    It honors the classics, brings great ideas of its own, and in the process it emerges as a classic itself. Games like this are always about the journey, and it's sure as hell a journey worth taking.
  47. Mar 26, 2015
    90
    Add in an extensive amount of lore, as well as great writing and detailed conversation options, and the result is a finely-crafted RPG that will take over 60 hours to complete. Be prepared to say “goodbye” to the sun because with so many classes and side quests, most players will want to replay Pillars of Eternity at least once.
  48. Mar 26, 2015
    90
    High quality, old-school RPG with a lot of fresh ideas, providing hours of fascinating gameplay.
  49. Mar 26, 2015
    90
    Pillars Of Eternity is a masterpiece and nothing less than essential for anyone who's ever heard of the Infinity Engine. Superbly written, expansive yet rich and detailed, tactical and thought-provoking, it's the sort of roleplaying experience that we've been dreaming about for years.
  50. Mar 26, 2015
    90
    Is Pillars of Eternity the perfect game? No, but it is an incredibly good one. When fans backed the Kickstarter to the tune of nearly four million dollars, they did so on the promise of Obsidian returning to their roots; more than that, that they would return we RPG players to our roots. By taking cues from the past, Pillars of Eternity bears lessons for future developers. Accessibility is fine, but players learn to love depth. Cutscenes are important, but less so than a well-crafted story. And the world itself should be the reason to explore, not the experience from the 100th bandit. Pillars isn’t perfect, no, but it may just be a modern classic.
  51. Mar 26, 2015
    90
    All you really need to know though, is this; Pillars of Eternity is a triumph.
  52. Apr 2, 2015
    86
    Pillars of Eternity is indeed great fun for RPG players young and old, and you don’t need a $2000 beast to play it on either.
  53. May 22, 2015
    85
    The development team catered to their core group, and I feel they made the game that they wanted to play. But ultimately I also feel I have to hold them responsible for making a game that feels inaccessible in so many ways.
  54. Pillars of Eternity proves that the men and women at Obsidian know how to make a good traditional RPG based on their own intellectual property...And now they’ve proven they don’t even need an investor to do it.
  55. Apr 13, 2015
    85
    Pillars is a great RPG, a rich title featuring a complex gameplay, quests with beautifully written dialogues and with an impressive cure for almost every aspect. If you like the genre, this is a must have.
  56. Apr 8, 2015
    85
    Playing the game is not an entirely nostalgic experience. It conjures up a genuine need for this style of RPG -- isometric, hand-drawn, party-driven, stat-heavy, and a whole lot of fun.
  57. Apr 7, 2015
    85
    At the beginning, Pillars of Eternity has too much of the classic Infinity Engine games. A few hours later you'll start to discover its particular magic and fall in love. It's a tribute to those games and Obsidian Entertainment have achieved to refresh the old formula.
  58. Apr 7, 2015
    85
    Like Arcanum and Vampire: The Masquerade—Bloodlines before it, Pillars of Eternity is a feat of world-building.
  59. Apr 1, 2015
    85
    77,000 people wanted to relive their glory days of Baldur’s Gate and paid for the luxury of doing so. The result I think is a remarkable recreation of that flavor of gaming.
  60. Mar 26, 2015
    85
    Pillars of Eternity proudly carries on the legacy of the classic computer RPG, and those who remember them with fondness should find in it a welcome addition to the genre.
  61. Apr 9, 2015
    84
    Despite the early issues I had getting used to the controls and the gameplay, Pillars of Eternity became highly addictive. It was probably the point where I actually worked out a viable strategy for the two characters in my party when in combat and I found myself playing long into the night which, for me anyway, is the sign that I'm having fun.
  62. Apr 23, 2015
    83
    Pillars of Eternity is a good RPG even when you play it without your rose-tinted nostalgia glasses.
  63. Games Master UK
    May 24, 2015
    82
    A sprawling game in a familiar setting, and a clever tune-up for the cRPG. Just what the backers hoped for. [June 2015, p.74]
  64. Edge Magazine
    May 20, 2015
    80
    There's no denying that Obsidian's soul was in the effort. [June 2015, p.110]
  65. For the freedom of choice, quality of writing and enjoyable tactical combat a lot of Pillars of Eternity’s blunders can be forgiven, even the lackluster core RPG mechanics. [May 2015, p.82]
  66. Apr 9, 2015
    80
    In the end, I did compare this favourably to my experiences with Baldur's Gate, a game which excited and interested me. I'd played that game recently, so it was easy to compare, but Pillars stands on its own as an immersive world and fun gameplay experience.
  67. Apr 6, 2015
    80
    It is not changing the future, but it is repackaging the past in a way that deserves praise while falling into a few old traps--and creating a few of its own--along the way.
  68. Mar 30, 2015
    80
    It’s almost entirely backwards-looking, and the characterisation is disappointingly dry, but for fans of Baldur’s Gate and its era this will have you partying like it’s 1998.
  69. Mar 30, 2015
    80
    Pillars of Eternity is classic RPG (and Kickstarter) done right. Great writing, solid gameplay and excellent art direction make for a glorious homage to the masterpieces of yesteryear, and a love letter to all their fans.
  70. Mar 26, 2015
    80
    With it its isometric perspective, real time combat system, great focus on roleplaying and a decent chunk of side content, Pillars of Eternity is a giant ball of playable nostalgia. You don't have to have played Baldur's Gate or Icewind Dale to get the most out of this gem of a game. It fits just as well for new players as it does for old veterans.
  71. Jul 7, 2015
    70
    Pillars is a title that should make old-schoolers happy while still offering a solid core game, story, and a rich setting for new-schoolers.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2600 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 26, 2015
    10
    You can say it this way or the other: Baldur´s Gate is back! From the look of the game, the feeling when playing, the customization of yourYou can say it this way or the other: Baldur´s Gate is back! From the look of the game, the feeling when playing, the customization of your characters, the interaction withe them and the environment - everythinfg feeld like Baldur´s Gate - and plays like it. It´s the great old-school RPG all bakers - and not only them - waited a decade for. Fantastic, deep gameplay, tactical pausable combat and many many loot to ind.
    I can just say: love it. And recommend it everyone who only slightly loves deep and richt group RpGs, where tactical combat is more important than fast clicking in 1st person view!
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 26, 2015
    10
    This game isn't for everyone. If you care much about visuals or graphics, and little for story or gameplay, you should try another game. ButThis game isn't for everyone. If you care much about visuals or graphics, and little for story or gameplay, you should try another game. But if you, like me, are into story-driven CRPGs, then you should really go for it! Chris Avellone is a good writer, you can expect a great setting and a good story from this game. Full Review »
  3. Mar 26, 2015
    10
    Marks the return of the greatest RPGs ever made. The tactical combat of Baldur's Gate, the rich story and companions of Planescape: TormentMarks the return of the greatest RPGs ever made. The tactical combat of Baldur's Gate, the rich story and companions of Planescape: Torment and the gorgeous environments of Icewind Dale, all melded into. It is all that was promised and more. Welcome back Greatness. Full Review »