User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 22, 2020
    9
    Me causa una disonancia cognitiva el hecho de que tengo la sensación de un viaje al pasado, pero que esté ambientado en el futuro, y que se beneficia de la tecnología actual. Los desarrolladores de ThetaDivision lograron capturar a la perfección el sentimiento que produce jugar viejos juegos de aventuras gráficas como Maniac Mansion, Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis, Space Quest,Me causa una disonancia cognitiva el hecho de que tengo la sensación de un viaje al pasado, pero que esté ambientado en el futuro, y que se beneficia de la tecnología actual. Los desarrolladores de ThetaDivision lograron capturar a la perfección el sentimiento que produce jugar viejos juegos de aventuras gráficas como Maniac Mansion, Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis, Space Quest, Monkey Island etc. (De hecho hay muchos guiños a estos títulos durante el juego).

    Gráficamente está muy bien. Los paisajes tecnodistópicos son mis favoritos, aunque te encontrarás tambén jugando en la selva como en Monkey Island o Indiana Jones, en lugares infernales, o fríos llenos de hielo y hasta el espacio. La variedad es muy buena y el sistema de poder usar el visor que revela nuevos elementos, me parece genial.

    En lo que respecta a la historia, empieza muy bien, la trama es atrapante, pero al final si algo tengo que criticarle al juego, es el hecho de tuve la sensación de que la última parte del juego no está tan bien escrita, y toma un giro extraño a mi parecer.

    Los puzzles están bien diseñados, son lógicos, aunque algunos se pueden considerar difíciles, sobre todo para aquellos que no están acostumbrados a estos tipos de juego. Se necesita paciencia e ingenio.

    La música es lo mejor a mi criterio. MBR hizo un soundtrack impresionante. Lo mejor es que la música se integra perfectamente con el entorno en el que el personaje principal se encuentra.

    Debo concluir con que solo con el hecho de que la música sea tan buena, contrarresta cualquier problema que yo tenga con la historia. Terminar el juego me dió un sentimiento de haber conseguido algo importante. Esto es algo que no sentía hace mucho, y eso es lo que más valoro.

    En resumen, un título que hay que debes jugar si te gusta la tecnología y te gustan los juegos de aventura gráfica. Si buscas algo fácil y que en momentos no te frustre un poco, quizá no sea el juego para ti.

    Buen trabajo ThetaDivision.
    Expand
  2. Jul 21, 2020
    10
    Great game! good puzzles(some of them doesn't make much sense) beautiful pixel art,nice music and a good story. The ending is not so good but doesn't affect the overall experience . If you like Lucasarts graphic adventures and the cyberpunk genre then this game is a must have.
  3. Apr 4, 2021
    8
    great point and click adventure. The world is unique with some insider jokes/content in it. It's a bit harder than some of the classic adventure games but worth playing.
  4. Jul 29, 2020
    7
    Pros.:
    - World.
    - Environment. Cyberpunk.
    - Main character, dialogues.
    - Gameplay (especially first half).

    Cons.:
    - The mid-end story, the resolution.
    - Some puzzles do not seem reasonable.

    In total, very solid game. Recommend it.
  5. May 19, 2020
    9
    This is the kind of game that makes you travel back through time. It consciously decided to take the classic approach to adventure games, inheriting both the good and the bad beats from them. Sure enough, this isn't a game for everyone, you must love a challenge and have an OCD to find every single detail hidden in every frame of the game, but I bet that you will never regret, not once inThis is the kind of game that makes you travel back through time. It consciously decided to take the classic approach to adventure games, inheriting both the good and the bad beats from them. Sure enough, this isn't a game for everyone, you must love a challenge and have an OCD to find every single detail hidden in every frame of the game, but I bet that you will never regret, not once in a lifetime, the amount of time you'll spend watching the amazing backgrounds, listening to the most beautiful soundtrack of the last 10 years (Yup, even better than THAT soundtrack), and solving the puzzles. Expand
  6. May 17, 2020
    10
    This MBR Album is everything from the Golden era of point and click story adventure games from the Lucasfilm classics, to the Sierra legends, infused with more Cyberpunk Gibson hacking action than even Technobabylon or the legendary Blade Runner story adventure game itself, and that was a hell of a game! This Cyberpunk retro-futurism inspired adventure is also a non-stop ride of nostalgia,This MBR Album is everything from the Golden era of point and click story adventure games from the Lucasfilm classics, to the Sierra legends, infused with more Cyberpunk Gibson hacking action than even Technobabylon or the legendary Blade Runner story adventure game itself, and that was a hell of a game! This Cyberpunk retro-futurism inspired adventure is also a non-stop ride of nostalgia, inside jokes nerdy trivia, and even MODE 7 GRAPHICS! Remember that hype train?

    There's a level of CRAFTING that's tangible with this game, which makes it stand out with the greats like Monkey Island or Space Quest. First off the graphics got me, where had I seen this art style before? Holy ♥♥♥♥ Valenberg painted this game. So going in I already knew the scene leader MASTER BOOT RECORD did the music for this, but now I'm also seeing Valenberg at the helm of design. Wow. That leads me to the music. I knew MBR's sound, so I expected more of that, right? What I didn't expect was a level of sound design that showcases the painstaking work that went in for what, four years of development? The music grows with your playthrough, it is crafted to enhance the mood and what's going on in-game, and at no point does it feel like a standard soundtrack just looping in the background. I even noticed audio cues when walking around the various locations in the game, which clearly showed they cared to make things perfect.

    Which leads me to the journey, from all the advertising, and certainly the cyberpunk genre itself, I expected more of the same: neon rain and tech. Yeah, there's definitely a lot of that, which as a fan of the genre, I absolutely love - however at the core of a point and click adventure game is the ADVENTURE: we follow our hero to all sorts of exciting places. It felt like we only stay in the locations long enough to get to know them, but not long enough. If there's a sequel, it would be great to revisit some of these places.

    The gameplay is a complete point and click story adventure masterclass that I'm sure even Ron Gilbert would enjoy. It definitely makes you pay attention to solve logic puzzles, in a way that games often don't nowadays in the era of twitchspeed plays and constant fps k/drs, etc. The way it's been created really made me want to play through it to see what the authors put into it and why. Also, it's a really good example of the devil's in the details. Whenever I got stuck, eventually it would be the answer that's so obvious you slap yourself on the forehead, or occasionally so silly you'll find yourself laughing about it later. The dialogue and writing is fun, hilarious at times - gripping at others, and most importantlt inherently human in a story about what it means to be human. There's a sense of seeking community amongst the outcasts, strength in unity. There's a lot of really strong messages in the game, that made it really fun to keep traveling along on this crazy journey.

    I am looking forward to more from Theta Division for sure. If this indie crew could pull off something so big in scale, scope, synergy, imagine what they could make next. Bigger and better. Git Gud. I guess I'm really feeling like shilling this game because it made me care about it, a lot. The story stood out as something new and different, whilst also being familiar. The characters, even the fandoms, all had so much to them, and all felt like I could run into them on any night out. And with that rolling MBR soundtrack, the game in itself is a party, especially considering how locked in most of us are right now. What a perfect time for this game.

    It's been hard not to spoil in this review. There are so many things I wanna talk about. I can't wait to read how others enjoy things.

    Anyhow, best album I've played in a long time. Plus there's a Wilhelm scream in there if you pay attention! With a bike so 7331 that it would make KANEDA jealous, the only thing that's missing are more tentacles! Here's hoping they do more with this fantastic world.
    Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2020
    10
    If you like old school, challenging point & click adventures of the 90's and cyberpunk themes don't miss this gem!
  8. May 17, 2020
    10
    Well, here we are. To be honest, I’m too lazy to write a review for each and every game I play, but sometimes, I feels like a I owe it to the developers for their hard works, especially for a just-3-nerds team like Theta Division. I can only imagine the humongous quantity of cruch-time needed to make this beauty. If you are a fan of old school lucasarts-like adventure game, stop readingWell, here we are. To be honest, I’m too lazy to write a review for each and every game I play, but sometimes, I feels like a I owe it to the developers for their hard works, especially for a just-3-nerds team like Theta Division. I can only imagine the humongous quantity of cruch-time needed to make this beauty. If you are a fan of old school lucasarts-like adventure game, stop reading and just buy the game. I mean, really, it’s one the best point & click game in decades. The pixelart and animations are mind blowing and the music alone would be worth the purchase. BUT BE AWARE MY FRIENDS! This is not some casual gamer **** that’s OLD SCHOOL. No running, sometimes you need to backtrack a little and some puzzle are really hard, but you can always solve it using your logic and lateral thinking. And when you solve it
    I T ‘S S O R E W A R D I N G .
    10/10 would plug my VR headset again
    Expand
  9. May 16, 2020
    6
    It's a decent enough game, but you do have to meet the "requirements": enjoy the pixel art, the music, and/or be a die hard purist point & click adventure fan, eager to play something. The game has nothing wrong in the gameplay department, plays like your traditional point & click. The pixel art is gorgeous, though YMMV, considering art is subjective. Same for the music. The puzzles areIt's a decent enough game, but you do have to meet the "requirements": enjoy the pixel art, the music, and/or be a die hard purist point & click adventure fan, eager to play something. The game has nothing wrong in the gameplay department, plays like your traditional point & click. The pixel art is gorgeous, though YMMV, considering art is subjective. Same for the music. The puzzles are bad. They don't feel organic and fluid, they don't serve the story in any way, there's way too much pixel hunting, backtracking and moon logic. I had to use a walkthrough because, seriously, in this day and age, with an adult life, I no longer feel like wasting more than 45 minutes trying to understand what the dev wanted me to do, to solve a puzzle. The main character is a terrible person, unrelateable, unlikable, terribly written. Just... one of the worst p&c protagonists ever. The story is OK, I guess, but the writing is definitely not great, and it really shows that the game's writer/director/composer is not a native English speaker, since some of the dialog borders on cringe-inducing. There's something to be had, here, just don't expect a high-quality cyberpunk story that will make you think about the usual topics of the genre. Expand
  10. May 17, 2020
    10
    Awesome Point & Click Adventure! Great Music and graphics!
    If you like any of the old classics, you definitely love th
  11. May 17, 2020
    10
    I'm about 30 minutes in...I've been playing in small bits because honestly, I don't feel like I should be allowed to enjoy such a finely crafted work of nostalgia in the year of 2020. Nice work MBR and the Theta Division team.
  12. May 17, 2020
    10
    This game is a beautiful journey into a not too distant cyberpunk future and I love every single bit of it, the graphics, the music, the classic LucasArt style humor. It has it all and does it well.
  13. May 17, 2020
    10
    This game is an amazing throwback to the golden age of point-and-click adventures. It's surprising, aesthetically pleasing and very rewarding.
    I've read some bad reviews about the puzzles and dialogue and I really don't get those people. The puzzles are real challenges but follow a clear logic and there are no WTF moments. And it's never punishing.
    Dialogues are enjoyable and well
    This game is an amazing throwback to the golden age of point-and-click adventures. It's surprising, aesthetically pleasing and very rewarding.
    I've read some bad reviews about the puzzles and dialogue and I really don't get those people. The puzzles are real challenges but follow a clear logic and there are no WTF moments. And it's never punishing.
    Dialogues are enjoyable and well translated, with tons of fun references.
    Totally recommended!
    Expand
  14. May 15, 2020
    1
    Awful puzzles, boring dialogue, no characters to speak of. Mostly unrewarding gameplay. Redeemed slightly by it's cool artstyle and music, but not enough to make this a fun game.
  15. May 17, 2020
    10
    A point and click game that looks and sounds like they did back in the golden days ! The gameplay and overall feel did take me back ! I really enjoyed the cyberpunk setting and all the references to all these things that made being shunned as a "geek" worth it back then. I really enjoyed the story, too. Puzzles can be a bit challenging if you're not thorough, aren't used to using yourA point and click game that looks and sounds like they did back in the golden days ! The gameplay and overall feel did take me back ! I really enjoyed the cyberpunk setting and all the references to all these things that made being shunned as a "geek" worth it back then. I really enjoyed the story, too. Puzzles can be a bit challenging if you're not thorough, aren't used to using your imagination, or simply are used to games holding your hand every step of the way... but that's how point & clicks were back then. Overall a fantastic experience ! Expand
  16. May 17, 2020
    10
    This games reminds me the golden age of P&C, when you had to look for strange pixels in the scene and talk to all mobs if you wanted to get through - and sometimes it was not enough though, you had to... well, think.
    Still, it is not just a sweet for nostalgic forties: the dark ambience, the geekiness level (sorry, we say nerd) at some points, the mixing between cultural references and the
    This games reminds me the golden age of P&C, when you had to look for strange pixels in the scene and talk to all mobs if you wanted to get through - and sometimes it was not enough though, you had to... well, think.
    Still, it is not just a sweet for nostalgic forties: the dark ambience, the geekiness level (sorry, we say nerd) at some points, the mixing between cultural references and the message(s) it holds make it far more complex than a Sam&Max or Rincewind's adventure - may their names be praised.
    I did not find it that hard, some puzzles are tough but you always have all the cards in hand. On top of that the facts that it was done by a team of three (!!!) among which we find MASTER BOOT RECORD makes it a strong hit for me.
    Expand
  17. May 17, 2020
    1
    Even the amazing visual of VirtuaVerse couldn't save this game.

    Came (and only) stayed for the graphics, repelled from the bland writing, and frustrating game design. Keeping it "old-school" is good and all, but that doesn't mean they should also include all the things that make the old point and click games bad either. It's very sad since I'm so ready to like this game. I really wanted
    Even the amazing visual of VirtuaVerse couldn't save this game.

    Came (and only) stayed for the graphics, repelled from the bland writing, and frustrating game design. Keeping it "old-school" is good and all, but that doesn't mean they should also include all the things that make the old point and click games bad either. It's very sad since I'm so ready to like this game. I really wanted to like this game.

    Gameplay-wise, this game ignores basic user experience in favor of so-called "nostalgia"; the pacing is excruciatingly slow, only to be halted by moon puzzles with hints that barely tell the player anything. All the backtracking and pixel hunting would've been acceptable, only if there is an easier way to travel in-between locations. The protagonist walks in a snail pace that makes you painfully aware of how much time you're wasting.

    Story-wise, it was mediocre. A collection of cyberpunk story tropes with a vague message of the danger of advanced technology. And dear god, the protagonist... is so unlikeable; Sociopathic, confusing, misguided sense of heroism, selfish, non-conformist, and arrogant. The game dialogues were sometimes come across as very corny, even juvenile.

    Overall, this game is full of style, but no depth. It was a game that first and foremost, made for the developers, then the audience second. The gameplay was stuck in a time period long past gone where it should've stayed. The story and characters are forgettable and sub-par at best. Only buy this game when it's on big discount.
    Expand
  18. Jun 5, 2020
    9
    loved this game its difficult at first but when you suss out what the hells happening and what you have to do thanks to the PalmPilot lol its good graphics story which I wont go into sorry...
    puzzles are ok and the gameplay characters are decent enough needed more of this to be honest
    the music is amazing as is the art cyberpunk to perfection story was enjoyable too and loved the nods
    loved this game its difficult at first but when you suss out what the hells happening and what you have to do thanks to the PalmPilot lol its good graphics story which I wont go into sorry...
    puzzles are ok and the gameplay characters are decent enough needed more of this to be honest
    the music is amazing as is the art cyberpunk to perfection story was enjoyable too and loved the nods to movies subtle but a nerd like me got em loved the feel of the game overall worth buying
    a must have for fans of the point and click genre like me
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jan 6, 2021
    60
    VirtuaVerse isn't all bad. It is a solid 10-plus hour plot that is a clear homage to some of the best portrayals of this dystopian vision of a futuristic world. There are a few nice set pieces here and there, and from a graphical standpoint, the visuals pop on the screen and are incredibly memorable. Likewise, the musical score compliments them ideally. However, this is an adventure that never gets off the ground thanks to lacklustre main characters, forgettable dialogue, and a clichéd plot. Worse still, the puzzling point-and-click adventure aspects of gameplay detract from the above more often than they enhance.
  2. Sep 13, 2020
    80
    VirtuaVerse is a great adventure game with very bright visual style. References to the hacker scene, classic adventures and literature should appeal to veterans, but modern players should not be disappointed either. It's a pity that the project filled with sharp dialogues does not have a localization in Russian, but the authors promise to improve in June this year.
  3. 60
    Submerse yourself in an incredible neo-punk environment for this point and click adventure that’s as frustrating as it is atmospheric, which is to say a lot.