User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 7, 2020
    8
    A wonderful game about conversations and relationships, with all of the interactions determined by a deck-building card game. The game mechanics are enjoyable, but it's the writing and art that make this game feel so comforting and lovely (and melancholy at times). I finished my first playthrough at just under 4 hours, but it seems like there are other paths to take so I'll be replaying atA wonderful game about conversations and relationships, with all of the interactions determined by a deck-building card game. The game mechanics are enjoyable, but it's the writing and art that make this game feel so comforting and lovely (and melancholy at times). I finished my first playthrough at just under 4 hours, but it seems like there are other paths to take so I'll be replaying at some point. Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2021
    6
    Didn't find the story and mechanics that interesting and gripping. Purely my issue. But the UX, sound design and music are so polished, it makes the game somewhat flawless.
  3. Jul 2, 2020
    10
    I got this in the Itch.io Racial Justice bundle https://itch.io/b/520/bundle-for-racial-justice-and-equality but HOLY **** is this worth getting on its own!

    The visuals are simple and charming. The score is evocative and fitting. The writing is top-notch. The characters are interesting. The gameplay is simple to understand. But what makes it so special is how everything blends together
    I got this in the Itch.io Racial Justice bundle https://itch.io/b/520/bundle-for-racial-justice-and-equality but HOLY **** is this worth getting on its own!

    The visuals are simple and charming. The score is evocative and fitting. The writing is top-notch. The characters are interesting. The gameplay is simple to understand. But what makes it so special is how everything blends together so seamlessly to make a wholly unique experience!

    To explain why this game works requires more than learning to play the actual game. It is about communication almost like CRPGS but instead of being purely stat and RNG driven it is loosely a "deck builder".

    You have a limited deck/vocabulary to use to "talk" using a hand of 5 cards to a wide range of people and you must always add or subtract cards. You can never build a perfect deck. Besides debuffs you acrue from fatigue, you will find yourself unable to express yourself in every situation.

    This is the most realistic representation of the flow and frustration of talking I have ever seen in a videogame! Another way to describe it is, if you have ever had a fight with someone you care about where you want to be understood but nothing you say is working and understanding is something you cannot reach in the moment... that is this whole game!

    There are no meaningless interactions, everything matters! Every conversation can be innocuous but also every conversation can feel like a boss battle. It never got overbearing but the game is FULL of tension while I played.

    Anyway, there is a bunch of replayability because if you want to see everyone's story you need to focus on different "cards". My first playthrough was about 5 hours but it can be much shorter I just happened to be "on the road" as long as possible the first time.

    Anyway, my favourite videogame I have played in a LONG time!
    Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2020
    10
    I enjoyed this game a lot. When I first picked it up I thought I would maybe spend an hour with it but to my surprise, I ended up playing it all the way through. It is a really heartwarming and sad game about conversation that has some really fun mechanics. I am not usually a fan of deck building games but this one was something I really enjoyed.

    The art is very cute and unique and the
    I enjoyed this game a lot. When I first picked it up I thought I would maybe spend an hour with it but to my surprise, I ended up playing it all the way through. It is a really heartwarming and sad game about conversation that has some really fun mechanics. I am not usually a fan of deck building games but this one was something I really enjoyed.

    The art is very cute and unique and the characters are well written which blended well with the interesting story. I am excited to play it again and see what ending I get.
    Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2021
    10
    The game has a unique way of showing conversation and tells a wonderful story of the change people can go through
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jul 6, 2020
    80
    Short, thoughtful games — including Signs of the Sojourner — are necessary, so it’s easy to look at a call for more with suspicion. Do the mechanics and dev-hours support the variety that a call for more locations, more characters, more stories would entail? Where does the call for more feed into the call for excessive commodification of personal projects? Despite these concerns, more Signs of the Sojourner would glorify an already compelling game. By the time its rhythms fall into place, the game is already over. Teasing out its secrets enhances its replayability, but it’s exciting to think of a future with more opportunities to jam out in Aldhurst and be a catalyst for social change.
  2. Jul 6, 2020
    62
    Signs of the Sojourner is a slice of life deck building narrative game. If that was more than a mouthful for you, you may consider steering clear of this game as the conversation based game-play will careen you down a narrative driven path rife with haggling and sometimes fleeting relationships. For the right gamer, Signs of the Sojourner will provide the kind of unique game play that you can't find anywhere else. For deck builder fans, you may find it hit or miss to your tastes, but if battling is more your speed, this might not be up your alley.
  3. Jul 2, 2020
    80
    With real travel compromised right now, tagging along with Signs of the Sojourner’s caravan is one way to experience the sights and smells of new streets.