Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Feb 23, 2018
    85
    Rust goes where no other survival game has and provides an incredibly threatening experience that, like a car accident, is equal parts horrifying and mystifying.
  2. Feb 11, 2018
    85
    Rust is a brutal game, an intense and often sadistically punishing hell with a great potential and a new look.
  3. Feb 20, 2018
    80
    Rust is a malicious experience rife with betrayal, cruelty and greed. That can make it both frustrating and sublime in equal doses.
  4. Feb 19, 2018
    80
    For those who are willing to put the time in and stick with it, Rust provides both a social sandbox and a deep, functioning crafting system. At times, it feels like anything is possible in Rust; like witnessing players double-crossing one another or stumbling upon a small sheet metal city in the desert.
  5. Feb 23, 2018
    75
    Rust is a true survival game phenomenon. There's no other game like this with equally fierce and aggressive community. The gameplay is a unique experience that makes you feel and think primal, therefore it's not a title for everyone. The thrill may be addictive, but it's not a game that can be played for several hours a day.
  6. Feb 18, 2018
    75
    Rust is still as addictive as it was. Maybe, because of its early success, we expected more from it, and in that case it can be disappointed. It still needs to be polished and improved, but at its core, Rust is a great crafting and survival game.
  7. Feb 23, 2018
    70
    For competitive players who want a mix of survival and crafting, Rust is the best there is; for everyone else, there are plenty of other games.
  8. Mar 1, 2018
    69
    PvP-heavy survival game for gamers resistant to frustration, with weaknesses in construction and discovery.
  9. Feb 13, 2018
    65
    At the center of Rust lurks something fascinating, with the Wild-West sense of lawlessness and the exploration of trust and betrayal that emerges when trying to survive. Yet Rust’s habit of tripping over its own feet makes it difficult to get to those fascinating stories. As the survival genre continues to mutate and create compelling experiences generate exciting player-driven stories regularly with little frustration, even Rust’s most compelling feature feels sadly archaic.
  10. CD-Action
    May 16, 2018
    50
    Despite having spent four years in Early Access the game is still very far from being finished. [04/2018, p.65]
  11. Feb 18, 2018
    30
    Its lack of survival depth and inclination to only reward time served instead of clever play saps whatever life it might have had to give.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. I should also emphasise that for every memorable interaction you’ll have with another player, there’ll be many where you’re just killed. Rust is a strange, harsh game that’s worth exploring – but only certain parts of it, and only for so long. I’ll never commit to constructing my own fortress, but I’ll happily knock on the door of one belonging to another player.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 355 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. egn
    Dec 21, 2013
    4
    The game is as alpha as it gets; so I'm giving it some credit for the massive potential its concept has. But the execution so far has beenThe game is as alpha as it gets; so I'm giving it some credit for the massive potential its concept has. But the execution so far has been poor...and the "community". The people who play this game? Foul, antisocial adolescents. Not a game for grown-ups, atm. Or people who prefer not wasting their time with absolutely no defense against griefers. Full Review »
  2. Dec 24, 2013
    3
    Huge potential, but its truly awful right now. Hopefully as the alpha progresses things get ironed out, because the game is simply not funHuge potential, but its truly awful right now. Hopefully as the alpha progresses things get ironed out, because the game is simply not fun right now. The general gameplay experience is as follows:

    -Spawn
    -Get wood
    -Look for rock
    -Find no rocks and eventually starve to death naked and weaponless.
    -Repeat until bored.
    -Quit.

    The game is also very laggy, in more than one respect. The servers obviously, but the menus also freeze for a not so insignificant amount of time when navigating and choosing options. The community seems to favor trolls and Neanderthals at the moment as well. I'll check back in a month to see if things have changed, but right now i regret my purchase.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    2
    I know it isn't quite fair to rate a game currently in alpha so harshly, but hear me out. Rust has a great concept, you craft stuff, buildI know it isn't quite fair to rate a game currently in alpha so harshly, but hear me out. Rust has a great concept, you craft stuff, build bases, and hunt zombies. I've spent 40 hours playing the game so I have a decent understanding of what goes on. Unfortunately the game takes exactly zero steps to make the game fun for someone who isn't looking to play an fps killfest. It is simply a game of who spends the most amount of time playing killing everyone else on the server. You look no different if you're a fresh spawn, with nothing but a rock in your hands, or an advanced player with a silenced shotgun simply one click away. Because of that, every person you see is kill on sight by default. Admin abuse in this game is legendary, they can spawn whatever they want and they aren't afraid to. After taking your stuff from your base, players often "grief" your base, making it unusable or inaccessible, rendering hours and hours of work useless. Such a good idea for a game made awful because of poor design and a horrendous community. If refunds existed on Steam, I'd get one. Full Review »