Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 39
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 39
  3. Negative: 0 out of 39
Buy On
  1. 100
    Many will balk at the game because it doesn’t offer a million different models of car. Those who do are missing the point. Grid is all about the fun and excitement of the race. It’s racing with a capital ‘R’ minus the frustration. You won’t find a more fun racing game this year.
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    Like the powerhouse race thoroughbreds that populate it, GRID is an unrelenting ride that keeps rewarding you the harder you push it. [Aug 2008, p.64]
  3. Race Driver GRID is an immersing, addictive, exhilarating, beautiful and fun racing experience you can’t afford to miss, the best so far.
  4. If Colin McRae: DIRT was a sign of Codemasters regaining a foothold in the racing market, the latest Race Driver is evidence of the publisher taking full control. GRID makes the high points of its rivals feel like false dawns, and if what’s on offer here is a sign of things to come, we’re all in for a remarkable ride.
  5. Is GRID the next big thing in the automotive game genre? I think so. The game has incredible arcade form, and I think the Flashback feature is one of the best new ideas we've seen come from this genre in a long time.
  6. Series vets with fond memories of the Pro Race Driver/TOCA games on previous systems should pick this up immediately, and if you're unsure about it, there's a demo available for download that’ll give you a good idea as to how easily most of the cars can be controlled, but won't give you a very accurate view of just how many kinds of racing styles are represented in the full game.
  7. I'd definitely suggest picking up Grid though; it's a game that can appeal to a wide variety of racing aficionados out there.
  8. It essentially boils down to this: If you're a racing fan, arcade or simulation, you owe it to yourself to give GRID a try.
  9. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    GRID's jostling pack racing and slithery, varied events are almost entirely pure driving pleasure. And that's what it's all about. [June 2008, p.98]
  10. Race Driver: GRID is tearing up the tarmac this summer without a challenger in site.
  11. Although the drift racing is too dependant on the hand brake and I’d like more emotional investment in the cars in my garage (some tweaking would be nice, as would more of a sense of pride in each car I own), Grid is a shining example of how to make a fresh racing game that captures that age-old, fundamental desire to go screaming down the asphalt like a rubber-shredding, hell-bent maniac.
  12. Maxi Consolas (Portugal)
    90
    Fulfilling all the promises and expectations, Codemasters offers a high quality racing game. In fact, GRiD not only sets a new path for the historical Race Driver series, but also manages to keep the high quality standards usually accomplished by the company. [June 2008]
  13. While not all that innovative, the game brilliantly implements a race-saving instant replay function and incorporates a strong strategic element with its sponsor management.
  14. Edge Magazine
    90
    A scintillating racing experience, and as a revitalisation of the Race Driver series it's utterly successful. [July 2008, p.90]
  15. PSM3 Magazine UK
    90
    Action packed, content-heavy and very beautiful, GRID sets a new PS3 racing standard. [July 2008, p.76]
  16. The campaign structure, the selection of events and vehicles, even the damage modelling and Flashback systems are all of a piece, and all intended to achieve one goal – to keep you on the racetrack, pedal to the metal, chasing the win. After all, isn’t that what it’s all about?
  17. A brilliant, hugely enjoyable racer - certainly the best on the PS3 so far - and one that we reckon no fan of the genre can afford to miss. It's deep, involving, fun to drive and an absolute blast with mates.
  18. GRID has something for everyone, and is enjoyable by all racing fans. The visuals are great, the gameplay is frantic and the atmosphere oozes perfection.
  19. The complete racing package, Race Driver GRID is perfectly tuned to produce a fine balance between fun and realism. A large range of classes means the comparatively small number of cars does nothing to detract from the sense of scale.
  20. GRID is a must-own classic that begs to be played now and will continue to hold your interested throughout the year.
  21. AceGamez
    90
    This is the game of the summer and if you can look past its Achilles heel then you can change the overall score to the 10 that Race it really deserves.
  22. GRID offers up an enthralling experience of fast-paced action and realistic tendencies in order to create the perfect hybrid racing formula.
  23. Codemasters celebrates the racing circus with such enthusiasm that the gamer can’t resist. This game is surprisingly well done.
  24. 87
    There are plenty of other racing games on the market, but Grid captures the soul of the track like none other.
  25. 86
    GRID is the type of game that straddles the line between sim and arcade so well that it actually works on both levels.
  26. Play UK
    85
    Might not absorb and obsess you like "Gran Turismo," but for in-the-moment racing thrills it's right-on unbeatable. [Issue#167, p.94]
  27. GRID is a driving game that won’t disappoint speed fans, especially those who follow Codemasters games.
  28. All in all, Grid is a lot like candy, delicious in small doses, but too much could leave you feeling sick.
  29. GRID is a solid racing experience whether you like arcade style racing games or not.
  30. A solid racing game from Codemasters - certainly my favorite from them, to date. But in order to enjoy it, you will have to endure a rather steep curve in familiarizing yourself with the touchy controls.
  31. Both “x-treme” racing fans and racing aficionados alike will find something to enjoy, making it the possible Great Uniter of racing videogames.
  32. Grid is a classy arcade racing game, providing enough depth and variety to satisfy any fan of the genre.
  33. The Flashback feature is a splendid addition, which allows you to reverse time for a few seconds, despite having to use it sparingly.
  34. Grid won’t be for everyone, the handling is to blame for that, but Grid is far from stale and is exceptionally good at delivering wow moments, something that many other games in the genre fail to do.
  35. 80
    Purists may scoff at some of the on-road physics and the ability to play with time, but there aren't too many games that deliver as intense of a racing experience.
  36. 80
    Race Driver: GRID is an excellent game and one that any racing fan should pick up. It may not feature any Australian content but the gameplay is addictive and enjoyable and that's what matters most.
  37. Pelit (Finland)
    80
    Race Driver: Grid looks excellent and presents many interesting car classes. Still, bad A.I. and unbalanced physics engine that works for some cars and feels absolutely awful for some other of them, ruins the good potential. Grid is great entertainment at the beginning to show the potential of recently bought new generation console, but that's basicly everything it offers. No multiplayer game tested. [Aug 2008]
  38. 75
    It looks nice, moves at a good clip and you always feel like you’re able to control the car and know exactly when you lose your grip. The Flashback feature feels like something with a lot of promise and we can’t wait to see what the next racing game that rolls out of the garage at Codemasters will be like.
  39. 75
    Think of it as a racing fling, not asking you for any long-term commitment, and letting you walk away once you're finished so you can pursue something with more depth. Still, it's fun while it lasts.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 125
  2. Negative: 8 out of 125
  1. Dec 15, 2018
    3
    O jogo é mais um jogo genérico de corrida, porém mil vezes piorado, controles muito delicados, mecânica irritante,jogabilidade e iluminaçãoO jogo é mais um jogo genérico de corrida, porém mil vezes piorado, controles muito delicados, mecânica irritante,jogabilidade e iluminação exagerada a ponto de ser muito dramática. Não recomendo caso você seja impaciente como eu, você se sentirá muito irritado com a mecânica de destruição e com os controles delicados, que em certos pontos, fazem o carro girar mais que um Beyblade Full Review »
  2. Jun 26, 2018
    7
    Mix of simulation but mostly arcade. Car physics are a mix. Weird response of cars burning rubber. So when you turn on a hairpin You cant goMix of simulation but mostly arcade. Car physics are a mix. Weird response of cars burning rubber. So when you turn on a hairpin You cant go to fast. Your car will just spin around as if you hit mud or something slippery. Its one of the few games that has that. Its funny how cars that dont have much power yet they still spin even when i try getting back. I found a weird method of letting the acceleration whenever i turn so the car wont spin. I kinda liked the E brake because i can kinda drift in races but you cant do it for long because your car will spin. So the E brake in this game is as useful as eating a apple. It almost reminds me of Juiced 2. I like the events but limited vehicles. The drift is also not so inspiring. Not bad but not the best drift game many claim it to be. You can try to hold drifts (steering left and right is the way to hold drifts) you cant do that here so the physics are pretty off. So you are back at having your car to spin on these events too. It just feels a bit off especially on the faster drift cars. The game itself has a great concept and something i look forward to whenever i play. It makes its career somewhat unique from other racers from that era. Music in this game is almost non existing. The only time music plays in races is at the end if every series when you race a one on one. Even then the music for those special events is awful. I thought i was in a car chase which is off putting and akward ass hell. Its a solid racer but its not a 10 or a 8 for that matter. The game suffers from flaws no one has pointed out. The games sort of unique mechanic of instant replay is okay but relying on that for tiny crashes that can spin your car is annoying. You can be racing and lightly hit a car and your car just starts going crazy half the time ruining the whole race. If you like racing games i guess i can still recommend this but dont expect anything classic like Auto modellista or Nfs most wanted 2012 with great steering. Car damage is pretty good and does effects the cars performance. Okay. The AI is bad ass. They also make mistakes and I have seen some intense crashes from AI players making the game have some realism. It spots as a average racer. Not bad, not good but enough to get by the game. Full Review »
  3. Jan 30, 2017
    8
    Ótimo jogo de corrida...um simulador para ser aproveitado pelos amantes de carros e de corridas em circuitos...gráficos bonitos e jogabilidadeÓtimo jogo de corrida...um simulador para ser aproveitado pelos amantes de carros e de corridas em circuitos...gráficos bonitos e jogabilidade que beira a perfeição!!!! Full Review »