Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
Buy On
  1. Nov 14, 2019
    100
    Much like what Arkham Asylum did for Batman games, Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order sets the new standard for Star Wars titles. Not only is it a great Star Wars game, it is also the best game of the year.
  2. Nov 14, 2019
    95
    Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order is an absolute masterpiece. Well paced, written, and executed, the game is Respawn’s best thus far.
  3. Nov 14, 2019
    93
    Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order is the ideal example of a Star Wars game in 2019. It's an expert blend of multiple genres.
  4. CD-Action
    Jan 10, 2020
    90
    Fallen Order is a must have for Star Wars fans and the best Star Wars game in years. Both literally and figuratively: the Force is strong with this one. [01/2020, p.42]
  5. Nov 25, 2019
    90
    Being an EA game, albeit developed by Respawn Entertainment, I had some doubts, but they were quickly dispelled. It stands as proof that single-player games can stand on their own. The only problem is that if you rush through it, you could finish Fallen Order in about 12 hours, but that excludes finding the secrets and unlocking all the cool stuff. Lastly, I have to mention the name, Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order. To me, it sounds like Star Wars Jedi could be a new line of games, with Fallen Order being just the first one. We can only dream.
  6. Nov 24, 2019
    90
    Star Wars Jedi Fallen Order is yet another excellent game developed by Respawn. With its excellent story, charming characters, engaging platforming and combat mechanics, the game is a must-buy for any self-respecting Star Wars fan, despite a lack of innovation which doesn't truly harm the experience as a whole.
  7. Nov 15, 2019
    90
    Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order hits the target by offering the right mix of adrenaline-pumping action and thoughtful exploration. The metroidvania mechanics are grafted to perfection within the game formula, and the same can be said for those borrowed from the latest productions of From Software. Without introducing anything really new, Respawn Entertainment manages to merge all these elements and give birth to a fascinating and satisfying experience, as well as being consistent with the Star Wars ecosystem (much more so than the latest movies).
  8. Nov 14, 2019
    90
    I greatly enjoyed my time playing Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order. The combat feels great, even though it can get repetitive, and the lightsaber gameplay is some of the best there has ever been in a Star Wars game... There are so many aspects of Jedi: Fallen Order that I loved, and I hope we get to see more from Respawn in the future. For now, I think this is the Star Wars game we’ve been looking for.
  9. Nov 14, 2019
    90
    Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order captured the magic of growing as a Jedi, overcoming insurmountable odds through fellowship, and the power of hope in the midst of despair. If Respawn’s delivery of Jedi: Fallen Order is the future of the Star Wars franchise out of EA, the franchise is in incredible hands. The Force is strong with these ones.
  10. Nov 14, 2019
    90
    Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order makes up for a lot of lost time with a fantastic single-player action-adventure that marks the return of the playable Jedi.
  11. Nov 14, 2019
    90
    Thanks to a mix-and-match of different genres Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order is the best Star Wars-game is years. Combat and traversal is challenging and diverse, puzzles will require your brain and Force powers are cleverly used in every part of the game. Besides all that it even provides a more than decent story for fans of the franchise.
  12. Nov 14, 2019
    90
    I love Star Wars, I love video games, and Fallen Order is a glorious amalgamation of the two. Though I’ve experienced everything the game has to offer, I genuinely can’t wait to play through it again on the hardest difficulty. At this point, I can only hope Respawn follows it up with a sequel because the force is remarkably strong with this one.
  13. Dec 2, 2019
    89
    With Jedi Fallen Order, Respawn have made a small miracle and have delivered a stellar single-player Star Wars game. I daresay that JFO resembles what a modern Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast would have if it combined the best elements of gameplay defining games, sensibly unified and supported by a story which sets the rules without trying to be ground-breaking.
  14. Dec 19, 2019
    88
    Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order gives its best on PC, delivering an awesome experience in 4K and 60 frames per second with advanced visual effects.
  15. Nov 14, 2019
    88
    Developer Respawn builds a Star Wars adventure that constantly reminds me why I fell in love with the Skywalker saga as a child. Fallen Order is a love letter to the classic trilogy, respects the clone wars, and shows me the dark era of the Empire like no other Star Wars story before.
  16. Nov 20, 2019
    82
    Although lacking in innovation, Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order is the best Star Wars game of all time.
  17. 80
    An excellent entry into the new Star Wars canon.
  18. Nov 20, 2019
    80
    Jedi: Fallen Order borrows liberally from other games, but a strong supporting cast, clever level design, and a cute little droid companion make Respawn's Star Wars story more than the sum of its parts.
  19. Nov 20, 2019
    80
    Fallen Order is a game whose worst moments are serviceable, and best moments are memorable. It’s worth experiencing by Star Wars fans hungry for an original story that doesn’t settle for trite, and action game players looking for a decent – albeit flawed – combat.
  20. Nov 19, 2019
    80
    I was astonished at how much I enjoyed Jedi Fallen Order. Not because it’s a great game, it inhabits a niche that we haven’t seen much of this generation. It’s merely a good game. I ran into a ton of glitches and collision issues. Still, the overall package was entertaining enough to ignore them for the most part.
  21. 80
    Respawn did nothing to reinvent the wheel, but instead married a bunch of popular gameplay genres together into a cohesive whole, wrapped up in well-crafted Star Wars story. It may not be KOTOR levels of greatness, but it's good. And I think that's exactly what fans needed right about now.
  22. Nov 19, 2019
    80
    Falling Order mixes acrobatics with exploration and challenging light saber battles. Excessive enemy respawns and unnecessary backtracking reduce the enjoyment, though.
  23. Nov 18, 2019
    80
    Gameplay is solid from the start and gains depth, transforming you into a Jedi badass. Respawn has also nailed the Star Wars universe, for better (sights, sounds, and cinematic flair) and worse (cringey dialogue and vacuous plot).
  24. Nov 14, 2019
    80
    Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order is a dream come true for many Star Wars fans. It perfectly combines great gameplay with exploration, puzzles and a personal story. Sadly a lackluster ending and some technical and graphical issues tarnish the overall positive experience somewhat.
  25. Nov 14, 2019
    80
    Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order is the Star Wars game that fans have been crying out for years now. While it doesn't do anything new, its clear inspirations from Dark Souls and Tomb Raider have helped to create an epic, sprawling adventure that'll have you ready for more the moments the credits roll. If only there had been more of it, because once I started, I didn't want to stop.
  26. Nov 25, 2019
    73
    Technical issues marr an otherwise slick adventure. A must for Star Wars fans.
  27. Dec 16, 2019
    71
    Fallen Order is a decent alternative to Dark Souls if you’re looking for a less hardcore experience. It leaves a pleasant aftertaste thanks to a well-directed ending, which makes you wonder if this game could have been so much better if it fully embraced its inner Uncharted instead of trying to wear two hats.
  28. Nov 19, 2019
    70
    Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order could have been a good, short, but intense action game, lasting about ten hours, but instead, it swallows the player in unnecessary back and forths, artificial obstacles, puzzles and chests hunts, which burden the rhythm and fun. We come out all the more frustrated by a predictable story that goes nowhere, as well as by its combat system very close to Sekiro's, but which is far from reaching its level of refinement and control, especially on the bosses.
  29. Nov 25, 2019
    66
    With an excellent droid companion and entertaining lightsaber combat, Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order could have been a truly forceful addition to the franchise. However, navigation problems and unnatural level design takes it back down a darker path.
  30. Nov 20, 2019
    60
    Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order certainly tries, but as Yoda pointed out, you either do or do not. For the most part, it does -- but without the grace or precision of a full-fledged Jedi Knight. The apprentice is not yet the master.
  31. Nov 16, 2019
    60
    It's good enough that its host of technical problems feels like an affront to what the game could have been, and to the hard work and talent--and there's a considerable amount of talent here--of the people who made it.
  32. Dec 13, 2019
    55
    As underwhelmed as I was by Fallen Order, I hope that its inevitable success will encourage EA to do more with this franchise, since it makes a powerful case for the resonance of Star Wars — if this mediocre casserole of concepts yanked from superior titles didn’t have the license attached, I doubt anyone would be talking about it.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 14, 2019
    Despite its polish and best ideas, I wish I'd just reinstalled both Force Unleashed games, and I encourage anybody eager for a fun, Force-filled, third-person Star Wars experience this year to do the same.
  2. Fallen Order wants you to feel like a fighty, telepathic space priest, and for about 20 hours or so, it does that. Stick with it, and you might also find a cool, yellow lightsaber.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1639 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 15, 2019
    10
    Very well done, totally worth the time. Respawn got it right, and finally EA respected the process. Cant wait to finish it.
  2. Nov 15, 2019
    5
    Boring... the game is simply boring.
    It's neither RPG nor platformer. You spend most of the time backtracking to locations because you didn't
    Boring... the game is simply boring.
    It's neither RPG nor platformer. You spend most of the time backtracking to locations because you didn't have the right skill to unlock something or you had to travel through half of the section just to backtrack to go somewhere else in the world just to back track again to progress further. Whole exploration is just an illusion as you are railroaded into specific areas almost at every corner.
    The game is trying very hard to be a "Dark Souls" game with very poor results. Combat isn't rewarding and very quickly becomes annoying. Every time you rest it resets all enemies and with all the backtracking you have to do I quickly started to avoid combat where possible.
    Character progression is almost non existent and just boils down to some "skill tree" unlocks but you have plenty of customisation and skins for Cal, the ship and BD 1. All you do is collect journal entries and skins, no real upgrades for your Light Sabre that would make you mote powerful, just cosmetics.
    It's EA, so I won't be surprised if we will have MTX added in a couple of months.

    And now the biggest problem with the game - controls...
    It's a PC (!) game that tells you right at the beginning to use controller. The controls on KB&M are clunky at best. A developer that can't be arsed to optimise controls for mouse and keyboard on their PC port just don't deserve the money.
    Camera movement is awkward and sometimes you loose control over it completely so you have to look in specific direction or on at a specific angle. You DO NOT DO things like that on PC. EVER!!!

    I gave it 5 points. It's not a bad game but it doesn't deserve 9's and 10's. People probably set the bar so low for EA games that anything that isn't an utter crap will probably score a 9 or 10.

    Don't buy it. Wait for a big price drop or do what I did, get the Origin Access thing. It will cost you way less (probably closer to real value of this game) and you'll have access to some other games to try out.
    I wasn't expecting much from this game but I really like Titanfall 2 so I thought, why not I'll give it a try.
    Well... Big disappointment or at least missed opportunity...
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 20, 2019
    3
    Don't listen to the shills that give huge scores THE GAME IS BORING AND A GRIND it's not entertaining unless if you are a masochist. I wishDon't listen to the shills that give huge scores THE GAME IS BORING AND A GRIND it's not entertaining unless if you are a masochist. I wish this was similar to Jedi Academy unfortunately it's a stupid Dark Souls-Sekiro wannabe title this is really disappointing for me. Overpowered enemies that you have to hit them multiple times with a lightsaber to be killed this is GRIND !! You should know that the PC version has Denuvo DRM it's a resource hog for the PC systam and makes the game stutter sometimes and causing issues in some systems. Another problem is there is way too much backtracking you just visit the same locations again and again and this gets boring fast as you have to play the same areas and the same enemies that you have killed are always respawn in the same area. ! The.camera system of this game is annoying especialy when there are multiple enemies that you have to face it's really problematic during battles and the keyboard controls are really BAD (A gamepad is surely recommended) as for the story too many plot holes feels like a childish Disney show.. Full Review »