Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Sep 11, 2020
    90
    Star Renegades is a chaotically beautiful title that doesn't pull any punches with difficulty, yet keeps you coming back for more.
  2. Sep 7, 2020
    90
    Star Renegades is an impressive roguelike I didn’t realize I wanted until I finally gave it a shot. It’s a polished title that wears its inspirations on its sleeves and delivers a well-crafted gameplay experience from beginning to end. The sharp blend of luck, skill, and perseverance needed to beat the game as well as the superb presentation kept me coming back for more. Each playthrough rewards the player with subtle improvements along with a greater familiarity with how each character functions on a mechanical level. Without a doubt, Star Renegades is a quality title well worth putting your time into.
  3. 90
    Star Renegades is an excellent game, one that will keep you entertained for as long as you’ll let it. It’s pretty, the gameplay is exquisite, and ultimately, it’s just a lot of fun. The fact that it’s also got some of the most interesting systems of a roguelike I’ve played helps a lot too. The difficulty can be a bit wonky in places, and the writing doesn’t always hit, but overall, Star Renegades is a deceptively deep and really rewarding game that’ll beat you over the head just as often as it’ll reward your ingenuity.
  4. Sep 7, 2020
    90
    Star Renegades is a perfect hybrid of a tactical RPG and roguelite battling system, with easy to comprehend mechanics. As you level so does the enemy, making the threat ever increasing and prominent throughout the whole playthrough. The unique maps with boundless variations sprawling over three varying planets will keep you coming back for more. The breathtaking visuals are more than enough reason to play this game and fight against the Imperium!
  5. Sep 7, 2020
    90
    An addictive loop, well thought out systems and wide variety of classes make Star Renegades worth a shot for any rogue-lite fans.
  6. Sep 16, 2020
    88
    The art style is pixelated and feels very Dragon Force mid-90s, which I adore. The action sequences are over-the-top in the best of ways, and the music…good GOD…the music is an electronic, bass-driven masterpiece. Related to the music, I’m not sure I enjoyed a set of sound effects before as much as I did with this game. I know, I know, that is a ridiculous statement, but they’re well done and add to the atmosphere of the game. Anyway, the presentation is a treat during the fights and the maps are equally well done with a forced depth of field to make the scenery very pleasant and visually active. Star Renegades is an impressive game that is easy to start and will keep you playing with its strategic depth.
  7. Dec 7, 2020
    87
    Star Renegades guarantees hours of fun, accomplishing gameplay, with a lot to unlock and explore. At game’s end, it’s likely that one victory won’t be enough, and you’ll find yourself diving back in to take on MOTHER and its Imperium hoards once more.
  8. Sep 13, 2020
    86
    Star Renegades is an addictive roguelite with a deep combat system, well-paced progression and satisfyingly punishing enemies. It could use some more variety and content but it is a very solid purchase if you are up to the challenge.
  9. Dec 8, 2020
    85
    With a fantastic combat system and quality content in all other aspects, Star Renegades is stylish, accessible, and innovative, making it one of the best turn-based roguelikes around.
  10. Sep 21, 2020
    85
    Star Renegades combines RPG and strategy with roguelite, successfully bringing all these elements together and wrapping them up in a beautiful world.
  11. Sep 17, 2020
    85
    Star Renegades is a love letter to tactical RPG fans who have been craving a rogue-lite experience that keeps on giving. While not quite at the mastery of Into the Breach in terms of depth, Star Renegades has enough to be excited about.
  12. Sep 9, 2020
    85
    Star Renegades is a fun, challenging Rogue-lite RPG. Its creative use of familiar game mechanics is a bit of a double-edged (laser)sword. On the one hand, once you get the rhythm of gameplay and world navigation it's a great gameplay experience. However getting to that point can be a bit of a slog, especially for gamers who are dipping their toes in the genre. Overall, though, Massive Damage has created a game that sets itself apart enough with its unique gameplay and premise, that it’s worth taking a look at.
  13. Sep 9, 2020
    85
    Star Renegades had me enamored from the opening cutscene and sunk its claws deep with its tactically-sound combat, incredible aesthetic, pulse-pounding soundtrack, great story elements, and superb writing. I wish that its meta progression elements were more significant and that it didn’t insist on being yet another rogue-lite, but I still felt compelled - even after some really sour defeats - to come back and fight the good fight against the Imperium...Put simply, Star Renegades is one of the best indie game experiences I’ve had all year. Full stop.
  14. Nov 30, 2020
    83
    If you are looking for a turn-based strategy game with RPG touches and roguelite, look no further because this is the yours.
  15. Dec 2, 2020
    80
    Star Renegades blends everything we know about rogue-lite and pours it into an old-school RPG mold, creating a unique and very accessible tactical RPG.
  16. Oct 28, 2020
    80
    Star Renegades stands out as a shining example of what a rogue-like RPG should be. It’s unbending in its insistence that the player not only come to understand the intricacies of its rules, but master them, yet provides enough resources to make sure that players who really want to reach the end eventually do. I may have gone into this game as a reviewer, but I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t come out of it as an honest-to-goodness fan—even if the writing does rub me the wrong way.
  17. Oct 23, 2020
    80
    A very solid tactical RPG. Its main problem is that it’s overly reliant on chance and might be a tad too difficult for novice players. But if you enjoy clever turn-based battles, this sci-fi has plenty of those to offer.
  18. Oct 12, 2020
    80
    This is a fun, fresh take on classic JRPG tropes and modern roguelike design, but it's in danger of running out of steam too quickly.
  19. Oct 4, 2020
    80
    The requested tactical maximization smooths the game and offers few surprises. Without that grain of madness or that breath of randomness that can turn everything upside down, Star Renegades borders on excellence without ever achieving it.
  20. Sep 17, 2020
    80
    Gorgeous pixel art, a massively deep combat system, and the pure elation that can only be earned from vanquishing nigh-unstoppable foes makes for a solid package of fun in Star Renegades.
  21. Sep 15, 2020
    80
    This is a fun, fresh take on classic JRPG tropes and modern roguelike design, but its in danger of running out of steam too quickly.
  22. Sep 14, 2020
    80
    Star Renegades looks incredible, has a solid combat system, and succeeds in beckoning you back for run after run until you eventually surpass the final foe. While you may not immediately grab your blaster for another play after you’ve surmounted the radical difficulty spike near the end of a run, there are a lot of great systems at play here.
  23. Sep 13, 2020
    80
    Solid roguelite RPG with fancy pixelart visuals and pleasentlc tactical turn based battles.
  24. Sep 10, 2020
    80
    Massive Damage’s Star Renegades is a really solid roguelite, despite lackluster campaign elements. The combat system forces players to outsmart their opponents, rather than simply beat them to the punch and is also anchored by a robust adversary system. There’s plenty to see with the world itself, as the pixelated art style, vibrant colors, and various environments work together to make a vast series of game worlds. Star Renegades is a great offering from Massive Damage and Raw Fury.
  25. Sep 10, 2020
    80
    No matter how many hours I spent in Star Renegades, every run, every battle, every turn felt like a new captivating puzzle to solve. In my experience, roguelites lose their luster when the runs start to feel the same no matter how you change things up. Even after playing for dozens of hours and having seen the vast majority of what there is to see, I never lost interest in picking apart each battle to dismantle an opponent for a turn, then another one, and another until the battle is finished. The satisfying feeling of living in the moment and conquering it never gets old.
  26. Sep 8, 2020
    80
    Star Renegades is a beautiful turn-based strategy RPG with an interesting combat system that is always different, thanks to its procedurally generated dungeons.
  27. Sep 21, 2020
    76
    It is always said that games must be judged for what they are and not for what we would like them to be: Star Renegade is a strange mix of strategy and jrpg, all under the umbrella of the roguelite-genre that ends up delimiting, and partly limiting, all the best aspects of the game. I could not stop thinking, at each run, that a normal campaign, even a short one, would have benefited the pace of the game and could make all the mechanics make it shine at their best.
  28. Sep 7, 2020
    75
    Star Renegades offers players a fresh and unique experience that sadly loses its appeal after its punishing roguelike systems have you experience the same elements over and over. Even through the repetitive enemies that you face along the way, there’s no denying that the characters and environments that make up this world make it a must-play game within the genre. Still, the best parts are reserved for those who are seeking a genuinely challenging roguelite RPG sci-fi adventure, which may leave others lost in space.
  29. Sep 17, 2020
    72
    A multiversal master of none, with a messy but intriguing combat system at its core.
  30. Nov 3, 2020
    70
    It feels like Star Renegades just can't decide what it wants to be. If the game was more like a traditional turn-based JRPG, it would be fine, but as of now way too many gameplay mechanics feels out of place. Roguelike elements are here too, some of them are pretty questionable, but can still win you over. But despite all of that, Star Renegades is a game with a great visual style and an engaging combat system, which is more than enough to hold your attetion, at least for a couple of runs.
  31. 70
    Gorgeous pixel art graphics and one of the best turn-based combat systems of recent years can’t quite make up for an obnoxious script and frustrating role-playing elements.
  32. Sep 8, 2020
    70
    Star Renegades offers a great artstyle and robust combat system for fans of turn-based RPGs and roguelikes. It doesn't have much to tell in terms of an outward storyline, and some of the roguelike elements feel a little thin, but it's a solid experience if you know what you are getting into.
  33. Sep 7, 2020
    70
    Star Renegades has some great ideas; the characters are solid, likeable and believable, and the world is intriguing, but it may be too punishing for some.
  34. CD-Action
    Dec 18, 2020
    65
    Star Renegades’ best feature is its combat system which rewards good tactics based on thorough analysis. Battles also look great, thanks to the polished pixel art, but the complicated, unfriendly interface makes enjoying them harder. I was also disappointed with the game’s rudimentary story, but what really disheartened me was the tiresome repetitiveness of gameplay. [12/2020, p.41]
  35. Jan 19, 2021
    60
    Much like Halcyon 6 before it, this has tremendous potential, but is simply lost in its own slog. As such, it remains tough to recommend on a higher level, as battles just take too long, with too much punishment for straying from an ideal strategy. If there was an expansion of story, streamlining of combat, upgrading character pixels, and overall improving some of the aspects touched on, would go a very long way. In a game that felt like it could have been a awesome Edge of Tomorrow kind of deal, it feels more like being an accountant with a glitchy spreadsheet piece of software.
  36. 60
    The scattershot influences of Star Renegades make for a complex and engaging experience that often seems to be barely holding it all together.
  37. Sep 7, 2020
    60
    A game that starts strong, but that can quickly become a frustrating and repetitious experience.
  38. Sep 7, 2020
    60
    Most everything around that excellent combat is where Star Renegades falters. The lightweight, overly jokey narrative, the unforgivable UI, the occasional bugs, the superficial permanent upgrades, and the nonsensically obtuse camp sections frame a singular battle system that solidifies the game’s appeal.
  39. Edge Magazine
    Oct 8, 2020
    50
    If Massive Damage's kitchen-sink approach to combat systems threatens to become overwhelming, it is at least built upon solid foundations. [Issue#351, p.107]
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. So yeah, it has more than a bit of roughness to it. But hoo boy, do I admire its spirit, its extra-ness, its enthusiasm for small-scale RPG design. It feels like somebody put a lasso around the neck of a snorting Disgaea game and corralled it into a pen with Slay The Spire, the resulting gamefoal erupting onto Steam in slime and wires, a cybernetic child of chaos, pixel art, and giant JRPG word flashes. BREAK. BLEEDING. ANTIMATTER. ENRAGED.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 9 out of 24
  1. Oct 8, 2020
    0
    can't change keyboard binds. unacceptable.
    pixel art is fantastic but animations in combat feel lacking... like there would have improved a
    can't change keyboard binds. unacceptable.
    pixel art is fantastic but animations in combat feel lacking... like there would have improved a lot with just a few more animation frames
    map traversal is horrible, the characters only go in a straight line, no pathfinding, and they often get stuck in the background. also you often have to click little "doorways" on the map to proceed and those have no reason to exist and feel they're there just to annoy and slow you down
    all in all THE LACK OF KEY BINDING IS NOT TOLERABLE
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 9, 2020
    4
    This game is what happens when designers don't know the difference between game design that is satisfyingly difficult, and designers thatThis game is what happens when designers don't know the difference between game design that is satisfyingly difficult, and designers that think that simply because the game is hard, it will be enjoyable.

    The primary wrinkle in this game's combat system is that your attacks won't miss and whether or not your crit is based on whether or not you strike first. If you stagger them enough, you can prevent them from attacking for the round. Enemies also have an attack counter on them, and if you exhaust that counter, the enemy cannot be staggered any further. Hitting enemies in their weaknesses inflicts slightly greater amounts of stagger on them, but it's not exceptionally meaningful.

    Where this all falls apart is once the game starts trying to add complexity on top of complexity. Once they start introducing formations and auto-counterattacks and auto-guards, the game just gets stupidly dumb. Nobody wants to play an RPG where "victory through attrition" is the most effective strategy. In theory, the game's choices are there to offer you a wealth of tactical options, but in practice, it's either, "Does my entire team defend this round, or do we attack this round?" It all shakes out this way because, for the most part, you can't heal in battle. You don't have items that you can use to heal mid-fight.

    Guarding and counters are another annoyance. You'll have guys standing BEHIND a front line unit, guarding literally every attack that you hit them with. (Because THAT makes strategic sense, somehow.) You can't stagger a unit that's guarding, because guard happens at Init 0. So, for 2 different enemy units, the game's core systems are functionally ignored. The target has no choice but to defend (because all buffs I've seen so far, simply expire after one turn, and once again, you can't heal characters mid-fight) and in situations where the attacking character being guarded is throwing out an AoE attack, you just have to sit back and defend with the entire team. Same thing happens when one character takes up overwatch. Either EVERY character making an attack gets lit up that turn, in addition to taking the damage that the enemy is gonna dish out, or just defend with the entire team. You will choose full defense FAR, FAR more often in this game than any other RPG out there. I just went through Persona 5 Royal on Hard, and I have already defended more in my first 2 runs on this game than I did in the entirety of the 110+ hours of P5R. That is not a metric you should be striving for, especially when your game's version of defense is basically just "sit there and eat less damage."

    Formations in this game seem to be broken. I've had several instances where the only thing in front of a unit I want to attack is a corpse, but my character won't attack them. Other characters doing the same type of attack will be able to attack that unit, but not the one I actually want to attack that unit.

    And if something in here seems to be entirely different to your experience with the game, you can chalk that up to the game's worst flaw, one of the worst UIs I've ever seen in a video game. You travel along on a map by clicking your mouse on where to go. But because you can only get into a certain number of fights a day (also a gripe I have) I guess they want you to make really, really sure that you want to go from point A to point B before you use up a breach point you didn't intend to. Well, then let me move freely to all points that DON'T need a breach point! Also, why do you require me to walk my characters into the middle of a section to pick up a reward? It's just becomes a stupid exercise in trigger spot hunting to move from section to section at night. The UI in combat is even worse, though. It's partially because of the graphic-style of "barfing good art through a pseudo-16-bit rasterizer" but it's primarily that all pertinent information in combat is displayed in the least helpful manner. Attacks targeting your units will be displayed as a series of arrow lines leading from the attacker to the target. Your arrows and the enemy arrows are all the same color. If one of your units and one of the enemy units are attacking multiple targets, good luck figuring what the hell the other 6 units on the board are targeting.

    I cannot recommend purchasing this. One of the most regretted purchases of 2020 for me. 3.5/10.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 14, 2020
    3
    I am a big fan of Halcyon 6 and was really looking forward for playing Star Renegades. The promise was quite good: beautiful pixel graphics,I am a big fan of Halcyon 6 and was really looking forward for playing Star Renegades. The promise was quite good: beautiful pixel graphics, creative story, turn-based combat with exploiting enemy weaknesses and creating combos.

    Unfortunately, Star Renegades falls short. Ok, let’s get the good out first: the game looks and feels incredibly pretty. Graphics style is amazing and combat looks very promising.

    Apparently, someone got the idea of creating a “Roguelike” game. This was not a good decision and has led to a number of design decisions that simply make the game not fun.

    Essentially, the game is a bloody grind-fest which forces me to play one level over and over again to gather red resources to unlock even the basic items. One tiny wrong move in the battlefield and my heroes are as good as dead. There is no healing. Nor is there save game functionality. So at the time of death I am thrown back to the beginning of the very same level and have to be playing same encounters over and over again until I can gather enough unlockable loot to finally beat the level.

    I absolutely hate the fact that the grind-fest makes me to lose my experience and level progression. More because there is a stupid maximum limit of encounters I can try before taking on the Behemoth of each level. Who came up with this idea??

    To make matters worse, the difficulty is INSANE. It took me some six hours and 6-7 tries to get past the very first level. I got my ass handed to me by lieutenants and commanders before even getting to Behemoth. Losing to these mini bosses resets the progress and throws me to the beginning of the level with all my exp lost. This is not fun.

    I do not mind having a good challenge (I like FTL) but playing Star Renegades makes Dark Souls feel like an easy game.

    Playing Star Renegades is a frustrating experience and lacks the fun of any progression or achievement.
    Full Review »