Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Nov 8, 2020
    73
    Falconeer is able to reach extreme heights. Blasting airships in a thunderstorm is nothing short than epic... but more often than not you are doing mundane jobs in lackluster locales.
  2. Nov 19, 2020
    70
    The Falconeer is an ambitious title developed by one person. It aims to be an open world air combat title but doesn't completely stick the landing.
  3. Nov 16, 2020
    70
    There’s substance to The Falconeer, and while there’s really something special here, it’s in the details instead of the big picture. For fans of air combat games, The Falconeer represents a breath of fresh air, and, quite frankly, it is pretty cool to be one with the falcon; for those simply curious, check out some YouTube videos before taking wing.
  4. Nov 12, 2020
    70
    The Falconeer is a charming old-style shooter developed by a passionate one-man studio, partially spoiled by a fragmented plot and a repetitive quest design.
  5. Nov 12, 2020
    70
    The biggest flaw in The Falconeer is trying to be an aerial action RPG. While this isn't going to be your type of game if you are looking for a more traditional RPG, The Falconeer invites you to disconnect and start flying without any limits, an experience that no one should miss.
  6. Nov 10, 2020
    70
    When you finally begin to put the aerial maneuvers together and to great effect, as you’re dodging incoming falcons, stopping in mid-air to shake that tailing dragon, or barrel-rolling to produce near-miss fire.
  7. Nov 8, 2020
    70
    It would be ungenerous to deny the good basic qualities of Tomas Sala's work, such as to ensure that this peculiar "bird's eye" combat simulator has a certain solidity, at least on the technical-artistic front. What emerges after a few hours strolling through the skies of the Ursee, however, is that The Falconeer is a product that shines more for aesthetics than for the actual ability to involve the player within the wet world that he chooses to tell.
  8. Nov 6, 2020
    70
    The Falconeer boasts an intriguing story and a hauntingly beautiful setting, but is hampered by repetitive missions in an empty open world.
  9. Nov 6, 2020
    70
    I find myself a little perplexed by The Falconeer. I still thoroughly enjoyed my time with the game, but it almost felt like I was doing so in spite of how I felt about the gameplay. I do think The Falconeer is going to find an audience that loves it wholeheartedly, but also that there will be plenty of others for whom this falls a bit flat too.
  10. 70
    It’s clear that Tomas Sala has put a lot of effort into bringing us The Falconeer and it’s an absolutely applaudable effort. Boasting some impressive artistic direction, smooth performance, and enjoyable open-world exploration, it comes packed within an intriguing story that left me wanting to know more. It isn’t perfect though, and there are certainly flaws within the combat system, but ultimately, if you’re a fan of aerial combat that’s looking for something different, this is one game which comes recommended.
  11. Nov 9, 2020
    68
    The single greatest oversight in this game, aside from the controls, is the inability to interact with your bird. You can inject it with mutagens to power it up but you can’t pet it? If I had been given the opportunity to interact with my warbird, customize its gear and coloration, and build a real bond with it, I would have enjoyed this game much more than I did. As is, I found The Falconeer to be a compelling but frustrating experience.
  12. Nov 6, 2020
    65
    Despite his pleasant artistic direction and his ambition to tell a complex story with multiple ramifications, The Falconeer lacks a little soul during its ten hours of play. The developed lore struggles to include the player because of a lack attachment to the heroes while the uninspiring missions, even generic, plague the desire to progress. Fortunately, his overall successful dogfights as well as his few flashes make this aerial shoot an experience that deserves attention. The work done by its sole developer is obviously remarkable: his love for an endangered genre shines on every feather of the Fantastic Falcon.
  13. Jan 6, 2021
    60
    The Falconeer blends aerial exploration with dogfighting, but doesn’t stick the landing. It delivers an interesting, but middling, action-fantasy experience that's filled with gorgeous sights and clunky combat.
  14. Dec 8, 2020
    60
    This is a bang average dog-fighting game. It tries to hide its dullness behind a facade of high fantasy, but that’s just a cosmetic choice without any real impact on gameplay. The missions start to repeat themselves very soon and the second you tire of the beautiful graphics, you’ll just wish to fly away.
  15. Nov 25, 2020
    50
    The Falconeer doesn’t do anything glaringly wrong, and yet, the overall experience doesn’t really click. The game looks lovely, controls well, and offers surprising depth considering it was created by a single developer, but an uninvolving world, repetitive missions, and combat that isn’t as visceral as it should be grounds its potential. Like many flights, The Falconeer is kind of exciting when you first take off, but by landing time you just want the experience to be over.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. The Falconeer’s limitations kept it from fully winning me over. But it’s bloody impressive when its stars align.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 7 out of 18
  1. Nov 16, 2020
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Con un muy bello mundo abierto se queda estancado con las misiones repetitivas pero es algo que cualquier juego de ahora posee Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2020
    10
    Excellent aerial shooter!
    The grip is a little rough in the first hour, you have to take the time to study the different gameplay
    Excellent aerial shooter!
    The grip is a little rough in the first hour, you have to take the time to study the different gameplay possibilities. In keyboard-mouse the game offers by default an eagle control with the mouse and the camera with the keyboard. We have the possibility to reverse the control of the eagle on the keyboard and the camera / aim with the mouse, which seems more instinctive and more comfortable to me. It's a shame that players don't take the time to read and navigate the options before criticizing the game for handling.
    Like any self-respecting aviation game, the configurations are numerous so that everyone can find the controls that suit them best.
    The difficulty of the game is based on the player's choices to equip themselves with upgrades (which are numerous) that correspond to their gameplay and for that, you have to explore, discover and meet the different factions who exchange different goods and upgrades. Indeed, the open world leaves the player free to go where he wants and to progress as he wishes. The game does not take the player by the hand, consequence: the first dogfights are very confused and the learning is brutal. Regardless of the level of your equipment, it is your movements and your position that will depend on your success or your death. Once the controls and gameplay are in hand, it's a treat to engage in combat, pilot and maneuver epic dodges or air chases, bombard or protect a fleet, or even attack an island/fortress.
    The universe is splendid and its lore is rich. The campaign is presented in the form of a chapter where we embody each faction to experience the story from different angles, as Starcraft.
    The game does not have great pretension but it has the merit of existing and unearthing a genre that we no longer see.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 14, 2020
    9
    Well, I was lucky to start with a controller on my computer so I may have had a better start than other straight-PC players.

    After
    Well, I was lucky to start with a controller on my computer so I may have had a better start than other straight-PC players.

    After acclimating to the gameplay, story and economy I quickly found myself in an interesting environment. The setting of The Falconeer is an old world wherein history and myth coalesce into a dramatically revealed story. The main part of the game is the mechanic of flying on your giant falcon, and after I got used to it (and traded the starter bird and guns out) I had a fantastic time. I beat the main game in just 20 hours while taking my time and gathering resources, and I want to say the game was definitely worth the price tag. I loved the snappy aerial dogfights, I loved the interplay between the characters as missions were setup and I loved the over-all tone of the story. There have been comparisons to past flight-sims, but to me the game is very reminiscent of Zelda: The Wind Waker in that the scenery evokes the same sense of aww and wonder as you traverse the oceanic map and fly among the clouds.

    There's a lot to love about the game, among them that there are no game-breaking bugs after the release date, it's very affordable and I think it's a great game to hold you over until you can get your hands on something bigger. Considering this game was largely made by one guy it's mind boggling how much better it is in certain regards than so-called AAA Games on the market.

    The only reason I don't give this game a perfect score right now is that it can be a bit grindy (and you need to know when to grind) and you have to discover some things on your own. It doesn't hold your hands, but it certainly rewards being explorative.

    So get out there Falconeer and Fly!
    Full Review »