• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Sep 24, 2001
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1091 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanielM
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    In my opinion, this is game of the year, all years. This game, is more then a game. It is so deep that almost every last little detail, from a wall's wallpaper, to a whisper that's just barely audible, and a radio's seemingly random burst of static, all has a profound and revealing reason to be there. I feel so bad that I read the ending before playing this game. If you In my opinion, this is game of the year, all years. This game, is more then a game. It is so deep that almost every last little detail, from a wall's wallpaper, to a whisper that's just barely audible, and a radio's seemingly random burst of static, all has a profound and revealing reason to be there. I feel so bad that I read the ending before playing this game. If you plan on buying this game, and this is your first non-spoiler review, please. Do not continue reading reviews, just buy it. Many reviews here have spoilers. I hope they make another Silent Hill as good as this one, and that next time, I can play through it with my knowladge of the plot inexistant. Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2011
    8
    Gameplay has never been SH's strongpoint.
    The combat is dodgy.
    And movement is whoozy. Yet ... The portagonist's are everyday people, do you expect them to be able to weild Mancini Shotgun's and go crazy? Sh's strongpoint is entirely thorugh story. James' is a complex tradgic soul. The first game realized the only worthwhile character from the first game was SH itself. The town gives of
    Gameplay has never been SH's strongpoint.
    The combat is dodgy.
    And movement is whoozy.

    Yet ... The portagonist's are everyday people, do you expect them to be able to weild Mancini Shotgun's and go crazy?

    Sh's strongpoint is entirely thorugh story.
    James' is a complex tradgic soul.
    The first game realized the only worthwhile character from the first game was SH itself.
    The town gives of the dread of being completley : ALONE.
    Even the monsters seem more like mechanics or clockworks than actual "Beings".

    If you wanted a game, you get to eat ****
    If you expected some of the best graphics on the system, you get to eat a feast.
    If you expected a brilliant atmosphere, brilliant characters, and a true horror experience, you get to eat a Big lovely footlong.
    Expand
  3. Feb 16, 2012
    8
    Silent hill has always had aging mechanics and obscure and downright plodding controls and action. What keeps me fixated is the story and atmosphere. Silent hill 2 is the pinnicle of the series. Although it's also a little too frustrating in it's world design, with too many corridors leading to corridors and large areas that loop into themselves. What makes this game mostly come past theseSilent hill has always had aging mechanics and obscure and downright plodding controls and action. What keeps me fixated is the story and atmosphere. Silent hill 2 is the pinnicle of the series. Although it's also a little too frustrating in it's world design, with too many corridors leading to corridors and large areas that loop into themselves. What makes this game mostly come past these aging obscure design traits is it's incredible mystery. When it was first released - this was a 10/10. Playing it today leads to a incredible sense of frustration however. Still - it IS the best silent hill game. Even if it has more gameplay warts than it's later cousins. Expand
  4. May 28, 2012
    7
    One of the scariest psychological thrillers of all time. This game was a masterpiece except for the control.
  5. ErikC.
    Oct 26, 2001
    10
    Silent Hill 2. Wow, what can I say? Much better then the first. I'm addicted to this game more then the first. Sometimes I have to put the controller down. It's like going down a spiral, it gets worse and worse as you go on getting more brutal and twisted as you go. I love it. It plays games with your mind. Hope there is a third one. I don't know if I can go on with out it.
  6. DebbieD.
    Jan 2, 2002
    10
    SCARY!
  7. ArtV
    Oct 5, 2008
    10
    My favorite game of all time. The graphics in the CG cutscenes were revolutionary at the time (it is now 2008 and I have just beaten SH: Homecoming). The best soundtrack of all time. The best story of all time (and I do not think that any other game will create the same emotions that this game stirs up EVER. Play this game with the lights off and pay attention to all cutscenes, notes and My favorite game of all time. The graphics in the CG cutscenes were revolutionary at the time (it is now 2008 and I have just beaten SH: Homecoming). The best soundtrack of all time. The best story of all time (and I do not think that any other game will create the same emotions that this game stirs up EVER. Play this game with the lights off and pay attention to all cutscenes, notes and surroundings for the best experience. I am a 22 year old male and I seriously almost cried at the end. The story IS THAT GOOD!!!!!! Expand
  8. Jul 18, 2016
    10
    Es una poesía gamer, el mejor Silent Hill y uno de los mejores juegos de todos los tiempos. Lleno de simbolismos y significados, invita al jugador a sacar sus propias conclusiones en vez de otorgar la historia en bandeja.
  9. JacobS.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    While the gameplay is a little meh (what do you expect from an old survival horror game) the story and atmosphere more than make up for it. It is by far the best of the Silent HIll series, with a truly unique and disturbing story. Team Silent is still trying to match it's glory, but have fallen short everytime.
  10. RuuddeBruut
    Nov 15, 2001
    10
    I didn't play it jet but it is now already a classic.
  11. ReidL.
    Dec 23, 2001
    10
    Silent Hill 2, one of the best games I have ever played, I beat it 12-22-01.
  12. Dan
    Jul 19, 2002
    10
    Not only does silent hill 2 have top of the line graphics, groundbreaking sound effects, and is a hell of a good time to play... it does something not many other games do. and that's tell a good story. a mindbending surrealistic exploration into the depths of a tortured mind, and probably one of the greatest dark love stories ever told. silent hill 2 is a disturbing, yet strangelyNot only does silent hill 2 have top of the line graphics, groundbreaking sound effects, and is a hell of a good time to play... it does something not many other games do. and that's tell a good story. a mindbending surrealistic exploration into the depths of a tortured mind, and probably one of the greatest dark love stories ever told. silent hill 2 is a disturbing, yet strangely moving experience. not many games can boast that. Expand
  13. [Anonymous]
    Nov 8, 2002
    10
    Mike, you don't even know what you're saying. are you sure you're a gamer who knows what kind of game you're looking at? silent hill 2 rates an 11 if you ask me and you rate a 1 in my book of gamers!
  14. JamesB.
    Dec 18, 2001
    10
    This game really takes advantage of the PS2's ability to create beautiful lighting and great looking characters. One of the best games for PS2. (also I'd like to say PS2 kicks ass!)
  15. Ryan
    Feb 13, 2002
    10
    Mike you suck for giveing the game a one unknown.
  16. JamesS.
    Feb 2, 2002
    9
    Silent Hill 2 is the most scariest, gruesome, mind-bending game I've ever played. There's just a few little problems which keeps it from being perfect.
  17. JohnL.
    Feb 11, 2002
    9
    If you like reading H.P. Lovecraft and get a kick from pondering the way human conscience works then this is the game for you. The story of James wandering around in Silent Hill in search of his wife will compel you onwards. The graphics and camera angles are eerie. The feelings that come to you as you bludgeon the nth monster that gets in your way are best unsaid. The only problem I If you like reading H.P. Lovecraft and get a kick from pondering the way human conscience works then this is the game for you. The story of James wandering around in Silent Hill in search of his wife will compel you onwards. The graphics and camera angles are eerie. The feelings that come to you as you bludgeon the nth monster that gets in your way are best unsaid. The only problem I found with this game was the combat. Depending on how much pressure you place on the attack key, James will do different attacks. This can let you down at the worst of times. Overall though a fantastic and disturbing game. Expand
  18. JustinW.
    Jan 4, 2002
    7
    Very good, but I was expecting a lot more from this game. I have a feeling they rushed a map and series together to make this game. If this game had been SH part one and SH 1 had been part 2 this series would have been spectacular.
  19. Piranha
    Nov 12, 2003
    10
    Creepy.
  20. BloodEmperor
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    My favourite silent hill game so far (4 is already out) the storyline, the atmosphere, the action, the horror.. the horror.. the horror... Ahem sorry. Silent hill 2 is a major step up from silent hill 1 which lets you run round an even larger area of silent hill than in any of the other games. The graphics arent as plush as SH3 but they are gritty and realistic (especially with the My favourite silent hill game so far (4 is already out) the storyline, the atmosphere, the action, the horror.. the horror.. the horror... Ahem sorry. Silent hill 2 is a major step up from silent hill 1 which lets you run round an even larger area of silent hill than in any of the other games. The graphics arent as plush as SH3 but they are gritty and realistic (especially with the 'noise effect' on) and the gameplay of this game is short of godly.. seriously Buy this game (silent hill 2 the directors cut is also out there if you look and it has a cool 'extra game' in it) Expand
  21. EDB
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    This is the game I bought a playstation 2 for. Resident evil stopped being scary long time ago. No comparison should be made between the two. SH2 is dark, scary, has tons of fear atmosphere. creatures are scary and different ( not just zombies zombies zombies...please stop with the zompies,) Also for you few dimwits who do not "get it" please do not compare this with army and stealth This is the game I bought a playstation 2 for. Resident evil stopped being scary long time ago. No comparison should be made between the two. SH2 is dark, scary, has tons of fear atmosphere. creatures are scary and different ( not just zombies zombies zombies...please stop with the zompies,) Also for you few dimwits who do not "get it" please do not compare this with army and stealth games. There is no comparison, When I want to watch a scary movie -do I got to the war section or the horror section at the video store? Let me break this down for you: If you want to play a scary horror game... Scary game = Silent Hill 2 ---Its a horror game When you want to play a stealth/war game... Stealth/War game= MGS its a stealth war game Please stop you dimwits who compare with MGS ..stop.... I love MGS but these are two different games. You miss the point of this game and if you cant broaden your gaming pleasures beyone stealth and army games then sit around playing those ..there are hundreds of those boring mindless things to choose from. This is an awesome game people -stop reading the graphics, control, etc bozos and buy the game for the atmosphere! Expand
  22. Andrew
    Apr 11, 2006
    10
    Without giving too much away, it will be hard for anyone to ever forget the sad tale of James Sunderland after they've played this game. Perhaps the most twisted and tragic story in gaming to date wraps up in a way that makes you think not just about right and wrong, love and hate, but also the way we as people face our demons or are destroyed by them. Not to be missed.
  23. SamC.
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Quite simply the best game I have ever played on any system. I've played every Resident Evil and every Silent Hill along with many other survival horror games and this has an edge on all of them. On top of the freaky enemies and outstanding settings that will disturb you to the point of sickness, this game has an outstanding plot that will mess with your mind and keep you wondering Quite simply the best game I have ever played on any system. I've played every Resident Evil and every Silent Hill along with many other survival horror games and this has an edge on all of them. On top of the freaky enemies and outstanding settings that will disturb you to the point of sickness, this game has an outstanding plot that will mess with your mind and keep you wondering until the end only to blow you away. If you play this late at night with the lights out and alone your guaranteed for a good eerie feeling. Expand
  24. Dante399L
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    This game is not just a game, it is something beyond that. It is a creative and a beautiful story which is told in the most brilliant way. Fans of horror stories will love this game; because it is a mixture of Stephen King's, Dean Koontz' and James Herbert's stories!
  25. ShawnP.
    Nov 18, 2001
    10
    This is truly a revolutionary game, it is unlike anything I've ever seen or played before. More addictive than heroin this it the greatest survival horror game of all time and not soon to be matched.
  26. RandyM
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    One of the best survival horror games ever. I STILL play this game, and it STILL scares me. The sound design is nothing short of pure genius.
  27. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    Silent Hill 2 is more then just a game. it is one of the last (and best) survival horror games. With a great storyline, legitimate scare, and of course Pyramid Head. How could you not get scared?
  28. Feb 1, 2016
    9
    Silent Hill 2 is just as good, if not better than the original. The gameplay is exactly the same as Silent Hill 1, but the graphics are massively improved, almost in the same way that MGS2 improved its graphics from MGS1. There are no pixelated character models, fully relying on detailed facial structures and weapons, same as in MGS2. The story changes protagonists from Harry Mason toSilent Hill 2 is just as good, if not better than the original. The gameplay is exactly the same as Silent Hill 1, but the graphics are massively improved, almost in the same way that MGS2 improved its graphics from MGS1. There are no pixelated character models, fully relying on detailed facial structures and weapons, same as in MGS2. The story changes protagonists from Harry Mason to James Sunderland, who receives a cryptic message from his dead wife, which leads him to Silent Hill. The majority of the game, you will be collecting weapons and ammo, and killing strange monsters, while searching for James' wife. Just like in Silent Hill 1, there are lots of scares and moments of insanity. Buy this game if you have not already. Expand
  29. Feb 21, 2016
    10
    still one of the best survival horror game ever made i always love to go through it each 3-4 years the soundtrack and the atmospheric feelings is OMG despite the confusion of the story but it was really deep and psychological i loved SH2 love story or should i call it hate story it will always be special for me
  30. Mar 9, 2016
    9
    I never resource to subjectivity when I give an opinion, but this is the right time to do so. You are free to think I'm an idiot and moron because I am saying something considering what I felt, not critic facts that would indeed build an opinion. Silent Hill 2 made me feel very depressed and guilty, I want to play it again, but I'm afraid my experience can be even worse (in the better wayI never resource to subjectivity when I give an opinion, but this is the right time to do so. You are free to think I'm an idiot and moron because I am saying something considering what I felt, not critic facts that would indeed build an opinion. Silent Hill 2 made me feel very depressed and guilty, I want to play it again, but I'm afraid my experience can be even worse (in the better way possible). If you are dating a girl and you are getting bored of her, play Silent Hill 2 and it will completely revitalize your relationship. Expand
  31. Aug 13, 2016
    10
    This was the first game I had ever played that made me genuinely uncomfortable whilst playing it. Everything about it rubs you the wrong way. I highly recommend for anyone looking for a true "scary" game.
  32. Mar 10, 2017
    10
    I took a while getting around to writing this review because I had to think long and hard about how I'm going to actually put my thoughts on it into the proper words. And I'm still not entirely certain I got it nailed.

    Silent Hill 2 is a masterpiece. It's a game that puts the psychological aspect of horror into the spotlight. The game isn't so much terrifying as, say, Amnesia is, where
    I took a while getting around to writing this review because I had to think long and hard about how I'm going to actually put my thoughts on it into the proper words. And I'm still not entirely certain I got it nailed.

    Silent Hill 2 is a masterpiece. It's a game that puts the psychological aspect of horror into the spotlight. The game isn't so much terrifying as, say, Amnesia is, where the horror comes from shambling monstrosities out to tear you limb from limb (though there is still plenty of that). Instead, the game focuses on the human element of horror. The game understands that nothing will really terrify us more than ourselves. The game delves into subjects like murder, illness, and even rape within the main characters, and the game handles the themes surprisingly well. The game could've very easily come off the wrong way and ended up offending the entire known universe, but instead it explores these subjects in a masterful way that leaves an emotional impact on the player. It's a game that makes you think, and if you let it take you in, it's an emotional roller coaster that becomes impossible to forget.

    Gameplay has never been Silent Hill's forte. The combat is sticky and unresponsive as always, but of course it should be. You shouldn't be a powerhouse with the murder capability of a COD protagonist. You're an ordinary man caught up in a nightmare he can't possibly understand. No, the story is where Silent Hill has it made, and by God the story here is so well presented and so beautifully written that I can't think of any game that excels it. Certainly some come close; BioShock or Red Dead Redemption, for instance, but none really hit the mark Silent Hill 2 did, even to this day.

    You are James Sunderland, a man who travels to Silent Hill in search of his late wife, from whom he received a mysterious letter telling him that she is waiting for him, despite her passing three years prior. Faced with this mystery, James explores the town and confronts darkness, both in the metaphorical and literal sense, and horror around every turn. The game's story centers around the characters themselves, with what they see representing their own psyche, all of which are damaged in some way. James himself is haunted by symbolic representations of his damaged psyche, the iconic Pyramid Head being the most pronounced; a monstrosity wielding a really big knife that should probably just be classified as a greatsword at this point to save confusion.

    The music and sound design is also absolutely phenomenal. The soundtrack by legendary composer Akira Yamaoka is just as iconic as everything else in the game, and the music instills the proper emotions at the perfect time, which melancholy strings at some points and industrial clunking and rattling in others. Everything about the game, from the environments to the music to the enemies, are meant to get under your skin and grab your heart and mind. Everything in the game has a purpose and is there for a story reason, these reasons you will uncover as you explore deeper and deeper into both the game and James as a person.

    The game is dark. VERY dark. Its themes are outright horrifying. But at the same time, that's what makes it all so brilliant. It explores these subjects, these HUMAN subjects, and through the characters crafts a beautifully realized narrative that really sticks with you. Though the game isn't jump scare scary or Slender-esque ooh, I'm gonna get you scary, I'd argue if you think about it, it's much, MUCH more terrifying than that. It explores very human subjects, things that actually happen in real life. It explores the depravity that humanity can go to and the effects such things have on their victims, or even their perpetrators. It's an emotional roller coaster, with highs and lows that can really drain you. I actually couldn't play the game any more than 15 minutes at a time on my first run because of how oppressive the atmosphere alone was, And then when the game went and took turns so grim and unexpected, they felt like shots to the heart, and by the end of it all I was so emotionally exhausted that I had to lie down for a bit and think about my own existence and that of humanity as a whole.

    The game really, REALLY stuck with me, the way very few other games ever manged since.

    There's a reason why Silent Hill 2 is widely regarded as one of the best, if not THE best survival horror game ever made, as well as ranking as one of the greatest games overall. It's a game that makes you think. It's a game that makes you dread yourself more than any of the shambling horrors around you. It's a game about the human condition, and through its masterfully told and symbolic story, it really gets you pondering things that most of us don't ever want to imagine thinking about, and THAT'S why it's one of the greatest games ever made.
    Expand
  33. Jun 16, 2017
    10
    Na minha opinião de critico foi o jogo que marcou sua época, melhor jogo do ano e sem duvida o mais emocionante com uma historia estupidamente perfeita.
  34. Nov 30, 2017
    10
    Have you ever played a game which made you feel depressed for a whole week? I have been wondering why I feel so depressed lately without any significant problem in my life whatsoever, but the answer was there right in front of me. It was Silent Hill 2 I have been playing for about an hour everyday after work lately. It doesn't really fit to the definition of "scary", but the use of sound,Have you ever played a game which made you feel depressed for a whole week? I have been wondering why I feel so depressed lately without any significant problem in my life whatsoever, but the answer was there right in front of me. It was Silent Hill 2 I have been playing for about an hour everyday after work lately. It doesn't really fit to the definition of "scary", but the use of sound, symbolism, graphics makes you feel almost suicidal.

    I really admire how some Japanese games can play with your emotions. Silent Hill 2 is a masterpiece.

    PS: I am also a fan of the original game. But you don't need to play Silent Hill 1 to enjoy the second game. Completely separate story.
    Expand
  35. Dec 9, 2019
    10
    Sin duda alguna uno de los mejores juegos de todos los tiempos, un precursor del genero del Survival Horror, Silent hill 2 es y será una obra maestra.
    El juego nos presenta a James Sunderland, un hombre que que recibe una misteriosa carta de su fallecida esposa pidiéndole que vaya a su reencuentro en una vieja habitación de el hotel en el misterioso pueblo de Silent Hill. Desde la premisa
    Sin duda alguna uno de los mejores juegos de todos los tiempos, un precursor del genero del Survival Horror, Silent hill 2 es y será una obra maestra.
    El juego nos presenta a James Sunderland, un hombre que que recibe una misteriosa carta de su fallecida esposa pidiéndole que vaya a su reencuentro en una vieja habitación de el hotel en el misterioso pueblo de Silent Hill. Desde la premisa notamos que esta no será una experiencia común y corriente a la que nos tiene acostumbrado muchas otra obras del mismo género.
    La introspección, psicología y personalidad del personaje es la materia prima que la trama y la narrativa utilizarán para contar esta historia, que va más allá de clichés y argumentos simples y que en realidad busca presentarnos una obra madura y llena de referencias al arte del terror y la filosofía humana.
    Hablar de aspectos técnicos termina siendo irrelevante en este juego, pero hay que resaltar el apartado gráfico que exprime al máximo su motor gráfico y en el caso de las consolas las lleva a utilizar todo su potencial.
    Si te interesa conocer más de la saga, este juego es el indicado ya que no guarda relación directa con la historia principal de la saga. Nada más que decir, espero los nuevos jugadores que van en busca de una historia que merezca la pena disfrutar se topen con este juego que no parece haber envejecido a pesar de que ya está cerca de cumplir los 20 años de existencia.
    Expand
  36. Jan 27, 2021
    10
    Meu segundo jogo favorito de todos os tempos, o melhor do gênero de terror / horror.
    A história e a trilha sonora são sensacionais, os pontos altos do jogo, com personagens intrigantes, bons puzzles, exploração etc... Vale muito a pena!
  37. Oct 31, 2010
    8
    Horribly good! But mature? Really??
    According to me, this game is just a little bit overrated. Especially its script. Just like in the first Silent Hill, the dialogues are still too poor to fit with the excellent quality of the production and the macabre fineness of the facial animations.
    Despite this point, Maria's face still haunts me after all these years...
  38. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing, but your not going to fully understand until you play through it. The reasons for it being good don't really translate well into text, and if you don't know about this game, then most of the things I could say would be far fetched. All you need to know is this game has something most horror games made today fail at achieving: great characters and atmosphere. The gameThis game is amazing, but your not going to fully understand until you play through it. The reasons for it being good don't really translate well into text, and if you don't know about this game, then most of the things I could say would be far fetched. All you need to know is this game has something most horror games made today fail at achieving: great characters and atmosphere. The game does a fantastic job of making people who are interesting and unique, and it makes the town so damn creepy that, no joke, I could only play it alone in the dark for about 2 hours at a time, because any longer than that would make my heart jump out of my chest and leave the room without me. If you haven't already played this game yet, I highly reccommend the HD remastered version, as they also got new voice actors to do the dialog again, and once you compare the 2, you will definitely notice a jump in quality from the original voices to the new ones. Plus, if you don't like the new voices, you have the option to have the old ones play, so no worries for hardcore fans. This game wants to scare you while making you think, and it succeeds. No flaws that aren't intentional, so no reduced score. A great cure for modern horror games, with the exception of Amnesia and Slender Expand
  39. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    The first time i made a review in this game a gave it a 8 but that was totally unfair and not right. This is one of my favorite survival horror games ever on the ps2, ps3 and even pc. So emotional and creepy in every aspect. Pyramid Head is the monster i most fear.
    Nothing more needs to be said, if you're an hardcore survival horror player that loves good plots your love this masterpiece
    The first time i made a review in this game a gave it a 8 but that was totally unfair and not right. This is one of my favorite survival horror games ever on the ps2, ps3 and even pc. So emotional and creepy in every aspect. Pyramid Head is the monster i most fear.
    Nothing more needs to be said, if you're an hardcore survival horror player that loves good plots your love this masterpiece of horror!
    Expand
  40. Feb 1, 2014
    6
    Silent Hill 2 is overrated; I'm not saying is bad but I don't think is the best survival horror ever or the best Silent Hill game to that matter. The story of James Sunderland's quest for the truth about his wife has heart, but is not has touching has Harry's search for his daughter, not the mention the passing is unfocused and characters that, while interesting, play no importance to ourSilent Hill 2 is overrated; I'm not saying is bad but I don't think is the best survival horror ever or the best Silent Hill game to that matter. The story of James Sunderland's quest for the truth about his wife has heart, but is not has touching has Harry's search for his daughter, not the mention the passing is unfocused and characters that, while interesting, play no importance to our protagonist's journey, is very distracting. Art direction is phenomenal, music is excellent and gameplay is well incorporated for a survival horror. Silent Hill 2 is a good fallow up and I'm glad I played it but is not the best game in the series and the praise it gets makes me call it one of the most overrated titles of all time... Expand
  41. Nov 24, 2012
    7
    Mind-blowing story and almost excellent graphics. The only bad point is the longevity, which is a problem of many other games.
    Overall, this is an optimal game.
  42. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    An absolute gem. One of the best survival horror games ever made. The atmosphere and story telling is (for the most part) still better than many games released today, I could not recommend it enough, even if the controls and graphically fidelity are a little archaic by today's standards, that shouldn't stop you from playing this near-perfect masterpiece.
  43. Jan 8, 2015
    10
    Honestly, this is the greatest game of all time. It's not overrated in the slightest and deserves every bit of praise it receives. People may dislike it, but if you dislike it... shut up about it and let the people who appreciate it love it. The mechanics are aging... but the story and the atmosphere remains just as chilling as they were the day this game was released. I really hope SilentHonestly, this is the greatest game of all time. It's not overrated in the slightest and deserves every bit of praise it receives. People may dislike it, but if you dislike it... shut up about it and let the people who appreciate it love it. The mechanics are aging... but the story and the atmosphere remains just as chilling as they were the day this game was released. I really hope Silent Hills stands up to this game, because at this point... I don't see how anything can top this. Expand
  44. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    I can see some people soiling this brilliant gem of a game with comments like "I didn't understand the story" or that the graphics weren't up to par, and it is understandable that SH fans might get angry over this, but to me, this is simply separating the chaff from the wheat, or creating an elite class of video game players, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. By getting these responses,I can see some people soiling this brilliant gem of a game with comments like "I didn't understand the story" or that the graphics weren't up to par, and it is understandable that SH fans might get angry over this, but to me, this is simply separating the chaff from the wheat, or creating an elite class of video game players, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. By getting these responses, the game is achieving what it should, by erasing the players who are not clever enough to unpick the story. a game shouldn't bow down to a moron for a sale, it should stand proud as something desirable to someone more *ahem* intellectual, in the same way that Killer 7 was ostracized for being a little bit original, although what it achieved was a masterpiece, it didn't sell because it wasn't HALO 2 and didn't apply to the wider audience. So if you didn't understand the story or something, and you thought it was boring, put the game on eBay and let someone who will enjoy it for the dark and intense story and atmosphere have a go, because this game is getting rare now, and you simply don't deserve to own it. Expand
  45. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    This story put Resident Evil's story-lines to shame. At certain points, you pretty much feel just like the character does. I've never sobbed so much due to a game, and for that, this get a perfect score, despite the fact that controls are awful.
  46. May 22, 2013
    10
    Despite having some of the worse combat in the history of gaming and a camera that freaks out from time to time it is never the less the best horror game to date and my favorite game.
  47. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    First game i ever played where i liked all the characters! And actually cared about what happens to them! The story is deep and most people may not get why James personal silent hill has bars and chains link fence everywhere (no spoilers look it up) You know a games good when even the atmosphere of the game ties into the characters inner suppressed feelings.10/10 most own stay far awayFirst game i ever played where i liked all the characters! And actually cared about what happens to them! The story is deep and most people may not get why James personal silent hill has bars and chains link fence everywhere (no spoilers look it up) You know a games good when even the atmosphere of the game ties into the characters inner suppressed feelings.10/10 most own stay far away from the 'clear' or 'cleaner' HD remake silent hill 2 is ment to be murky and foggy. Not to mention even the main terrifying enemy Pyramid head has a meaning (this one will surprise you for sure). Only negative is the game takes 12 hours to beat. I recommend playing it at night and reading all the dairy entries. Expand
  48. May 4, 2014
    10
    Simply the greatest,and scariest survival horror game ever. Not for the faint hearted mind, this game can make you feel suffocated and depressed, i first played this game in 2001 when i was just 14 and even now it still scary. Classic
  49. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    Best game ever. Best Silent Hill period. Best soundtrack. Best story. This game is the definition of perfect. The sub-par controls actually increase the tension factor of the game. I hear some people saying "you might as well run by all the monsters rather than fight", isn't that a good option to have?! If Silent Hill were real, I assure you, I would run through that town as well. TheBest game ever. Best Silent Hill period. Best soundtrack. Best story. This game is the definition of perfect. The sub-par controls actually increase the tension factor of the game. I hear some people saying "you might as well run by all the monsters rather than fight", isn't that a good option to have?! If Silent Hill were real, I assure you, I would run through that town as well. The story is ridiculously creepy and emotional. The characters are insane, and make you uneasy. Environments are stellar and fit right in with the whole package. I am a fan of all Silent Hill games, but this will never be trumped. My favorite game of all time. (and I have played plenty) Expand
  50. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    Okay the gameplay is average but this game is the best example that gameplay doesn't make a survival horror game good.The story is one of the best for a horror game.Graphics are very good for its time.Has very creepy environments and also good soundtracks.This is already enough for me to give this game a 10.
  51. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    It's not as freaky as the first Silent Hill, but it basically defines the franchise as a whole and what Silent Hill really is. It's a psychological hell that is different for everyone. The atmosphere in this Silent Hill is equally effective as it was in the first and the introduction of Pyramid Head is by far one of the most unexpected and horrifying monster appearances ever, and yet it'sIt's not as freaky as the first Silent Hill, but it basically defines the franchise as a whole and what Silent Hill really is. It's a psychological hell that is different for everyone. The atmosphere in this Silent Hill is equally effective as it was in the first and the introduction of Pyramid Head is by far one of the most unexpected and horrifying monster appearances ever, and yet it's also one of the most simple and subtle (this is before we see that he goes about raping monsters - which is also disturbing as hell). Then again, though it's all startling at points, this game is really subtle and is slow at points. It really eases you into the horror which helps make it a psychologically, disturbing success. Though this isn't a direct sequel to Silent Hill, it is a very important installment and shows that Team Silent know their horror - and Akira Yamaoka is the master of atmospheric sound editing and unsettling music, which is bizarre but beautiful at the same time. Expand
  52. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    This game, even though it is old by today's standards is one of the best games ever made. People complain that the game has sucky controls or its not action-y enough but that's not the point of survival horror games such as Silent Hill. They just don't make games like this anymore, this is a rare one with so much thought and detail put into every little thing. The story let alone isThis game, even though it is old by today's standards is one of the best games ever made. People complain that the game has sucky controls or its not action-y enough but that's not the point of survival horror games such as Silent Hill. They just don't make games like this anymore, this is a rare one with so much thought and detail put into every little thing. The story let alone is just enough to make you want to play it cause it goes so deep and into the mind of the player. Sure the controls are a little annoying and combats not so great throughout but it wouldn't get the same effect from players if it was changed. Let alone the different endings you receive based on how you treat you character and some other instances but you do get into the game. The 1st time i played it i was en-raveled by the story and just felt compelled to keep playing it until i found everything out and its just amazing at how much of a masterpiece this game really is. Hopefully someday a game like this will appear again and i shall wait until than, but for now this game is still one of the best, get it if you like this kind of game. Expand
  53. May 12, 2013
    10
    A top survival-horror has its profession to make itself very real, and yet this game is spectacularly unforgettable. If you think all survival-horror is crap as then play Silent Hill, ALL TIME best horror game NO QUESTION!
  54. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    This game tested my sanity. I had nightmares sometimes. It's that scary. This game uses lot of creepy environment, things that weren't there before, and terrifying looking enemies to scare you. While doing all this, it manages to keep the storyline well flowing. Highly recommended
  55. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    If you are going to play this game, get ready to be ruined forever on a majority of horror video games. This game does not go for the over-the-top thrills and the constant presence of visceral horror, but rather goes for an atmosphere of inescapable paranoia and disturbing visuals that are almost more horrifying after completing the game than during. In fact, it is the subdued nature ofIf you are going to play this game, get ready to be ruined forever on a majority of horror video games. This game does not go for the over-the-top thrills and the constant presence of visceral horror, but rather goes for an atmosphere of inescapable paranoia and disturbing visuals that are almost more horrifying after completing the game than during. In fact, it is the subdued nature of the game that makes it so horrifying, as very little of the game leaves a realistic (or at least as realistic as possible) setting. However, while you are being driven out of your mind by the static of the radio that tells you something is there when you cannot see it, the game tells a masterful story of stories, as the people (including the protagonist) all deal with the unspeakable things that have happened in their life, and their own terrible deeds that are even more haunting. The gameplay is also top-notch for a survival horror game, and in truth has better gameplay than many of the games that follow it (remember: the occasional awkwardness in the controls is intentional, since its purpose is to increase the feeling of helplessness in the disturbing setting). All this combines into a game that transcends game-generations, and makes it a timeless classic of this fading genre. Expand
  56. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    Probablemente el mejor Silent Hill de la serie, por su increible atmosfera e historia apasionante, hasta donde estarias dispuesto para encontrarte nuevamente con tu gran amor de tu vida si sabes que ella no esta en este mundo.
  57. Oct 24, 2020
    10
    This is the best game I've ever played, it has a very deep story, with wonderful characters that represents a lots of things, this game show as in a very implicit way the worst of the human race, and how some people can suffer for all their lives for others fault. Also the game is 100% enjoyable and it has you pending all the time
  58. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    This game is like no other when you compare it to other survival/horror games out there (maybe except Fatal Frame, Siren, etc...). The story becomes climatic, symbolisms are scattered throughout the game, the characterizations and atmosphere create an overwhelming sense of isolation. I could go on, but in short, a classic psycological experience meant to be played by all
  59. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    A truly epic survival horror game.10/10.... side note, the review from "Mike" who gave it a "1" is one of the most stupidest reviews Ive read of a game.
  60. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    The best game of all the history.
    rated M from MASTERPIECE.
    Silent Hill 2 is PERFECTION.
    Silent Hill 2 is the TRUE SURVIVAL HORROR.
    Silent Hill 2 is THE BEST GAME EVER.
  61. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    Hypnotic and haunting, "Silent Hill 2" represents the series at its very best. Players are cast in the role of James Sunderland, a widower who receives a cryptic letter from his late spouse, Mary. The letter instructs for him to go to their "special place" in Silent Hill. After he arrives, James meets a scared woman named Maria who physically resembles Mary. Together, they try to find theHypnotic and haunting, "Silent Hill 2" represents the series at its very best. Players are cast in the role of James Sunderland, a widower who receives a cryptic letter from his late spouse, Mary. The letter instructs for him to go to their "special place" in Silent Hill. After he arrives, James meets a scared woman named Maria who physically resembles Mary. Together, they try to find the person who sent the letter. Meanwhile, the town of Silent Hill sinks into a literal darkness, while its inhabitants increasingly act in all sorts of bizarre manners.

    "Silent Hill 2" is not a direct sequel to the original game. It contains a new cast of characters and a completely different story. And thanks to the graphical capabilities of the PS2, it is a visual powerhouse. The stark lighting effects and photo-realistic textures will often startle you. Gameplay-wise, "Silent Hill 2" resembles the first game but it also includes a few obscure puzzles that will rattle your brain. As a whole, SH 2 is a mind-bender. This is a psychological horror game that is every bit as trippy as the 1990 genre film "Jacob's Ladder".

    While it might be too slow for some, "Silent Hill 2" rewards dedicated players with killer moments of mystery and suspense. And once again, Akira Yamaoka's stirring score compliments the unique asthetic of the game. "Silent Hill 2" is an artistic, one-of-a-kind horror game that is a must play for fans of the genre.
    Expand
  62. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    Silent Hill 2 is literary genius embodied in a video-game. Symbolism plagues the town in this which game takes place, leaving story intensely convoluted and abstract. This in no way impairs the game though, but instead adds to the tension of the situation, And If are able to untangle the complex ideals that this intelligent game offers, you will be rewarded with story that parallels (andSilent Hill 2 is literary genius embodied in a video-game. Symbolism plagues the town in this which game takes place, leaving story intensely convoluted and abstract. This in no way impairs the game though, but instead adds to the tension of the situation, And If are able to untangle the complex ideals that this intelligent game offers, you will be rewarded with story that parallels (and in some cases surpasses) a novel. In general, Silent Hill 2 is BADASS!!! Expand
  63. May 4, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best Survival game ever. Consistent plot, fully emotional music by Akira Yamaoka, violent imagery, intense claustrophobic atmosphere. And Pyramid Head will never leave your dreams. Disturbingly awesome! Expand
  64. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    The absolute pinnacle of video game storytelling and storytelling in general. Never before has any work of art gripped me with it's story as much as this one. The gameplay is average but that compliments the gameplay wonderfully as your character is not a space marine, or an SAS commando, or 'the chosen one' he's an average man who has to come to terms with the horrible things he isThe absolute pinnacle of video game storytelling and storytelling in general. Never before has any work of art gripped me with it's story as much as this one. The gameplay is average but that compliments the gameplay wonderfully as your character is not a space marine, or an SAS commando, or 'the chosen one' he's an average man who has to come to terms with the horrible things he is responsible for.
    If storytelling in games is your thing then this is the only game you'll need.
    Expand
  65. May 30, 2012
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time, and has been for over a decade. In my book it's the holy grail of the horror genre, and is more than just a horror game. The story is also one of the most deep and emotional stories ever created in a game, and no matter how many times you play it, you'll still pick up on details you hadn't noticed before. I would steer clear of the HD collectionThis is my favorite game of all time, and has been for over a decade. In my book it's the holy grail of the horror genre, and is more than just a horror game. The story is also one of the most deep and emotional stories ever created in a game, and no matter how many times you play it, you'll still pick up on details you hadn't noticed before. I would steer clear of the HD collection though, it's not a very good rendition of the game. If you can track down a copy of the ps2 or xbox version, I would do that. Expand
  66. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    This game is totaly the best horror survival game of all time.All problems from the first game are now all fixed.The Control are perfect.The graphics are very good (for its time) and the storyline is so deep that you will cry even if you don't usually cry you don't have a chance it this game.This game is truly a masterpiece
  67. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    This is the most touching and greated game ive ever played. I love the game so much. The voice work is perfect, the graphics are perfect, the scare is perfect. Btw, @Mike... SHUT UP! Your rating this game bad cause its not as good as metal gear? WTF? Completely different game series, and metal gear is not even a horror title! OMG! You sir, are imbred.
  68. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    An absolute masterpiece about a man coming to terms with his past, and a great self-contained story that doesn't dwell on the at times opaque mythology or history of how Henry got there or why all this is happening in Silent Hill. It also contains beautiful/grotesque graphics (depending on your viewpoint) that really being across the worst of the human mind, as well as one of theAn absolute masterpiece about a man coming to terms with his past, and a great self-contained story that doesn't dwell on the at times opaque mythology or history of how Henry got there or why all this is happening in Silent Hill. It also contains beautiful/grotesque graphics (depending on your viewpoint) that really being across the worst of the human mind, as well as one of the greatest/most appropriate/unnerving soundtracks of all time, being one of the few experiences where the occasional use of silence brings across even more tension than any horror soundtrack. Expand
  69. Mar 29, 2012
    9
    This game is just a masterpiece in all aspect, sound, acting, story, characters, script, graphics, design, you should play it if you haven't already.
  70. May 7, 2013
    10
    Silent Hill 2 is the best horror game ever created. The whole game, the journey, the monsters are psychological introspection of the protagonist who has one of the best psychology dealt with in a game. With increasingly disturbing atmospheres, a sound scary puzzles and well made, Silent Hill 2 will make you live a nightmare but it will also move.
  71. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    In my restless dreams.... I mean in my opinion, this is THE BEST horror game of all time. SH2 is frighting, scary, pressing, sad and overall amazing horror game. This is psychological horror at it's best. The story becomes climatic, symbolisms are scattered throughout the game, the characterizations and atmosphere create an overwhelming sense of isolation. I could go on, but in short, aIn my restless dreams.... I mean in my opinion, this is THE BEST horror game of all time. SH2 is frighting, scary, pressing, sad and overall amazing horror game. This is psychological horror at it's best. The story becomes climatic, symbolisms are scattered throughout the game, the characterizations and atmosphere create an overwhelming sense of isolation. I could go on, but in short, a classic psychological experience meant to be played by all. Expand
  72. Jul 22, 2015
    5
    Silent Hill 2 has the best story a game has ever offered. I can honestly say that I have never cared as much about a games story as I have for Silent Hill 2's story. And I'm not much of a survivor horror fan, but this game knows how to make use the gameplay to perfection. Though, at times, I feel that the gameplay is the reason for why you will die, and that is my biggest problem with theSilent Hill 2 has the best story a game has ever offered. I can honestly say that I have never cared as much about a games story as I have for Silent Hill 2's story. And I'm not much of a survivor horror fan, but this game knows how to make use the gameplay to perfection. Though, at times, I feel that the gameplay is the reason for why you will die, and that is my biggest problem with the game. Look, the game is worth playing though once for it's story. But I can't go back to it. It is the right way to do a survival horror game, but the gameplay will keep me from playing it ever again. 5/10 Expand
  73. Oct 26, 2015
    6
    I've enjoyed all Silent Hills to a degree. This is the one I enjoyed the less.

    As usual, because this is an old era game I will not discuss graphics. Gameplay is as good as any silent hill out there, except it is too easy... I never got scared of dying... yeap, not once (I always set games to maximum difficulty from the start to get the full experience) Story is good, but not
    I've enjoyed all Silent Hills to a degree. This is the one I enjoyed the less.

    As usual, because this is an old era game I will not discuss graphics.

    Gameplay is as good as any silent hill out there, except it is too easy... I never got scared of dying... yeap, not once (I always set games to maximum difficulty from the start to get the full experience)

    Story is good, but not amazing. Also, it unfolds too late so you get the feeling of an "outstretched story".
    Also the game does little effort to inmerse you in silent hill... a thing that, done properly, it really gets your "what da **** is happening... I need more" mojo going, you know? After all Silent Hill is what horror games should be more about: atmosphere, fear factor, twisted psyques, suspense, mysteries. SH2 fails at creating suspense, the atmosphere is strong at first but loses intensity fast, there are no jump scares to trigger fear, but given there is no suspense you wouldn't jump even if there were some. The "crazyness" is well described of course... it's silent hill... even by mistake they would do it right anyway.

    Characters are bland as fu**, it's hard to relate with anyone there... from the bad guys to the good guys to anyone... I mean, to know what actually happens in James head is interesting, but the character himself is not... the secondary characters are totally whimsical and also seem to wander around silent hill almost unscathed, which, in my case, increases my disbilief and makes SH just a lonely town insted of hell's gate.

    Oh, and monster design. Most monsters were ugly, yes, but not scary ugly, but "weird" ugly, the only exception being of course Pyramid Head... Without pyramid head the game would go as down as 4 maybe...

    A mediocre SH in my opinion, but still a good horror game. You can never fail with SH
    Expand
  74. Jan 23, 2021
    0
    Average at best, but people are brainwashed into thinking this is the best videogame ever, so much so that they begged for more and then whined every time they got more.
  75. Dec 13, 2015
    4
    I don't know why, it just doesn't seem interesting to me at all. The story is not anything to get shocked with. It seems to me like just the one of the "better games" back in the time it was released. But I am not going to give this a good review just because it's one of the first good games. Because it is absolutely boring, voice acting sucks and the story just seems a bit exaggerated.I don't know why, it just doesn't seem interesting to me at all. The story is not anything to get shocked with. It seems to me like just the one of the "better games" back in the time it was released. But I am not going to give this a good review just because it's one of the first good games. Because it is absolutely boring, voice acting sucks and the story just seems a bit exaggerated. And fighting those monsters for all the time gets very not enjoyable. Expand
  76. Feb 1, 2018
    2
    Silent hill 1 was a childhood memory of mine, Then I decided to play the series starting with the first one again.

    The original game was amazing in every aspect. From story to the mechanics and game-play, events etc.. Then I made a bad decision of continuing right away, of course to finish the series was my intention. This game is just awful. Also the storyline which has no relation
    Silent hill 1 was a childhood memory of mine, Then I decided to play the series starting with the first one again.

    The original game was amazing in every aspect. From story to the mechanics and game-play, events etc..
    Then I made a bad decision of continuing right away, of course to finish the series was my intention.

    This game is just awful. Also the storyline which has no relation just to the first game, but the town itself. The context was stupid and made no sense most of the time. You control a retarded guy who doesn't know what to do and does retarded choices at encounter cinematics, after where you control him through a retarded camera that forcibly stays looking at the wrong direction from wrong spot all the time. You're going through a retarded storyline that makes you say "wtf just happened" or mostly "why did he say that" all the time and makes you cringe, and there is not a single storyline choice you can make during the playthrough. The game forces you to go wherever you'd make progress, but not any other place, unlike the exploration in the first game, in this one you're stuck to the linear gameplay despite how open it looks. This alone prevents you from getting lost and scared in the atmosphere. The same example applies also with the indoor maps. You could only get in some doors where important items lie, and just few others with ammo and health leaving the remaining %80 of the buildings as inaccessible cosmetics. Also at those ammo and health, etc. items the protagonist locks his looks as soon as possible all the time, like a starving dog, prevents you from exploring stuff properly and makes the gameplay more blatant. The "few" major places you go are bluntly filled with unnecessary stuff. Riddles were nice but some required selective real-life knowledge, which also ruined the game. and at the end, to where you can make your way using a single damn pistol, you can kill the games 3 most powerful creature with a couple of hit by the giant knife, which you obtain without any kind of sacrificial gameplay back then, and couple of heals would suffice. The intense sound and graphical atmosphere of SH1 was also gone, replaced by few stain textures here and there, and most terribly, random voices that naturally makes you question your surroundings expecting something, but no they're just there for sound effects. I couldn't even know what reality I was in all the time. it felt like a terrible filler-episode of a tv series.

    I was going to puke god dammit. IF anybody claims that this game was great, I'd suspect their mental health.
    Only good thing about this game was the quality of riddles, and non-butchered controls.
    Expand
  77. HerrT
    Mar 15, 2008
    6
    Most reviews of this game totally ignore the fact that the story is so obnoxiously poor that you lose interest in completing it. The first game took place in an actual town overrun by sinister forces; this game takes place in a guy's psyche, as he deals with his guilt for euthanizing his wife. You watch your sidekick in this adventure die a few times, each time she returns acting as Most reviews of this game totally ignore the fact that the story is so obnoxiously poor that you lose interest in completing it. The first game took place in an actual town overrun by sinister forces; this game takes place in a guy's psyche, as he deals with his guilt for euthanizing his wife. You watch your sidekick in this adventure die a few times, each time she returns acting as if nothing's wrong, and the game goes on, because it adds to the "dreamlike" setting. From this point on, the games don't really correlate to each other. I don't want to play some guy's dream. I don't want to make it to the end to find out it wasn't real, that it was all a dream, or that the protagonist is schizophrenic or whatever. It's stupid storytelling and Team Silent basically screwed up their chance of making the series remarkable starting with this entry. Expand
  78. Mike
    Jan 20, 2002
    1
    This was the worst game that I have ever played. When I read good reviews about this game I wonder if the other reviewers actually played silent hill 2. Coming off of metal gear solid 2 I was increadibly disapointed. Can someone even explain to me what created the monsters in silent hill 2. If you are playing it, just run from the monsters because it is not even worth killing them. I This was the worst game that I have ever played. When I read good reviews about this game I wonder if the other reviewers actually played silent hill 2. Coming off of metal gear solid 2 I was increadibly disapointed. Can someone even explain to me what created the monsters in silent hill 2. If you are playing it, just run from the monsters because it is not even worth killing them. I could not stand the graphics. If a chair was in front of a door you could not open it. In real life you would move the chair. If you swing with the pipe, instead of hitting the wall it goes right through it. Walking down the street at night all you could see was the yellow lines on the road...how could anyone call that good graphics. Anyone who thought this game was good go play metal gear solid 2...no comparison...not even a little...SILENT HILL 2 is the absolute worst. Graphics stink, control of the character stinks, I still don't understand the story....after finishing the game. Expand
  79. Aug 12, 2014
    0
    Falls extremely short of my expectations. Not bad, still scary, but nowhere near as scary as everybody makes it out to be. I'm extremely disappointed with it but it still has managed to get me to jump a few times. Wouldn't recommend it to any seasoned horror game/movie fan.
  80. PaulB.
    Jan 4, 2002
    4
    Bland to a certain degree, somewhat tiresome one might say, irratating say others, I say it is a safe homie!
  81. B.Will
    Dec 29, 2001
    2
    It's no fun at all. The time limit is too short, so it is almost impossible to get the feel for it.
  82. LamL
    Mar 8, 2009
    7
    The date is 2009. I have heard so many awesome things about this game. XPLAY and others have called it the #1 scary game of all time. I still try and go in with an open mind and self awareness. Months earlier I played SH: Homecoming and liked it enough callin it good but not really a next gen experience. Of course my 1st exposeure to SH was the 2006 film, which I think is brilliant. The The date is 2009. I have heard so many awesome things about this game. XPLAY and others have called it the #1 scary game of all time. I still try and go in with an open mind and self awareness. Months earlier I played SH: Homecoming and liked it enough callin it good but not really a next gen experience. Of course my 1st exposeure to SH was the 2006 film, which I think is brilliant. The fact is I was a little disappointed in this last gen game. It played exactly like SH: H except the controls were more clunky. I thought the fog was better, and the town seemed more believable than in SH:H. Really, this makes SH:H look worse in my eyes. But the experience never raised itself to something sublime. I'm aware if I played it in 2001 when it was released I probably would have given it at least a full point higher. But still, to a new gamer coming it to it for the first time today it kinda delivers underwhelmingly. Next Gen horror games I like are "F.E.A.R.," "The Darkness" (my favorite, and a review here on metacritic actually described it as a next gen 1st person SH- I agree), "Condemned 2," "Dead Space." I realized there is a lot of shooting in my favorites. Somebody, please make a horror game that's really really good but the emphasis is not on shooting. I'd be the 1st in line. Expand
  83. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    Silent Hill 2, with it's fogged atmosphere, terrifying creaks and sounds, the inner-workings of James' mind manifesting teach him a graphic and unforgettable lesson that literally shivers your spine as each minute passes by playing this horror-king of a game.
  84. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    It's a deepest game i played so far. OST is perfect, amazing characters design, beautiful CGI and saddest story. And after 10 years this game still in my heart.
  85. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    This game is nothing short of amazing. First off, it's mind-numbingly scary, due to its thick atmosphere and eerie soundtrack. Slowly making your way through tight corridors and fog-ridden streets, becomes both a pain and a pleasure. Secondly, the story is superb, both to people who only plow through the game once and don't give it much afterthought, and to those who look to decipher itThis game is nothing short of amazing. First off, it's mind-numbingly scary, due to its thick atmosphere and eerie soundtrack. Slowly making your way through tight corridors and fog-ridden streets, becomes both a pain and a pleasure. Secondly, the story is superb, both to people who only plow through the game once and don't give it much afterthought, and to those who look to decipher it even further. The only noteworthy drawbacks are the slightly tedious and repetitive boss fights, and the fact that there is too much ammunition available to you. Though, in the long haul, Silent Hill 2 is definitely worthy of a playthrough or two. Expand
  86. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    Those who reviewed this game negatively didn't understand what it is about. Saying the story Silent Hill 2 was bad because it was confusing and hard to understand or because it's psychological rather than "real" monsters or because it lacks action is like saying Pac-Man is stupid because you wanted to play Tetris. Sure, the controls are not the best and fighting is a pain in the assThose who reviewed this game negatively didn't understand what it is about. Saying the story Silent Hill 2 was bad because it was confusing and hard to understand or because it's psychological rather than "real" monsters or because it lacks action is like saying Pac-Man is stupid because you wanted to play Tetris. Sure, the controls are not the best and fighting is a pain in the ass (that's why I give it a 9 rather than 10). But Silent Hill is not about fighting, it's about inflicting fear, and if you know fighting will be hard, you don't want to meet monsters. It has one of the deepest stories ever in games and so much effort was put in the details. Each monster, every place represents an aspect of the protagonist's psyche. Even now, when the game is pretty old, I still get scared when playing it. And that's what it's about. Expand
  87. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    AMAZING. What an incredible experience. I love this game. Amazing storyline, fantastic characters, creepy, chilling atmosphere, timeless gameplay and world, never before has a game world drawn me in so much. What can I say that hasn't been said before. Definitely check this out if you're a fan.
  88. Sep 15, 2013
    9
    Absolutely fantastic. This has to be my favorite survival horror game so far.

    Graphics are great. Voice acting is improved on the original. Writing is just mind blowing. Silent Hill 2 takes everything it did in the first game and made it better in every regard, aside from combat (it still sucks, but is slightly better.) Overall: I really wish I could give this game more praise, but
    Absolutely fantastic. This has to be my favorite survival horror game so far.

    Graphics are great. Voice acting is improved on the original. Writing is just mind blowing. Silent Hill 2 takes everything it did in the first game and made it better in every regard, aside from combat (it still sucks, but is slightly better.)

    Overall:
    I really wish I could give this game more praise, but I can't. I enjoyed every minute of this game and found myself replaying it over and over just to see and discover everything. This is a fantastic game that belongs in everyones collection.

    Side note:
    BTW The original is better than the HD remake (hence, why I won't review it.)
    Expand
  89. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    An original Silent Hill fan here. Not having played this game until recently is my largest gaming mistake I ever made (never owned a PS2). I'd want to wipe my memory of it and go back in time when PS2 originally came out just to play it there and then. For now I'll have to settle in with what I've got (a PC port of it in 2013). Akira Yamaoka is surely one of the best game music composersAn original Silent Hill fan here. Not having played this game until recently is my largest gaming mistake I ever made (never owned a PS2). I'd want to wipe my memory of it and go back in time when PS2 originally came out just to play it there and then. For now I'll have to settle in with what I've got (a PC port of it in 2013). Akira Yamaoka is surely one of the best game music composers I've come across through gameplay. This game is a great example of what happens when a team (Team Silent) succeeds with 1st game and gets enough funding for a sequel while not losing their tempo. Something similar happened when Remedy released Max Payne 2, you could see what dedication with enough funding results in. Expand
  90. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    Wouldn't it be crazy if, like, a very good game had a sequel that actually lived up to it, in some ways even surpassed it, did a completely different thing from the first one plot-wise but still maintained its basis perfectly, which had an astounding art direction even for today's standards and with a great intricate yet not entirely open but deducible plot that despite having the mostWouldn't it be crazy if, like, a very good game had a sequel that actually lived up to it, in some ways even surpassed it, did a completely different thing from the first one plot-wise but still maintained its basis perfectly, which had an astounding art direction even for today's standards and with a great intricate yet not entirely open but deducible plot that despite having the most cliché premise of all time still managed to pull that off amazingly, which had puzzles that manage to not undermine the player's intelligence, had replay value, and had music as amazing as the first one but with added acoustic guitar goodness, and on top of it all the authors had moral standards about things such as natural acting for their voice actors and actually did quite some thinking and research in order to deliver the innovative psychological experience they wanted to deliver?

    Man, that would rock.
    Expand
  91. Jun 19, 2014
    10
    Una auténtica obra maestra del terror. Cuando Silent Hill parecía insuperable, llega esta segunda parte que sin ser mejor, sólo distinta, puso en una nueva órbita a la saga, creando toda una legión de acérrimos fanáticos enamorados del planteamiento. Su madurísima trama, los momentos impactantes e inolvidables, sus misteriosos personajes y el resultado final le han ganado un lugarUna auténtica obra maestra del terror. Cuando Silent Hill parecía insuperable, llega esta segunda parte que sin ser mejor, sólo distinta, puso en una nueva órbita a la saga, creando toda una legión de acérrimos fanáticos enamorados del planteamiento. Su madurísima trama, los momentos impactantes e inolvidables, sus misteriosos personajes y el resultado final le han ganado un lugar privilegiado en la historia del género junto a su hermano SH1. Expand
  92. Aug 4, 2016
    8
    Best SH game and one of the best in this genre overall.
    + intriguing plot
    + awesome level & game design
    + characters and their development is what making this game even great
    + outstanding music
    + decent puzzles

    - clunky controls
    - laughable boss fights
  93. Jan 27, 2021
    0
    ufff que juegazo de 10, tanto en soundtrack como en gameplay graficos e historia
  94. AnonymousMC
    Dec 30, 2001
    10
    i played the first one due to a friend telling me about it and i loved the scare lol. and i have just started the second one, and so far its scary to. interesting game,and hey if you love a scare , its the perfect game. wish there was a wallkthrough for it though. just to know its being played right.
  95. GrantZ
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    Silent Hill 2, is quite possibly one of the best horror's to grace the Playstation, creepy, tense and has good sound. However it's not as good as the original mainly because, the main protagonist is hateful. I cared about Harry Mason, he couldn't run right FGS, then James comes along, killing his own wife, and wondering why a massive man with a pyramid for a head and a huge Silent Hill 2, is quite possibly one of the best horror's to grace the Playstation, creepy, tense and has good sound. However it's not as good as the original mainly because, the main protagonist is hateful. I cared about Harry Mason, he couldn't run right FGS, then James comes along, killing his own wife, and wondering why a massive man with a pyramid for a head and a huge sword is coming after him. Still it's a pretty epic game, let-down by some graphical glitches, it was my entry into the series, and i love it still. Story is just tacky. BUT WOOOO, it introduced us to the infamous Pyramid Head. "Hello Nice To Meet You" I LOVE HIM. "MARRY ME PYRAMID HEAD!!!!". Expand
  96. MarcL.
    Sep 30, 2001
    7
    This is a good game. The graphics, sound and atmosphere are great. But I feel the first Silent Hill did a better job of conveying the feeling of fear. The characters and story were far more interesting in the first one. Still if you?re a fan of these types of games, then this is a must have.
  97. AndrewV.
    Oct 10, 2001
    10
    This was one of the scariest games I have ever played. The scenery itself sends a chill down my spine. This is a must get game.
  98. JayL.
    Sep 28, 2001
    9
    This is a great game. After playing Silent Hill 2, what was that other series... Resident something... haha.. it doesn't matter anyways. The Silent Hill series is here to stay.
  99. AndrewJ.
    Aug 1, 2003
    7
    This game has great improvement with graphics, but sems to lack the atmosphere that the first "Silent Hill" had.
  100. FinesM.
    Jan 5, 2002
    8
    It's a great game, but it needs better controller manuverability, but all in all its a great game.

Awards & Rankings

17
4
#4 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
6
#6 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. While Silent Hill 2 retains the same basic format of the original, the story is decidedly more coherent and the graphics have been upgraded immeasurably.
  2. 85
    Quite simply, mature PS2 owners craving a creepy game that's perfect for playing with the lights out and speakers cranked, pick up a copy of Silent Hill 2 and you will not be disappointed. Clean underwear not included.
  3. The game is one of the longer offerings Konami has offered on PS2 to date...[but] you'll still be left wanting more when the game is over.