Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Jul 2, 2014
    90
    Taking everything into consideration, it's safe to say that Xenonauts is a must play for any fan of turn based strategy games, as it is one that I'll be playing for some time to come.
  2. Jul 11, 2014
    86
    Whether you're a fan of the old X-COM/UFO games and you were not covered by the streamlined version of Firaxis either you adored the recent XCOM: EU and you are looking for something in the same style, but with more gameplay depth, then Xenonauts must go directly to your "to-buy-list".
  3. Aug 27, 2014
    85
    The X-Com sequel we all have been waiting for.
  4. Jul 6, 2014
    85
    Xenonauts is the best possible tribute to an evergreen masterpiece like the original X-Com.
  5. Jul 2, 2014
    85
    Many software houses tried to follow the path of X-Com. Goldhawk Interactive is the first one that managed to do it.
  6. Jun 27, 2014
    85
    While XCOM: Enemy Unknown (2012) is a modern twist on the game UFO: Enemy Unknown (1994), Xenonauts is an exact copy of the classic that was released in 1994 – and that, we're happy about! Although the game looks much simpler than XCOM in terms of graphics, by remaining faithful to the original it is a lot more challenging and profound than the XCOM reboot. Unfortunately, faithful also means that it contains few original features. Nevertheless, it is a strong turn-based strategy title that mainly evokes a lot of nostalgic feelings.
  7. Jun 23, 2014
    85
    With deep strategic systems, omnipresent dread, and clean turn-based combat, Xenonauts is a triumph of rebooted game design.
  8. Pelit (Finland)
    Jan 21, 2015
    84
    If you wish to dethrone the Eternal Emperor of computer gaming, you can't have gaping holes in your armor, and thanks to the repeating and completely flat terrains as well as some balancing issues, that's precisely what Xenonauts has. However, in many other ways this is the best UFO-game thus far and thanks to modability and an active community, we just might be witnessing the birth of a legend. [Jan 2015]
  9. Games Master UK
    Aug 24, 2014
    84
    A true X-COM successor, its tactical depth will engross anyone up for the challenge. [Oct 2014, p.72]
  10. Aug 6, 2014
    80
    The tactical squad-based combat is engaging and has plenty of depth, although there are moments when it also feels a little too long and the various human soldiers seem much too dumb to be the first line of defense against an alien invasion.
  11. Jul 17, 2014
    80
    An ode to the strategy genre and a tribute to UFO: Enemy Unknown, Xenonauts takes all the best characteristic from his spiritual father and makes some little and very much welcome changes.
  12. Jul 2, 2014
    80
    Xenonauts is an unlikely success, a challenging clone of a beloved classic with enough tweaks to entice fans and newcomers alike.
  13. Jun 20, 2014
    80
    Xenonauts is a faithful modernization of a classic. It retains the features that made X-COM such a tense and memorable game, with base invasions and a gigantic open-ended campaign of depth and freedom. If Firaxis' revamped take on the series felt a little too directed and linear for you, then Xenonauts is likely to delight.
  14. Jun 17, 2014
    80
    Mission accomplished for Xenonauts, who brings to the modern world all the refinement and gameplay depth of the original XCOM game.
  15. Aug 6, 2014
    78
    It may be the closest thing to X-COM: UFO Defense we’ve seen in 20 years, but its frustrations make it tougher to recommend than it should be.
  16. CD-Action
    Oct 22, 2014
    70
    A worthy tribute to UFO: Enemy Unknown/X-COM: UFO Defense, but far from perfect. If you feel that your inner hard core gamer is not dead yet, give it a try and have fun. [Sept 2014, p.64]
  17. Aug 27, 2014
    70
    Retro looks can only get you so far, and in the case of Xenonauts, the longer you play it, the more annoying things you discover. A primitive leveling up system (there are no classes or special abilities), contrived combat mechanics, a moth-eaten 2D engine that doesn’t know how to rotate or zoom. In the end, the strategic part becomes much more interesting than tactical battles.
  18. Aug 6, 2014
    70
    Xenonauts is, in the end, a remake of the original UFO: Enemy Unknown. It has this retro-feeling and an old-school complexity: enough to please those who didn't appreciate the (solid) 2K remake.
  19. Jul 3, 2014
    70
    Xenonauts knows exactly who its audience is, exactly what it's aiming for and, while it may never achieve a wider appeal, it will capture that audience in a very familiar act of alien abduction.
  20. Jun 25, 2014
    70
    A tough turn-based strategy game with first-rate AI and well-executed level-design that suffers from a number of tiny technical issues, map repeating and a research tree that is not branched enough. If you get over its problems, in company with Xenonauts you will enjoy plenty of hardcore entertainment, however, do not be expecting strategic nirvana.
  21. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Aug 25, 2014
    40
    The road to this borefest was paved by good intentions: building on a classic wasn't a bad idea, not improving on it is an opportunity sorely missed. [Issue#244]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 177
  1. Jun 16, 2014
    10
    Here we are, finally writing the proper review for this game. I've decided to wait for the final version before writing anything about itHere we are, finally writing the proper review for this game. I've decided to wait for the final version before writing anything about it because despite the long time it took to be finished, it really deserves to be evaluated in its final shape.

    First thing first, I must say there are lots of x-com remakes out there. Since I'm one of the few lucky players that have played (and loved, despite I was just a kid) the original series the time it was released, it is well-known that all later remakes never really succeed to reach the quality (or even the game type) of the original. X-Com: Enemy Unknown and its successors were a very complex but still very engaging type of game. None of the later versions was as deep as the old ones, and this is plain truth.

    Xenonauts is just another remake, but this time it is the right one. It is clear that the developers have vastly played the old series and have absorbed the real nature of it. Everything here is in place and working, something (aka aerial fights, just to tell one) is even better than the original, if it could be possible!

    Now that I'm grown up and I understand what tactics mean, playing this game make me desire to come back in time and play the old series the way I'm playing Xenonauts now. It's really a lot of fun. My love to the old series is even bigger now, thanks to Xenonauts and its incredible fidelity to the original game.

    The game itself is really well done, in mostly every aspect. It does give you the right sensation of alien invasion, it is really hard to manage every ufo in sight and succeed. Aerial fights are often quite difficult but entertaining (only con: waiting time during retreat). Ground combat is simply great, the AI is sufficiently smart to even surprise you, sometimes, and that's really appreciated for a game like this. Base management is quite intricate due to a menu system I really do not love that much, but it is still playable without great difficulty.

    For me is a plain 10/10 also considering it is and indie game. Absolute try for every fan of the old series.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 13, 2014
    0
    This is a truly awful game. After reading some of the reviews on here, I thought that it might not be that bad and in fact might be a goodThis is a truly awful game. After reading some of the reviews on here, I thought that it might not be that bad and in fact might be a good alternative to XCOM Enemy Unknown, but that is very incorrect.
    Cover system does not work
    Every turn is separated by a loading screen which displays only 1 image.
    Economy at a preschool level
    Extraordinarily Clunky UI
    A PDF for a tutorial
    Hidden enemy movement when INSIDE YOUR FIELD OF VIEW
    Graphics from Pokemon gold
    They should pay you to play this game (save your money!)
    Others...
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 14, 2014
    8
    It's definately the best classic x-com game remake. I don't realy consider FIraxis X-com as a true classical x-COM remake, that one is more ofIt's definately the best classic x-com game remake. I don't realy consider FIraxis X-com as a true classical x-COM remake, that one is more of a completely new game with just the story of the classic. Xenonauts on the other hand tries to update classical old x-com UFO unknown to better graphics, always stay faithfull to the feeling and vibe of it's roots and even tries to add something of its own to grow on the classical game.

    The developers realy had a lot of attention to keep the old vibe and never get too radical in changes, i understand that and i realy apreciate people realy respecting one of the best strategies game ever made, that many many companies tried to reproduce but always failed to recreate the feeling.

    Xenonauts can capture some of the initial x-com vibe, i'm very please with that. I don't give more of a score because the balance doesn't feel right sometimes. People keep losing countries to the aliens in times you can't even build a radar detection there, i believe the developers wanted to give us a feeling of urgency, but it feels realy fake like if a country will go dark in 2 months if you just don't go there and kill stuff... feels unnatural. The game does a good job of keeping random stuff happening in the world you can't control or do anything but losing a country very fast like they are sitting ducks just doesn't feel right.

    Other than that, the random maps are repetitive. There is a comunity mod you can download to add more variety but feels... cheap from the developers not doing that aswell.

    So basicaly two strong negative points, but realy gets you the feeling of nostalgia from x-com and a bunch of other good stuff in the strategy genre, totaly worth the price and feel the love (and respect / admiration) the devs had with x-com - A true homage.

    Recomended.
    Full Review »