Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Sep 23, 2019
    90
    With its creatively whimsical yet sincere approach, entertaining mechanics, memorable story, likable characters and vibrant world, Wandersong proves to be one of the most memorable and endearing games to come out of an independent studio in recent times.
  2. Oct 3, 2018
    90
    Wandersong teaches us that everybody can be a hero.
  3. Sep 27, 2018
    90
    From its grin-inducing highs to its tear-jerking lows, Wandersong is a magical and captivating game. It’s undoubtedly one of the best indie games out in 2018.
  4. Oct 24, 2018
    88
    I listened to Wandersong's soundtrack while writing this review, and I've been happily jiggling my leg throughout.
  5. Oct 22, 2018
    85
    Wandersong proves there are still many things no one has done in a video game before. Gameplay and story-wise is great, and even though the controls still need some tweaking, it’s a game you should try if you’re looking for something original.
  6. Oct 4, 2018
    78
    I have absolutely no complaints about the story: I only wish the gameplay always kept up with it. Frustrating moments often surfaced at bad times due to poor controls which made actually playing the game less of a fun experience, and I’d love to give this game a go on the Switch, where the singing goes smoother. Wandersong also feels a little long, not because the story gets boring, but because the puzzles can get a bit repetitive. However, the strength of Wandersong is such that these complaints feel pale in the face of the kind of relentless optimism that the bard has in spades.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Share this game with other people, if you can. Play together on a couch, passing a controller around and commenting on the story together. Wear your fluffiest pyjamas and make chamomile tea. Bring tissues as well. I hope you’re comfortable with crying in front of others, because you will shed a tear or two. I bawled at least four times. Five, if you count the trailer. But by the end, I wasn’t sad. I was just glad this game existed. [RPS Bestest Best]

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Sep 29, 2018
    9
    Absolutely perfect.

    There's however one thing that bothers me in this game and it's how the screen shakes constantly.
  2. Apr 1, 2019
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. The art style and music are really great. I absolutely adore its use of colours. However, the controls need tweaking. Although the game is best played with a controller, it is very easy to hit the wrong song notes with the analog stick. The puzzles are a bit repetitive at times, but it's not a big problem.

    The story is good, but a bit too short in my opinion, and I didn't like the ending as it was too abrupt. And the one thing that really bugged me was the treatment of Audrey. I think she is a very great complex character and I kind of agreed with her views too - if Eya asked her to kill all the Overseers and end the world and she followed Eya's words then why is she the "wrong" one and not Eya? Audrey is not worthy to be the "hero" but her viewpoints should be acknowledged and she did not deserve to be forgotten in the ending.

    And a rant about Eya. I can't stand her... She manipulated both the Bard and Audrey and didn't care about the Bard's feeling at all. When she was found to be working with Audrey she stopped to appear before the bard for a long time.. And when Audrey ditched her, she came to the Bard and said "I'm on your team now" I was like wow, how about no?
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 2, 2020
    10
    One of the greatest games I've ever played - I'm aware it has flaws (I speedrun the game, i should know) but it still earns a 10/10 as anOne of the greatest games I've ever played - I'm aware it has flaws (I speedrun the game, i should know) but it still earns a 10/10 as an essential experience for anyone who's ever played... a game. Anyone who's ever played games. Yeah. Full Review »