User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 118
  2. Negative: 15 out of 118

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 30, 2018
    9
    It's very short, but for what it's supposed to be (a short intro for LiS2) it does the job perfectly. It's lovely, sweet, emotional and a little dark. It had the tears out of me only 40 minutes in. For such a small game it's filled with a lot of amazing and subtle details that really add to the general feel of the game. The graphics are an eye candy. Noticeably better than the previousIt's very short, but for what it's supposed to be (a short intro for LiS2) it does the job perfectly. It's lovely, sweet, emotional and a little dark. It had the tears out of me only 40 minutes in. For such a small game it's filled with a lot of amazing and subtle details that really add to the general feel of the game. The graphics are an eye candy. Noticeably better than the previous games.

    9/10 for using Denuvo on a free game.
    Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2018
    8
    Five Word Review: Get excited for LiS sequel!
    Favorite Thing: Yeah it's short but it's free and really well made.
    Least Favorite Thing: I would have liked to explorer the father-son relationship more.

    Date Completed: 2018-06-29
    Playtime: 1.5h (all activities)
    Enjoyment: 8/10
    Recommendation: If you're a fan of Life Is Strange and/or plan to play the sequel than definitely!
  3. Jul 2, 2018
    8
    Captain Spirit is a short teaser/prequel for Life is Strange 2, that serves its purpose and has some surprisingly heartfelt down to earth moments that feel like a breath of fresh air for a medium filled with fantastical power fantasies. However it is just the beginning of a story rather than a cohesive whole, and both it's story and mechanics leave you wanting more. But I suppose that isCaptain Spirit is a short teaser/prequel for Life is Strange 2, that serves its purpose and has some surprisingly heartfelt down to earth moments that feel like a breath of fresh air for a medium filled with fantastical power fantasies. However it is just the beginning of a story rather than a cohesive whole, and both it's story and mechanics leave you wanting more. But I suppose that is the point. It's hard to give it a score since it is not technically a complete product, but if you liked Life is Strange, and are excited for part 2, You should obviously play this. Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2018
    10
    The story leads you to believe in this light-hearted story but in DOTNOD fashion shows you a sad grim reality for many kids who lost a loved one, and shows you the way this kid handles grief as captain spirit
  5. Jun 28, 2018
    10
    The Awesome Adventures of Captain Spirit is even better than Life is Strange! I love the story and the detailed characters.
  6. Jul 10, 2018
    10
    DONTNOD Entertaiment Strikes again.
    It's not only a fascinating game, it's incredible.
    Put yourself in the shoes of a 10-year old kid called chris, that uses its imagination due to its recent mother death, in game, you control him, it's normal, but in the end, it's magical. Recomended, because, it's FREE!, so nothing bad its here.
  7. Sep 17, 2018
    8
    It is a really short teaser for the next Game and for free so it is something everyone can enjoy!
    The short story is something that some series already did with a boy that got fantasy to create his fun and games!
    It is a simple point and click adventure about a boy who tries to become a Hero in his Fantasy world! The Game feels a bit different because you are looking differently at the
    It is a really short teaser for the next Game and for free so it is something everyone can enjoy!
    The short story is something that some series already did with a boy that got fantasy to create his fun and games!
    It is a simple point and click adventure about a boy who tries to become a Hero in his Fantasy world!
    The Game feels a bit different because you are looking differently at the wold as it Max in Life is Strange did! But if you like it and you would like to see what might be in Life is Strange 2 then play it now!
    Expand
  8. Nov 10, 2019
    9
    Отличная игра, короткая правда, но мне понравилась, она такая простенькая, есть где посмеяться, погрустить, многим, как и мне понравится.
  9. Feb 12, 2020
    9
    Really good.---------------------------------------------------------------
  10. Sep 26, 2020
    9
    jeez, i liked this A LOT but cos i'm naff sometimes, i thought this was going to be life is strange 2.

    i give it something like 9/10 and i reckon it shoulda been a proper game
  11. Jul 24, 2020
    8
    ITALIAN:
    Un gioco free to play molto breve, completato in un paio di ore, ma che concentra tutte le caratteristiche e potenzialità di Life is Strange, introducendo inoltre i personaggi della seconda "saga" della serie (che non ho ancora giocato).
    AUDIO E GRAFICA: Colonna sonora piuttosto ridotta in quantità ma assolutamente non in qualità, essendo bellissima ed molto adatta al
    ITALIAN:
    Un gioco free to play molto breve, completato in un paio di ore, ma che concentra tutte le caratteristiche e potenzialità di Life is Strange, introducendo inoltre i personaggi della seconda "saga" della serie (che non ho ancora giocato).

    AUDIO E GRAFICA:
    Colonna sonora piuttosto ridotta in quantità ma assolutamente non in qualità, essendo bellissima ed molto adatta al contesto, come negli altri giochi della serie. Interessante l'opzione di non riprodurre le canzoni soggette a copyright (presumo per i creatori di contenuti).
    Il doppiaggio inoltre è sensazionale e i dialoghi sono sempre credibili.
    Anche graficamente è in linea con il resto della serie, molto curato e moderno, con grande espressività dei volti e ambienti senza oggetti ripetuti (cosa che secondo me rompe un po' la magia che si crea nei giochi story driven).
    Questo tipo di grafica e l'uso dell'Unreal Engine sono ormai una combinazione diffusissima ma bisogna ricordare che questa serie è stata tra i motivi della sua diffusione (soprattutto in questo genere).

    GAMEPLAY:
    Classico (o quasi) gameplay di Life is Strange e anche di molti giochi narrativi/esplorativi. Per ogni oggetto con cui potremo interagire potremo "chiedere" al protagonista un commento a riguardo e in alcuni casi effettuare un'azione. Mappatura dei tasti comodissima e intuitiva, per cui consiglio l'uso del controller, forse avrei preferito una maggiore differenza di velocità tra la camminata e la corsa, a tratti impercettibile.

    Il caposaldo di questa serie è la possibilità di effettuare azioni solo in determinate occasioni e la presenza di scelte da effettuare, presenti e relativamente importanti anche in questo gioco, anche se a volte sembrano più servire da tutorial per nuovi giocatori che ai fini della trama.

    Una piccola novità strettamente collegata ai nuovi personaggi e in particolare al protagonista è la possibilità di effettuare una "super-azione" sugli oggetti. Il protagonista infatti finge (o forse no?) di essere un supereroe e quindi alcune azioni andranno effettuate utilizzando i "superpoteri", a volte con ripercussioni rispetto alla stessa azione effettuata normalmente.

    STORIA:
    Ok le storie di Alex, Chloe e Rachel hanno cambiato la mia vita da videogiocatore (e forse non solo), ma anche questa nuova saga sembra presentarsi bene.

    La trama non è in realtà particolarmente rilevante in quanto, a parte che può subire variazioni a seconda delle risposte, bisognerà quasi solo completare alcuni obiettivi. Anche questa è una differenza rispetto alla serie classica, ma presumo sia dovuta alla natura breve del gioco che non permette una trama lineare e più elaborata.

    Il protagonista è un ragazzino con una grande immaginazione e passione per i supereroi, ereditata dalla madre che era una disegnatrice e anima della famiglia. Il padre è un ex giocatore di basket decaduto con problemi di alcolismo, che cerca di fare del proprio meglio ma finisce sempre per cadere in errore. Avremo inoltro solo modo di incontrare i vicini di casa, apparentemente molto gentili e affettuosi nei confronti del protagonista.

    La trama base di questo gioco è molto standard ma viene innalzata dalle fantasie di Chris e permette quindi di creare storie fantastiche, di cui quelle presenti in questo gioco spero siano solo un primo assaggio.

    Per concludere penso che sia un gioco in linea con la serie principale di Square Enix, per quello che dura ed essendo gratuito va giocato per forza, anche (e forse soprattutto) da chi non ha mai giocato a Life is Strange.
    Ricordo inoltre che è uscito PRIMA di Life is Strange 2 e quindi va giocato prima di questo, anche se non so in che modo le due trame siano collegate. Sull'ordine delle uscite Square Enix non sbaglia, basti pensare ai primi due capitoli in cui il prequel è uscito per secondo ed è stata una scelta perfetta.

    VOTO: 8.5/10
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. CD-Action
    Oct 25, 2018
    70
    By finding extraordinary in completely ordinary situations (there are no supernatural elements in The Awesome Adventures of Captain Spirit, and there are actually no real adventures either) Dontnod reminded me why I fell in love with the studio. [09/2018, p.54]
  2. Jul 30, 2018
    79
    A very short, but lovingly narrated adventure, skillfully combining serious and funny topics.
  3. Jul 13, 2018
    90
    A worthy (and free) successor to Life is Strange, and an intriguing teaser for the full sequel. Dontnod have improved on most accounts and look to draw in new fans with this prologue.