Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    70
    For the price (currently available for $15 on Steam) Q.U.B.E. is a decent way to spend a few hours. I found it a welcome change from the glut of open-world RPGs that have seemed to come out month after month recently, and I would happily buy DLC for additional puzzle packs if they became available. The short length of the campaign left me wanting more later on, but as a palate cleanser between meatier affairs, it hit just the right spot.
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    70
    A fine puzzle game and inferior Portal-clone. It takes four hours to run through this fun experience.
  3. Feb 5, 2012
    70
    Q.U.B.E is a decent indie attempt, but its similarities to Valve's masterpiece cannot be ignored, and it's this constant comparison that will be its downfall. While the effort has to be applauded, at its most basic level Q.U.B.E exhibits very little to engage players, and as such won't keep your attention for very long.
  4. Feb 1, 2012
    70
    It's difficult not to draw parallels to Portal. You are a test subject in a unique environment interacting with your surroundings in a creative way. But here you are alone: There is no humor, no cynicsm, no cake lie, only partially frustrating puzzles thanks to the imprecise controls – nothing else.
  5. Jan 19, 2012
    70
    Q.U.B.E. may not be the most original game. It has problems and leaves plenty of room for improvement. Regardless, it's a genuinely enjoyable experience that fans of first-person puzzlers should not miss out on.
  6. Jan 17, 2012
    70
    A nice diversion from the famous portal gun.
  7. Jan 6, 2012
    70
    Pity about the lack of detail, originality and music. The price is affordable by all and deserves a chance.
  8. Jan 16, 2012
    68
    A solid puzzler but little else. What it sets out to do, gameplay-wise, it succeeds in, providing admirable and occasionally fiddly conundrums to cudgel your grey matter with. However, outside of that, there's little to charm you, little to make you 'love' the game, rather than just like it.
  9. Jan 10, 2012
    65
    Q.U.B.E. offers some short-term fun for puzzle fans and not a lot else. With so little emphasis put on story I can't help but feel that Q.U.B.E. may have benefitted from having no story elements at all, instead of loosely hinting at some bigger picture that goes unseen.
  10. Jan 6, 2012
    65
    Q.U.B.E. may have some wonderfully clever puzzles, but without any sort of personality, it ends up feeling as boring as its whitewashed walls.
  11. PC Master (Greece)
    Mar 1, 2012
    63
    The puzzles are truly brilliant, in both concept and execution. No disagreements here. But this core should have been dressed with a more tasteful wrapper to make the whole package more appealing. [February 2012]
  12. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 1, 2012
    60
    An enjoyable, finely crafted puzzler that's over far too soon. [March 2012, p.66]
  13. Jan 6, 2012
    60
    Its ideas for first-person puzzling mechanics are original, and when it starts combining them all into larger and more baffling setups it has great moments with a chilled-out pacing all their own. But that creativity is smothered under slavish imitation of the aesthetics and structure of the Portal series, and such a large influence is malign.
  14. CD-Action
    Feb 14, 2012
    55
    Too short, too easy and devoid of atmosphere. [March 2012, p.69]
  15. Jan 12, 2012
    50
    As a final misstep, there's no final, ultimate puzzle that combines all the mechanics I'd learned -- it just sort of ends.
  16. 50
    It might look like Portal but it certainly doesn't play like it, which is a good thing in terms of the puzzles but not the dour presentation and story.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 127
  2. Negative: 10 out of 127
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    8
    fairly good game that is enjoyable. Some will deem it disappointing because it doesnt have witty narrative writing like portal but that doesntfairly good game that is enjoyable. Some will deem it disappointing because it doesnt have witty narrative writing like portal but that doesnt appear to be its purpose. Sure this would make it a more enjoyable experience but it only ever attempts to be a puzzle game. Those looking for a portal 2 ripoff should look elsewhere. recommended for people who like to chill and do a few first person puzzlers. Full Review »
  2. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Wonderfull game! Our era need more games like this. Simple yet innovative. Nice music. Visually atractive. Quite challenging at some points.Wonderfull game! Our era need more games like this. Simple yet innovative. Nice music. Visually atractive. Quite challenging at some points. And above all that, SMART. Worth every single cent. Amused me in every single puzzle, specially the ones in the dark. Surprising ending too.

    Some people think that the game is crappy for the lack story but in my opinion one thing that make this game so good is exactly the lack of it. That way when you proceed through the chambers you wonder who created them, what was the purpose of all that and many other things that are, at least partially, explained when you beat it. People with at least a drop of creativity, imagination and logic should love this game.

    Looking foward to Q.U.B.E. 2!
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 24, 2012
    4
    This is a very interesting puzzle game. I just beat it, and let me say, it HAD THE POTENTIAL to be as great as Portal or Portal 2. What heldThis is a very interesting puzzle game. I just beat it, and let me say, it HAD THE POTENTIAL to be as great as Portal or Portal 2. What held it back? Lack of story explanation. Some people would count that as a plus, but it makes you feel empty after you beat it. The game was very fun, but very nail rippingly difficult at times. Sometimes I knew EXACTLY how to solve a puzzle, but you have to be so PRECISE to solve it, it's ridiculous. I highly recommend it if you like any sort of mentally challenging puzzle game. Simple mechanics, complex challenges. Strange environment. Uh, what else.. Oh the music. Play your own, it gets very old very fast. Full Review »