Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Jan 7, 2014
    70
    Violett is an interesting adventure for fans of the genre.
  2. Dec 31, 2013
    70
    Violett is quiet and unassuming, but it steadily weaves a tale about childhood fears and desires with which we are all too familiar. Despite its surreal setting, it has a very personal touch that grounds it.
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    70
    Still, Violett is only priced at $10, and it’s probably the type of game that’s going to go on sale a lot, so if you’re looking for something different then it’s not the worst thing in the world to purchase and try out.
  4. Jan 28, 2014
    68
    Despite the lack of a storyline (apart from the opening cinematic), Violett does reasonably well in keeping itself interesting.
  5. Apr 1, 2014
    60
    You might enjoy the time that you spend with Violett, but you should approach it with modest expectations and a good deal of patience.
  6. Jan 13, 2014
    60
    An intriguing premise and interesting art style aren’t enough to drag Violett up to the level of other more accomplished point and click adventures.
  7. Jan 6, 2014
    60
    Most necessary elements of a winning formula are in place, but Violett desperately needs a story to bind the disparate parts together into a classic experience.
  8. Feb 4, 2014
    50
    Abstruse and sometimes outright broken in its design elements, Violett commits the worst crime for an adventure game: it confronts the player with poorly designed puzzles that require little logic and lots of luck and clueless clicking in order to be solved.
  9. Jan 6, 2014
    30
    As it stands, Violett is a mess, and a disappointment on every level.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. Dec 14, 2013
    8
    Violett is great puzzle game with charming fantasy graphics and beautifull sountrack. It kinda reminds me Coraline game but it's notViolett is great puzzle game with charming fantasy graphics and beautifull sountrack. It kinda reminds me Coraline game but it's not plagiarism, it has it's own style, plot and game play style. The gfx isn't demanding, so medium box can handle it but still it looks really impresive. For that kind of money it is definitely worth to buy. Full Review »
  2. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    This game reminds me my childhood, I used to play p&c games as a kid but then this type of games just vanished. I'm glad I found this one. ItThis game reminds me my childhood, I used to play p&c games as a kid but then this type of games just vanished. I'm glad I found this one. It has excellent graphics and music, the riddles isn't too hard, however there are some issues with pointing sometimes so I couldn't solve the puzzle at once, despite my solution was right. Hope controlls will be patched soon. Anyway, I recommend this one. Full Review »
  3. Jul 20, 2018
    5
    The art in this is gorgeous, and I really like the entire atmosphere of this game. Unfortunately, I feel that this game suffers from the sameThe art in this is gorgeous, and I really like the entire atmosphere of this game. Unfortunately, I feel that this game suffers from the same design issues as the old point and click adventures did. There's way too much reliance on trying random things and seeing what works. If there was some type of basic mechanic that we could learn and use as a guide to figure out the rest of the game, that would help a lot. Instead, each section presents new objects and you basically have to disregard everything you just learned and start experimenting all over again. I like experimenting with mechanics and figuring things out, but that process feels so random and scatterbrained in this game. If you are someone that enjoys the old school point and click adventures, pick this up. Otherwise, this game may lead to frustration. Full Review »