Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Oct 31, 2022
    80
    Despite its flaws, The DioField Chronicle is one of Square Enix's best and most interesting games of the year. It runs and looks great on PC, and even seamlessly syncs your progress to Steam Deck thanks to the recent addition of Steam Cloud support. The demo was promising, and I'm glad that The DioField Chronicle has delivered in almost every way on PC and Steam Deck.
  2. Oct 1, 2022
    75
    From the outset, we cannot welcome the bet launched by The Diofield Chronicle. Carried by divine music and gameplay as ingenious as it is interesting, the Square-Enix game is undeniably generous. Regulars of the genre and lovers of tactical role-playing games risk succumbing to its "retro" charm and its various incantations. Rhythmic, pleasant and more surprising than it seems, The Diofield Chronicle struggles to keep up the pace over time. The objectives are repeated, the free phases do not bring much and the staging lacks the energy to widen its audience. Nevertheless, for those who want to discover something other than the usual blockbusters and who is not hermetic to the genre, here is a work that could become cult in a few years or, at least, find its letters of nobility among enthusiasts.
  3. Sep 28, 2022
    73
    A tactical RPG where the tactics are not deep enough. The story and characters are believable and unexpectedly logical, but in a genre where strategy is an integral part of the experience you would expect to be actually strategic to win. This is not the exact case, sadly, but it's still an enjoyable experience, though.
  4. Oct 13, 2022
    70
    The Diofield Chronicle is a game that tries to be a lot of things but it ends up being just average. There is undeniably quality in the design and even in the strange battle system and controls, but when we sum everything up it is just another strategy JRPG with a tiresome political story without any special identity.
  5. Oct 3, 2022
    70
    Despite its various shortcomings, I came away from The DioField Chronicle satisfied with its uniquely refreshing take on strategy RPGs. DioField's storytelling style was specifically a highlight for me, and its take on tactical combat offers something different from its contemporaries. While its mission design, sidequest variety, and some skill systems hold it back, DioField is worth a try for anyone looking for something just a bit different in their tactical RPGs.
  6. Oct 2, 2022
    70
    The attempt of adopting the element of a real-time tactical battle into a strategic RPG was good. While attractive characters and main stories are its strength, the narrative and approach to lead the story seem to fail to reveal its charm. More to that, individuality of the game's battle is faded due to systematic limits and there are few strategic elements. Despite these problems, you will be able to enjoy it if it suits your taste.
  7. Oct 2, 2022
    70
    The Diofield Chronicle is an interesting take on the tactics formula, filled with political intrigues and beautiful music.
  8. 70
    The DioField Chronicle is an enjoyable experience for players who are interested in games with political drama and intrigue. It thrives on being vague and secretive, which fits the themes encountered in the game. Combat can also be fun to play around with, and it forces you to think differently when enemies can move around. Unfortunately, the game can take complexity too far, and it isn’t a game for casual players. The battle system can feel repetitive with a lack of variety, and the only thing propelling you forward is your desire to know how it all ends. But if you are willing to put some time into the game and understand it, you will walk away with a decent experience that is enjoyable in its own right.
  9. Sep 28, 2022
    70
    As an able, fast-paced tactical JRPG that spins a respectable, if generic swords and sorcery yarn, The DioField Chronicle is mainly let down by frustrating controls and stiffly-animated characters performing what is often a stiffly-written script. Shorter, action-packed missions make it an ideal Switch or Steam Deck game: something to chip away at little by little in your free moments. But even with its deep, multilayered progression system, there isn't enough heft here to make me want to sit back in my chair and sink into its uninspiring fantasy world for many hours at a time.
  10. Sep 26, 2022
    70
    The DioField Chronicle is a partially successful Square enix experiment. Excellent hybrid game mechanics, but everything else is a constant repetition of the same missions, without adding anything new.
  11. Sep 28, 2022
    69
    Skilled tactical role-playing game with good real-time battles, monotonous missions and often just average scenery.
  12. Sep 21, 2022
    65
    It has some good elements, but they are often covered by the average, meaning little gets the chance to stand out. Were it a little tighter, a little faster and not requiring you to do so much busy work, I could see this being a more enjoyable experience.
  13. Oct 17, 2022
    60
    We had pretty low expectations and we got what we thought we would. This is a game of clashing ideas - and many of them aren’t even executed well enough. It’s got tempo, at least, and can be fun in small doses.
  14. Oct 3, 2022
    60
    The DioField Chronicle is a game of missed opportunities. A series of cliché gameplay, only improved by an enjoyable semi-real time combat system, that is both choreographic and engaging. The flat character depiction, and the forgettable story sadly come as added baggage to a promising title that could have been much more.
  15. Nov 4, 2022
    58
    The DioField Chronicle doesn’t nail the landing but I think that there is still some fun to be had here. I’m just not convinced it’s worth the full price of entry.
  16. Sep 21, 2022
    50
    The Diofield Chronicle probably wants to explore ideas around how power is accumulated and how legitimacy is granted with its tales of warring lords and divine rights. But it never truly engages with them. Characters hedge around such issues, expressing tentative misgivings regarding the nobility of their mission before carrying on regardless. Similarly, in brief conversations, it gestures at the possibility of other ways to structure society, but never actually entertains them. With Andrias and his mercenary company the hammer that sees every problem as a nail, it makes for an unsatisfying narrative arc. Yet as you deploy the same tactics across what may as well be the same battlefield against pretty much the same enemies for the umpteenth time, it's an effective metaphor for the conservative and unimaginative game design.
  17. Sep 27, 2022
    40
    The DioField Chronicle is a competent tactical RPG that will keep you amused until the repetition sets in. The progression systems are solid, the moment-to-moment gameplay is engaging, and you may even find moments where some of the characters grow on you. But its world does not feel grounded or real, and the only consistency I felt in its story was in predicting which overused political intrigue trope it would employ next.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 29, 2022
    The DioField Chronicle presents a successful battle system, with a lot of potential, but it doesn't always squeeze the most out of it. The story fails to captivate neither with its plot nor with its uninteresting characters.
  2. Look past the slightly dubious plot and there's much to enjoy about The DioField Chronicle's combat, but when it's a full-priced game I cannot in good conscience say it's 'worth a punt' when half of it leaves such a sour aftertaste. You'll stop caring about this band of mercs long before they do anything to try and redeem themselves, and there simply are better RPGs and better strategy games out there to sink your teeth into instead. It's a shame, especially when its free first chapter demo looked so promising just a couple of months ago, but alas, the central cast just absolutely lost me halfway through. It may not be the greatest plot twist you've ever seen, but at least you'll be on the right side of history this time.
User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 26
  2. Negative: 15 out of 26
  1. Sep 23, 2022
    4
    I reviewed this game based on a 10-point system. I beat the game and did all the side quests. This is how the point works:

    1 point for
    I reviewed this game based on a 10-point system. I beat the game and did all the side quests. This is how the point works:

    1 point for graphics/lighting/models, 1 point for story/believability/makes sense/flow, 1 point for gameplay, 1 point for characters/development, 1 point for music, 1 point for customization, 1 point for the time of play, 1 point for content, 1 point for UI/fluidity, 1 point for emotional impact = 10 points total

    Skip to the bottom to get my summary review.

    Graphics: .7

    The game's artwork is fantastic, but the 3D models were average. The special effects fit the part—nothing too flashy and nothing exceptional.

    Story: .3

    Average story. Some believable events and some unexpected events. The storytelling was very slim and straight to the point. There are some good and bad things about this type of storytelling. First, the cutscenes are short and have little reading; second, the details are very few.

    Gameplay: .6

    The gameplay was fun at first until you reach a certain point in the game where you become overpowered. The game is also very repetitive and seemed rather pointless to the point where you wish you could simulate the fights. Normal mode was really easy. Once I could buy the most potent weapon in the game (which wasn't rewarding to get and was simple to get), I breezed through the game. There were interesting mechanics here, but that gets old fast.

    Characters/Development: .3

    The characters were interesting at first, but due to the game being so short and the interactions between characters being slim, you end up not caring for the characters at the end.

    Music: .4

    The music was there, but I didn't care too much for the music. Nothing stood out, nothing memorable, but at least it wasn't annoying.

    Customization: .4

    There's enough customization for 15 hours' worth of gaming. After that, it goes downhill. You have a few upgrades for weapons, summons, and items. Unfortunately, certain weapons allow you to use certain skills, specific summons do different things, and the items are practically useless from the middle to the end.

    Time of Play: .4

    I beat the game around 21 hours. I'd say this game isn't worth $60. To get a whole 1 point, the game would have to give me at least 50 hours worth of gameplay.

    Content: .2

    The only content is side missions and little dialog with other characters.

    UI/Fluidity: .7

    UI fits with the story and the game loaded pretty quickly. Saving was fast. Not much here.

    Emotional Impact: .1

    This game was honestly pretty boring. The story wasn't exciting. Characters are nonexistent. ZzzZzZZzz.....

    Overall: 4

    I played the demo and had high hopes for this game, but this game let me down. After beating the game with 21 hours of playing, I can say that this game is not worth $60. The artwork is appealing, but the 3D models are alright. The game is pretty fluid in function but lacks the depth to make it exciting. The customization is limited and makes the game very easy once you reach a certain point in the game. Nothing exciting about the story, characters, or music. This game looks pretty but lacks a lot you would want in an RPG. This game is a hard pass.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 29, 2022
    5
    The most painful thing about this game is the wasted potential. The gameplay starts out great, but lacks variety. The graphics are solid. TheThe most painful thing about this game is the wasted potential. The gameplay starts out great, but lacks variety. The graphics are solid. The story is generic. Controls are clumsy, but you get used to them. Voice acting is abysmally bad.

    Overall, I'm very excited for the game that takes this gameplay and does it right. Save your money and play the demo. If you want the full game, just play the demo five times.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 7, 2022
    6
    So the first thing that stood out to me was how phoned in and boring the dialogue is. Everybody has the personality of a potato and there's 0So the first thing that stood out to me was how phoned in and boring the dialogue is. Everybody has the personality of a potato and there's 0 expression in anybodies voice. Why should and how can I care about what's happening if there's no connection or care in the writing or voicing of the characters?. I find myself listening to exchanges and wondering "Why would you make somebody listen to this?".

    Square Enix have been going in the direction of Old British fantasy as of recent and tbh I think it really doesn't seem to be going too well for them. They seem to have moved away from the big personality characters of the past final fantasy days to one of a very serious tone but it's really taken something huge away from their writing..it just all feels very droll and uncaptivating.

    The combat has the fundamentals there but is overall far too easy with not much variety as say Fire emblem. This game could be good if they added higher stakes such as permadeath of characters which would actually add some form of tension considering the story and acting does not successfully provide that. Overall it's not a bad experience, but it leaves a lot to be desired and there's a lot of untapped potential in there that could, with future updates and free dlc, be all it could be. Finally I will say, if Fire emblem was available outside of the Switch this game would be in trouble.
    Full Review »