User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2104 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 25, 2019
    10
    Once a masterpiece, always a masterpiece!!

    Capcom has really done it with this amazing masterpiece and have gained themselves the title of King of Remakes!! This game is absolutely what I could've asked for. It has got RE4's view that actually fits perfectly! This game is a must play for everybody!!!
  2. Feb 14, 2019
    6
    pros:
    - physics and character animation
    - sound - graphics (in general) - well-implemented difficulty system (in general) - 4th survivor cons: - minimum difference between scenario B compared to A - invincible Tyrant when playing for Leon and complete sh*t when playing for Claire - in next time, make sure that your antagonist does not get 5-6 bullets in the chest and in so doing
    pros:
    - physics and character animation
    - sound
    - graphics (in general)
    - well-implemented difficulty system (in general)
    - 4th survivor

    cons:
    - minimum difference between scenario B compared to A
    - invincible Tyrant when playing for Leon and complete sh*t when playing for Claire
    - in next time, make sure that your antagonist does not get 5-6 bullets in the chest and in so doing one of which hits in the heart, and then gets up and injects himself G-virus
    - in next time don't create characters, which not able to just push away enemies, but opening the neck for a bite.
    - Brightness. Or too bright, or too dark, what did your testers and devs do?

    Nevertheless remake not bad. Now gamers are waiting from you remakes of Resident Evil 3 and Dino Crisis.
    Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2021
    9
    Graphics - 9.9/10
    Story - 9/10
    Variety of enemies - 9/10
    Amount of meaningful bosses with cool design - 10/10
    Game's length - 7/10
    Gameplay - 9/10
    Variety of weapons - 9/10
    General world design - 9/10
    Fun factor - 9/10
    Main/Pause menu music - 10/10
    Sound/Music - 10/10
    How many times i have finished it - 5
    Where does it stand in my top "1000 video games of all time" list - 10
  4. Sep 22, 2019
    9
    Capcom shines like never before, with the release of monster hunter world, dmc v and so Resident evil 2
  5. Oct 16, 2019
    9
    RE2 remake is not only a tribute to the saga, but also a teaching of how to make a remake. The only downside of this remake is the narrative dissonance that the two campaigns present, something that the original did better.
  6. Oct 27, 2019
    10
    Идеальный ремейк. Жду ремейка третей части!!!
  7. Nov 2, 2019
    9
    I'm beyond impressed with this remake. Amazing in almost every respect. Graphically fantastic and UI is clean and easy to use even in stressful situations. Harder difficulties are still fun.
  8. Nov 7, 2019
    10
    El juego es perfecto para los fans del resident evil y el motor grafico es muy bueno y la ejecución del juego es buena dandote emoción desde el principio, es una obra maestra es una buena compra ya que funciona en 4k en consola y en pc corre hasta con 1gb de video ram.
  9. Nov 19, 2019
    10
    This game is very good. I really enjoyed the original, but I really love what they've done with the remake. it's not a 1:1 recreation and there are some features that I really miss, like how Claire and Leon interacted more in the original but I'm happy to see Resident Evil returning to its horror roots. The atmosphere is oppressive and it's stressful to play through, the sound design isThis game is very good. I really enjoyed the original, but I really love what they've done with the remake. it's not a 1:1 recreation and there are some features that I really miss, like how Claire and Leon interacted more in the original but I'm happy to see Resident Evil returning to its horror roots. The atmosphere is oppressive and it's stressful to play through, the sound design is amazing in regards to the Tyrant. You can hear where he is in the building just by listening to his footsteps. Resident Evil 2 is very fun and I can't wait to see what they do for the Resident Evil 3 remake Expand
  10. Jan 8, 2020
    9
    Шикарный ремейк, шикарная атмосфера, классные зомби, импакт от стрельбы, интересно исследовать мир, жаль только битвы с боссами выглядят так себе, ну и Тиран просто шикарен)
  11. Apr 6, 2020
    9
    This game is great. An example of how remakes should be done. It changes many things from the original but still feels like Resident Evil 2. Gameplay is good, graphics are amazing, I like the story and characters and it has a lot of replay value with extra modes and different campaigns.

    The negatives are mainly missed opportunities, specially the lack of differentiation and
    This game is great. An example of how remakes should be done. It changes many things from the original but still feels like Resident Evil 2. Gameplay is good, graphics are amazing, I like the story and characters and it has a lot of replay value with extra modes and different campaigns.

    The negatives are mainly missed opportunities, specially the lack of differentiation and interconnection of the four routes.
    Expand
  12. Oct 26, 2019
    10
    The best remaster of the game ever created, it remains to wait for part 3. Passed with pleasure 4 times.
  13. Jan 7, 2020
    10
    This game turned me from someone who enjoyed Resident Evil into a super fan. I never actually played the original, but I'm so glad they took this game in the direction they did, the over-the-shoulder perspective gives you the best of both action and horror, and it lets you appreciate the gorgeous visuals on display. RE2 will stick with me for a long time, especially as it was my firstThis game turned me from someone who enjoyed Resident Evil into a super fan. I never actually played the original, but I'm so glad they took this game in the direction they did, the over-the-shoulder perspective gives you the best of both action and horror, and it lets you appreciate the gorgeous visuals on display. RE2 will stick with me for a long time, especially as it was my first foray into speedrunning, the ability to replay something that took eight to ten hours in only one is exhilarating and a testament to its replayability.

    Absolutely a contender for my 2019 GOTY, and a game I can't recommend enough.
    Expand
  14. Mar 27, 2020
    9
    Super scary, amazing story, really fun puzzles, great characters, fun gun play and an amazing remake!

    A must buy for anyone looking for all these things
  15. Jan 23, 2020
    9
    The game is excellent but the keyboard controls aren't the best. The controls on keyboard can be a bit weird at times so I recommend that you have a controller plugged in for the best experience.
  16. Sep 17, 2019
    10
    Oh yes Capcom shove me just such remakes and I will give you $ 60 every year, this is what I understand is a remake of not setting new screen resolutions in the settings and pulling up textures is a full game based on another game ... bravo I want more ...
    Super waiting for Nemesis + Dino Crisis .....
  17. Jul 22, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just Finished This game and I could not wait to shout it's praises from the high heavens. I was itching for an experience that RE 2 provided me and then some.

    First things first 'Claire FTW...' I feel I enjoyed Claire's second run play through a bit more than Leon's, but I am certain it was because of the grenade launcher as Claire felt like an absolute bad ass, rightly so being the sister of Chris. Kinda makes sense.This game did for me in regards to Claire what RE 4 did in regards to Leon. i.e; made me love Claire and recognize her as a strong character.
    This is not saying Leon's Campaign was any less of a positive experience in itself, since I did not know what to expect around the next turn during the entirety of my first run, I had knots in my stomach. Really really fun knots.
    Capcom was in a bit of a slump but seem to be making a much needed comeback in the past few years.

    Please Give me more of THIS Capcom.... Experiences like the one RE 2 Remake provides is one of the reasons I fell in Love with Gaming. It feels legendary.

    Though one small gripe I have is both Leon and Claire's Play through is, it is more of their own thing rather than two sides of the same coin. I would have loved to see both the First and Second Run intertwine more, with our protagonists to meet/run into each other than cut-scenes and a proper parallel story line. The interconnecting stories and how it affected the world was the only thing I actually liked from RE 6 and it should have been carried over here.
    But as I said it is a minor nitpick in the face of the absolute gorgeous visuals, competent story line and downright amazing game play I have experienced.

    An absolute Gem of a beloved classic.
    Expand
  18. Dec 30, 2019
    10
    Re 98` vs Re 19`. All are the winners. Thanx for making this game. Play it A.S.A.P. if you haven`t done it yet.
  19. Jan 31, 2020
    10
    Capcom yet again impresses with a game that is made with love and care. You're not safe anywhere you go and thats how it should be. Remakes are hard to pull off and Capcom is prooving how easy it is to do.

    Physics, animation, sound, graphics, and story are nothing short of a masterpiece
  20. Feb 22, 2020
    9
    Very clean and proper without any form of amateur content. Graphics, story, gameplay, puzzles and especially character progression all beautifully made.
  21. Dec 23, 2019
    10
    A world-class experience. Love the characters, love the storytelling, love the graphics and sound, love the cutscenes. Very fun and challenging puzzles to solve. Great achievements to obtain. And "Extra Modes" is good end-game content. Without a doubt the Game of the Year 2019. So far the best Resident Evil games are Resident Evil 5, Resident Evil: Revelations, Resident Evil: Revelations 2A world-class experience. Love the characters, love the storytelling, love the graphics and sound, love the cutscenes. Very fun and challenging puzzles to solve. Great achievements to obtain. And "Extra Modes" is good end-game content. Without a doubt the Game of the Year 2019. So far the best Resident Evil games are Resident Evil 5, Resident Evil: Revelations, Resident Evil: Revelations 2 and Resident Evil 2 (remake). Expand
  22. Feb 16, 2020
    9
    Что можно сказать о "Resident Evil 2: Remake"? Игра отличная, сюжет очень интересен, хотя и не хватает изменений во втором прохождении, на мой взгляд. Как будто по новой переигрываешь, но интересно вставили возможность поиграть за маленькую девочку.
    Атмосфера игры - основное из её преимуществ. Нет огромного количества скримеров, а те, которые присутствуют, отлично дополняют приятное
    Что можно сказать о "Resident Evil 2: Remake"? Игра отличная, сюжет очень интересен, хотя и не хватает изменений во втором прохождении, на мой взгляд. Как будто по новой переигрываешь, но интересно вставили возможность поиграть за маленькую девочку.
    Атмосфера игры - основное из её преимуществ. Нет огромного количества скримеров, а те, которые присутствуют, отлично дополняют приятное «напряжение» от игры!
    Очень порадовала графика, прорисовка деталей.
    В целом, игра хорошая. Не жалею о времени, проведённом за игрой. Всем любителям данного жанра искренне рекомендую!
    Expand
  23. Jul 26, 2019
    10
    I remember the day when Resident Evil 2 was released back then. But I never had a chance to finish the game, because I was too scared to play.

    This time I was an adult, I was ready, it was the remastered version. And for the first time in a decade, I found NOTHING to complain about. This game is a masterpiece. They simply followed the story, remastered the game with new graphics and
    I remember the day when Resident Evil 2 was released back then. But I never had a chance to finish the game, because I was too scared to play.

    This time I was an adult, I was ready, it was the remastered version. And for the first time in a decade, I found NOTHING to complain about.

    This game is a masterpiece. They simply followed the story, remastered the game with new graphics and modern features like the following camera and so on.
    Good job. This is what I expect from the remastered games. If you doubt whether to experiment, just follow the old pattern. And you win.
    Expand
  24. Jan 7, 2020
    10
    Excellent remake. Captures everything good from the original. Keep it up capcom
  25. Nov 19, 2019
    10
    Game of the year of 2019 no doubts. Back to over the shoulder formula of RE 4-5-6 with the atmosphere of the first 3 games. Top.
  26. Jun 3, 2019
    10
    Once a masterpiece, always a masterpiece!!

    Capcom has really done it with this amazing masterpiece and have gained themselves the title of King of Remakes!! This game is absolutely what I could've asked for. It has got RE4's view that actually fits perfectly! This game is a must play for everybody!!!
  27. Jul 18, 2019
    10
    This game is so awesome! I would have never thought that it could be brought into the current time so well. It did not lose it's flair from the end-90's, but it also doesn't feel outdated game-mechanic-wise. The sound and graphics are absolutely awesome, and the script is well-written and - from my memory - very close to the original. I've never felt nostalgia and was impressed at the sameThis game is so awesome! I would have never thought that it could be brought into the current time so well. It did not lose it's flair from the end-90's, but it also doesn't feel outdated game-mechanic-wise. The sound and graphics are absolutely awesome, and the script is well-written and - from my memory - very close to the original. I've never felt nostalgia and was impressed at the same time so much. Expand
  28. Jul 23, 2019
    10
    I am one of the RESIDENT EVIL series fans.
    I played Resident evil 2 (1998) and now i played this and i think this is so better than the main game.the graphics and gameplay and everything is so amazing.
  29. Feb 3, 2020
    9
    I never played RE2 and was really looking forward to finally play it once it got this awesome remake.

    That being said, I enjoyed everything this game had to offer. The story, the characters, the action, the tension and the graphics. Everything is 10/10. Sadly, for me, it is a little short. I know I know, it comes from an era when games have been that way but still, I had hoped Capcom
    I never played RE2 and was really looking forward to finally play it once it got this awesome remake.

    That being said, I enjoyed everything this game had to offer. The story, the characters, the action, the tension and the graphics. Everything is 10/10. Sadly, for me, it is a little short. I know I know, it comes from an era when games have been that way but still, I had hoped Capcom had added some additional content. The second run is never my style since I hate to replay games as soon as i finished them. I know it has some different parts and slightly different story but all in all it has a lot of the scenery recycled. To me, that is a downside but I can see why people like the different perspectives of the playthroughs.
    Other than that, I have no complains whatsoever. It was a really good game.
    Expand
  30. Mar 30, 2020
    9
    Much like RE:Remake, this title effectively captures the satisfaction of slowly and sequentially going through objectives and planning out your little adventures. Resource management in hardcore mode is also mostly enjoyable (although like previous games I always end up with too many resources by the end). Visuals and atmosphere aren't quite as gorgeous as RE:Remake but otherwise the gameMuch like RE:Remake, this title effectively captures the satisfaction of slowly and sequentially going through objectives and planning out your little adventures. Resource management in hardcore mode is also mostly enjoyable (although like previous games I always end up with too many resources by the end). Visuals and atmosphere aren't quite as gorgeous as RE:Remake but otherwise the game is pretty.
    Main issues, Mr X and the William are outrageously dull and annoying to deal with. Mr X is scary for a whole 3 seconds when he first shows up, after that he is just a time waster. None of the boss fights are tense, scary or challenging in a satisfying way. While these issues are fine during the first playthrough, they really hurt my motivation to finish my subsequent playthroughs, knowing these tedious affairs will be my reward for making it through the acts. Lacking boss fights has been an issue with RE games and this title doesn't rectify this unfortunately.
    Expand
  31. Nov 20, 2019
    10
    The best remake ever made.

    The game is a MASTERPIECE which managed to be as good as the original even though it changed many aspects of the original story (which is great). Everything is so beautiful, even the feeling of walking the redone RPD is amazing. You can see from afar the affection that the developers put in such a classic game.

    GOTY 2019
  32. Nov 24, 2019
    10
    Além de ter resgatado as origens da série Residente, esse jogo foi mais alem, adicionando conteúdo inédito, gráfico fora de série, ótima jogabilidade, história excelente e o jogador fica o tempo todo apreensivo!
  33. Mar 17, 2020
    9
    The perfect remake and one of the best games in its genre.The atmosphere was especially good
  34. Dec 9, 2019
    10
    A joy to play through again and again. Great plot to gameplay ratio with 4 variations on the main story and lots of extra content. A must buy for anyone with a high-end PC to appreciate the excessive attention to detail. Best thing for a newcomer is to not search the internet about this game before playing. Keep it all a surprise and you won't be disappointed.
  35. Dec 24, 2019
    9
    This game is more than what i expected, just launching it brought back lots of fund memories i had of the old one, best thing of it all this game some how manages to be even scarier maybe it has something to do with how beautiful the RE engine looks and making everything look amazingly gorgeous and creepy like the lickers, i hated those damn things but this made me hate them even more.This game is more than what i expected, just launching it brought back lots of fund memories i had of the old one, best thing of it all this game some how manages to be even scarier maybe it has something to do with how beautiful the RE engine looks and making everything look amazingly gorgeous and creepy like the lickers, i hated those damn things but this made me hate them even more.
    highly recommend picking it up since its so great so far and really well optimized i haven't drop below 60fps even with everything set to max at 4K and that's saying a lot since i cant say that for some other games that I'm with my 2080ti.
    Expand
  36. Jan 31, 2020
    10
    a very well made remake. this game is the perfect example on how to remake a whole game from scratch, without destroying the heart and soul of the original.
  37. Feb 19, 2020
    9
    Absolutely fantastic game. I never played the original (I was only 5 when it released), but have seen videos of it. They have completely overhauled everything. Graphics and sound are astounding, the over-the-shoulder third person view is an improvement over the original as well. Also the Tyrant is one scary piece of.....
  38. Apr 8, 2020
    9
    Muy buena adaptación del Resident Evil 2 Original. No es perfecto porque a nivel de historia, el original sigue siendo más completo y tiene más rejugabilidad.

    -Graficamente es de sobresaliente. Maravilloso. -El sonido es espectacular, aunque tiene menos piezas que el original y si quieres algunas de las canciones del original tienes que pagar un dlc aparte... -La história esta muy
    Muy buena adaptación del Resident Evil 2 Original. No es perfecto porque a nivel de historia, el original sigue siendo más completo y tiene más rejugabilidad.

    -Graficamente es de sobresaliente. Maravilloso.
    -El sonido es espectacular, aunque tiene menos piezas que el original y si quieres algunas de las canciones del original tienes que pagar un dlc aparte...
    -La história esta muy bien adaptada, pero sigue siendo mejor la del original, ya que tiene mayor rejugabilidad en los escenarios B.
    -La nueva jugabilidad aporta mucha más inmersión que el juego original, y da un nuevo enfoque a la historia. Han conseguido un buen balance entre acción, suspense, terror, resolución de puzzles e investigación.

    Muy Recomendable y complementa perfectamente el juego original de 1998.
    Expand
  39. Jul 23, 2020
    9
    This game sets an example on how to remake a great classic game that feels fresh and at the same time nostalgic.
  40. Oct 14, 2020
    10
    This game is what every RE game should be like.
    Perfect survival horror with smooth gameplay elements that keeps you on the edge and rewards you for learning.
    An engaging story that u can play through at least 4 times and everytime see something new with beloved characters revived. I have played through almost all the RE games and this one is the most I've played, so definitely my
    This game is what every RE game should be like.
    Perfect survival horror with smooth gameplay elements that keeps you on the edge and rewards you for learning.
    An engaging story that u can play through at least 4 times and everytime see something new with beloved characters revived.
    I have played through almost all the RE games and this one is the most I've played, so definitely my favorite of the bunch
    Expand
  41. Oct 12, 2020
    10
    10 Баллов !!! Любители оценят!!!!этот шедевр!!!
  42. Jan 20, 2021
    9
    While this is not my favorite resident evil (IMO nothing tops RE4), RE2 remake is a must-play for not only RE fans but any serious multi-genre gamer. It's a high quality, well-structured game that sums up what you should expect from a survival/horror title and I assure you finishing it will be a satisfying experience.
  43. Jan 17, 2020
    9
    My first game of the resident evil saga, I had never tried the survival horror genre before, and this game was a good start, good puzzles not so far-fetched and not impossible, good story and character development, good graphics and good lighting, I was fascinated with the game and I look forward to the resident evil 3 remake, in the meantime I will give a chance to resident evil 1 hd remaster
  44. Apr 18, 2020
    9
    An almost perfect up date to a survival horror classic. All around great game with only small problems.
  45. Jul 15, 2019
    9
    Capcom just know how to make a great game. Make great games again. Thank you Capcom, it was an amazing experience
  46. Sep 16, 2020
    8
    I played my first horror game thanks to Resident Evil 2 Remake. Challenging puzzles, great story (especially Claire's), scary dark atmosphere of police station and graphics was beyond my expectations. The campaign was actually too short, but The 2nd Run system (playing with both Claire and Leon) makes it up really well.
    (September 2020)
  47. Dec 22, 2020
    9
    I have to admit that this Game was a blast to play, i recommend everybody who wants a challenge to play on Hard. That's how the Game is suppose to be played.
  48. Jan 12, 2021
    9
    O classico é mais dificil, porem nesse Remake é muito mais dificil conseguir as armas infinitas.
    Comprei uma RX570 e ganhei esse game mais o Devil May Cry 5.
    Aguardando o Remake do Code Veronica ou do 1.
  49. Jan 12, 2021
    9
    Better than the original as a standalone game but not as good as a remake. Could've been perfect!
  50. Jan 3, 2021
    10
    Fantastic game. Feels extremely refreshing to play something so different and the new graphics make it a joy to look at, as well as play.
  51. Jul 19, 2020
    9
    RE2 Remake é sem duvida um dos melhores da franquia Resident Evil, além disso tem um ótimo gameplay e gráficos de acordo com sua geração. Para um masterpiece só faltou mais iteração com os cenários, uma mecânica mais fluida do personagem e é claro, uma história épica de zumbis.
  52. Feb 1, 2020
    10
    hi, this game is one of my favorite games, Claire Red field is my favorite character of this game, good job cap com.
  53. Feb 2, 2020
    10
    Even for someone like me who isn't a fan of either RE games or horror in general, it was a very fun, well crafted experience. It's very exciting on your first runs, and gets an extra depth when played on its hardest difficulty.
    If there's any flaw I can find, it's that the scenarios are a bit too similar to warrant going through the game 4 times. However, if you're someone who'd replay
    Even for someone like me who isn't a fan of either RE games or horror in general, it was a very fun, well crafted experience. It's very exciting on your first runs, and gets an extra depth when played on its hardest difficulty.
    If there's any flaw I can find, it's that the scenarios are a bit too similar to warrant going through the game 4 times. However, if you're someone who'd replay the game multiple times anyway, even they become a fine addition.
    Expand
  54. May 6, 2020
    9
    Going into the Resident Evil 2 remake I didn't have very high expectations. I havn't played that much of the previous Resident Evil games and was expecting this one to be a 7 at best that fans were raving over because fanboys be fanboys. I'm happy to say that I couldn't be more wrong. The game looks and sounds amazing. The puzzles, although quite simple, were still enjoyable. They made theGoing into the Resident Evil 2 remake I didn't have very high expectations. I havn't played that much of the previous Resident Evil games and was expecting this one to be a 7 at best that fans were raving over because fanboys be fanboys. I'm happy to say that I couldn't be more wrong. The game looks and sounds amazing. The puzzles, although quite simple, were still enjoyable. They made the guns feel like they pack a punch while also making zombies hard to kill, avoiding the pitfall of making the guns feel like they're shooting pellets. My only complaint is that I personally had some stuttering issues (although most people say the game runs like a dream so its probably a problem on my end). Amazing game that went above and beyond my expectations. Definitely one of the best of 2019! Expand
  55. Apr 14, 2020
    9
    Este sim ficou um remake de qualidade! Gostei bastante deste game! Gráficos, história, jogabilidade, etc. Tudo ótimo!
  56. May 6, 2020
    9
    A great remaster of one of the best survival horror shooter games. If you're a resident evil fan, you'll love this.
  57. Oct 3, 2020
    10
    RE2 is a game brimming with care of it's creators and it is just of highest quality. As the best games in the franchise do, this one is full of content, heavily replayable and extremely fun. The story and gameplay changes in remake go a long way to fix the issues in the original and to make Resident Evil 2 a true masterpiece
  58. May 7, 2020
    9
    I was impressed by this remake, really well done and fun to play. The atmosphere is well recreated, and the gameplay is quite smooth. I must say the zombies are the best seen in a videogame, also good character voices and sounds. Great job Capcom!
  59. Dec 16, 2020
    9
    Incredible game. It's really refreshing to see these types of hidden gems come out from a talented studio
  60. Jun 22, 2020
    9
    Resident Evil 2: Remake funciona como un divertido juego de acción / zombie y lleno de tensión, horror de supervivencia, ya que estarás constantemente alerta, ya que los zombis irrumpirán por las puertas y ventanas para probar tu deliciosa carne carnosa. La historia también es bastante fácil de entender para que cualquiera pueda sumergirse sin ningún conocimiento previo de quiénes sonResident Evil 2: Remake funciona como un divertido juego de acción / zombie y lleno de tensión, horror de supervivencia, ya que estarás constantemente alerta, ya que los zombis irrumpirán por las puertas y ventanas para probar tu deliciosa carne carnosa. La historia también es bastante fácil de entender para que cualquiera pueda sumergirse sin ningún conocimiento previo de quiénes son estas personas y cómo se encuentran en la franquicia. Expand
  61. Sep 14, 2020
    9
    Not a remaster, not a remake, but something much better. It's a whole reimagination of the 1998 game, that stays true to its original material, but makes it sensible in 2019/2020. It knows that the mysterious world of Raccoon City is gripping enough to make a player really want to solve all its old-school mysteries, even though at any moment another zombie might come out of the corner inNot a remaster, not a remake, but something much better. It's a whole reimagination of the 1998 game, that stays true to its original material, but makes it sensible in 2019/2020. It knows that the mysterious world of Raccoon City is gripping enough to make a player really want to solve all its old-school mysteries, even though at any moment another zombie might come out of the corner in search of human flesh. It knows that the real horrors are the ones happening in human brain, and it capitalizes on that perfectly. I hate horror games with all my might but I just couldn't get enough of this one, with its survival elements that add a whole another layer to it.
    As for any downsides, I wish the gameplay on the 2nd run had more differences at least in the story, so when we put it together it actually starts to make sense, and so it isn't just a iteration of the previously played one.
    I absolutely loved this game and with this one they've got a new fan in me.
    Expand
  62. Nov 24, 2020
    9
    I love this game! only thing i dont really get is how zombies dont die after 5 shots in their faces. otherwise really good graphics, gameplay, sound design and story
  63. Dec 17, 2020
    10
    This game feels like one great masterpiece of the survival horror genre and the best RE game of all time. Cant wait for the next remakes CAPCOM is gonna make.
  64. Jan 11, 2021
    9
    Классная игра, всё на уровне. Типичная японщина, которую многие так любят. Игра на твердую 9
  65. Nov 17, 2020
    9
    Karakterin hantallığının verdiği gerginlik, grafik kalitesi, cephane sıkıntısı, mr. x'in ayak sesleri. Oynadığım en iyi korku oyunlarından birisiydi.
  66. Oct 12, 2020
    10
    Amazing game. i dont scared any horror games, but this game scared me in some moments so much so that the sweat flowed. And course this well-developed plot. Perhaps this game hasn't minous, 10 honored stars.
  67. Oct 14, 2020
    10
    The remake that we deserve! Must play everyone. Great tribute to RE 1999. Brilliant!
  68. Oct 26, 2020
    10
    Resident Evil 2 is a remake of the older RE2 which came out way back in 1998. I'm really not a veteran of the Resident Evil franchise, I never really played them back in the day, but this game is absolutely awesome.

    Pros: - Kinda long (8-9 hours to finish) - You can choose between Claire or Leon (Main characters) - Gorgeous graphics - Fluid animations - Amazingly optimized -
    Resident Evil 2 is a remake of the older RE2 which came out way back in 1998. I'm really not a veteran of the Resident Evil franchise, I never really played them back in the day, but this game is absolutely awesome.

    Pros:
    - Kinda long (8-9 hours to finish)
    - You can choose between Claire or Leon (Main characters)
    - Gorgeous graphics
    - Fluid animations
    - Amazingly optimized
    - Really great storyline
    - Well designed puzzles
    - Jumpscares are really good in this game

    Cons:
    - I had to look up a guide once or two.

    10/10. It is absolutely amazing and easily a masterpiece. This is how you make a remake.
    Expand
  69. Nov 5, 2020
    9
    Parts of the scenarios are missing but they are still distinct enough to warrant a playthrough.
    Everything else is great. When you play this game for the first time you will have a great experience finding items, going through the station/sewers/NEST and have that apprehension about discovering something horrible, some enemy that might kill you quickly.
    It's a great experience and the
    Parts of the scenarios are missing but they are still distinct enough to warrant a playthrough.
    Everything else is great. When you play this game for the first time you will have a great experience finding items, going through the station/sewers/NEST and have that apprehension about discovering something horrible, some enemy that might kill you quickly.
    It's a great experience and the economy with ammo, gun powders, key items and plants is a refreshing change and adds a bit of challenge.
    Mr. X as a stalker works well in changing the dynamic of the game after you go back to the police station and there are some good bosses.
    I loved this game and enjoyed it thoroughly.
    Expand
  70. Nov 9, 2020
    10
    ‏‏‎ ‏‏‎ ‏‏‎ ‏‏‎ ‏‏‎ ‏‏‎ ‏‏‎ ‏‏‎ ‏‏‎ ‏‏‎ ‏‏‎ ‏‏‎ ‏‏‎ ‏‏‎ ‏‏‎ ‏‏‎
  71. Nov 19, 2020
    10
    As of 2020 (to me) this is best remake ever, even tho final fantasy VII remake was really good, i'm just huge RE fan, so my vote goes to this. If any remake can surpass this, it would be RE 4 Remake.
  72. Nov 30, 2020
    10
    Resident Evil 2 (2019) is perfect example how to Remake a video game. Every company should learn from this game. Hopefully Resident Evil 4 Remake will be even better, because that's my favorite of whole RE series and RE4 is generally better and more interesting game than RE2.
  73. Dec 4, 2020
    10
    I have completed 2 playthroughs and nearly done with a third so far, and am still enjoying it like I just started. I am doing a complete run of all the Resident Evil games and as much as I enjoyed the ones leading to this addition to the series, I am thoroughly enjoying RE2 even more. The graphics are exceptional, controls with well enough precision, story compelling, fun additionalI have completed 2 playthroughs and nearly done with a third so far, and am still enjoying it like I just started. I am doing a complete run of all the Resident Evil games and as much as I enjoyed the ones leading to this addition to the series, I am thoroughly enjoying RE2 even more. The graphics are exceptional, controls with well enough precision, story compelling, fun additional content, a good assortment of weapons, and zombie butt kicking that measures off the charts with fun.

    This game has a great deal of replay value, with content and variations that only playing again can you visit and experience. The story continues to expand with each playthrough, up to two runs for each Lean and Claire. Once I completed my play through of all the RE games released, I might find myself back at this one for some zombie crushing fun.

    The character hopping in mid-story is very enjoyable. The extra segment characters (little girl with Claire and woman with Leon) have skills and play style requirements unique to them, and enjoyably implemented. It took me 3 tries to get the additional achievement for the women, but only 2 for the little girl, apart from the one acquired for completing their segment. Even still, I did them both an extra time after for good measure.

    I have yet to get a grade of S+, but getting S is relatively easy. The controls are worlds better than RE Zero and RE Original, which is to be expected by the basis of their release. Even so, I find myself enjoying being able to aim and move with a much greater degree of control. The characters animations in these actions are also brilliantly done.

    In all, Resident Evil 2 is a superb game, and I highly recommend it. The gore factor might put off the squeamish, but it will delight the zombie slayer in you.
    Expand
  74. Jan 10, 2021
    9
    1998 yapımı Resident Evil 2'yi oynamamış biri olarak yeniden yapımı oynayıp bitirdim ve oyunun harika olduğunu söylemeliyim. 98 yapımı sürümü oynamadığım için hikaye ve bölüm tasarımı konusunda yeniden yapımın orijinale ne kadar sadık kaldığını bilmiyorum ancak tek başına ele aldığım zaman bu oyunun oldukça başarılı olduğunu söyleyebilirim. Oyunda seçebildiğimiz iki karakter var; Leon1998 yapımı Resident Evil 2'yi oynamamış biri olarak yeniden yapımı oynayıp bitirdim ve oyunun harika olduğunu söylemeliyim. 98 yapımı sürümü oynamadığım için hikaye ve bölüm tasarımı konusunda yeniden yapımın orijinale ne kadar sadık kaldığını bilmiyorum ancak tek başına ele aldığım zaman bu oyunun oldukça başarılı olduğunu söyleyebilirim. Oyunda seçebildiğimiz iki karakter var; Leon Kennedy ve Claire Redfield. Ben oyunu Leon ile bitirdim, Claire ile de bitirecektim ancak hikayesinin birkaç sahne dışında neredeyse Leon ile aynı olduğunu öğrendiğim için vazgeçip Claire'ın hikayesinin farklı bölümlerini internetten izlemeye karar verdim. Oyunun hikayesi biraz kısa, ve hikayenin büyük çoğunluğu karakolda geçiyor bundan dolayı biraz sıkılabilir bazı oyuncular. Ama bölüm tasarımı, vuruş hissiyatı ve grafikleri oldukça güzel. 6-7 saatlik bir oyun için ortalama hikayesi var, normalde bu kadar kısa oyunlarda hikaye anlatımı ve hikayenin kendisi zayıf olur ancak bu oyunda ortalama bir hikaye anlatımını yakalayabilmişler. Oyun kısa sürdüğü için bazen hikayedeki kopukluklar ve aniden gelişen anlamlandıramadığımız olaylar aldığımız keyfi biraz düşürebiliyor. Oyunun kötü karakteri Mr. X de bence iyi bir kötü karakterdi ve aniden duvarı yıkarak karşımıza çıkması veya bize doğru yaklaşırkenki yankılı ayak seslerini duymak güzel bir gerilim kattı oyuna. Oyunun kendisi çok korkutucu değil ancak mekan tasarımları, sesler gerçekten de gerilimli ve bu gerilimi hissetmek güzel. Vuruş hissiyatı konusunda da oyun başarılı, düşmanı vurduğumuzu hissedebiliyoruz ve yeterince güçlü silahlar ile vurduğumuzda düşmanın kafasını veya uzuvlarını koparabiliyoruz, bu da aldığımız keyfi daha da arttırıyor. Oyundaki bulmacalar yer yer sıkabiliyor, bazılarında takıldım ve uzun süre devam edemedim, bazılarını da yapabilmek çok uzun sürdü. Aynı zamanda bir yerden sonra bulmacalar tekrar etmeye başlıyor ve olay daha sıkıcı bir hal alıyor. Grafikleri 1080p yüksek ayarlarda 2019 oyunu için güzel görünüyor, ancak bazı yerlerde kaplama hataları mevcut, bazı dokuların yaklaştığımda yüklenmesi gerekirken yüklenmiyor ve düşük çözünürlükte kalıyor, bu da haliyle kötü görüntüye sebep oluyor. Optimizasyon konusunda genel olarak sistemimle sabit 60 FPS elde edebildim, ancak bazı sahnelerde FPS düşüklüğü ve takılma sorunu oluyordu, onun dışında bir problem yaşamadım. Resident Evil 2 bana kalırsa her oyuncunun oynaması gereken çok güzel bir yapım. Expand
  75. Dec 25, 2020
    10
    Great game, somehow manages to keep the core principles of survival horror with modern gameplay. almost everything about it is perfect.

    Needs more futa though.
  76. Dec 29, 2020
    10
    As someone that haven't played the original Resident Evil series but I had a bit of experience from other survival horror games, i can confidently say that Is my favourite game out of all this category and might be the best game to start with this series since it's so fresh in terms of graphics and gameplay. Every time I try to think of a negative thing to say about this game just getsAs someone that haven't played the original Resident Evil series but I had a bit of experience from other survival horror games, i can confidently say that Is my favourite game out of all this category and might be the best game to start with this series since it's so fresh in terms of graphics and gameplay. Every time I try to think of a negative thing to say about this game just gets lost into all the goods that has to offer. Expand
  77. Jan 1, 2021
    9
    An RE remake done right.

    Positives: - consistent sense of fear throughout the game. Great feeling of suspense. - perfect amount of ammo quantity limitation - cutscenes were done well - environment and character models look great - could feel the characters' emotions - map system and puzzles were clear and seldomly confusing - controls are smooth - good story progression.
    An RE remake done right.

    Positives:
    - consistent sense of fear throughout the game. Great feeling of suspense.
    - perfect amount of ammo quantity limitation
    - cutscenes were done well
    - environment and character models look great
    - could feel the characters' emotions
    - map system and puzzles were clear and seldomly confusing
    - controls are smooth
    - good story progression. Mysterious in the beginning, then the plot slowly unravels.
    - perfect transition of fixed camera in ps1 version to third person.
    - creepy music used at the right time, whenever enemies are near. Adds tension.

    Negatives:
    - Mr. X can become annoying if you haven't cleared the zombies before hand, especially Lickers. You'll have a very hard time exploring and backtracking. The game gives no indication of the need to clear the zombies, plus you have the pretence of trying to save ammo all the time.
    Expand
  78. Feb 1, 2021
    10
    Basically perfect remake. They did best they could with what they had. Original had really good base for locations and bosses, so they just took what was there and made it better in every way.
  79. Jun 18, 2019
    10
    The best game I have played in 2019 till now.. I am so enthusiastic for RE3 remake & Dino Crisis remake
  80. Sep 20, 2019
    10
    Pienso que este será el GOTY 2019, si no lo gana no importa, para mi seguirá siendo uno de los mejores juegos de la historia.
  81. Nov 13, 2020
    10
    Just came here to say, here's my negative review for this awful game............
  82. Mar 5, 2019
    10
    A Masterpiece of a Remake made by Capcom
    The RE Engine really brings the old game to a new Atmosphere to the next level
    and the optimization to PC is well optimized

    my only nitpick on this game is that the link between Leon and Claire doesn't make sense, but overall a must buy and a must play at full price
    i can't wait for capcom to make RE3 Remake in the Future
  83. Feb 28, 2019
    10
    breathtaking graphics and voice quality with perfect presentation combine with re playeble story modes this game is the best of 2019 no doubt.
  84. Mar 1, 2019
    10
    IMPECABLE! Un juego muy completo. Tiene unos buenos graficos, buenas escenas, es muy disfrutable la jugabilidad, hay momentos en donde te la pasas angustiado y sectores con miedo. Genera diferentes emociones este juego y el recorrido de la historia es muy buena. Para mí ya es un clásico, muy recomendado.
  85. Mar 9, 2019
    10
    The game is awesome the way it is. If the B-side were more different than the A-side, the game would be the best Resident Evil ever made, certainly the game of the year, but it acts like the first remake, with 2 different characters living the same nightmare with different perspectives, which is also an excellent game design.
    Not overpriced, made with love and care for the fans of the
    The game is awesome the way it is. If the B-side were more different than the A-side, the game would be the best Resident Evil ever made, certainly the game of the year, but it acts like the first remake, with 2 different characters living the same nightmare with different perspectives, which is also an excellent game design.
    Not overpriced, made with love and care for the fans of the game. Absolutely recommended.
    Expand
  86. Mar 9, 2019
    10
    A refreshing and well made remake of a classic.

    One of my biggest childhood memories is my uncle playing Resident Evil 2 with my dad and one of our neighbor, so i wanted to play the remake, i wasn't hyped at all due to my disappointment with another game, i thought that would be another blend game made just for sell... but damn, when i started playing i saw the love and the effort put
    A refreshing and well made remake of a classic.

    One of my biggest childhood memories is my uncle playing Resident Evil 2 with my dad and one of our neighbor, so i wanted to play the remake, i wasn't hyped at all due to my disappointment with another game, i thought that would be another blend game made just for sell... but damn, when i started playing i saw the love and the effort put to made a good game.

    The enemies are great, and i think that was a wise decision to cut some enemies from the game and adapt others, after all a remake doesn't need to be a 1 - 1 adaptation. The atmosphere is at its finest, sometimes you'll feel very scared and apprehensive, and other times on a adrenaline rush to survive or on the edge of your seat trying to survive. The soundtrack is amazing, putting emotions in you and helping the immersion to work. The controls and mechanics are modern which i loved so much, trying to put the series on a next level, and for me, worked completely. The puzzles are in a medium difficulty, which is good because the game is targeted to the mainstream public, so not so many people will find them too easy neither too hard. The Ending is a plus one, because i felt that it really shift your mood when you get there, all the tension that was built up through the game is ended there, giving you a great relief sensation. The design quality of the overall game is stunning, i don't want to spoil something, so i wont give details.

    I've only good said good thing about the game, and then you think, "what's up with this game? it has no flaws?", like everything is this world, it has, but is not THAT flaw, is that acceptable flaw which you'd wished it was different, but its okay. I took some time to say that and also separated of the paragraph above to show why it didn't impact the final score. So here it is. The plot... some article somewhere in the Internet, before the launch, gave the idea that the game would have two COMPLETELY distinct story lines, but when you play, they are distinct indeed, you go to places in a different order, the objectives of each character is different, and both of them have a unique side partner with a unique mission on a part of map only for them, but also you go to the routes never seeing almost never seeing each other and fight with the almost the same bosses that "die" in the same way which, plot-wise, is pretty contradictory, but this is just a mere detail, cause you still got different cut-scenes to the beginning of the fight with the bosses and some interactions.

    I already played +100 hours and im willing to play another, really made that child back there proud. For this and that i consider this game a masterpiece and a real 10/10.
    Expand
  87. Mar 9, 2019
    10
    This must be one of the best Resident Evil game , the best after RE4. Whatever it is masterpiece , the graphic , sounds , 60fps,everything is amazing ...................................................
  88. Nov 18, 2019
    10
    Resident Evil 2, sin palabras es una obra maestra en la máxima expresión! Y es por mucho el mejor juego del año!
  89. Sep 20, 2019
    10
    Game of 2019 so far:
    + Fantastic remake
    + High quality production in all aspects
    + Very enjoyable with a great replay value and lots of content.
    + Probably the best zombie game ever. The zombie design, details, animations and graphics are easily the best of all time.
    - The B scenarios could have been a bit more different.

    Still an incredible game and everyone should play it. 10/10
  90. Feb 10, 2019
    9
    Resident Evil is a series that passed me by when I was a kid and the series was at its peak. I played one of the early games back in the day but never finished it because I struggled with the controls and camera. I decided to try out Resident Evil 2 because I saw a playthrough on YouTube and I’m glad I did.
    The game has received a massive Graphical overhaul and although it stays true to
    Resident Evil is a series that passed me by when I was a kid and the series was at its peak. I played one of the early games back in the day but never finished it because I struggled with the controls and camera. I decided to try out Resident Evil 2 because I saw a playthrough on YouTube and I’m glad I did.
    The game has received a massive Graphical overhaul and although it stays true to the original game there is a whole new section and monster to deal with whilst the tension and atmosphere feel fresh. I’ve never played a game with such a sense of hopelessness before as my resources dwindle.

    You can play through RE2 with either Leon or Claire and whilst both playthroughs will take place in the same setting there are differences to each. It’s well worth playing through both possibly multiple times. Zombies are very well done in RE2 as are the rest of the monster roster with varying degrees of difficulty and ways of bringing them down. The quiet moments of the game get your heart pounding as you edge your way through the darkness. The narrative is well done and whilst it maintains some of the cheesiness of the originals it feels very up to date in this remake.
    RE2 look stunning. The dark areas are proper dark, and the map is filled with detail. The animations are fluid and believable and the map in general just feels believable. The puzzles are meaningful and the added stress of worrying about the resident ghoulies really sees you making some funny errors even in the simplest of tasks. The 3rd person camera feels great and the character models nicely detailed. Performance wise RE2 never put a foot wrong.
    Playthrough on the normal difficulty took me between 7 and 8 hours for each character and I definitely see replay value as I am sure I’ll be playing through again. Capcom show here how a remake should be done and I hope they give some of their other games similar treatment.
    Expand
  91. Feb 10, 2019
    9
    Lo supieron hacer muy bien, rescatan lo que hacía muy disfrutable al juego y lo mejoran.
  92. Feb 1, 2019
    9
    Resident Evil 2 no deja de ser un remake, pero tampoco un enorme trabajo de adaptación y, sobre todo, renovación. Mejor dicho, Capcom innova en cómo remasterizar un juego. El matiz resulta muy distinto al de la obra original, sin salirse ni un segundo de su intención primera.

    El compás del avance es excelente. El viaje desde un ambiente seguros a otro destila incertidumbre. La
    Resident Evil 2 no deja de ser un remake, pero tampoco un enorme trabajo de adaptación y, sobre todo, renovación. Mejor dicho, Capcom innova en cómo remasterizar un juego. El matiz resulta muy distinto al de la obra original, sin salirse ni un segundo de su intención primera.

    El compás del avance es excelente. El viaje desde un ambiente seguros a otro destila incertidumbre. La generación de empatía con los protagonistas se profundiza en diálogos y scripts. Los zombies surgen destrozados pero amenazantes. La propia comisaría expone algo único.

    La segunda entrega de la serie recibe una transformación que, casi 21 años después, la colocan nuevamente en el podio del gaming. Si fuesen películas, la de 1998 representaría formato clásico con planos definidos que van construyendo escenas. La actual sería el redescubrimiento de una forma de narrar continua: aunque menos purista, deviene más cercana al horror que solo un juego sabe contar.
    Expand
  93. Feb 8, 2019
    9
    Excellent, and entertaining game!

    Thoroughly enjoyed it. This is definitely a perfect sort of remake. Everything about this remake was executed well, felt like a modern game yet retained its classic roots feel. Has to definitely be one of the best survival horror games so far. PRO's: Very good graphics Very good gameplay Good classic story line CON's: Very short as RE games
    Excellent, and entertaining game!

    Thoroughly enjoyed it. This is definitely a perfect sort of remake. Everything about this remake was executed well, felt like a modern game yet retained its classic roots feel. Has to definitely be one of the best survival horror games so far.

    PRO's:
    Very good graphics
    Very good gameplay
    Good classic story line

    CON's:
    Very short as RE games are ;(
    Hardcore mode could have been harder, was not too difficult for me. Doom on Nightmare was hard!
    I missed the upgrading the magnum parts like the previous original RE2 had. :(
    Expand
  94. May 24, 2019
    9
    I played the original RE2 like 20 years ago.. They did a pretty good job on the RE2 remake! I recommend it!
  95. Mar 13, 2019
    10
    in ages, I've been grown up with this franchise. and now finally I'd see the truest Survival Horror. It's the greatest game in franchise and best Remake game in Industry and most beautiful survival horror game that ever created. Masterpiece!
  96. Oct 2, 2019
    10
    Resident Evil 2 is one of the best examples on how to properly remake a 20 year old classic bestselling game, by embracing what worked back in the day, see what could be improved and also adding a lot, and I mean really a lot, of new stuff so it still feels interesting and fresh, but also leaving the player with a feeling of familiarity, especially if one has played the original game.Resident Evil 2 is one of the best examples on how to properly remake a 20 year old classic bestselling game, by embracing what worked back in the day, see what could be improved and also adding a lot, and I mean really a lot, of new stuff so it still feels interesting and fresh, but also leaving the player with a feeling of familiarity, especially if one has played the original game.

    The RE Engine has proven to be very well performing on its previous game, RE 7, and this time around in RE 2 it really shines. We have a very nice Physically Based Rendered assortment of materials and shaders, with a lot of wet surfaces that look amazing, and performance is really, really good on a wide array of PC configurations, with a decent level of scalability, especially on the GPU side of things. The engine seems to make decent usage of 4-6 core CPUs, but it’s usually GPU limited, which normally is the ideal situation when it comes to good looking PC games.

    The amount of customizable settings we have in this PC version of the game is also immense, from FOV adjustments to nice mouse sensitivity sliders for camera and aim modes (although there is a slight amount of negative acceleration, very little), and keybinds are mostly fully customizable with the exception of a couple of hardcoded keys like ENTER or DEL; I am left handed, so I use the right side of the keyboard a lot, around the arrow keys (used for movement), so I was able to play with no issues with my usual left handed binds, minus DEL and ENTER but the game doesn’t really need so many keys, so I managed. Gamepad works fine in the game, you can walk slower with it than with the keyboard, in case you need a little more immersion, but it’s not mandatory. There’s this bug I guess that makes it impossible to open doors when in aiming mode, walking with the keyboard, while you can when using the gamepad, but it’s not game breaking and you can still walk normally without aiming, open it a little, then switch to aim mode and It’ll get pushed slowly if you want, so no big deal there either.

    An important thing to note about settings is Brightness calibration, you must abolutely do the steps to calibrate this, if you want the game to look as the developers intended, otherwise it'll have this grey'ish haze all over the screen, and dark zones won't look good enough. If you cannot complete the third step on the calibration menu (make the left typewriter disappear), that means you either didn't select the proper MIn/Max levels earlier, or your screen needs some serious tuning and adjusting of brightness and gamma, so better get on that then too.

    And then we have the new gameplay mechanics, like knives and other sub-weapons, the new puzzles and the revamp of old classic ones, which will certainly make you smile, and of course the new way of doing the classic A/B runs, in this case called “2nd run”, which like the original game, it will tell us the story from the other character’s perspective, around the same time the other character did his/her stuff, more or less, with some clever variations added so the gameplay feels balanced but still challenging enough. In summary, to fully complete the story, we still need to do both scenarios, whether Leon first / Claire second, or vice versa…that’s your choice. Completionists will want to do all four of them, and the game records all these different combinations so yeah, it’s nice that the feature is still there, albeit a bit different.

    Of course, the main change from the original, is the camera and I have to say it really fits this new imagining of the game, it simply works well, really well actually and in a fully rendered 3D world with lots of cool materials and very detailed enemies to mutilate and shoot, it would've been bad if the old fixed camera was used, or the tank controls too, which usually work well together but not so much when separated like it was the case in RE 4.

    Overall this game feels like a very solid GOTY candidate so early in the year, which is amazing. This game has become one of my favorite RE games of all time, because it demonstrates that the survival horror genre, which the original games were paragon of, can still be brought to modern platforms, with improved techniques, amazing sound design (and boy, is the sound design great here, it even has Dolby Atmos and Binaural…really great), and new ways of solving old puzzles or see them reimagined.

    I am ready for more Resident Games like this, Capcom, thank you for the great job on this game, made for the fans of survival horror, and for the gamers in general. Capcom, you did it, this is how you remake a game, period, and that means a well earned 10/10.
    Expand
  97. Mar 10, 2019
    10
    Cons: Quality, Stability, Reliability, Game Lability.
    Pros: Laboratory in original game was better as for me.
    Result: 9.9 / 10
  98. Feb 5, 2020
    9
    Esse é o melhor remake que já vi!

    Não consegui finalizar o game pela primeira vez, já que eu não entendia a proposta do jogo e nem se quer me dava o esforço. Tentei jogá-lo novamente, sendo atencioso e paciente. Acabou que eu zerei ele no mesmo dia! Há tempos um jogo não me prende assim, principalmente quando se trata de campanha. Os gráficos são lindíssimos. Reflexos, texturas,
    Esse é o melhor remake que já vi!

    Não consegui finalizar o game pela primeira vez, já que eu não entendia a proposta do jogo e nem se quer me dava o esforço. Tentei jogá-lo novamente, sendo atencioso e paciente. Acabou que eu zerei ele no mesmo dia! Há tempos um jogo não me prende assim, principalmente quando se trata de campanha.

    Os gráficos são lindíssimos. Reflexos, texturas, modelo dos personagens, tudo aqui é muito bem feito, e o melhor: é incrivelmente otimizado. Meu setup empurrava +100fps em todos os momentos, e para não ter uma experiencia ruim no meu 144hz, travei em 100 e não tive problemas de fluidez pelo resto do game. Fluidez insana e nada de quedas!

    A gameplay é bem travada. Apenas atacamos com armas de fogo, exceto em situações de contato, e é esse mesmo o objetivo do jogo. Este survival horror fará com que economize sua munição ao máximo.

    O áudio é espetacular. Binaural funciona muito bem e a equipe de desenvolvimento deu muita atenção a detalhes que fazem toda a diferença pra quem joga no fone.
    Expand
  99. Jan 31, 2019
    10
    Capcom did it *wipes tears* Capcom did it right. 10/10, loyal to the original, great additions. The voice acting is superb and the original soundtrack swap made me feel like I'm back in 1998. Thank you Capcom, you gave me hope for AAA games again. *Wipes tears*
  100. Jan 31, 2019
    8
    I started with Leon on normal difficulty which I found a little too hard, so after completing it and I opted to start Claire on easy and enjoyed it much more, so if you're more interested in the story and gameplay and not a challenge I'd do the same.

    Personally I found Claire's campaign to be miles better than Leon's, hers had a better story, a better finale, better weaponry and a very
    I started with Leon on normal difficulty which I found a little too hard, so after completing it and I opted to start Claire on easy and enjoyed it much more, so if you're more interested in the story and gameplay and not a challenge I'd do the same.

    Personally I found Claire's campaign to be miles better than Leon's, hers had a better story, a better finale, better weaponry and a very interesting character who doesn't show up in Leon's playthrough. Overall her campaign definitely bumped up my rating of the game.

    As for the PC port, it's really good, it runs really well and has plenty of options so even moderate hardware should get a good frame rate. I played the game on GTX 1080 and was at 144fps most of the time at 1080p, so hitting the more common 60fps should be doable for a wide variety of cards.
    Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Apr 6, 2020
    90
    Two decades after the release of the original trip into the biohazardous universe of Resident Evil, Capcom delivers the best instalment yet. The world you'll be thrown in is a dangerous one, and it doesn't just look the part, but also makes you feel the thrill of being a survivor like never before, as each bullet shot, each item found, and each decision taken, can make the difference between life and death. Simply put, remake or not, this is survival horror at its best.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 4, 2019
    100
    The remake of Resident Evil 2 succeeded and can’t be criticized for much. Converting the original game into a modern form sets the bar for all future remakes really high and shows how it should be done. [Issue#293]
  3. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Mar 20, 2019
    94
    A shining example of what remake should be. [Issue#236, p.24]