Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
Buy On
  1. Nov 24, 2020
    70
    As the saying goes Assassin's Creed: Valhalla is a jack of all trades, master of none. The best moments in Valhalla are the most intimate, those that explore Eivor as a character, sitting by a campfire talking about life with one of her friends. The game has other intentions, and when it tries to tell all the possible stories, it ends up suffering.
  2. Nov 11, 2020
    70
    They may not be game-breaking, but the countless visual bugs of Assassin's Creed Valhalla really hold the experience back on PS4. They give the title an inescapable roughness, begging the question of whether it's meant to be played on PS5. That said, if you can look past the broken animations and often absurd glitches, you'll find an amazing Assassin's Creed game — arguably one of the best in the entire series. Its stories and characters are a whole cut above what's come before, while its open world feels refined and incredibly well realised. The condition that Valhalla has launched in is a terrible shame, but it's something that could, and should, be fixed.
  3. Nov 10, 2020
    70
    A vast and multi-faceted trip through a stylised Viking life, with a new fighting system, manifold mini-games and diversions, and untold glitches. It’s Assassin’s Creed to its core.
  4. Nov 9, 2020
    70
    With Assasin's Creed Valhalla, Ubisoft tries to synthesize a decade-long series, thanks to clever adjustments on its RPG rhythm. With a brilliant lightning, the game visually stands out, but sometimes fail to really follow on its technical part, with messy AI and way too many loading times which can break the momentum of the adventure. Rich, dense, but also time-consuming, Assassin's Creed Valhalla still offers a good run, thanks to its historical setting and beautiful landscapes.
  5. Nov 9, 2020
    70
    Assassin's Creed Valhalla is a game of binaries and an ambitious, striking effort, even if it doesn't always have the steadiest of feet. It's a good game, and even great at times, but it never quite manages to work out how to settle its past with its future.
  6. Nov 9, 2020
    65
    Assassin's Creed: Valhalla is a mostly solid, if somewhat unambitious, Assassin's Creed game that is dragged down by a shockingly poor PS4 release. I look forward to seeing how it runs on a PS5, but the last-gen version is hard to recommend due to the sheer amount of issues that I encountered while playing through the game. If you discount those issues, Valhalla would be a comfortable 8.0, but one can't just ignore those issues. Fans looking to continue the franchise's story should wait until Valhalla receives a series of patches or until they can pick up a next-gen version.
  7. Nov 16, 2020
    60
    Sadly, that string of hours, spent clambering up towers and defogging the map, bounding across the fields in a hopeful, happy loop, was the last of the fun on offer.
  8. Nov 9, 2020
    50
    Vikings may be a promising starting point, but Valhalla is aimless and bloated beyond recognition, making for a dull and par for the Norse installment in the franchise.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 13, 2020
    Despite these various issues, which I’m presuming (and hoping) will be fixed with a patch, Valhalla is a game I want to explore every single inch of and that’s something I didn’t entirely expect. It’s funny, sprawling but focused, varied but consistent and it’s probably the best Assassin’s Creed game to date. Even if I’ll need another lockdown to finish it...
  2. Nov 9, 2020
    The changes Valhalla brings to the franchise feel as great as a warm hearthfire during a cold winter night. The game’s developers have crafted a world that is wonderful to explore, that soaked up hours and hours of my day before I noticed It. The changes to how the game handles loot and questing, for example, make it a nicer experience to play. Overall, it feels a lot of care and thought went into making Valahalla feel less like a checklist of things to do and more like a world to organically experience.
  3. Nov 9, 2020
    We’ve been primarily reviewing the game on PlayStation 4, twiddling and tapping with our thumbs while patiently waiting for the ability to upgrade to the PlayStation 5 version of the game, but have also had access on Xbox Series X. While it looks as good as you’d expect from the recent series on PS4 Pro and performs nicely, there’s a healthy step forward for resolution and frame rate with the next-gen console. Load times are shorter, shrinking down to around 10 seconds of Eivor standing in a watery void, while the world is crisp and sharp at 4K and runs with a 60fps target. The only real blemishes are some light, but noticeable environmental pop-in, and ripples of screentearing down the screen that seem to occur more commonly during cutscenes, but can also happen during regular gameplay at times.
  4. Nov 9, 2020
    It’s a game of iteration and variation, one so similar to its predecessors but so different in execution that it has made an old franchise feel new again.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 20, 2020
    10
    Amazing game! i will support and play this game for years to come with all my heart. If you give it anything less than 7 go to hell. IAmazing game! i will support and play this game for years to come with all my heart. If you give it anything less than 7 go to hell. I wouldn't even talk with you in real life, you literally don't exist for me. I'm done with Ubisoft haters, forever. Full Review »
  2. Nov 21, 2020
    10
    Two beautifully crafted big maps full of secrets and enemies to fight against. It's fun.
  3. Nov 23, 2020
    10
    This is good, i mean it. But Far Cry 6 needs to be something completely new, they can't make another Far Cry 5, NO, because we already haveThis is good, i mean it. But Far Cry 6 needs to be something completely new, they can't make another Far Cry 5, NO, because we already have that game. It has to stand out, it has to be different, if it isn't, delay it already! And next wave of Ubisoft games needs to have complete re-invention in 2022-2023. Stuff like Prince of Persia remake with weak animations needs to be gone, forever. None of that anymore. Valhalla is first good step into the future of Ubisoft, it's really well done game, but now things need to go even further. Really DEEPLY focus on writing, Valhalla is good, go even more deep! Invest more into your products, you have good directors, give them all the freedom the need! I know you can make good stuff, you have done it past, you can do it again, i really believe it.
    I believe in you Ubisoft, because i have really liked some of your games (AC 4 Black Flag, AC Unity (after patches obviously), Far Cry 3 and even some Ghost Recon Games, even Watch Dogs 1 was good, even tho it wasn't perfect. I would hate to see you go down like this. What you did in 2019 is unforgivable, but every company messes up at times, In fact all your games have better writing than Fallout 4 or Fallout 76, not that it's good comparison, but just saying. But you need to take Rockstar as your inspiration and i feel, in a way you already do. That's good! Just focus on quality, fix more bugs before release and just do good games. That's all it takes. I'm so far loving Valhalla and i have high hopes for Far Cry 6 and future of Ubisoft, Please don't let me and all your fans down!
    Full Review »