Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Aug 14, 2018
    100
    I’d say that this episode is a pretty great start to the finale of the series for Telltale. It’s been a long, and occasionally bumpy road, but this seems to be shaping up extremely well early on. The cliffhanger for this episode has me anxious to see what happens next, and the new cast of characters are more appealing than most of the hardened jerks that populated The New Frontier. It’ll be interesting to see where things go from here, but again, I’m not holding my breath for a happy ending.
  2. Aug 13, 2018
    90
    One of Telltale Games’ best efforts in quite some time. It builds its cast of likeable new characters with uncommon skill, lets you feel a glimmer of hope, and then tears it all down in devastating fashion. I’m afraid of what might come next for Clementine and AJ, but I can’t look away…The Final Season has already sunk its teeth into me.
  3. 90
    A near-perfect opener for this latest series. It lives up to the lofty expectations set by its predecessors, while also evolving the formula that had grown stale as of late.
  4. Aug 13, 2018
    90
    Telltale has also integrated what might be the most robust gameplay mechanics of one of the studio’s titles yet.
  5. Aug 13, 2018
    88
    After such a fantastic opening episode, I’m excited to see not only how this story plays out, but how my actions as Clem will directly shape AJ and the narrative. If you’re a fan of The Walking Dead franchise or Telltale games, this one is a must play.
  6. Games Master UK
    Sep 6, 2018
    85
    While the beats of this episode are broadly predictable, it pulls off plenty of brilliantly nasty surprises, triggering some of the most genuinely tense and frightening moments we've ever had with the series. [Oct 2018, p.84]
  7. Aug 27, 2018
    85
    While it remains similar to its predecessors in plot and structure, The Final Season: Episode One starts the finale off strong.
  8. Aug 30, 2018
    82
    The fourth and final season of The Walking Dead starts off on the right foot, with a long-lived and well-written episode that does not renounce to small but important technical-structural innovations.
  9. Aug 23, 2018
    80
    Episode 1 is a good indication of where the season and series are headed, and while I've thoroughly enjoyed it, when titles like Life is Strange and Before the Storm are released and compete with the franchise, one has to expect Telltale to up their game. What was great back in 2012 is no longer great in 2018, and maybe that's why Telltale is putting the cap on the series with The Final Season.
  10. Aug 20, 2018
    80
    Done Running is proof that Telltale still has plenty of ideas to innovate and reinvigorate the adventure genre, where even small changes including new camera perspectives and an improved presentation can go a long way, even if the story hasn’t quite found its footing yet. There’s plenty of time for the season’s plot to turn itself around and wrap up Clementine’s journey on a fitting note, and she deserves it after all the character’s been through, but the promising changes from every other perspective seems to indicate good things to come for the remaining three episodes.
  11. Aug 20, 2018
    80
    Telltale is really good at creating a twisted plot and deeply understand how to shock their fans. Playing the role of Clementine is both touching and satisfying for old fans while the little girl has grown up and started to protect and guide another child just like the way Lee did. There is no doubt that episode 1 is a good start.
  12. Aug 14, 2018
    80
    Done Running isn’t perfect, but nothing TWD-related ever is. This game remains the best incarnation of the IP, and long-time fans won’t be disappointed.
  13. Aug 14, 2018
    80
    There’s nothing fresh in this new season’s opening but the narration is appealing. The characters and their relationships are well-written, which foreshadow only the best for the upcoming episodes.
  14. Aug 14, 2018
    80
    The fist episode of this season of The Walking Dead delivers some good moments, some tweaks on the gameplay and pleasant graphics. Still, there are no traces of the characters of the third season, and some reactions of the new characters left us a bit blown away.
  15. Aug 13, 2018
    80
    As a first episode, Done Running managed to hook me in with its quiet, character moments, allowing for a closer connection to a character I have watched grow from a child into a young woman. I know there’s a lot left to come, but if these moments are any indication of where this season is headed, I am quite sure that the combination of Clem and AJ will have me breaking down in a flood of tears at the end. While the action detracts from the overall experience, I can’t help but look forward to the end, and the hope, that maybe, there is a happy ending inside the world of The Walking Dead.
  16. Aug 13, 2018
    80
    With changes to its gameplay engine, combat, visual style and choice-driven narrative, The Walking Dead: The Final Season starts out on the right foot. Though there are moments that take you out of the immersive story, its gripping conclusion sets up what looks to be one of the franchise’s best season in years.
  17. CD-Action
    Dec 4, 2018
    75
    In the first episode of its final season The Walking Dead is prettier than ever, sounds better than ever and does a better job at pretending to be a game. Telltale’s attempts to refresh the series are too conservative but I still appreciate them, even if it feels like praising a notorious sloven for washing his hands before Christmas dinner. [10/2018, p.76]
  18. Sep 10, 2018
    75
    There is very little wrong with this episode but for someone who critically analyzes the storyline and how the events unfold, I would have preferred a little insight into how AJ's personality was shaped from past events. This scenario could probably become an episode itself. That being said, this episode is a fitting but perhaps a little bland start to the final season of The Walking Dead.
  19. Aug 21, 2018
    75
    Although the length is even more limited than usual, the first episode of the final season of Telltale's The Walking Dead sets the right elements for the conclusion of Clementine's journey, looking at the zombie apocalypse from a younger and fresh perspective.
  20. Jan 10, 2019
    70
    While Clementine and AJ attempt to make friends with the children of the nearby boarding school, most of the episode is dedicated to getting to know each character and finding their place in the school, which begins to drag. However, in a bid to make up for lost time, the closing moments of the episode is a cliff-hanger that leaves the entire cast of characters shocked - and makes waiting for Episode 2 a painful but exciting venture.
  21. Aug 27, 2018
    70
    The first episode repeats too many situations from previous seasons. As a result, it becomes too predictable.
  22. Aug 15, 2018
    70
    Done Running is good. Clichéd or not, Telltale always knows how to tell a great story. The graphics have improved two-fold and the controls are better than ever, but I had really hoped to see something new in the narrative, especially seeing as it’s the last time we’ll be playing these characters. I’m looking forward to the rest of the season, but I do have my fingers crossed that the narrative gets a much-needed shake-up in the next episode.
  23. Aug 13, 2018
    70
    This debut episode of the final season of Telltale’s The Walking Dead is impressive, if a little formulaic.
  24. Aug 13, 2018
    70
    This premiere does little to excite me for the rest of the season; the set-up feels too predictable and familiar. I’m interested in seeing where Clementine’s story ends and if my choices really shape the type of person A.J. becomes, but this is a weak start.
  25. Aug 13, 2018
    70
    That's what we can call a pretty good start for the last season with plenty of promises based on what a grown Clementine is now for Alvin Junior. A few things have changed and we hope what's coming next will be good enough so that we can leave one of the best video game characters without any regrets.
  26. Aug 14, 2018
    67
    However, it must be admitted that the relationship between the two young protagonists is a driving force that should not be underestimated: the ability to educate Alvin Jr. and thus instruct the "new" generation, confronts us with the errors and difficulties of growth.
  27. Aug 13, 2018
    65
    While some of the exposition-heavy conversations drone on longer than they should, it ends on a powerful note foreshadowing some difficult lessons Clementine has yet to learn about what it means to grow up and lead in a post-society world.
  28. Aug 13, 2018
    60
    Done Running is mostly a matter of getting to know the new cast of characters we are about to spend several hours with, getting clued up on their thoughts, attitudes, talents and backstories. Most of the action is pretty poor, but things ramp up hard for a great, genuinely shocking finale. It is already apparent that The Walking Dead: The Final Season will just be more of the same, but that's hardly likely to disappoint anyone who has gotten four whole seasons into this adventure.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 27, 2018
    Done Running is a strong opener for Clementine’s final story, successfully exploring the theme of motherhood while providing the usual dose of zombies and human drama.
  2. Aug 13, 2018
    As always, it’s a bit hard to recommend an episodic release off the strengths of the first episode. I have high hopes though. The Final Season managed to surprise me multiple times already, and if anyone deserves a satisfying finale it’s Clementine. Six years of build-up desperately need some sort of catharsis, even if it’s a tearjerker.
  3. Aug 13, 2018
    And while I’m not sure how long the season can hold on to this feeling, the finale for The Walking Dead is off to a great start, and it’s all thanks to the kids.
  4. Aug 13, 2018
    The first episode of The Walking Dead’s final season is an excellent start, but that’s usually the case. It’s always been the middle episodes that Telltale’s weaker seasons have struggled with.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 96
  2. Negative: 13 out of 96
  1. Aug 17, 2018
    10
    After terrible season 3 i was afraid of next season but it's pretty good. Textures are finally sharp, new camera at the beginning is difficultAfter terrible season 3 i was afraid of next season but it's pretty good. Textures are finally sharp, new camera at the beginning is difficult but you will get used to it. I don't know how's it gonna end but the story is good, i feel like lee again. Very good game. Finally (Season 3 sucks) Full Review »
  2. Aug 25, 2018
    10
    The Walking Dead has been around since 2012, and I have loyally followed it since, always staying hyped for the next episode after each oneThe Walking Dead has been around since 2012, and I have loyally followed it since, always staying hyped for the next episode after each one released. Here we arrive at the end of Clementine's story, where she is accompanied by AJ, who she has raised since his birth, and is essentially like her adopted son. It's great to see these two characters still sticking it out to the end after the late half of Season 2, and the chemistry between them is fun.
    MECHANICS
    - This game has changed a LOT of what Telltale is known for. Everything you say or do in front of AJ will transform him, directly, and it will impact how you play this game. You can't choose to constantly be silent, because it will bite you in the rear. AJ is like an actual child in real life; easy influential with what you say and do. After realizing this, I had to remind myself to stay careful of any decision I made if he was in the picture.
    - The combat is also revamped, and it is no longer to dull and boring quick time events strictly as the other games, now you have a two-step combat system: you walk up to a walker, stun them, and then kill them, or you can kill them and risk being attacked simultaneously by another walker mid-animation. It is simple, but it's refreshing to see Telltale not focus on quick time events now. I will admit though, regardless of how unengaging it is, it's quite fun to trap a zombie after making him chase you in a circle sometimes.
    STORY/CHARACTERS
    - The entire first episode was great in pacing-- it never felt too slow, never felt like it was moving too fast.
    It spent the right amount of time shedding light on every character you needed to know about, and it was good at having you like these characters as well.
    LENGTH
    - The episode took me roughly two and a half hours with one ten minute break. It is a VERY long first episode, probably the lengthiest one Telltale has ever made for any game, and again-- it didn't feel stretched out. By the time the game has you comfortable near the end, a certain event happens that will remain unmentioned and it makes you feel very uncomfortable and nervous.
    OVERALL THOUGHTS
    - With this being the first episode, which is normally the worst in a Telltale game, I have to admit that after playing it, I am HYPED for the rest of the season. I'm wondering how much better the episodes can get after this one, and the cliffhanger was insane. I can't wait until September, and I hear there are rumors a certain someone is coming back from season one!
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 20, 2018
    10
    Incredible episode the story is interesting the new telltale engine is also good cant wait for the next episode