User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 181 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 181
  2. Negative: 87 out of 181
Watch Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 20, 2014
    8
    My first time playing through both of these survival-horror legends. A lot of the complaints you'll read on here about technical issues and whatnot have been fixed in the patch, and those review were written before it. Even though it still might be better to play the original PS2 versions, I think this is a great way to experience either for the first time. I know it was for me.

    Outside
    My first time playing through both of these survival-horror legends. A lot of the complaints you'll read on here about technical issues and whatnot have been fixed in the patch, and those review were written before it. Even though it still might be better to play the original PS2 versions, I think this is a great way to experience either for the first time. I know it was for me.

    Outside of the updated graphics and trophy support there isn't much new here. There are some light changes throughout to things like slight dialog differences or slightly different effects to the occasional scene, but these changes are rare. These are still very much the original horror experiences that have enchanted and frightened so many.

    Silent Hill 2 is widely regarded as one of, if not the, best horror game/games of all time. It's claustrophobic camera angles, dark story, and unparalleled atmosphere make for one memorable and often terrifying experience. It's filled wit unforgettable moments that are so shocking and scary that they are forever burned into my memory. Outside of the controls the gameplay experience holds up well. The puzzles are just as great as ever, and while the game emphasizes running over fighting, when you do have to fight the combat works well. Silent Hill 2 is nothing less than the scariest game I have ever played, and I absolutely love the inclusion of the "Born from a Wish" scenario. It captures all of the fear of the main game. Not all of its mechanics have aged well, but for any horror fanatic this is a must play. My total score for it is a 9.1/10.

    Silent Hill 3 stands out as being the only game in the Silent Hill series to have a plot that connects to another game in the series in a direct way. It ties in directly to the first and even manages to clear up that game's convoluted and confusing narrative while furthering it's own. It also features my personal favorite Silent Hill protagonist yet. It makes the best use of the new HD coat of paint, and often just looks gorgeous despite it's age. What gets me about 3 is that it's lacking some of the fear that the others are known for. It still has plenty of creepy moments and quite a few scary ones, but overall it lacks the tension and fear that was always present for me in the 1st, 2nd and, 4th games. In the world of horror movies there's a genre called "torture-porn." This genre is always filled with beautifully twisted, dark, and disgusting imagery, but for me often lacks fear. This is kind of like what Silent Hill 3 is for me most of the time.

    At times it can even feel like it's trying to be tongue-in-cheek. There is at times a self-aware sense of humor that flows, and protagonist Heather will just say some funny stuff throughout. Due to all of the references to the previous two games it also feels like it's paying homage. If you have a completed Silent Hill 2 save on memory (which only makes sense that you would play that one first in this collection) the game throws in some extra dialog if you examine certain memorable things from that game. All this talk about how it's not as scary might sound like I didn't enjoy SH 3, but on the contrary it's quite the opposite. It as a big step-up for the series thanks to it's streamlined and smoother gameplay experience, and it can still scare quite a bit. From a gameplay perspective it's a much more fun experience. It's got a larger emphasis on combat, the enemies themselves take on a much larger and more imposing look that in other SH games, and because of that there are a plethora of awesome weapons available (a freaking katana!!!). However given the flight over fight nature of the series it doesn't always work.

    SH 3 shows a lot of polish in a lot of areas. It can often be the bigger and dumber sequel of the series, but it's still filled with unforgettable and scary moments and keeps true to the series dark symbolism. It's more fun in a different way, and I think that's what they were going for here. I have a lot more to say about it here than I did for SH 2, and that's because I feel it's harder for me to get my point across about it. It's a great game and totally fitting of the SH series, even if it does take some different tones that make it feel unique. My total score for it is an 8.3/10.

    So there are my reviews for each individual game. They are both incredibly wonderful, scary, and memorable experiences that any horror fan needs to play. This HD collection is a fantastic way to do so. The only thing that could've made it better was if it came with SH's 1 and 4. My total score for the collection is an average on my individual scores for both games, and it comes out to an 8.7/10.
    Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2015
    10
    Gameplay is solid aside from the fps drops now and then, most bugs and issues have been dealt with by now. New voices are a significant improvement, the old voice actors were nearly as bad as early resident evil games. This game deserves an 8, but i will rate it a 10 because of the unfair rating pissed off ragers give it.
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    THIS REVIEW IS BASED ON THE PATCH AS I DID NOT BUY SILENT HILL HD COLLECTION DAY ONE!! That being said I didn't have many problems with this game like all the day one purchasers out there! So...first the good..the graphics:silent hill 2 graphics just plain sucks.it seems that hijinks skipped the work of making silent hill 2 look good!? Silent hill 3 on the other hand looks great betterTHIS REVIEW IS BASED ON THE PATCH AS I DID NOT BUY SILENT HILL HD COLLECTION DAY ONE!! That being said I didn't have many problems with this game like all the day one purchasers out there! So...first the good..the graphics:silent hill 2 graphics just plain sucks.it seems that hijinks skipped the work of making silent hill 2 look good!? Silent hill 3 on the other hand looks great better than when I first played it actually! Gameplay:as usual the gameplay(I.E. combat) is clumsy & frustrating but not in a bad way like downpour that forces you to turn into a total coward & run from basically ALL encounters.the clumsy combat represents how normal people would encounter horrible monsters so its not that bad once you figure that out. Story:silent hill 2 &3 are nearly unmatched when it comes to great story telling(including silent hill 1) as these games show how past developers actually went the extra mile to have players stay interested in the story! Its ESPECIALLY noticeable in silent hill 2 as James have the most engaging/enthralling story & unique experience while in silent hill(my opinion) as he suffers the most & unfortunately has a sad fate waiting in the end but heather's story is entertaining as well!! Characters:as stated previously these are two of the most interesting characters in the silent hill series(including Harry from silent hill 1) unlike Murphy in downpour who's an uninteresting douche bag devoid of any attention grabbing emotion or backstory!! Enemy design: as usual each protagonist has certain enemies that represents their fears in some way(James=pyramid head...heather=dark alessa) they are horribly disfigured & disgusting to look at unlike downpour who's enemy design look like humans in bad costumes...smh!! Fear factor: these classics remind me of the good old days of survival horror games that don't exist today. These games will scare you as you walk down music-less hallways only hearing the twisted howls & screams of unseen enemies! Once again this is something not seen or not done correctly by new generation games which is why these games are sorley needed today! Now for the bad:the controls are last gen(its fine with me) so new gen gamers might find it difficult to play. Combat: as stated earlier its clumsy but that's a good thing here it lets the players experience how normal people struggle againts demons from hell(purgatory?)frame rate/skips: while it isn't insanely constant like in downpour which happens every 7-12seconds in that steamy pile of a game it is present in this game but as stated its VERY playable.people complain about the fog effects/over all brightness but to be honest..its only possible to say that if you have two ps2's each playing sh 2-sh3 & a ps3 with sh2 hd-sh3hd playing side by side so I don't see the difference. All in all the good out weight the bad here & if your a true fan of silent hill 2 & 3 then you will pick up this priceless collection seeing how survival horror in this noob generation of gaming is all but dead!! 9/10 Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    Remember, this is MY personal review, and playing as of January 2013 (post patch) . I honestly think that this game is not AS bad as people are making out. If you are a fan of the original, then play this, you wont be disappointed, if you are a die hard fan and have played SH2 on the PS2 to death, then yes, you may find several flaws/changes that you are not happy with. Play the game onRemember, this is MY personal review, and playing as of January 2013 (post patch) . I honestly think that this game is not AS bad as people are making out. If you are a fan of the original, then play this, you wont be disappointed, if you are a die hard fan and have played SH2 on the PS2 to death, then yes, you may find several flaws/changes that you are not happy with. Play the game on original voices too, it makes the experience a lot better. Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    it's ridiculous how little time i spend on my new PS4 after buying this game. It is addicting as hell and with no doubt one of the most exiting series out there
  6. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    There are too many cry babies reviewing this game, i mean its not a remake of the game. Im sorry you spent your money on a great game geared towards true fans of the series, i would say that both of these games were great when they came out, and as an older player you can now appreciate great story telling that seems to be disappearing from gaming now a days. The only complaint i have isThere are too many cry babies reviewing this game, i mean its not a remake of the game. Im sorry you spent your money on a great game geared towards true fans of the series, i would say that both of these games were great when they came out, and as an older player you can now appreciate great story telling that seems to be disappearing from gaming now a days. The only complaint i have is that they did not include silent hill 1 in this collection. But alas it is a great throwback which many veteran players should enjoy...again and again and again. Expand
  7. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Konami invites us to relive the two best horror games of all time. With a strong graphics facelift, what better opportunity than this to re-feel the fear in our bodies. I do not understand and never understand the people who put 1 and 0 to remastering it in HD. There should vote only with the intent to harm and lower the note. These people already got enough with the note of SH Downpour,Konami invites us to relive the two best horror games of all time. With a strong graphics facelift, what better opportunity than this to re-feel the fear in our bodies. I do not understand and never understand the people who put 1 and 0 to remastering it in HD. There should vote only with the intent to harm and lower the note. These people already got enough with the note of SH Downpour, doing great harm to exit the game, and not so funny to see they want to do the same with this. In any case, I thank Konami for taking the top two installments of the saga, and turn them into HD. Thank you for this opportunity to feel the fear again, thanks for letting us go back to the streets of Silent Hill again. Who will be the first James or Heather? Expand
  8. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    I'm going to tell any readers out there who are genuinely interested in buying this HD Collection to NOT read the numbers for the user reviews on this sight. I have never seen a more concentrated mass of whimpering fan-boys since Micheal Bay said he was going to change the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles into Aliens (Except with that it is understandable). Throughout my play through of bothI'm going to tell any readers out there who are genuinely interested in buying this HD Collection to NOT read the numbers for the user reviews on this sight. I have never seen a more concentrated mass of whimpering fan-boys since Micheal Bay said he was going to change the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles into Aliens (Except with that it is understandable). Throughout my play through of both games, I ran into no game breaking bugs. The frame rate issues are mild and do not effect gameplay, and the lack of fog is unnoticeable unless you're looking at both versions at the same time. The lip syncing is the only real issue I had, but that is understandable since they had to rerecord for the new voices. Speaking of new voices, thie new cast in Silent Hill 3 does a fantastic job. Heather Morris's portrayal of Heather will be missed, but Douglas, Claudia, and even Vincent (who is one of my favorite characters in the series). Silent Hill 2 on the other hand is a bit more hit and miss. As far as normal conversations and the more straightforward scenes are concerned, the new voices are more natural sounding. But once the more intense scenes come along, the more natural sounding voices come across less threatening. The only exception to this is Angela's voice actress (whose name I can't remember), who started out a bit younger sounding, managed to get the unstable aspects of Angela's personality down. The biggest mess up is with Eddie, whose sudden snap is less drastic and less scary on the whole (that and he ruined one of my favorite lines in the game). I can't recommend one over the other, so go with what you prefer. As far as visuals are concerned, Silent Hill 2 was an early PS2 game, but is sure doesn't look like it now. The character models are still a bit weird looking(Seriously, am I the only one who thinks that Jame's in game model looks nothing like the one for the pre-rendered cutscenes?), but the environments, specifically wall textures in the various indoor levels look amazing for a port. Silent Hill 3 flat out looks like an early PS3 game at times, and the sharper textures make the otherworld more freakishly nasty than it has ever been before. This was obviously a labor of love for Konami, and I get the feeling that more money went into this HD Collection than Downpour. I love these games, and I'm glad I get to play them again, all shiny and **** Expand
  9. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    Got to step in and up the review score, I would rather buy amazing classic games that are worthy for my money and full of enjoyment over Friday releases that are now days a four hour exact same action packed dog turd for full retail price. If the HD post is soo noticeable to people then you need to wake up as I can't remember the last time I played a shooter that was enjoyable and not aGot to step in and up the review score, I would rather buy amazing classic games that are worthy for my money and full of enjoyment over Friday releases that are now days a four hour exact same action packed dog turd for full retail price. If the HD post is soo noticeable to people then you need to wake up as I can't remember the last time I played a shooter that was enjoyable and not a title rip-off from a rival game. The whole point I'm trying to make is I would rather play games like MGS HD/ Silent Hill HD etc etc over the hype train AAA let-downs. Might also add that the new silent hill downpour is next on my list. I used to buy anything on a Friday but now I stick to game series that I know I like. Eg. Resident evil (1,2&3) MGS (all) zelda (all) silent hill (all) final fantasy (8.9&10). Sorry to sidetrack but if it was out of buying endless DLC that should come with your game or a shooter that has nothing improved from its predecessor then please hand me the last-gen console anyday of the week! Let this be a lesson to 9/10 developers being lazy nowadays. The only true ones that try to bring new ideas to the table are Konami and Nintendo, if you disagree then please say with honesty that developers like capcom don't rip you off with games where you can't re-save, a ultra edition with an extra character, paying for a game ending, map packs, extra missions etc etc. I see this as a cash cow as if you take pride in your work then there should be nothing to add until the sequel. Preach over :) Expand
  10. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    I dont understand why people are hating on this. lately, it seems like gamers are becoming whiny little *******. these games were , and still are, the greatest horror games of all time, specifically 2.
  11. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    The epitomy of excellence. This collection features 2 psychological horror classics from the pioneering Silent Hill series, particularly Silent Hill 2 which stands as the best survival horror game period. These games alone are worth the price but when u throw in additional content as well as trophies that require u to playthrough the games to achieve various skill requirements, then its anThe epitomy of excellence. This collection features 2 psychological horror classics from the pioneering Silent Hill series, particularly Silent Hill 2 which stands as the best survival horror game period. These games alone are worth the price but when u throw in additional content as well as trophies that require u to playthrough the games to achieve various skill requirements, then its an absolute steal. The games look beautiful in HD graphics and add to an extremely unnerving experience. Put down ur Call of duty & immerse urself in the disturbing town that is Silent Hill. Expand
  12. Aug 4, 2016
    8
    My advice: play SH2 with Original voices
    Overall it's a must have for those who missed PS2 versions.
    Also, seems like latest patch fixed some brightness issues this edition had previously.
  13. Nov 15, 2018
    10
    Legendary game, play it, this game changed my life for good, all I have for this game is LOVE.
  14. Jul 9, 2016
    9
    Silent Hill 2 Review:

    Intro: Silent Hill 2 is a difficult game to write a review on. Silent Hill 2 might be mediocre in the gameplay department yet it has one of the greatest narratives in gaming history. Silent Hill 2 is a survival horror game developed by Team Silent and published by Konami. When Silent Hill 2 came out back in 2001 it was lauded by critics as one of the greatest
    Silent Hill 2 Review:

    Intro:
    Silent Hill 2 is a difficult game to write a review on. Silent Hill 2 might be mediocre in the gameplay department yet it has one of the greatest narratives in gaming history. Silent Hill 2 is a survival horror game developed by Team Silent and published by Konami. When Silent Hill 2 came out back in 2001 it was lauded by critics as one of the greatest video games of all time. The question today is whether this game still holds up. I am going to try and answer that question for you.

    Presentation:
    Overall Silent Hill 2’s graphics mostly hold up today. The CG in the game especially in the intro cutscene is expertly done and even looks photo-realistic even today. Some things in the game did not hold up as well such as the water effects and the look of some in game cutscenes. Silent Hill 2 focuses on a more dark rusty dilapidated scenes compared to Resident Evil’s original cartoony campy style. The game looks absolutely amazing especially in the original PS2 version. The game also features an amazing soundtrack that compliments the excellent visuals. The game features great ambient music that will bring a chill to your spine and sound effects that will make you uncomfortable. The only problem that I have with the presentation is the fact that if you are playing the HD version the game is far darker and harder to see compared to the PS2 version. In order to complete the HD version I had to turn up the brightness on my TV to a higher level which allowed me to see better but made the game look washed out. Silent Hill 2 by far has some the best atmospheric design I have ever seen in a video game. Overall Silent Hill 2 has excellent presentation excusing the HD collection.

    Story:
    Silent Hill 2 has one of the best narratives in gaming history. I will not spoil the story because the game is worth playing to experience this narrative alone. The story follows the main character James Sunderland who receives a mysterious letter sent by his dead wife beckoning him to the town of Silent Hill. The story does start out slow which is standard in the genre of psychological horror but picks up fast after the slow start. The game also features some of the best characters I have seen in a video game. The game also features multiple endings including two joke endings. I will not spoil the endings but it is by far one of the most emotional game endings in gaming history excusing the joke endings.

    Gameplay:
    Silent Hill 2 uses the traditional classic survival horror gameplay style. It uses clunky tank controls and simply combat. Unlike Resident Evil’s combat Silent Hill 2 features more melee weapons than long distance guns. The gameplay also features many puzzles. Many fans of the series enjoy the puzzles and gameplay but I feel that it is inadequate compared to the brilliant story and absorbing atmosphere. The gameplay gets very tiring and repetitive by the end of the game. Luckily, the game is not too long or short. Silent Hill 2 gameplay is just decent enough to make it pass this category.

    Technical:
    Silent Hill 2 suffers from extreme problems in the HD port the version I played. After checking videos on youtube comparing the footage from the original and HD the original is by far the better port which I would recommend. The HD port is marred by the lack of fog at key moments and off lighting which makes the game look too dark which made have to turn up the brightness on my TV. The HD port also suffers from extreme audio problems including missing sound effects sometimes distorted audio during CG cutscenes and and audio syncing problems which I experienced during a crucial moment of the game. The original port does not suffer from next to none technical problems but the HD port is another story.

    Overall:
    Silent Hill 2 would traditionally be considered a bad game but its story and presentation put it in a league of its own. I will giving the HD version and the PS2 version two different scores because I feel the technical problems with the HD port are too glaring. Silent 2 is worth more than the sum of its parts and Yes Silent Hill 2 stands the test of time.

    Original: 10 HD: 9
    Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. Jun 1, 2012
    70
    Silent Hill HD Collection proves a good way to experience two great horror classics that embody psychic fear and buried emotional pain like no others, with gruesome settings, monstrously imaginative enemies and a thousand creepy, dark hallways.
  2. PSM3 Magazine UK
    May 16, 2012
    78
    Combat is still a swingfest and puzzles can be frustrating. [June 2012, p.108]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 7, 2012
    70
    True evil never dies. It gets a decent facelift. [May 2012, p76]