Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Apr 14, 2016
    95
    Samorost 3 is the fruitful culmination of a 13 year old journey by Amanita design. And it is an absolute masterpiece by any standards.
  2. Apr 9, 2016
    90
    Samorost 3 is a sensational journey through a delightful yet deceptively twisted world where fairytale collides with science fiction, themes of addiction and power mix with lighthearted play, and the adventures of a little the gnome always kept a smile on my face.
  3. Apr 4, 2016
    90
    Samorost 3 is a rich and incredibly inspired game, able to guide the player through an extravagant experience and stimulate all the senses.
  4. Mar 25, 2016
    90
    Bursting with charm and vibrant life, the beautiful worlds of Samorost 3 are beguiling, so long as you don’t worry too much about logic or plot and just go with the flow.
  5. Pelit (Finland)
    May 9, 2016
    89
    Samorost 3 is stunningly beautiful, classic point & click adventure game. Well-thought puzzles are the icing on this cake. [May 2016]
  6. Mar 24, 2016
    87
    A warm and joyful adventure through a magical world; obtuse at times, but more interested in delighting than challenging.
  7. Apr 14, 2016
    86
    Samorost 3 is a work of art, I like to think. Right from the first challenge I fell in love with the game and I enjoyed how the world is presented. Take my word for it, some of the wacky creature designs are sure to bring a smile on your face.
  8. Apr 9, 2016
    85
    The third part of the Samorost series is the most memorable. The magical surrealistic world holds great detail and the amazing soundtrack makes the musical gameplay even better. The puzzles require a unique and creative way of thinking, which sometimes makes it hard to continue playing.
  9. Apr 8, 2016
    85
    What is Samorost 3? It's more of an exploration game full of child-like wonder than a classic point'n'click adventure. It's a unique audiovisual experience, a pretty little indie gem that has more in common with real art than many modern art installations in various museums.
  10. Mar 28, 2016
    85
    Although it can look short, compared to other exploration games, Samorost 3 complements that with the stunning, detailed and almost photorealistic art style of the various landscape scenarios, which are great just by themselves, but adding the various sound effects and music to them creates a great point-and-click exploration game filled with some interesting puzzles.
  11. Mar 28, 2016
    85
    Amanita Design has created yet another wonderful adventure. If you enjoyed their previous works or you just like the genre, Samorost 3 is a game you shouldn't miss.
  12. Mar 24, 2016
    85
    Maybe the best way to play Samorost 3 is to play with it, to think of it as a bizarrely-shaped thing that prompts one to appreciate the ways oddities can spark and delight the imagination. At least that’s the way I’ll continue to play it, curiously wandering through alien environments, turning each sight and sound over and over in my head, very much like I once did with a strange piece of wood I encountered when I was young.
  13. Apr 6, 2016
    84
    Samorost 3 is surreal, magical, and one of the warmest and most delightful games I’ve had the pleasure of playing.
  14. May 2, 2016
    82
    Samorost 3 is a charming adventure full of music, puzzles and unforgettable characters.
  15. May 6, 2016
    80
    Samorost 3 is an excellent point-and-click adventure game for those looking for a slow, surreal experience.
  16. May 2, 2016
    80
    Samorost 3 is the kind of game that I’d recommend to parents looking for something to play with their young children, or to anyone with a whimsical disposition. It is as transporting as a richly-dyed scarf wafting through the air.
  17. Apr 19, 2016
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  18. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 12, 2016
    80
    Third part continues where it had ended long time ago – it was sufficiently long ago for Amanita to make completely new and unprecedented features. Just a pity they show their best cards too soon. [Issue#262]
  19. Apr 12, 2016
    80
    Visually stunning adventure game with such pleasant gameplay and imaginative puzzles. You can easily ignore any of its minor flaws. Give it a try, you will not regret it.
  20. Apr 11, 2016
    80
    Samorost 3 is a charming journey to the stars with clever puzzles and an incredibly beautiful art style.
  21. Apr 6, 2016
    80
    Gorgeous and joyful adventure, a game that makes that warm, fuzzy feeling while you're playing it, Samorost 3 takes you on a surreal intergalactic voyage full to the brim with outlandish landscapes and characters.
  22. Mar 31, 2016
    80
    Samorost 3 is a fantastic point & click adventure game, and a perfect sequel to the previous two.
  23. Mar 25, 2016
    80
    Samorost 3 is a relatively short journey, taking about five to six hours to beat and a little more to fully complete. That time is jam-packed with delightful characters, stunning scenery, and clever puzzles, so while it may be brief, it's certainly time well spent. For anyone who appreciates Amanita's previous titles or the point-and-click adventure genre in general, Samorost 3 comes highly recommended.
  24. Mar 31, 2016
    70
    Samorost is quite simply one of the most beautiful games that I have played in recent times.
  25. Mar 28, 2016
    70
    Though I did eventually grow bored of its puzzles, I never tired of Samorost 3's world. Added mechanical depth and variety would have certainly made the game richer, but every subtle visual detail, every lingering musical note, every delightful interaction coalesces into a truly special world that makes Samorost 3 worthwhile nonetheless.
  26. CD-Action
    Jun 29, 2016
    60
    I do not mind simplicity as long as there’s something valuable underneath it. Samorost 3 can only offer great visuals and for me that is not enough. [06/2016, p.57]
  27. May 11, 2016
    60
    It’s fairly obvious that a major reason for Samorost 3’s existence is to give its series some recognition as something other than a footnote to the rest of its developer’s work, and in that regard, it roundly succeeds. But after shaking off the “browser game” stigma, it merely continues its business as a temporarily enjoyable diversion.
  28. 60
    Samorost 3 is a beautiful game and definitely worth experiencing if only for the visuals and musicality. It is a pleasant adventure with some great ideas, but is let down by its short gameplay and sometimes frustrating puzzles.
  29. 50
    Samorost 3 is as frustrating as it is beautiful. It takes some interesting ideas, a gorgeous environment, and a fantastic soundscape and applies them to a gameplay formula that doesn't work quite as well as it should. And with its short playtime and weak motivation, there's not much reason to embark on a journey in this world.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. It’s so alive, so intricate, and so graceful. I wonder if the difficulty will see it be a less celebrated game than the last two, but it really is a thing of beauty.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 118
  2. Negative: 17 out of 118
  1. Mar 25, 2016
    10
    Amanita designs spirits the player away once again to a world of cosmic shroom trips.

    Stunning art, clever puzzles with unique mechanics,
    Amanita designs spirits the player away once again to a world of cosmic shroom trips.

    Stunning art, clever puzzles with unique mechanics, and an incredible soundtrack.

    This game joins Machinarium as some of the best adventure games to come out since the late 90s. Do yourself a rock solid and buy this game.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 26, 2016
    10
    Although all puzzles might not be all that logical, they all contribute to the surreal and magic world of Samorost and in creating an amazingAlthough all puzzles might not be all that logical, they all contribute to the surreal and magic world of Samorost and in creating an amazing visual and musical experience. If you liked Amanita's previous games you'll love this Full Review »
  3. Oct 24, 2016
    8
    Beautiful game (graphics, atmosphere, spirit...). We need more games like that because it's a smooth and inspiring. Some critics I could made:Beautiful game (graphics, atmosphere, spirit...). We need more games like that because it's a smooth and inspiring. Some critics I could made: some puzzles / enigmas are tricky and not really logic. When you find it sometimes you just say to yourself "oh, it was that... It's not really logic, it might have been so much better!"

    But anyway, Samorost if a beautiful game, and the experience is really enjoyable! Keep going Amanita Design! :)
    Full Review »