Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 90
    TASTEE: Lethal Tactics offers a full-featured package of deep strategic combat that manages to avoid overcomplicating things like controls and menus.
  2. Jul 28, 2016
    80
    From the school of Frozen Synapse, a plan-and-go turn based tactical game which is going to shine in multiplayer.
  3. Jun 2, 2016
    80
    A turn-based tactical effort that manages to deftly marry cheeky style with small scale strategy, TASTEE Lethal Tactics might not be the most groundbreaking effort around but its charm and accessibility make for a compellingly fun prospect.
  4. May 20, 2016
    80
    TASTEE: Lethal Tactics is a perfect upgrade of already consolidated mechanics. It doesn’t offer major innovations, but its cartoonish graphics and characters’ unique abilities give it a unique twist.
  5. May 10, 2016
    80
    It’s fair to say that TASTEE is probably one of the most tactically fulfilling games on the market at the moment, but it’s also incredibly good fun and is not as complicated as it might at first seem.
  6. May 11, 2016
    75
    TASTEE scratches a tactical itch in a Dark Souls-difficult, but ultimately rewarding way. The asymmetric multiplayer is unique in the genre, offering a new way to play. If you are a fan of deep strategy, ignore the goofy name and check out TASTEE: Lethal Tactics.
  7. May 10, 2016
    75
    The gameplay dynamics of TASTEE are pretty much the same as Frozen Synapse, which is definitely a good thing, together with a cartoonish art direction and a user-friendly UI. The main campaign is a good challenge for everyone, but the best comes with the multiplayer modes.
  8. Jun 24, 2016
    70
    In all ways well-designed tactical turn-based strategy is perhaps too close to Frozen Synapse, and it suffers with bugged controls, but for the fans of the genre it is still an obligation.
  9. Jun 1, 2016
    70
    An uncompromising game to get into, never once changing gears from its difficult plateau. It’s firm but mostly fair, where your failures are usually based around that one lapse into laziness. But when you play back your success, and see this 20-minute incremental strategy turn into 40 seconds of ferocious B-movie action, it’s a violent ballet that even John Woo would be proud of.
  10. May 23, 2016
    70
    TASTEE: Lethal Tactics may not be the most welcoming strategy game around, but once you manage to crawl your way over the seemingly insurmountable hurdle it initially places in front of you, there’s a great sense of satisfaction when you finally start racking up those victories.
  11. May 20, 2016
    70
    If you do have the patience to spend five minutes setting up your turns, and dig the idea of taking a team of mercenaries into battle, then the game’s concept, aesthetics and complexity will give you a challenge that you have a right to brag about for years to come.
  12. May 17, 2016
    70
    A respectable effort in turn-based strategy, but if you’re after a story and a welcoming hand, you’ve come to the wrong place.
  13. May 15, 2016
    70
    It's an intelligent, difficult game with a high barrier of entry, and without patience, you might not see how great it can be. But once you see the layers hidden beneath the surface, Tastee Lethal Tactics becomes an intricate game of cutthroat poker. It just takes a bit of frustration to buy in.
  14. May 9, 2016
    70
    The concept of TASTEE works so well that any fans of strategy games should give it a try. It needs more content, but the online modes are solid enough to make the lack of content forgivable.
  15. May 18, 2016
    63
    TASTEE: Lethal Tactics brings serious style and grace to some turn based chaos.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. May 11, 2016
    9
    I'm a hardcore Turn Based Tactis fan, I really blew my eyes out with Rebel Star series and Laser Squad back the days of the ZX Spectrum...I'm a hardcore Turn Based Tactis fan, I really blew my eyes out with Rebel Star series and Laser Squad back the days of the ZX Spectrum... replayed once and once more U.F.O. and Terror from the Deep, I enjoyed to death new XCOM and XCOM2, and found Frozen Synapse really enjoyable.
    MECHANICS are great, and the AI seem pretty decent. TASTEE borrows combat mechanics from Frozen Synapse, which means that you play simultaneously with the machine (or other players) and see the outcome of the turn. But I think they managed to make a far better interface, giving orders is much faster and different actions stacks very well in the same waypoint.
    On the THEME side, the motown late 70's style really catches me, game is not heavy on story, it is just a backup for the 30 solo play missions. I think they work pretty well and solidly, you have to make missions to obviously end the campaign and unlock new "anti-heroes".
    About MISSIONS, this is an squirmish game, so all look pretty much similar withing it's type (pickup, rescue, etc) but again it does the trick, focusing on the fight rather than the story and complex steps during missions.
    On the MULTIPLAYER side, I didn't played (I prefer to enjoy solo games rather than make other players wait for my turns) but probably it 'll work as well as Frozen Synapse (which I played A LOT).
    FINAL THOUGHTS : This game well deserves a 9, even a 9'5. I really enjoyed and I think it fills the gap for Turn Based fans which enjoy asthetics from games like Team Fortress 2 or Overwatch. And above all... price range is awesome for such a great product!
    Full Review »