User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 65
  2. Negative: 35 out of 65

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 22, 2022
    0
    Soulstice would have deserved a 7 if it was not for the problematic camera movement which completely destroys the gaming experience. So bad, hope the devs can fix the issue with a future update and give us free camera to enjoy the game
  2. Sep 22, 2022
    2
    I don't understand why the hell did they opt for fixed camera instead of letting the player move the mouse freely during exploration areas! This is a total put-off and it is implemented so badly you can't even see where loot is located, paths are troublesome to explore, everything is confused and lacks order. For me it's a big NO!
  3. Sep 22, 2022
    3
    Seasickness catches me whenever I play this game with that silly fixed camera. Please remove it and introduce free camera motion
  4. Sep 22, 2022
    0
    unfortunately, Soulstice is severely harmed by its senseless and stupid camera. And it's a shame, because the game is otherwise nice with good art style and level design. But the camera issue is so big it changes playing to Soulstice into a complete nightmare
  5. Sep 22, 2022
    2
    Lots of problems with weapons, uninspired level design, terrible camera make this a very bad Bayonetta and DMC clone
  6. Sep 22, 2022
    0
    -bland story
    -Bayonetta-style bad imitation
    -abysmal camera implementation
    -boring combat mechanics
  7. Sep 22, 2022
    0
    Feste Kamera ist sehr schlecht. Es hat mein Spielerlebnis total ruiniert. Ich konnte das Spiel wegen dieses großen Problems nicht weiterspielen
  8. Sep 22, 2022
    0
    camera is fixed and the game is unplayable unless you like to throw up. Any direction you go with that cam is a mess
  9. Sep 22, 2022
    4
    ridiculous story + tedious level design + unpredictable and uncomfortable cam motion = Soulstice
  10. Sep 22, 2022
    9
    A very solid entry in the hack and slash arena. Gorgeous character design, tense combat, and a great story to boot. Soulstice also features a really cool dual-character mechanic with a fairly robust skill tree for one of the characters with no respec penalties, which is pretty nice when it comes to combat experimentation. Fans of the genre will not want to pass this up!
  11. Sep 26, 2022
    4
    Blank, repetitive, wavy quality.
    It's like the 100th version of the same story you usaly see in animes. Hot(?) girl gets inhuman powers to fight universal forces of evil, also her kind is being despised by others.
    The level designs are so repetitive, I had the constant feeling of seeing the same map ower and ower again. Animations are like a low budget disney series. The characters
    Blank, repetitive, wavy quality.
    It's like the 100th version of the same story you usaly see in animes. Hot(?) girl gets inhuman powers to fight universal forces of evil, also her kind is being despised by others.

    The level designs are so repetitive, I had the constant feeling of seeing the same map ower and ower again.
    Animations are like a low budget disney series.
    The characters also to be honest.
    Even Stefanie Joosten's voice is somehow irritating after a while
    Fight system is borring
    Expand
  12. Sep 22, 2022
    3
    The truth: it's a beautiful game, with decent art style, cool level design and characters but ruined by absurd fixed cam which makes controlling the character a disaster
  13. Sep 22, 2022
    0
    1. you have to press a key every time during dialogues to make them go on ; 2. camera is unmovable which makes level scouting so annoying ; 3. the game heavily stutters during combats and when lots of graphics effects appear on screen ; 4. it is so hard and annoying to control 2 characters with 2 different move sets during chaotic battles; 5. it offers nothing more than DMC and Bayonetta did
  14. Sep 22, 2022
    2
    Some people compare this game to the Devil May Cry series, however it is very far from that. The main characters are arguably the worst part. They have no charisma and are written very poorly. The combat is repetitive and the graphics are merely serviceable. Sound is ok as is the enemy designs. However the game feels rushed with a some bugs. Perhaps this can be fixed with a patch. TheSome people compare this game to the Devil May Cry series, however it is very far from that. The main characters are arguably the worst part. They have no charisma and are written very poorly. The combat is repetitive and the graphics are merely serviceable. Sound is ok as is the enemy designs. However the game feels rushed with a some bugs. Perhaps this can be fixed with a patch. The camera is also one of the worst I've seen in an action game in recent years. Hope they can get these things fixed. Expand
  15. Sep 22, 2022
    0
    Het was een prachtig spel met een mooie art-stijl, maar het wordt vernietigd door die vaste camera die moeilijk te verkennen levels maakt. Bovendien zullen mensen die aan misselijkheid lijden ernstige problemen hebben om het te spelen
  16. Sep 22, 2022
    4
    yes, camera is the only big defect in this game. But it's a defect so serious it makes playing the whole adventure very tedious and bothersome. You'll have stomach ache while playing some sections because of bad camera, seriously I'm not kidding your stomach will suffer. Sometimes it forces you to stop playing and restart later (if you can). Hope they can fix the issue because it's veryyes, camera is the only big defect in this game. But it's a defect so serious it makes playing the whole adventure very tedious and bothersome. You'll have stomach ache while playing some sections because of bad camera, seriously I'm not kidding your stomach will suffer. Sometimes it forces you to stop playing and restart later (if you can). Hope they can fix the issue because it's very irritating and it has wrecked this otherwise beautiful game Expand
  17. Sep 22, 2022
    0
    when I played the game, the first thing I thought was what a waste of potential: beautiful settings, good narration, cool duo with Briar and Lute, nice graphics, fast and cool battles. But all the above mentioned is demolished and wiped out by the inconsistent locked camera. Why that??? I'd like to make a plea to the developers: could you please release a patch asap to unlock the camera?when I played the game, the first thing I thought was what a waste of potential: beautiful settings, good narration, cool duo with Briar and Lute, nice graphics, fast and cool battles. But all the above mentioned is demolished and wiped out by the inconsistent locked camera. Why that??? I'd like to make a plea to the developers: could you please release a patch asap to unlock the camera? The entire game would benefit a lot, also because you created very beautiful landscapes and backgrounds but one cannot enjoy them because camera won't allow it. It's a shame, really! My rating would have been at least 8, but because of what I mentioned above I can't help but give it a very bad score Expand
  18. Sep 23, 2022
    10
    Marvelous hack and slash, it reminds me a lot of dmc and bayonetta really recommended for lovers of the genre and for who want to try it
  19. Sep 22, 2022
    5
    Fixed camera makes leading the player so complicated. The game is mediocre at best. Levels seem all the same, no environment variation. Combat is confusing and distracting because when you perform moves with Briar, then soon after you see on screen hints to perform other moves with Lute and you have little to no time. I also found spoken interaction with other characters to be flat and monotonous.
  20. Sep 22, 2022
    0
    we're not in mid-90s with fixed camera, pixels and point and click games. We're in 2k22 with powerful graphics cards and PCs. Pointless camera restriction which makes Soulstice very annoying to play
  21. Sep 22, 2022
    9
    The game, for how much it costs and what it offers (It is not made from a triple A and I don't remember they ever compared it to triple A games) it works, it is entertaining and it is visually beautiful. Clear has flaws but I don't think it's something that ruins the game.
    I liked it!
  22. Sep 23, 2022
    5
    I would have preferred to play with free camera. Fixed camera is too much of a limitation and ruins the game
  23. Sep 23, 2022
    2
    Pevná kamera je vážný problém. Nemůžete se volně pohybovat. Je těžké sledovat postavu očima a čím více budete hrát, tím více budete pociťovat bolest hlavy. Škoda, že to úplně zničilo hru
  24. Sep 23, 2022
    5
    the funny thing is it imitates DMC in combat style, concept and upgrades but it refuses to imitate Capcom wonderful free camera motion
  25. Sep 22, 2022
    0
    ta gra ma zły ruch kamery. To rujnuje grę. Nie da się kontrolować gracza i czuje się tak źle. Mam nadzieję, że uda im się to naprawić w przyszłości
  26. Sep 22, 2022
    4
    Sabit kamera bu oyunun en büyük hatasıdır. Oynarken kendinizi kötü hissettiriyor, kusmanız gerekiyor gibi görünüyor. Güzel dünyaya ve renkli seviyelere bakmanıza izin vermez. Gelecekteki bir güncelleme ile düzeltilmesi gerekiyor
  27. Sep 22, 2022
    9
    Not sure why the zoomers struggle with the camera angle, this is a homage to DMC/Bayonetta so if you've played either or was a 90's gamer you will be fine. Its clearly aimed at fans of the genre. The game is a blast
  28. Sep 22, 2022
    8
    The only con I can find in this excellent game is the camera, in some situations/fights is a bit unresponsive and unintuitive and not easy to control while fighting, but the overall gaming experience is excellent, helped with a flawless graphic compartment and combat mechanics.
  29. Sep 22, 2022
    9
    Great art style and amazing cinematics, it's a spectacles for eyes!
    Combat pace and camera management can be improved, but it's really satisfying slashing everything.
  30. Sep 23, 2022
    10
    Very amazing game! The characters are so cuties. i’m not a very hard gamer but i love nice games like this
  31. Sep 22, 2022
    8
    Game with "Devil May Cry" style but a surprising more entertaining, dynamic and challenging combat system, which is the the best part of the game since you fight for the 75% of the time.
    Despite the plot is not entirely original, it's coherent and has some curious points. The environment is immersive and enjoyable, even if we can find some empty places in the background.
    Experts of the
    Game with "Devil May Cry" style but a surprising more entertaining, dynamic and challenging combat system, which is the the best part of the game since you fight for the 75% of the time.
    Despite the plot is not entirely original, it's coherent and has some curious points. The environment is immersive and enjoyable, even if we can find some empty places in the background.
    Experts of the genre could find exploration linear and the platforming too easy, but that's not the main content.
    In general for being an AA game it's GREAT.
    The camera is impossible to control manually but the autoaim and autotarget configs works well.
    Soundtracks are OK, neither terrible or fantastic, we won't remember this game for them.
    Gameplay is around 20h long, totally worth the time since they will fly in a blink of an eye
    Expand
  32. Sep 22, 2022
    8
    The good:
    Nice art style and design, deep combat mechanics with a steep learning curve.
    The bad:
    Mobile camera is not exactly intuitive, nor enjoyable in small spaces.
    The Mh:
    Fixed camera, depending if you like old dmc.
  33. Sep 22, 2022
    8
    The game is really nice , the combat system is flowing and frantic , the grapichs are detailed , texture really precise , but yes the camera is your enemy , and all this 0 are trolling XD
  34. Sep 22, 2022
    10
    Great, surprisingly deep combat, very dark and detailed atmosphere, nice voice acting, interesting plot and dialogues, meaty content with many missions. All that for 40 euros. We get full priced ""triple A"" garbage games for double the price. For me it's a masterpiece. The only slight hic up its the locked camera but it is way overblown out of proportion ,it ain't that bad as people say.Great, surprisingly deep combat, very dark and detailed atmosphere, nice voice acting, interesting plot and dialogues, meaty content with many missions. All that for 40 euros. We get full priced ""triple A"" garbage games for double the price. For me it's a masterpiece. The only slight hic up its the locked camera but it is way overblown out of proportion ,it ain't that bad as people say. Also the facial details could be a bit better but for the price its a very minor complain. I bet people who bash this game have never played the game more than the demo or something. 9/10 . Absolutely steal of a game. Putting 10 instead of 9 to counter the trolls who put 1 and 2 ....jesus Expand
  35. Sep 22, 2022
    10
    excellent game with mechanical details. I found the choice of using two types of crystals very innovative. the characters are well written and the design is very nice. beautiful graphics and very clear. I recommend purchasing. don't believe the low grades, they did review bombing!
  36. Sep 23, 2022
    10
    I recommend ANYONE to buy it even just to wipe thier mouth off the usual titles trattabile are inferior to this game. Advice it.
  37. Sep 21, 2022
    8
    Good-
    Cool art style and design; Fun and deep combat mechanics.
    Bad- Average-at-best storytelling; Mediocre platforming. Thoughts- Admittedly, some enjoyment of Soulstice may be gained or lost immediately depending on your personal experience with classic 3D action games. Soulstice proudly lives and dies by the same sword. Somebody who just got into the action genre within the
    Good-
    Cool art style and design; Fun and deep combat mechanics.

    Bad-
    Average-at-best storytelling; Mediocre platforming.

    Thoughts-
    Admittedly, some enjoyment of Soulstice may be gained or lost immediately depending on your personal experience with classic 3D action games. Soulstice proudly lives and dies by the same sword. Somebody who just got into the action genre within the last ten years or so might feel very differently about the game’s often fixed camera and highly linear layout than somebody who has fond memories of God of War 2. It’s also not helped much by some average-to-okay voice acting and writing, and the generic early 2000’s video game music is a pretty big missed opportunity as well. Still, regardless of the type of action you’re most comfortable with, Soulstice gets more than enough right with modern and classic ideas to be worth pushing through its few hang-ups.
    Expand
  38. Sep 22, 2022
    9
    The art style is beautiful and immersive!! The combat system is very nice and intuitive. Sometimes the camera is a bit weird but, overall is a GREAT GAME! Recommended
  39. Sep 22, 2022
    9
    Really Nice game for an Indie House. Need to accustom to tha cam but is similar to Resident Evils cam so nothing to worry about. Really nice design, really nice story, really nice soundtrack!
  40. Sep 23, 2022
    10
    Se volete giocare un bel titolo italiano ve lo consiglio caldamente. Ottime meccaniche di gioco,grafica molto pulita, accattivante. Non trovo assolutamente la camera scomoda anzi. Amo i campi larghi che ogni tanto vengono utilizzati nelle inquadrature. Mi piace come hanno caratterizzato i personaggi e il design delle protagoniste é molto bello. I boss sono particolari e niente di giàSe volete giocare un bel titolo italiano ve lo consiglio caldamente. Ottime meccaniche di gioco,grafica molto pulita, accattivante. Non trovo assolutamente la camera scomoda anzi. Amo i campi larghi che ogni tanto vengono utilizzati nelle inquadrature. Mi piace come hanno caratterizzato i personaggi e il design delle protagoniste é molto bello. I boss sono particolari e niente di già visto,per lo meno non dalla sottoscritta. Sono rimasta molto colpita dalla meccanica dei cristalli. Consiglio davvero tanto! Expand
  41. Sep 22, 2022
    10
    Rly good gameplay for a new indie hack and slash ! Good vibes with a funny gameplay!
  42. Sep 23, 2022
    6
    The art style is beautiful The combat system is very nice

    Looks good.....

    BUT! The camera is very, very bad, the camera is a piece of bu11$it!
    Developers should hang themselves on such a camera ( ͡• ͜ʖ ͡• )
  43. Sep 24, 2022
    0
    the game must be bad because desu loved it and he still playing it. this game attracted a person like desu who throw **** at people with ad hominem like a kindergarten kid, digging people's life on internet because he is a no life loser, acting like his opinion is a fact and using cat images as reactions show how sucks this game is :DDD
  44. Oct 4, 2022
    8
    Its a very good game i personally like linear story driven games and the combat is very fun too
    Although the repetetive environments and the bad pacing of the game which makes the game longer than it should be are the problems but overall a very enjoyable experience that i would recommend to anyone that like this type of linear game
  45. Sep 25, 2022
    10
    People complaining about camera should stop playing hack n slash and go for casual puzzle games. Soulstice is super fun and reminds me of DMC. Visuals are stunning and audio's lit af
  46. Sep 25, 2022
    8
    Don't listen to these dorks who can't do a linear game with a fixed camera. All they want is open world redundant **** over and over because they're losers who want to "explore" for 100 hours because they have nothing else to do with their lives. Soulstice is a solid game. Cool characters and monsters.
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Sep 26, 2022
    75
    Soulstice from Reply Game Studios brings a strong story, a good amount of action, and paints a perfectly drab world to tie it all together. The backend gameplay design helps to add more value to the experience while motivating the player to keep exploring and pushing forward. The only caveat to the experience is the locked camera that will frustrate and hinder the gameplay at times. Overall, it’s a fun game, but it could use a fully controllable camera to make it even better.
  2. Sep 23, 2022
    70
    Featuring combo-heavy gameplay and a dark fantasy setting, Soulstice delivers Devil May Cry-style action that's marred by some frustrating mechanics.
  3. Sep 23, 2022
    56
    A meaty action game let down by a persistently rubbish camera and a lack of variation in its stages.