Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Aug 14, 2019
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Aug 13, 2019
    74
    The Great Perhaps does not offer anything that we haven’t seen before in its gameplay, but there is an understated beauty in its presentation that I found haunting (literally … you’ll see). The trial-and-error nature of some of its puzzles may cause you to reach for a bottle of Vodka in frustration, but its world has a certain sad and subdued charm that will, in both past and present, motivate you to keep trudging along in order to save it.
  3. Aug 13, 2019
    70
    A short but charming adventure in which atmosphere and style are more important than clever puzzles and creative design decisions.
  4. Sep 11, 2019
    68
    The Great Perhaps provides a unique adventure puzzler with a story that is sure to surprise the player once completed. The hand drawn art style is endearing and the music fits the games ambiance very well. Unfortunately, The Great Perhaps is very short, with less than 3 hours of gameplay on its best day. With no achievements and no reason to revisit The Great Perhaps, this is definitely an adventure that you will only take once.
  5. Aug 19, 2019
    67
    The Great Perhaps is a nice looking adventure game that takes players on an interesting journey with solid dimension-shifting gameplay. Just be wary of the poorly handled mood swings and occasionally annoying design elements.
  6. Sep 26, 2019
    50
    TheGreat Perhaps sounds like a missed opportunity to deliver a truly enjoyable and unique piece of adventure.
  7. Nov 4, 2019
    40
    The Great Perhaps has a lot of good ideas yet fails to devote enough attention to them, raising lots of questions but not answering many. While the artwork and music are highlights, they’re not enough to balance out what is otherwise a disappointing experience.
  8. Sep 11, 2019
    40
    Inspired by the great adventures and platformers of the last decade, The Great Perhaps doesn’t have even an ounce of their charm and magic.
  9. Aug 13, 2019
    20
    This is one gigantic miss and perhaps one of the worst games of the year.
  10. Aug 13, 2019
    20
    Even as The Great Perhaps evolves and introduces new mechanics, it struggles to capture the magic its story so desperately tries to evoke. The idea of traveling back in time to celebrate your history, to get closure for a life that passed you by; it tastes bitter without the sweet. If only Caligari could travel back in time and tell themselves that perhaps a gimmick does not a game make. Until then, this game is far from great.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 6 out of 21
  1. Aug 15, 2019
    9
    A solid indie with some interesting gameplay elements that aren’t anything we haven’t seen before but is enjoyable anyway. I loved theA solid indie with some interesting gameplay elements that aren’t anything we haven’t seen before but is enjoyable anyway. I loved the interactive score in the game as well as the beautiful melancholic visuals. Never thought I’d dig Soviet aesthetic, but I did! I also wish I could get all the references written in Russian, I’m sure there were a lot. Recommend to anyone who likes a games with nice visuals and immersive atmosphere. Full Review »
  2. Aug 17, 2019
    10
    This game is just so good! I was so immersed in the discovery of this bizarre world and the time-travel aspect is such a great addition. FirstThis game is just so good! I was so immersed in the discovery of this bizarre world and the time-travel aspect is such a great addition. First and foremost here is the ATMOSPHERE. I mean it is THAT good, trust me. Music, sound, artwork are always at the right place and right time (pun intended). Voice acting is strange but in a good way.
    Of course the game is not perfect but it is a low-budget Indie for Christs sake! And it is studio's debut. I wish every debut was like that. Anyway, highly RECOMMEND!
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 15, 2019
    8
    Games that allow me to plunge into such a touching, complex and wise story are extremely rare. I finished The Great Perhaps in one evening andGames that allow me to plunge into such a touching, complex and wise story are extremely rare. I finished The Great Perhaps in one evening and it was amazing. The atmosphere is enhanced by the stunning music. And the art reminds that this is the first project of an indie studio that follows their own vision and wants to bring something of their own. In any case, it's all about the story and how you perceive it. Full Review »