Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Sep 7, 2015
    95
    Stasis is a traditional point-and-click nightmare that enthralls from the opening scene until the very end. Smart puzzles and breathtaking yet horrific artwork make it not only one of the best adventure games ever made, but one of the finest horror titles to be released on PC as well.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Nov 5, 2015
    90
    STASIS is one of the best point´n click adventures of the year and a solid horror experience. Its take on horror genre – slow-paced but intense 2D sci-fi horror with a claustrophobic atmosphere – is something completely unique. Add to that solid puzzles, good story and and you have gem of a game. A must for both fans of the horror and adventure genres. [Oct 2015]
  3. Sep 1, 2015
    90
    Terrifying, challenging and disturbing, STASIS is a nightmarish descent into the unknown and the kind of horror game that stays with you even when the end credits have rolled.
  4. Sep 7, 2015
    89
    Stasis is an intricately crafted adventure game that plays skillfully on the borders of horror and science fiction. Rational puzzles and elaborate world building will accompany you, while you plunge more and more intro decadence and decay. The Brotherhood should be proud of their achievement, given the fact that renowned adventure game creators with plenty of resources at their disposal have failed to deliver on their initial promise. Stasis delivers in spades and whets our appetite for the studio's future works.
  5. Sep 8, 2015
    87
    It's a peculiar and unique horror experience, one that is able to convey fear and disquiet in a very powerful way.
  6. Oct 7, 2015
    85
    Stasis delivers one of the best P&C atmospheres we have seen in years, with great 2D visuals and carefully designed locations packed with detail. A must for every fan of SF horror games.
  7. Oct 6, 2015
    85
    Now, I can safely sit Stasis right next to SOMA as two completely different sci-fi horror experiences that bring their respective genres forward, and a new standard in sci-fi horror gaming.
  8. Sep 30, 2015
    85
    Even with some flaws in puzzle's design, Stasis is an extraordinary experience that you'll remember for quite a lot of time.
  9. Sep 13, 2015
    85
    Stasis delivers a great setting, a great old-school point & click feeling and a very rewarding experience. It might be a little bit short, but still we would recommend it.
  10. Sep 10, 2015
    85
    One of the most attractive adventure games we've played lately, with a good pace and a good relationship between narrative, exploration and puzzles.
  11. Sep 8, 2015
    85
    There are some issues but overall this is a unique experience that deserves to be played.
  12. Sep 1, 2015
    85
    STASIS is one of the most memorable experiences I've had from gaming in quite a while. Some puzzles can be frustratingly obtuse, but the majority are a pleasure to solve.
  13. Sep 14, 2015
    82
    Stasis is a classic point and click adventure game with high terror doses that there will be charmed with the fans of the graphical adventures.
  14. Dec 3, 2015
    80
    It’s still an extremely worthwhile game though and provides an entertaining, if harrowing, experience. But those damn PDA entries remain incredibly irritating to the extent that STASIS remains only ‘very good’ rather than excellent.
  15. Oct 12, 2015
    80
    The Brotherhood (Chris and Nic Bischoff) pays tribute to the horror sci-fi genre with a smart and thrilling point-and-click adventure. Thanks to a well written story and a bunch of inspired puzzles, STASIS is an experience that everyone must try.
  16. Sep 21, 2015
    80
    Statis is an atmospheric, creepy, enticing and sometimes frustrating experience. The game looks kind of okay, but the power is in the sound design. The game never feels too unfair or too difficult, but you really have to chase pixels to the end.
  17. Sep 16, 2015
    80
    It may be bold, but the “Sanitarium in Space” concept works. And it works quite well.
  18. Sep 9, 2015
    80
    Stasis provides few hours of an engaging, dark adventure. Developers managed to create a poignant atmosphere, and even create fear - all in isometric perspective, unusual for a horror game. Traditional mechanics can be a put-off for people not used to traditional point'n'click games.
  19. Sep 7, 2015
    80
    Although the game’s influences are clear, this is not a simple homage to earlier games, instead acting as an incredibly well-crafted horror adventure. The Brotherhood has delivered on its promise of a nuanced and terrifying horror title, and one that is bound to give plenty of chills.
  20. Sep 5, 2015
    80
    A humble game that achieves to be one of the best horror experiences on 2015, despite its low budget. The secret is its terrific ambiance and the history.
  21. Sep 1, 2015
    80
    The game might be too gory and violent for some players but it is rarely gratuitous and playing through it is a great way to get a scared, explore a cool story and then sit back and think about how one might react when a cryosleep trip turns into a nightmare.
  22. CD-Action
    Nov 14, 2015
    75
    The story promises a lot but fails to deliver, visuals resembling Planescape are great but often obscure, but dense atmosphere (think Dead Space) and music will not leave you indifferent. [11/2015, p.58]
  23. Sep 9, 2015
    75
    An intense, gory and often disturbing horror adventure that would have benefited greatly from better puzzle design and a more elegant conclusion.
  24. Sep 21, 2015
    74
    By placing your adventure in the context of all the other tragedies aboard the Groomlake, a kind of familial intimacy develops.
  25. Sep 3, 2015
    73
    It starts like a great game with a fantastic horror atmosphere, but then turns into a B-movie with a convoluted story and absurd puzzles.
  26. Oct 22, 2015
    70
    Stasis knows exactly what it wants to be - a loving tribute to the classic point-and-click adventures – but despite to its impressive atmosphere the game offers more to genre veterans than to newcomers.
  27. Oct 8, 2015
    70
    Alas, the developer allowed the masterfully crafted narrative to fall apart in the end. After enjoying immensely detailed side stories, and seeing some very powerful scenes, the weird ending is the weakest point of the game.
  28. Oct 2, 2015
    70
    This takes a lot of the best elements from classic adventures while only hanging on to a few of the weaker ones.
  29. Sep 15, 2015
    70
    Stasis has its quirks and shortcomings, but its atmosphere and compelling descent into deeper and deeper levels of a proverbial Hell make it worth sticking through.
  30. Sep 11, 2015
    70
    Stasis is a well made adventure game with a great atmosphere and an excellent setting, reminiscent of Alien movies. It's a game that doesn't try to revolutionize the genre or to compete with classics - it should simply deliver a decent amount of fun to adventure and sci-fi horror enthusiasts. It's a shame that many smaller and bigger issues can kill almost all the fun.
  31. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 12, 2015
    60
    Not very original, sometimes of a bit clumsy adventure game, that offers a classic gameplay and captivates especially with excellent atmosphere. [Issue#256]
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Despite some characterisation wobbles and a somewhat perfunctory final mile, STASIS is the best adventure game I’ve played in years. It’s also one of the most impressive horror games I’ve played lately. The tiny team behind it have done remarkable things, far in excess of what many, much larger studios seem capable of. Those studios should be afraid – be very afraid.
  2. Dec 8, 2015
    Effective as it is, though, that mental impact isn’t perfect, and it’s here, as elsewhere, that the game’s hybrid identity is mostly to blame.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 120
  2. Negative: 14 out of 120
  1. Aug 31, 2015
    8
    Stasis is one of the most atmospheric point and click adventure games that I have played in a very long time. Set in a sci-fi style horrorStasis is one of the most atmospheric point and click adventure games that I have played in a very long time. Set in a sci-fi style horror universe, Stasis may not have the most up to date graphics but its sound design and story make up for anything that the visual style may hold back.

    From a gameplay perspective it is your typical point and click adventure. You move your mouse over objects and find the pieces to the puzzle. One thing that stops me from giving this game anything higher than an 8 is simply because some of the puzzles do not have very apparent solutions. Most of the puzzles make sense but some will leave you scratching your head and wondering how the developers even figured this would be a suitable way to go about figuring something out.

    Otherwise, this game is a masterpiece of storytelling and will fill any sci-fi junky's heart with joy.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 1, 2015
    8
    I caught the Stasis campaign on Kickstarter back during the Kickstarter craze in late 2013 and was thoroughly impressed by the alpha demoI caught the Stasis campaign on Kickstarter back during the Kickstarter craze in late 2013 and was thoroughly impressed by the alpha demo available at that time. I immediately backed the project but would honestly forget about the game between the sporadic update emails. But now that Stasis has launched and is available to us all, how does it stack up?

    Quite well! Stasis seems to be a sort of labor of love from developer The Brotherhood, which, as far as I know, is basically just one-man-show, Chris Bischoff. Stasis is an isometric overhead adventure game, point-and-click style set in a near-future science fiction setting aboard a vast space ship, akin to the films Pandorum and Event Horizon. The story is told through interactions with survivors and numerous computers, PDAs and journals left scattered throughout the ship. The gameplay is backed up by a fantastic score by Mark Morgan (Fallout, Wasteland 2, Planescape: Torment) and chilling ambiance.

    The core gameplay element in Stasis is navigating the ship with the limited resources and information available to you. Challenges include using those resources to open doors, fix (or sabotage!) components of the ship and evade any various scifi/horror gooblies that may or may not be roaming its derelict halls. The dialogues with other characters are fully voiced and are quite well done, while the text is competently written and thoroughly entertaining. The version on Steam also boasts a full suite of achievements, most of which involve your character getting brutally slain by any of the many hazards and pitfalls that make up the beautiful (in a disturbingly creepy kind of way) isometric environments.

    Most of my gripes with Stasis come from my lack of enthusiasm for adventure games in general. It is a testament to the quality of this game that I rate is so highly and enjoyed it so much despite my feelings for the genre. I found some of the puzzles to be illogical and the solutions only came about by exhausting all available options, though my inexperience with adventure games could be contributing to my failing in that respect - adventure veterans' mileage may vary. My inner RPG nerd would have appreciated multiple solutions for puzzles or various means of progressing the story, which may well exist, but I didn't detect any during my playthrough. Minor gripes, all.

    In closing, Stasis is a fantastic game and a steal at $19.99 for anyone even remotely interested in scifi, horror or adventure games.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 4, 2015
    10
    I am so impressed with this gem of an adventure game.
    It isn't MGS sure, but it was fun to play and kept me entertained for 10 hours.
    I am so impressed with this gem of an adventure game.
    It isn't MGS sure, but it was fun to play and kept me entertained for 10 hours.

    Visually, Stasis is absolutely astounding. The grimy decks and bulkheads of the Groomlake, recently (and suddenly) redecorated in every shade of intestinal red, are as expertly and extravagantly realized as anything you'd see in a triple-A game - a phenomenal accomplishment by one-man design team, Chris Bischoff. Seriously, this is sci-fi horror at its most spectacular.
    The voice acting is mostly very solid, with South African bad guy Dr Malan claiming much of the slimelight, and the sound effects will keep your blood pressure dialled up to the max with ambient whispers, occasional shrieks, and WHY ARE THERE CHILDREN TALKING OUT OF THE WALLS. Music by Mark Morgan (Fallout, Planescape: Torment) is a bonus extra, the tension-setting, minor key intro sequence being my personal favourite of the mix.

    Loved it
    Full Review »