User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 121
  2. Negative: 18 out of 121

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 28, 2021
    6
    Si eres otaku te va a mamar.
    Si te gustan los juegos con personajes complejos, historias bien construidas con jiros argumentales únicos e impresionantes es garantizado que este juego no es lo que buscas, aquí te encontraras con personajes planos incapaces de expresar un sentimiento distinto al que tienen por defecto, una trama extremadamente predecible y diálogos tan sosos que solo puedes
    Si eres otaku te va a mamar.
    Si te gustan los juegos con personajes complejos, historias bien construidas con jiros argumentales únicos e impresionantes es garantizado que este juego no es lo que buscas, aquí te encontraras con personajes planos incapaces de expresar un sentimiento distinto al que tienen por defecto, una trama extremadamente predecible y diálogos tan sosos que solo puedes pensar en moler a golpes a los personajes, en cuanto a jugabilidad está bien, nada nuevo bajo el sol, combos sencillos y movimientos especiales. En el aspecto grafico se nota mas pulido que otras entregas de bandai.
    La única razón de peso que tengo para terminarlo es que ya lo compre y no lo puedo devolver.
    Expand
  2. Jul 14, 2021
    6
    Not that great. Definitely not worth full price and it shocks me how people are rating this. It's honestly one of the most mediocre games I've played in virtually every aspect and it's downright terrible in some ways.

    I think people have lowered their standards for "Anime Games" out of subconscious frustration that "Anime Games" usually end up being substandard or almost outright cashcrabs.
  3. Jul 6, 2021
    5
    Scarlet Nexus definitely TRIES to give you a unique experience, but it falls short in several areas.

    The gameplay can definitely be fun, chaining together melee hits and throwing cars and all kinds of junk at enemies, while also using your teammates' powers to do all of that more efficiently. However, some of the most basic skills for this type of action game are locked behind skill
    Scarlet Nexus definitely TRIES to give you a unique experience, but it falls short in several areas.

    The gameplay can definitely be fun, chaining together melee hits and throwing cars and all kinds of junk at enemies, while also using your teammates' powers to do all of that more efficiently. However, some of the most basic skills for this type of action game are locked behind skill trees, and even with them unlocked the movement still feels stiff and restrictive. The double jump is straight-up ignored as it never helps you out in any way during combat. It's as if Bandai looked at other action-based games and said "well they have double jump, we need double jump too!!". I got SOME use out of the air dash, only to try and dodge an enemy attack, but sometimes miserably fail as after air-dashing you're left vulnerable for WAY too long before hitting the ground. That said, sometimes there's just that magic moment where things DO work out and you get to pull off some genuinely sick moves. But that's only sometimes.

    The music and sound design are.. decent. Don't really have much to say about that since I've only really stopped to hear the soundtrack in-game about... 6 times. It's got some nice tunes for sure, and it gets the job done, same with the sound effects.

    And now, for the characters and story.. THIS is where Bandai seemed to try, but failed almost completely. The voice acting is good, the actors did a good job of expressing emotion and sounding like human beings whenever the characters converse with one another, but when it comes to plot-related dialog, it seems like they've been given bad direction. The story is honestly super generic, and although it feels as if there's a lot at stake when you get to the latter half of the game, it never actually hits you. Because the characters don't act like it much. It's all just "we have to save the world! we have to stop the government!". But my main gripe is the character writing itself. (long pause) What the **** At a certain point in Yuito's story, a seemingly important character dies, but nobody reacts the way you'd expect. They act shocked for a bit, then just start questioning everything. Yuito in particular never gets mad or feels truly emotional about this moment, which feels extremely alien. Besides that, there's Yuito's family, who never.. actually feel like family in dialog. He talks about his dad and brother like they're complete strangers, or just acquaintances. You never have a moment where they actually feel related. If the game hadn't told you like 7 times during the prologue and former half of the story, you would never know that they're actually family. Almost all the other characters' unique traits feel shoehorned in. A childhood friend that wants to grow into a better person and has a crush on the MC, but never confesses, a girl with a generic cold tone and indifference to others that never gets explained before being forgotten, and worst of all, a character that appears to be ****ing deaf to anything anyone else says. Without any spoilers, this person singlehandedly ruined the epilogue for me, as they never listen to the main cast, and go back on their word for no goddamn reason.

    I put up with this plot for almost the entirety of the game mostly because the flaws didn't seem that important to me. I was focusing more on buying presents, since those decorate your base and after getting basically everything, it's really nice to look at. But that's about all Bandai got right.

    5/10, if you really want to try it, get it on a BIG sale, or straight-up crack it
    Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2021
    6
    Lo diseños esta bien, como en todos lo JRPGs. La historia es una locura, no hay quien la entienda y se puede hacer pesada. El sistema de lucha esta bastante bien y el crecimiento es rápido aunque se me hace algo complejo con tantisimas opciones y combinaciones. Graficamente esta algo obsoleto y no es nada original. Lo mapas podrian estar mas currados y la variedad de npcs es ridicula. SeLo diseños esta bien, como en todos lo JRPGs. La historia es una locura, no hay quien la entienda y se puede hacer pesada. El sistema de lucha esta bastante bien y el crecimiento es rápido aunque se me hace algo complejo con tantisimas opciones y combinaciones. Graficamente esta algo obsoleto y no es nada original. Lo mapas podrian estar mas currados y la variedad de npcs es ridicula. Se nota que es de bajo presupuesto y de que es para un publico japones. Aun así es entretenido y recomendable para fans del genero. Eso si, no es un triple A y no debería valer lo mismo. Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2021
    7
    Scarlet Nexus
    One of the Most Boring good games ive ever played
    Scarlet Nexus is a 16 hour long action JRPG where you play as either Kasane or Yuito, I had to look up their nae before I wrote this review, because that’s how little I cared about this games story. The story seems to be very hit and miss, which isn’t necessarily a good thing considered half of the game is voiced dialog
    Scarlet Nexus
    One of the Most Boring good games ive ever played
    Scarlet Nexus is a 16 hour long action JRPG where you play as either Kasane or Yuito, I had to look up their nae before I wrote this review, because that’s how little I cared about this games story.
    The story seems to be very hit and miss, which isn’t necessarily a good thing considered half of the game is voiced dialog comic styled cutscenes… Im not exaggerating, you spend just as much time sitting, waiting for the action to happen as you do actually playing.. some seem to love the story, I however was bored out of my mind, basically youre part of a group of people with special powers, the government is after your brains, youre losing or have lost your memories, something about spaghetti noodles coming from the sky, youre on the governments hitlist and you gotta stop these moon people from destroying earth.. I think.. I think that’s the story… if youre not intogovernemnt conspiracy, half this game.. this is now an 8 hour action jrpg that thankfully is a blast to play though.. you have telekenisis and a sword, you cn slic enemies up as well as throw objects and use the environment to do massive damage, as you progress the game youll unlock new abilities.. which seems to never stop, tutorials will pop up literally the entirety of the games campaign, but as you make it through th story, more charcters will join your party and youre able to borrow their powers as you take on these moon cratures known as others, you can use fire powers, invisiblity, dashing, electric, super speed, dashing, and work up your skill tree to the point that you can stack these abilities, all on cool down.. this is when the game is at its best, taking down enemies and bosses… is the gameplay good enough to justify a purchase on its own though? No.
    Scarelt nexus is insaley repeitve, youre just goin around these very Japanese game styled maps, getting locked ito areas, clearing them and moving on.. youll see a lot of repeat areas, not even counting the optional bonding missions you can do with each of this games characters, so youll rarely come to a cool new area being begged to explore and even if you did there is no exploration incetive, the gear and weapons here are awful, you wont find new wepons, you just by them from a shop that thankfully just shows up in these dungeons, you don’t have to fast travel to a hub or wait until a mission is over to buy consumables, but these 5 weapons for each charcter you buy just will show up the deeper you get into the game, and you buy them and equip them, that sabout as deep as the loot system goes..
    If th sound of a government conspiracy trying to steel the brains of these kidswith crazy powers doesn’t excite you, there is no reason to pick this one up..
    While I found the story to be painfully slow, drawn out, and boring, others are liking it, and for those people, scarlet nexus offers a good package, and a 16 plus hours youll really enjoy, you might even enjoy it enough to play it twice for both sides of the story,
    for me, I could barely manage the story the first time around
    I give Scarlet Nexus
    a 7/10
    Expand
  6. Sep 9, 2021
    7
    STORY: 5/5 GAMEPLAY : 5/5 EXPLORATION: 3/5

    This is one of the best JRPG of 2021. The combat and gameplay is fun. Story is also nice. The one that disappointed me was the Exploration. The world is not that big and the side quests are not that rewarding. The bond system was nice you can unlock game changing abilities if you manage to go to level 6. Overall great game. Definitely worth playing
  7. Jul 8, 2021
    6
    The game is ALMOST great but it is severely let down by most of its bosses. Bullet sponges with spammy attacks that can easily juggle you to death, hitting you so quickly that even on the opposite side of the map with your allies occupying them, you still get interrupted trying to heal. Every boss ends up the same, spam all light, all light, medium, all medium heals until the boss diesThe game is ALMOST great but it is severely let down by most of its bosses. Bullet sponges with spammy attacks that can easily juggle you to death, hitting you so quickly that even on the opposite side of the map with your allies occupying them, you still get interrupted trying to heal. Every boss ends up the same, spam all light, all light, medium, all medium heals until the boss dies as combos that work against enemies won't work against them. Bosses are immune to just about every CC effect and almost never get staggered by your attacks meaning getting hit constantly is almost unavoidable.

    Bosses are not hard, just cheap and frustrating.
    Expand
  8. Dec 10, 2021
    7
    I liked the story but there are a lot of problems. The idea of two separate stories is a bust; everything of importance is answered in the first playthough. The environments are so very boring and linear and they make you repeat them ad nauseam.

    Date Completed: 2021-12-10 Playtime: 36h (22h first playthrough) Enjoyment: 7/10 Recommendation: I'm on the fence. If you do, skip the
    I liked the story but there are a lot of problems. The idea of two separate stories is a bust; everything of importance is answered in the first playthough. The environments are so very boring and linear and they make you repeat them ad nauseam.

    Date Completed: 2021-12-10
    Playtime: 36h (22h first playthrough)
    Enjoyment: 7/10
    Recommendation: I'm on the fence. If you do, skip the second playthrough.
    Expand
  9. Jul 15, 2021
    7
    Name of the game is the game play.If you want good anime story you won't find it here but man the game play is flashy,awesome and engaging.The combos feels solid and satisfying. I loved yuito game play.The hack n slash felt new and refreshing.Story as you expected from this type of games anime cliché,cringy and borderline boring.
  10. Feb 10, 2022
    6
    An anime game that is more like a mildly interactive visual novel.

    Graphics: - anime styled, overall pretty good quality with some very nice environments - enemy design is very… distinct – but not in a very good way, and they feel very out of place and made so different just to be able to say they are original, but they are weird even by anime standards performance: - overall very
    An anime game that is more like a mildly interactive visual novel.

    Graphics:
    - anime styled, overall pretty good quality with some very nice environments
    - enemy design is very… distinct – but not in a very good way, and they feel very out of place and made so different just to be able to say they are original, but they are weird even by anime standards

    performance:
    - overall very good, game feels well enough optimised, no crashing, no stuttering

    gameplay:
    - cutscenes after cutscene after cutscenes, then a short period of running around, even shorter period of fighting, then more cutsceeeeneeees
    - most of the cutscenes are boring AF with very little substance, some of them are fully animated, but most are this weird mix of animated and comics style, not a big fan tbh
    - fighting feels pretty good, landing some combos feels very satisfying
    - the abilities are pretty interesting and useful for the most part
    - target lock on is inconsistent, often it locks at an enemy out of field of view, or not the one you look at
    - would prefer if the HP of the enemies was decreased a bit and instead there was more of them, but overall it’s okay
    - bosses and minibosses are very spongy and the fights with them pretty unimaginative, you lure them into “traps” that damage them / hit their weakspots for more damage, but you still have to do it multiple times, making it repetitive – these fights are more an exercise in patience than in skill
    - forced finisher and ability animations which mostly let remaining enemies closer to get off an attack that you cannot dodge after the animation finishes
    - enemies also have some pretty interesting abilities or attack patterns, but their AI is kinda dum dum
    - companion AI is also dum dum, they are kinda useless other than drawing some attention at times, you can change their “tactics”, but it has very little impact in my experience, they also sometimes bug out and just run into enemies instead of actually attacking them, their pathfinding could also use some work, in some areas they get stuck all the time, constantly teleporting to you as you get too far away from them, teleporting is fine as a fix if it only happens occasionally, but as mentioned, in some maps, it’s near constant, distracting, and makes the AI look as even more of a joke...
    – game has a bunch of rpg elements, miscellaneous item drops that can be traded, etc. and is kinda grindy, there’s no special twist on the formula, it’s run of the mill kind of thing for this genre, but at least it feels mostly well balanced
    - the game is semi open world, the amount of locations is okay, but their size is pretty small and they are all completely linear
    - encounters respawn on re-entering locations, but resources that you have to gather appear to respawn on some sort of timer that’s not entirely clear and I don’t even see the point
    - overall, it’s your average japanese modern day action adventure game / rpg hybrid, and there have been some much better examples of the genre lately, for example the Nier series.

    Sound:
    - very good japanese voiceacting
    - very little ambience in most maps
    - music kinda forgettable, also not mixed correctly – some songs are really quiet

    story:
    - your average sci-fantasy anime, a lot of cliches and tropes, cringy “jokes” and a barage of badly explained pseudo scientific gibberish as a replacement for actual lore, and a crapton of cliché side characters that feel like the writers had a checklist of anime character tropes and did their damned best to have not one, but at least 2-3 meaningless characters for every category
    - neither the “lore” that’s not directly tied to the main story nor the side characters are worth caring about, they come and go without any serious impact, there’s no real depth to any of it
    - main story, told from the perspective of two characters, is pretty interesting and has some intriguing parts of it, but it’s still quite far from a masterpiece, mainly the crap characters drag it down
    - the main characters are also cliché AF, a lot of cringy behavior, retarded decisions, and so on

    Overall, what could be an interesting, if at times cliché filled anime (actually there is a SN anime now I think), got turned into a serviceable, but otherwise pretty indistinct game with some serious pacing issues and lack of actual gameplay time where you do stuff. I’d lie if I said there are no fun parts in this game, but unfortunately, they get pretty much evenly matched with the tedious or boring parts. With a 70 EUR price tag, I expected a lot more – a lot more game, especially. If I want to watch an anime, I go watch an anime.
    Expand
  11. Jul 19, 2021
    7
    I think the game is serviceable but it does have flaws. The combat is great and fluid. Voice acting seemed pretty good. My biggest issue is with the story. Most of it is played to you after each area using still pictures. Some of the immersion gets lost and I felt kind of bored as the game went on. There's a lot to soak in at least it's all explained to you. Second it seems yourI think the game is serviceable but it does have flaws. The combat is great and fluid. Voice acting seemed pretty good. My biggest issue is with the story. Most of it is played to you after each area using still pictures. Some of the immersion gets lost and I felt kind of bored as the game went on. There's a lot to soak in at least it's all explained to you. Second it seems your character wants to kill the other team. You have this big battle where you're flinging concrete blocks and telephone poles at them. In the next cutscene they're trying to have lunch with you talking about what you do after work, makes no sense. Lastly you have to revisit a lot of the previous maps I'm assuming this is a money saving thing so they can reuse the maps, but damn it get repetitive. Expand
  12. Mar 23, 2022
    7
    This game did not get enough love, could be one of the best action game 2021.
    I prefer it better than Tales of Arise.
    Next game please don't spilt the storyline in two parts.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 17, 2022
    60
    Scarlet Nexus is its own worse enemy. Bandai Namco is trying to fill game's own shoes with engaging fights and JRPG style story narative, but fails to deliver them in a proper way and especially with consistency. And don't try to play the game with keyboard, you do need a controller.
  2. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Sep 3, 2021
    78
    They tried to tell a very epic story on a very limited budget. A contrast like this sometimes really grates on my nerves, but, paradoxically, it’s also a part of Scarlet Nexus’ charm. [Issue#254, p.40]
  3. CD-Action
    Sep 1, 2021
    80
    Scarlet Nexus is all about combat. The fights are spectacular thanks to vibrant cel-shaded graphics, but primarily because the developers skillfully combined a couple of truly explosive ingredients: agile protagonists with psychokinetic talents, well-designed enemies, and the ability to unleash hell using the powers of your AI-controlled companions. As for the game’s downsides, the environments are repetitive and the writers failed to tie up all the loose ends and left some plot holes. [09/2021, p.54]