Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Oct 4, 2022
    100
    Return to Monkey Island is a fantastic addition to the series and a great game in its own right. If you’re a Guybrush Threepwood fan or want to revisit the high point of adventures past and present, you owe it to yourself to come back to Monkey Island.
  2. Sep 20, 2022
    100
    If true achievement in art is realising creative ambition, then Return to Monkey Island is a masterclass bursting with metatextual mischief. By turning inward and confronting its own legacy, this sixth entry in a storied series summons the laughter and adventure of its forebears but ventures beyond them to deliver a surprising and brave dose of heart. Those looking for nostalgia will find it, but not in a way that feels fleeting. And newcomers to the series will find a sleek, must-play, carefully modernised adventure game that provides plenty of reasons to dig in the LucasArts archives.
  3. Sep 19, 2022
    100
    Return to Monkey Island isn’t a grand reinvention of point-and-click adventure games in mechanical or narrative ambition. It is, quite literally, a return. It sticks to its own identity, and aims to be the best version of itself – a comforting, charming game with great characters and amusingly esoteric puzzles. That a new Monkey Island game exists with Gilbert and Grossman at the helm makes Return to Monkey Island an attraction well worth the curiosity. And that this traditional format still satisfies while remaining largely unchanged, several decades later, speaks volumes about how timeless their ideas and this world have always been.
  4. Sep 19, 2022
    100
    A wonderful continuation of a classic that takes us back to an improbable story in an impossible place and leaves no buckle unwashed.
  5. Sep 23, 2022
    95
    Return to Monkey Island is a nostalgic and fun swashbuckling experience that delivers an adventure that fans of the series and genre have been waiting years for.
  6. Sep 19, 2022
    95
    It took me a couple of days to convince myself, because at the beginning Return to Monkey Island seemed to be a victim of the hype: what should we have expected, in fact, from those who wrote the rules of the game and today it goes down again in the arena after thirty 'years? But then I became more and more immersed in the crazy archipelago invented by Ron Gilbert and I can not help but promote the work with flying colors. Only, always remember to face it in difficult mode, because with the "casual" one you would end up getting only a small percentage of the achievements and missing out on much of the more "cerebral" fun.
  7. Sep 19, 2022
    95
    Return to Monkey Island is the real deal, and like that quote above it’s hilarious. But, if you’re a fan of Monkey Island and the classic adventures from LucasArts there’s an extra dose of joy to be found. A joy that comes from a game and sequel that is born from the past and not one beholden to it.
  8. Sep 20, 2022
    92
    A brilliant return to the series at its best that modernises the point-and-click form.
  9. Oct 3, 2022
    91
    I believe that Return to Monkey Island will become a remarkably personal game for many of the people who play it. For those who have grown up with the series, Return illustrates what it’s like to reflect on your youth and try to find a new purpose in a world that has moved on. For those who are new, it could provide them with an excellent entry point into a brand-new genre of video game. Return is not just a return to form for the series and a celebration of everything that made it great; it’s also an outstanding example of a genre that paved the way for almost every deep narrative experience in video games today.
  10. Oct 6, 2022
    90
    Return to Monkey Island is a love letter to the franchise and adventure games in general. It succeeds at what it set out to do from the outset, with a fun story, clever puzzles, and a big pinch of nostalgia to top it all off. It may play it a bit too safe, but that's easily forgotten when the rest of the experience is so consistently delightful.
  11. Oct 6, 2022
    90
    Return to Monkey Island is pretty much as perfect a sequel to such a series of classic games as one can get. The puzzles are just as clever as they were decades ago, the visuals are the stunning, characters both new and old are a joy to interact with and provide great humor, and the story is not only well-crafted, but also has surprisingly profound moments. It’s easily a classic that can proudly stand alongside the other Monkey Island games, and one of the year’s best games in general. Take it from a now-behind-bars Stan: it’s one worth picking up.
  12. Oct 5, 2022
    90
    A brilliant point-and-click adventure infused with nostalgia. Not everyone’s going to love the heavily stylized art but we’d be very surprised if you didn’t enjoy the warm, fuzzy story and innocent humour. There’s a lot of callbacks to older titles to satisfy hungry veterans but also enough new things to bring the game up to speed with the rest of the genre.
  13. Oct 3, 2022
    90
    Return to Monkey Island is a game that any fan of the series should love (regardless of its initially unorthodox art style) and one that players can tailor to their particular skill level. Having spent many hours navigating its treacherous islands, sailing its high seas, and matching wits (and swords) with an endearingly quirky cast of characters, I can easily say that this is one adventure you won’t want to miss the boat on.
  14. Sep 30, 2022
    90
    Return to Monkey Island is a game worthy of the Monkey Island name. Not only has it retained the spirit of the series, it also has cleverly paid homage to previous titles and incorporated them into the canon. We can't thank Ron Gilbert, Dave Grossman and all of their teammates enough for making a 30-year-old dream come true.
  15. Sep 29, 2022
    90
    All these great visuals, puzzles, and dialogues create a really great video game that doesn't have to be ashamed of its roots. Return to Monkey Island is more than simply a nostalgia act. It has its individuality.
  16. Sep 26, 2022
    90
    From characters you may have forgotten about, to clever lines that pull the story together, to even more challenging puzzles that keep you invested in figuring them out, Return to Monkey Island is a treasure trove of fun. For fans that have waited so long for this sequel, the wait has been worth it as the game not only closes the chapter on a classic series but it also lets you revisit a past that is unique to every player.
  17. Sep 22, 2022
    90
    Return to Monkey Island hits the balance between the absurd humor and an emotional core better than any other game in the series. It is a natural mechanical and thematic evolution of the series, with a great new pirating adventure. Let’s hope it’s not the last.
  18. Sep 19, 2022
    90
    Return to Monkey Island is a game for the series' fans. There's a scrapbook on the main menu that recounts the events of past games, but it's light on specifics and feels more like a refresher course than a vital tool for newcomers to catch up on previous hijinks. Returning players will adore the fan service and familiar sense of warmth that permeates the whole experience, yet it still strives to make itself somewhat approachable for beginners. There's no denying that certain elements will be lost without that decades-old connection, but having a history with the series isn't essential to enjoy Guybrush Threepwood's latest escapade. Return to Monkey Island tells a wholesome and compelling tale of swashbuckling shenanigans that should appeal to anyone seeking a hearty adventure on the high seas.
  19. Sep 19, 2022
    90
    It has taken 31 years for Ron Gilbert to give us a new Monkey Island at the height of the saga. And the wait has been worth it. Return To Monkey Island is one of the best modern graphic adventures in years, and only a predictable story and a lack of spark in some characters take it away from the heights of the first two installments. An adventure full of humor and great puzzles.
  20. [“Return to Monkey Island” is] a wonderful, heartfelt adventure game that made me laugh all the way through.
  21. Sep 19, 2022
    90
    Return to Monkey Island is a good old adventure game, made modern. It is vintage gameplay in a modern package, with a focus on accessibility, without sacrificing the outlandish puzzles and quirky oddities. The visuals don’t quite feel right, and yet with excellent voice acting, and scenarios and dialogue that feel straight out of the early 90s, the world is almost perfectly recreated 30 years later. Return to Monkey Island is a delightful adventure, and while it might not quite reach the unobtainable prestige of its predecessors, with a much more accessible design it’s destined to become Guybrush Threepwood’s most popular tale yet.
  22. Sep 19, 2022
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  23. Sep 19, 2022
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  24. Sep 19, 2022
    90
    Return to Monkey Island is everything I wanted and more. Daft humour with plenty of dad-worthy gags, puzzles to both frustrate and delight you, lovable throwbacks around every corner, and all while being effortlessly enjoyable. It feels like Monkey Island has fittingly come full circle with this title in many ways, and yet I can’t help but be selfish and want more Guybrush from Gilbert. There’s still room in the scrapbook for more adventures, and if we’re lucky, maybe we won’t have to wait 30 years for the next title.
  25. Sep 19, 2022
    90
    Return to Monkey Island expectedly comes packed full of smartly crafted puzzles, funny dialogue, and memorable characters. But as series creator Ron Gilbert returns to the series’ director’s chair for the first time since 1991, it unexpectedly offers a lot of heart, too. It is an adventure gamer’s delight.
  26. Sep 19, 2022
    90
    A nostalgic, swashbuckling adventure you won't want to miss.
  27. Sep 19, 2022
    88
    A glorious return for one of gaming's most beloved franchises, that provides fan with another satisfying pirate-themed adventure, some clever dialogue and memorable characters.
  28. Sep 26, 2022
    85
    Modern, accessible and well written, Return to Monkey Island is a very good adventure game that will certainly appeal to fans of the genre and which can even, like the first two episodes in their time, effectively initiate novices.
  29. Sep 26, 2022
    85
    Return to Monkey Island follows the tried-and-true formula of past titles whilst adding a new flavour to the series. The vibrant visuals and wonderful voice acting are surpassed only by the quality puzzles and humorous story. And although I found most of the puzzles reasonably simple, this may be due to my veteran status when it comes to point-and-click adventure games. Return to Monkey Island is a wonderfully nostalgic journey with old friends and new, one that has me helpful that a further sequel is just over the horizon.
  30. Sep 19, 2022
    85
    Its graphic touch may have changed drastically (rightly), the Monkey Island saga retains all its shimmering and sassy aura in this episode, in particular thanks to a writing that is still as clever and a really fantastic soundtrack. Return to Monkey Island is a fresh, modern adventure that strikes a good balance between nostalgia and novelty.
  31. 85
    When it comes to pure fan service, there won’t be many better this year than Return to Monkey Island. It feels like the true sequel to LeChuck’s Revenge and it feels as though its clever, self-referential wit is a product of Gilbert’s return. As sad and nostalgic as parts of Guybrush’s newest tale can be, I had a wonderful time revisiting familiar people and places in yet another golden-age adventure.
  32. Sep 19, 2022
    84
    Charming, funny journey through time with many well-known locations and characters. Fair puzzles, yet too easy for experts.
  33. Oct 2, 2022
    80
    Return to Monkey Island is consistently funny, with a ton of charm and interesting puzzles to work through. The interface is the best in the series, and it’s incredibly well-paced. It may not be what every fan of the series has hoped for, but I think those who can look at it for what it is rather than what they might have hoped it would be will have a wonderful time with it.
  34. Sep 26, 2022
    80
    Return to Monkey Island is a perfectly judged return of an instant classic for the genre, with just the right level of complexity and challenge, aside from some minor quibbles.
  35. Sep 23, 2022
    80
    Feel-good adventure with good puzzles that will make many old adventure fans happy - a beautiful game, as Guybrush deserves it.
  36. Sep 23, 2022
    80
    It’s the third time this joke has been told, and time hasn’t made it any fresher. So much of Return to Monkey Island is callbacks that it doesn’t feel like it stands on its own. It’s an excellent companion piece for the other games, and a love letter to the fans of the series, but I also feel like it takes a few jabs at them. I can only ever see myself playing it again in sequence with the rest of the series.
  37. Sep 22, 2022
    80
    It’s brilliant, and exactly what I hoped it would be.
  38. Sep 19, 2022
    80
    Return to Monkey Island is more than nostalgia: it is the piece of the puzzle that was needed to solve an unfinished mystery from more than 30 years ago.
  39. Sep 19, 2022
    80
    Return may not be the best in the series, but it is still a fun, relaxed adventure with lots of good puzzles and a surprisingly heartfelt ending.
  40. Sep 19, 2022
    80
    Monkey Island doesn't age: it's always a winning combination of writing, humor and puzzles. This return is a success, full of intelligent respect for the whole license.
  41. Sep 19, 2022
    80
    The result of the old team getting together again is a tale that retreads old paths but also clearly wants to be more than just an ode to a bygone era of video games. When Threepwood goes to an oracle, Voodoo Lady, for advice, she summarises the paradox this game faces: “You must walk the path, yet you have already walked the path.” Return to Monkey Island pulls off the trick of looking backwards and forwards at the same time, reminding us that the point-and-click adventure will never really die: it’s a zombie pirate that won’t stay in the ground for long.
  42. Sep 19, 2022
    75
    Return to Monkey Island brings the beloved classic point-and-click series into the modern puzzle adventure genre, and it’s a perfect fit. It’s a fine addition to the Monkey Island series, but it nevertheless seems held back by Monkey Island 2’s strange ending. In its attempt to explain it away, it just hurts its own narrative, which had the potential for more than it achieved. But it is still a fun ride, full of wild, funny, and surprisingly sincere moments. I will be keenly looking forward to the next Monkey Island game from the mind of Gilbert and his team.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 19, 2022
    Return to Monkey Island is the game that we never expected to play and it's as special as you may imagine. It's hilarious, emotional and very clever. There's a lot of puzzles and islands to explore, and it still bears the heart of the old LucasArts games. [Recommended]
  2. Sep 19, 2022
    The writing in this game comes with plenty of biting satire and sarcasm that lands in amusing-not-preachy territory, but on more than a few occasions, you can see an older, wiser design team wanting to share a different kind of adventure game story through the eyes of characters they've grown up writing for. I began Return to Monkey Island thinking this game would merely be a fun, comforting return to a classic, but I left the island believing that I'd played a refreshing and absolutely necessary game—one that employs interactivity to speak to the human spirit in ways that a film or book never could. I love Return to Monkey Island, and I'm excited for you to learn its secrets, too. [Ars Technica Approved]
  3. Sep 19, 2022
    Return to Monkey Island is yet another game in the Monkey Island franchise that makes only a slight effort to reflect the ever-shifting gaming landscape, while confidently clinging to the DNA that made it so beloved in the first place. And if you’re looking for the secret to creating an enduring franchise, you could do a lot worse than that. [Polygon Recommends]
  4. It's not that Return To Monkey Island gets too serious, as much as it is gently self-aware in ways that it wasn't before. It's clear from the start that the ending, which I won't spoil, is going to be a bit metatextual in a way that tiny babies will get cross about - but I thought it was perfect. It's about growing and changing, and what the important bits of the stories we love actually are. I do think it's one of the best point and click games to give someone in the year of 2022 to prove that point and click games are good. But I'm also self-aware enough myself to know I wouldn't have loved Return To Monkey Island quite as much if I didn't have a history with the series. But I do. So I did. Yo ho ho, and a bottle of fun. [RPS Bestest Bests]
  5. Sep 19, 2022
    Frankly, I loved Return to Monkey Island, which took about seven hours for me to finish. The game is just filled with joy. Because it was easier to play than older adventure games, I could focus on having fun talking to the characters and exploring the world without worrying about getting stuck on an obtuse puzzle. And the story is surprisingly poignant; like catching up with that old friend, I was a little bit sad when it was over.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 162
  1. Sep 20, 2022
    0
    The announcement of a new Monkey Island from Ron Gilbert was the best news in the last 30 years.

    Then the trailer came, and I knew they
    The announcement of a new Monkey Island from Ron Gilbert was the best news in the last 30 years.

    Then the trailer came, and I knew they screwed up. The art style is terrible, it's a flash mobile game with terrible animations. This is how you ruin a legendary series. It's so sad.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 20, 2022
    10
    The game brings back the first-class point and click adventures! Many thanks to the entire development team!
  3. Sep 21, 2022
    1
    The atrocious art style is making my eyes bleed and the gameplay is pretty meh. The dialogue and puzzles are severely lacking the charm andThe atrocious art style is making my eyes bleed and the gameplay is pretty meh. The dialogue and puzzles are severely lacking the charm and wittiness of earlier installments, and otherwise all I have really been doing during my playtime is revisiting locales and talking to characters that we already know. From what I have seen, RTMI is more of a reimagining of Monkey Island, than a new game.

    The developers are creatively bankrupt. Stay away, Monkey Island fans.
    Full Review »