Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 50
  2. Negative: 2 out of 50
  1. Jul 25, 2019
    86
    MachineGames continues to raise the overall level of the Wolfenstein franchise, although it could have taken more advantage of the cooperative and there is excessive grinding.
  2. Jul 25, 2019
    85
    Wolfenstein: Youngblood delivers a terrific FPS experience, with a brand new cooperative gameplay and also a brand new approach to level design.
  3. Jul 25, 2019
    85
    Youngblood excels as an entertaining shooter with the right kind of RPG elements and choices. However, when compared to the stellar and shocking storytelling of previous Wolfensteins, this entry comes up short. It has a few interesting breadcrumbs about what happened in the aftermath of Wolfenstein II, including the fates of a couple characters, but this outing is mainly focused on the exploits of its dynamic duo. As far as protagonists go, Jess and Soph are likeable goofballs – a detour from their sad-sack papa – but they don’t have any real character development
  4. Jul 25, 2019
    84
    Being with a friend to face daily and weekly assignments, trying to raise the difficulty by touching inhuman vertices of pain, falling and trying again, repeating with the daughters of Blazko the family mantra ("the only good Nazi is a dead Nazi"), it could be a great pastime for these hot summer months.
  5. Aug 5, 2019
    80
    A fun and absolutely gorgeous co-op FPS with a rather lackluster story and single-player mode. Nevertheless, a solid choice for anyone looking for some quality co-op action.
  6. Jul 26, 2019
    80
    Youngblood offers a great gameplay loop that will likely keep FPS fans busy for a few dozen hours, even if it doesn't quite deliver in terms of character and world-building.
  7. Jul 25, 2019
    80
    The Blazkowicz sisters steal the show in a bite-sized co-op FPS spin-off that packs a hell of a punch, further invigorating the Wolfenstein franchise.
  8. Jul 25, 2019
    80
    Wolfenstein: Youngblood could be wrongly categorized as a "more of the same", but the many new features make it an indispensable title for fans of the series, even if these new mechanics aren’t without flaws.
  9. Jul 25, 2019
    80
    Despite some big changes to the overall formula, Wolfenstein: Youngblood remains another solid entry in a very reliable series. The strong shooting mechanics are accompanied by co-op, which makes things a bit easier and retains the fun of the first game. The lighter story tone may not be to everyone's tastes, but when you consider how dark the last game went, the shift isn't too drastic. The more open approach may break the enemy AI in a few instances, but the newfound freedom over more environments is a fair trade. Shooting fans will like Youngblood, and the appeal only increases when you consider the dearth of co-op games in the genre.
  10. Jul 25, 2019
    80
    Wolfenstein: Youngblood is a new concept for the franchise and the Arkane's hand touches the game design. Not all the innovations fit well with the formula, especially the RPG elements.
  11. Jul 25, 2019
    80
    Considering it’s ‘only’ a spin-off, this is a riotously fun and well-designed entry in the series - however, it’s built with co-op in mind. Solo play is viable, but play with a friend, and you’ll both have one of the best shooter experiences of the year so far.
  12. Jul 25, 2019
    80
    The usual Wolfenstein brilliance is here, and MachineGames have shown they’ve got a great handle on splattering fascists. They should be commended for being bold enough to take big risks here, and several of those risks have paid off, while those that haven’t only served to make the game a great deal weirder...Games as a medium would be better if risks like this were taken with more beloved games. It’s unlikely, with how expensive the whole AAA development scene is, but this is a glittering example of what can happen, despite its flaws.
  13. Jul 25, 2019
    80
    Wolfenstein Youngblood takes a different approach than previous Wolfenstein installments. Co-op instead of solo-adventuring and a bigger emphasis on exploring. Aside from some small hickups with stealth and enemies, it's a blast from beginning to end.
  14. Jul 25, 2019
    80
    Youngblood is adolescent in all the right ways, anarchic and ferocious on the surface with thoughtful design running underneath. Characters Jess and Soph are loud, goofy and annoying, but that’s exactly as they should be. Some of the writing is a little iffy, and you won’t find much in the way of nuanced storytelling, but to be honest it isn’t required. This a game about two young women blasting racists into goo – for me, that equals a bloody good time.
  15. Jul 25, 2019
    80
    Wolfenstein: Youngblood is a particular spin-off, which hybridizes the frenetic action of Machine Games shooting to a more open gdr structure, focusing all on the cooperative. Overall the operation was successful, and if you are aware of expecting a different experience than the one offered by all the other chapters of the brand, the purchase is absolutely recommended.
  16. Jul 25, 2019
    79
    Youngblood's gorgeous, terrible world is worth exploring, despite a slight narrative and oppressively boring progression systems.
  17. Jul 29, 2019
    75
    The arrival of the multiplayer as well as the possibility of enjoying the Wolfenstein experience with other players is overshadowed by some bad decisions related to the progression and rhythm of the game. What could have been good news for the franchise ends up being a step back in the quality of this saga.
  18. Jul 26, 2019
    75
    I have to praise for Arcane, the level design has really pleased me despite backtracking.
  19. Jul 31, 2019
    72
    Youngblood is a solid shooter just like its prequels but features co-op experience this time. Killing Nazis is as satisfying as usual, but the story is too dull to keep me engaged.
  20. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Oct 11, 2019
    70
    When Youngblood falls back to its linear roots, like in Bruder missions, it turns into a pretty good Wolfenstein game; but its open-world segments and RPG elements feel entirely out of place. [Issue#240, p.58]
  21. Aug 26, 2019
    70
    An interesting and entertaining attempt at bringing the main Wolfenstein series’ shooting mechanics into a co-op adventure that for the most part succeeds as long as you bring a friend. Solo play is disappointing but functional and fun times can be had regardless of how you play.
  22. Aug 19, 2019
    70
    Good job! Fun came roaring back to Wolfenstein, surprisingly through cooperative multiplayer, sandbox and RPG elements. All those new ideas don’t work perfectly, but they do enough for you to like them - especially in the company of a friend.
  23. Aug 12, 2019
    70
    Not the brightest representative of the Wolfenstein family, which, nevertheless, is able to entertain the less-demanding player. We are waiting for a real sequel.
  24. Jul 29, 2019
    70
    In the end Wolfenstein: Youngblood isn’t so much a misstep as it is a side-step, inessential but rewarding once you look past the confusion and simply take up arms and do that thing that this series does so well - kill and take-out entire squads of Nazi super soldiers in style. Now with an invitation that reads, plus one.
  25. Jul 26, 2019
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  26. Jul 26, 2019
    70
    Using everything Arkane can do in terms of level-design, Wolfenstein Youngblood offers an interesting new take on what’s a Wolfenstein game. But for a co-op game, it doesn’t have substantial co-op mechanics.
  27. Jul 26, 2019
    70
    The series returns with its incredible first-person shooting, wild gunfights, and a ton of Nazi killing. Unfortunately, that's about all it brings. The narrative is fairly shallow and it does little to add anything new while we wait for the next main Wolfenstein game.
  28. Jul 25, 2019
    70
    When all is said and done, and Nazi Germany’s ego has been bruised by a couple of rad teenage girls, one fact remains — Wolfenstein: Youngblood is fun as hell. The goofy Blazkowicz sisters make it compelling enough to endure its sometimes annoying quirks. Bring a partner for best results. The game shines when you’re playing co-op alongside a friend.
  29. Jul 25, 2019
    70
    Like Old Blood, it ditches the in depth story in favor of gunplay and carnage. The core gameplay simply outweighs the story by a large margin. Good graphics and gunplay can only carry your game so far. Fans of the series like it for the story, not the gameplay alone, and thus will likely be as disappointed as I was.
  30. Jul 25, 2019
    69
    Wolfenstein Youngblood looks great and has solid shooting mechanics, but misses the mark when it comes to the things that have become Wolfenstein’s greatest strengths. Without the wacky hijinx and startlingly engaging story of The New Colossus, Youngblood is a good co-op shooter that will struggle to stand out from the crowd. Strange design choices and repetitive quests try to bring it down further, but delicious good looks and flexible progression systems could make it attractive to the right suitor. And hey, killing Nazis never goes out of style.
  31. Aug 12, 2019
    65
    It breaks my heart a little to slap a relatively low score on this. Both The New Order and The New Colossus were fantastic reinventions of a venerated gaming franchise, delivering satisfying gunplay with surprisingly touching narrative hooks. Youngblood still has that great feel, it’s just wrapped up in a co-op focused bubble which detracts from the traditional flow of the game.
  32. Jul 29, 2019
    65
    With Youngblood, Machinegames clearly had a card to play by offering co-op alongside their excellent reboot of the Wolfenstein series. Unfortunately, this spin-off stumbles by proposing an adventure stretched to the maximum — the fault of a superficial leveling system that forces players to chain 'fetch' side quests in order to access the scripted content, which is then limited to just five missions. A few good gameplay ideas, a more open level design (thanks Arkane), and a reduced price prevent Wolfenstein: Youngblood from being a shipwreck.
  33. Jul 25, 2019
    65
    Wolfenstein: Youngblood is an aggressively okay co-op shooter that doesn’t come close to recapturing the joy of its predecessor’s action or its surprisingly interesting characters and story. It doesn’t completely fumble the joy of its weapons and abilities or counteract the pleasing sensation of squishing Nazis between your toes, but it does make it harder to enjoy at seemingly every turn with an out-of-place leveling system, busted stealth gameplay, some aggravating boss fights and inadequate checkpoint saves. Frankly, I expected more from the Blazkowicz twins.
  34. Sep 18, 2019
    60
    From a pure level design perspective, it’s a huge improvement over Wolfenstein 2. Unfortunately, it seems to have forgotten a lot of what made both New Order and The New Colossus such great games in the process.
  35. Aug 23, 2019
    60
    Wolfenstein Youngblood experiments with new ideas adding RPG, shooter-looter and open-world mechanics to a well-established formula, but ends up being a mixed bag. The gunplay, the graphics and the action are top-notch. On the other hand, the storytelling, the mission structure, its characters and the unpolished co-op gameplay fall short.
  36. Aug 20, 2019
    60
    Certainly Bethesda can make great games (Fallout 76 aside), and Machinegames has been at it for years, and I like what I’ve seen from Arkane, but Wolfenstein: Youngblood just feels lazy, playing off my desire for yet more of that Wolfenstein Nazi killing action flavor. And when my editor offered Youngblood to me, I was excited to play it. Yet somewhere between that excitement and what it actually plays like leaves me feeling like I’ve done it all before (and I have) better (which it has been).
  37. Jul 31, 2019
    60
    Wolfenstein: Youngblood disappoints because Wolfenstein 2 was much more than a good shooting game. Youngblood is not. Though there are enough moments where the fast gameplay impresses and the co-op entertains, the game disappoints in almost everything else.
  38. Jul 30, 2019
    60
    A few fun moments is too little to even say that I had fun. Wolfenstein: Youngblood is a bizarre hybrid - a rail shooter with grind and endgame reminiscent of open-world games. An RPG looter-shooter without loot or real rewards. The game fails to be good at any single element it offers, and a ton of games out there is better at all of them.
  39. Jul 29, 2019
    60
    Wolfenstein: Youngblood improves the series in key areas—namely in level design—but it doesn't capitalize enough on it being a co-op experience. Working with your sister is limited to pulling a switch at the same time, and not much else. You can split up in combat to confuse your enemies, but situations barely call for such finesse. At the very least, new characters Soph, Jess, and Abby all infuse a welcome goofy '80s adventure movie enthusiasm that makes Youngblood an entertaining romp through the world of Wolfenstein, with Nazis aplenty to eviscerate along the journey.
  40. Jul 29, 2019
    60
    Ripe for narrative potential, Wolfenstein: Youngblood is a brilliant concept overwrought with unnecessarily padded questing, turning a winning linear FPS formula into an ARPG grind fest.
  41. Jul 25, 2019
    60
    Maybe I just expected too much, but I find myself missing the careful balance of story and gameplay that The New Order had down pat. Youngblood makes plenty of strides forward for this series, but it also takes some steps backward that end up hurting the overall package.
  42. Aug 2, 2019
    58
    Wolfenstein: Youngblood is an adequate shooter, buried under a glut of unnecessary RPG elements and an obnoxious focus on cooperative play. Fans should look to the other games in the series to quench their thirst for straightforward Nazi killing.
  43. Sep 11, 2019
    55
    Detailed environments is the only thing that Youngblood inherited from its famous parents. The rest is just wild mess of ideas that the devs plucked from all their favorite first-person shooters.
  44. Aug 7, 2019
    55
    Wolfenstein: Youngblood takes one of my favorite FPS series and ruins it with repetitive grind, bloated FPS mechanics, a broken, mandatory co-op system and a frankly insulting story. Don’t touch this one with a ten foot pole.
  45. Jul 30, 2019
    55
    While Youngblood is a far more interesting idea than the ‘prequel with zombies‘ approach taken by The Old Blood, it still doesn’t have the “WOW” factor that makes the main entries so memorable, and the severe downgrade in protagonists doesn’t help. So while Wolfenstein: Youngblood is disappointing, it’s also just kinda there. At least it wasn’t so bad that it impacted my desire to play the next main entry in this series…
  46. Aug 14, 2019
    50
    Wolfenstein: Youngblood feels like a short co-op experience stretched out over a barebones RPG skeleton. It doesn’t feel comfortable in its own skin. It’s too thin in some parts while being bloated and lumpy in others. Whatever it is, I don’t really want to touch it. Ultimately, it’s just a disappointing sidestep in an otherwise fantastic franchise.
  47. Aug 5, 2019
    50
    I expected better from Wolfenstein: Youngblood. After loving the last three outings, I had every right to assume that, despite being something different, Youngblood was going to be a well made experiment to switch things up. I was expecting a gripping narrative, a likeable cast, and thrilling gameplay. What I got was pure disappointment on every level. The one positive I can give Wolfenstein: Youngblood is that the more open map designs (it is co-developed by Arkane Studios, of Dishonored fame) are a welcome addition to the series. Beyond that, I can only say I'm thankful that this retails at $29.99 instead of full price but even that lessens the disappointment only little.
  48. Aug 9, 2019
    45
    All in all, Wolfenstein: Young Blood is by far the most disappointing of the series, and it disappoints as a game in general. More so, if you’re a fan of the series, don’t force yourself to try it for the sake of nostalgia, as it has almost nothing “Wolfenstein-ish” left in it.
  49. Aug 5, 2019
    43
    If you're looking for combat, which I imagine most fans of a dystopian Nazi-killing game would be, look the other way. Likewise, if you're looking for a great co-op experience to try out with a friend, prepare yourself for disappointment. And if you do end up buying this game, for the love of all that is holy, please turn on your own music.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jul 25, 2019
    Buy it if you have an ideal co-op partner, want a simpler co-op alternative to MMO-like shooters, or just really, really like newer Wolfenstein games. Otherwise, proceed with caution.
  2. Jul 25, 2019
    This is a worthy entry in the Wolfenstein series. I hope that we get a lot more from these characters because they are so dang cool. And I hope the upgrade path continues to feel rewarding. We’ll see. [Impressions]
  3. Jul 25, 2019
    Wolfenstein: Youngblood is a brutal experience in a gorgeous even if small-sized Paris. Its gameplay brings something of contemporary open-world service as a game competitors in the Wolfenstein world, with interesting but debatable results.
  4. Aug 1, 2019
    Almost from the word go, it became painfully obvious that Wolfenstein Youngblood would not be the lady power fantasy I'd always dreamed of. And some design hitches with the open world and co-op make it difficult to see the new entry as anything more than a lukewarm experiment.
  5. Jul 26, 2019
    Youngblood might not become your favorite, but a lot of what I like about Wolfenstein remains intact. The environments are beautifully detailed, with tons of bastardized (Nazified) nods to ‘80s pop culture, including a hilarious knockoff of Prince that makes me laugh every time I see it. The story’s entertaining as well, and I plan to see it through to the end despite the bits I don’t love.
  6. Jul 25, 2019
    Youngblood is a meat-and-potatoes first-person shooter where all the systems work well, the enemies provide a brutal challenge, and a friend can come along with you through the whole thing. It seems like it was designed as a relatively inexpensive crowd-pleaser of an FPS, and I will admit that I was very entertained.
  7. Even if you don’t care about disjointed storytelling, repetitive levels or cringe-worthy jokes, I can’t recommend Youngblood. If you’re desperate to shoot bads with a bud, go play Borderlands, Destiny 2, or Far Cry flipping Five instead. MachineGames clearly felt the need to tread some water before Wolfenstein 3, but they damn near wind up drowning.
  8. Aug 12, 2019
    At eight hours, the campaign was solid and fun, but I wish there had been more to Youngblood — more story, more enemy diversity, and more customization options. Youngblood isn’t bad by any means, especially when you play with a friend, but it falls just short of the bar set by its predecessors.
  9. Jul 25, 2019
    Youngblood is more like a spinoff than a sequel, even if it takes place after the events of the last two games. It has a different structure, tells a different kind of story, and barely worth playing if you're not playing with a friend. And it's packaged in a way that encourages that. It costs only $30, though a $40 deluxe edition allows you to share the game with a friend who doesn't own it...But really, it's all just an excuse to violently kill more Nazis, and I'm not too good to say that it's enough for me.
User Score
2.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 798 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 798
  1. Jul 26, 2019
    0
    I do not recommend this game to any Wolfenstein fan or any player of any FPS game in general. There are several reasons to why that is.I do not recommend this game to any Wolfenstein fan or any player of any FPS game in general. There are several reasons to why that is. Microtransactions are present, health bars make the entire combat boring, the two main characters are so annoying whenever they talk, you'll feel like giving them a tight hug around their necks, graphics somehow look worse in cutscenes than during gameplay, and you'll get called an incel if you dislike this game, because disliking a game that has a female protagonist is sexist apparently. Full Review »
  2. Jul 26, 2019
    0
    I can't believe what they have done to this series! I was one of those stupid enough to buy it without reading any reviews. I was sure it willI can't believe what they have done to this series! I was one of those stupid enough to buy it without reading any reviews. I was sure it will be the same like Old Blood, New Order and New Colossus -> Outstanding single player experience with a great story and a nice campaign.

    You will not get any of it. It's a stupid coop open world loot shooter where you now can upgrade your weapons... Biggest disappointment ever. Be sure to buy in directly on steam to get a chance for a refund. If you liked the previous titles of this series, don't even consider to buy it!
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 27, 2019
    0
    Not sure what I just played. It has nothing to do with what I love about good old Wolfenstein.
    It has micro transactions, sponge bullet
    Not sure what I just played. It has nothing to do with what I love about good old Wolfenstein.
    It has micro transactions, sponge bullet enemies, terrible level design, abysmal save (or lack of) system and two caricatures as main characters. If this is a glimpse at the future of FPS gaming then its time for me to find another hobby. Very sad.
    Full Review »