Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 18
  2. Negative: 11 out of 18
Buy On
  1. PC Zone UK
    59
    Criminal lack of story. [June 2008, p.76]
  2. Turning Point: Fall of Liberty is a good idea put badly into practice; what you might call an unfinished game.
  3. After playing through just a bit of Turning Point, we were completely disappointed. The old feeling to it completely ruined the original concept.
  4. Playing Turning Point feels like travelling back in time. The game looks awful, the levels are boring, the enemies act foolish and the story is mediocre at best. Except for the music made by Michael Giacchino, nothing is worth mentioning. A case for the first person shooter garbage dump.
  5. 50
    Shooting Nazis in the streets of three major U.S. cities should be a non-stop thrill ride that has me on the edge of my seat. This game provides the opposite experience.
  6. Turning Point's minimalist approach to everything - from its stale levels and sticky controls to its thin plot and absent character development - killed what could've been a really unique and engaging shooter and will disappoint hardcore fans of the genre across the board.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    50
    Sadly, I immediately wished I’d left Carson for dead on the girders, saving myself the time and tedium of seeing things through to the bitter end. [Jun 2008, p.60]
  8. PC Gamer
    40
    This isn't a bad console port--it's a bad game, period. [June 2008, p.74]
  9. You can’t help but feel cheated by the lack of polish overall on this game as a PC gamer. Spark has taken the tried and tested graphical powerhouse that is the Unreal III Engine and churned out a straight port of a console game that takes all the power of the modern PC and totally ignores it.
  10. PC Gamer UK
    38
    Shoddy nonsense. [May 2008, p.74]
  11. Turning Point: Fall of Liberty is a prime example of how not to make a decent FPS, and with so many better titles out there now and a lack of budget pricing, it's hard to imagine what the devs were thinking.
  12. PC Format
    34
    A perfect storm of cynical derivative design and slipshod implementation. [June 2008, p.102]
  13. 30
    Its uninspired game design feels completely mired in an era that we'd sooner be done with. There's simply no reason to waste your time with it.
  14. Game Informer
    30
    With the number of average-to-outstanding FPS titles available on next-gen consoles, there’s absolutely no reason to waste your time with this disaster. [Apr 2008, p.86]
  15. It feels a little wrong to be so down on a game that seemed genuinely interesting when it was first announced, but Turning Point is so devoid of the qualities needed in a modern FPS that it's impossible to sugar coat. It's just a very bad game, plain and simple.
  16. Play (Poland)
    30
    Brave construction worker breaks necks, perforates SS uniforms and fights for freedom while I sink slowly in my chair, disbelieving. It's been a long time since I've seen in a game such angular objects, bleary textures and enemies who ignore a 9 mm burst through the chest. A total waste of Unreal 3 engine. [May 2008]
  17. 20
    The game tells its story horribly, your character is both improbable and without any personality, the AI is terrible, the gameplay lackluster, and graphics middling. Even as a budget title, which Turning Point is certainly doomed to become, the game is hardly worth the bother.
  18. 0
    I wouldn't recommend Turning Point to anyone, under any circumstances...and if that's not the definition of utter failure, I don't know what is.
User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 38
  2. Negative: 20 out of 38
  1. PhilH
    Mar 9, 2008
    7
    it was a very good game, good plot and such i gave it a 7 because, well, its not THAT good, and its not the best game out there
  2. SebastianO,
    Feb 26, 2008
    9
    So far so good...I m just waiting to play it on line and see how it is...Depending on it,my rating could go up,or down...As far as i ve So far so good...I m just waiting to play it on line and see how it is...Depending on it,my rating could go up,or down...As far as i ve played....i like it a lot...and I do have a good feeling about the on line game play...(wich by the way i ve tryed to play it but is nobady out there so far:) ) Full Review »
  3. Jul 28, 2015
    1
    It is a game that tries to look something interesting for the market. The game idea is not bad, but the game has problems that are just veryIt is a game that tries to look something interesting for the market. The game idea is not bad, but the game has problems that are just very bad. Outdated graphics, gameplay like a game of 97. Bad voice acting and more. Full Review »