Star Trek Bridge Commander Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: While on duty in a remote area of space, a nearby sun suddenly erupts releasing a deadly blast that damages your ship, kills your Captain and threatens nearby colonists. Now you must take control of your ship and lead your crew to solve the mystery. Your mission is clear -- discover theWhile on duty in a remote area of space, a nearby sun suddenly erupts releasing a deadly blast that damages your ship, kills your Captain and threatens nearby colonists. Now you must take control of your ship and lead your crew to solve the mystery. Your mission is clear -- discover the cause of the devastating explosion and prevent it from happening again. During the race you will battle the Cardassians, ally with the Klingons, investigate the unpredictable Romulans and reveal a secret plot that threatens the Federation itself. [Activision] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. In addition to a great story line, the attempt to stay true to the series pays off with a solid space simulator accurately portraying these massive ships in both movement and tactics.
  2. Overall the game was more than I expected and truly made me feel like I was onboard a starship.
  3. It would have been nice to be able to get up from the captains chair every now and then to walk around the bridge while your commanding your crew, or have the option to meet up with temporarily allied forces in places other then your super-glued captains chair vantage point.
  4. Computer Gaming World
    80
    The holy grail of "Star Trek" simulations. [June 2002, p.89]
  5. The simple interface combined with the depth and detailed gameplay ensure this is a great game to play, the wonderful visuals and compelling storyline guarantee that you’ll be playing this for quite awhile.
  6. My major complaints come down to 3 of the 5 members of your bridge crew (all of the male members… hmm…) who seem to be unable to perform any duties -- you have to push them out of the way and do it yourself.
  7. The game is about a 10-hour experience. There's absolutely no reason to replay it.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. JeanM.
    Jul 2, 2006
    10
    It is the best game I have played in a long time, I find myself stuck to the quick battle mode all of the time.
  2. Sep 21, 2018
    10
    It's been 16 years since Bridge Commander came out. A great game with amazing graphics for the time and a decent story. 16 years ago I tookIt's been 16 years since Bridge Commander came out. A great game with amazing graphics for the time and a decent story. 16 years ago I took the bridge in that game and with various mods and fan patches I still am the captain of the USS Sovereign; NCC-73811.
    For all those years one question doesn't leave my head... Why aren't there more games like this? Not even in the Star Trek brand, but at all? How come nobody knicked the gameplay of this game yet? Between Elite Force games and Bridge Commander we could've had something amazing, alas it never happened.

    Anyway, Bridge Commander is a game still worth playing, after 16 years and with its status as abandonware... it shouldn't be too difficult to find floating online. If you're a Star Trek fan and haven't played this game yet, pick it up. It's worth the time.
    Expand
  3. Darren
    Apr 23, 2002
    10
    It's nice to see something really new, as opposed to the same old crap with slightly different graphics slapped on it. This game is It's nice to see something really new, as opposed to the same old crap with slightly different graphics slapped on it. This game is truely unique. Some folks (see Sam's comments, errr, comment) will rush in and rush out quickly, not finding the "Doom" first person shooter interface they were hoping for, or whatever. It takes some patience to adjust to the new mode of operation, and in the beginning you might allow your crew to do too much of the work, leaving you basically watching a movie. Once you get your hands-on management skills up to par, however, it get's VERY entertaining. Expand
  4. Bass
    Jan 15, 2006
    9
    A Brilliant, vibrant Star Trek affair that was well worth the wait. This title is literally overflowing with fun, rock-solid gameplay that A Brilliant, vibrant Star Trek affair that was well worth the wait. This title is literally overflowing with fun, rock-solid gameplay that really does bring all the cool elements of the tv shows to life. Expand
  5. Jun 1, 2012
    9
    When I finally figured out the trick to fighting in this game.. the quest became quite easy. The harder levels are a bit insane and when youWhen I finally figured out the trick to fighting in this game.. the quest became quite easy. The harder levels are a bit insane and when you change tactics - the end result of the game play doesn't respond much. I felt that much of the tasks were on auto pilot Expand
  6. JoeBlow
    Dec 31, 2006
    9
    The game stays very true to the Star Trek universe while being accessible and very fun. Loads of addon ships, effects, systems, and more give The game stays very true to the Star Trek universe while being accessible and very fun. Loads of addon ships, effects, systems, and more give the game massive replay value, and the online play can be very fun. While the default ship models aren't very good by today's standards, the actual graphics engine is quite good and, with some spiffy new ship models, can look photorealistic. The damage modeling is great, and with mods like NanoFX, explosions are absolutely spectacular. Also, this game stays true to actual space physics - when a ship's engines are disabled, it continues to drift, instead of stopping. And you can go upside down and roll in whichever direction with ease. The combat model is also very complex and satisfying, though it lacks skin shields for TMP era vessels (I don't blame them, as the stock game only has TNG era ships) The game is constantly being modded and updated by the community with new scripts - and things that were once thought impossible to do with the BC engine are being done by the incredible scripting community. The AI in this game is on the stupid side, leaving some of the single player feeling slightly shallow. However, it is very fun to start massive battles in Quick Battle mode, with 4 or more ships on each side. And it is fun to see how you can exploit the weak spots in a large, powerful vessel and destroy it with a small, weak one. The game is now nearly impossible to find in stores; though it is a must buy. You can probably find it on eBay. Expand
  7. Sam
    Apr 8, 2002
    0
    This game sucks.

See all 12 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames

    To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames Image
    Published: February 19, 2010
    The new Star Trek Online is only the latest in a storied line of Star Trek-related videogames dating back to the early 1970s. Voyage with us as we chart a course through Star Trek history.