User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 554 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 554
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2019
    0
    Troppo facile! Se ti piace solo creare il personaggio consiglio di scaricarsi la demo.
  2. Sep 28, 2019
    4
    Idk what the people rating this as 10 are playing as other than the character creation, this game is super average. The story is mediocre the combat is clunky and there is nothing special about this game. Rating this high just tells bandai that they can keep making mediocre games as long as they put in good customization.
  3. Sep 27, 2019
    0
    Эта работа слишком ужасна.
    Полный насилия, некачественных движений и некачественных карт
    Это фатальные ошибки, которые не могут быть исправлены обновлением, и сделает эту игру 0 очками.
  4. Sep 29, 2019
    0
    Just another poor "Demon's Souls" wanabe. Game badly designed, camera job is insanely bad and no sense for reward. I wish, that there was some kind of refund for such "games"
  5. Jan 29, 2020
    0
    PC gaming feels like a bad port from consoles. Small rooms for boss fights. Huge hitboxes. The remaining locations are tunnel. Fighting curve. You play from cinematics to cinematics.
  6. Sep 30, 2019
    1
    Boring, repetitive, a lot of money...
    I wouldn't recommend spending money on this game.
  7. Sep 27, 2019
    3
    Es para mi lo mismo que con god eater un concepto al cual le meten personajes anime y es un juego con buen lavado de cara pero en sustancia queda a deber
  8. Oct 21, 2019
    0
    literal soft hentai game that sexualizes Female characters but leaves Male character not sexualized at all with Female characters having skimpy clothes while nothing of that for Male characters that look like literal tooth picks, if you're going to sexualize one gender mind aswell do the same the other gender, sexist and hypocritical.
  9. Sep 30, 2019
    0
    I did not enjoy it the fights were not fun and I did not really like the story at all. I am happy people enjoyed it though.
  10. Oct 18, 2019
    3
    Level design is so bad - like a maze runner with enemies around every corner. No weight on impact. Was waiting for this game for over 2 years, omg such a let down. Could not even wait for the end, sold it and want to forget it. Biggest disappointment ever for me.
  11. Sep 30, 2019
    0
    It was like an energy drink started nice but went downhill from there and cost lots of $
  12. Sep 30, 2019
    0
    It was really bad. The combat and graphics do not feel like they belong in this generation.
  13. Oct 2, 2019
    0
    It should have been good I love souls games and ones like them but vein had 1 awful level you know which one guys and an atrocious camera I just could not recommend
  14. Oct 15, 2019
    0
    Just a **** dark souls clone that fails in every souls aspect. Nothing much to say about.
  15. Oct 17, 2019
    3
    the combat system is really bad. Don't make you feel in a battle like ds o sekiro, if it's a clone of them, i think the could put more effort in clone it competely.
  16. Oct 1, 2019
    0
    The character creator is great but everything else has been done much better in other games.
  17. Bht
    Oct 1, 2019
    0
    1st thing fan service and sexism are different. The fact you can create your own character is proof this is not sexist. But does that make it a good game.... no not really it may have been fun if I did not buy for full price.
  18. Sep 27, 2019
    0
    It existed and hurt me by its sexism. The combat is ok and the character creator is great but a game like this in 2019 is sad. I prefered the surge 2
  19. Sep 27, 2019
    0
    it terrible
    It existed and hurt me by its sexism. The combat is ok and the character creator is great but a game like this in 2019 is sad. I prefered the surge 2
  20. Oct 13, 2019
    0
    Das Spiel will ein Dark souls sein aber kommt an die Atmosphäre, Qualität oder an den Spiel Spaß nicht minimal ran.
    -Gebiete Linear. Unkreativ und Lieblos -Von Anfang bis Ende nur die gleichen Gegner
    -Sounds und Musik sind schlecht und wiederholen sich ständig
    -Lässt sich nicht so flüssig spielen wie Souls, Bloodborne oder Sekiro und wirkt sehr träge
  21. Dec 8, 2019
    1
    This game had me playing it until the very end. Although I was hooked, could I reccomend it? Not sure. Some of the level design is very lazy, copy and paste, everything looks the same. Some boss battles are just poorly balanced for all builds, and clearly needed more time in the oven. New game plus with enhanced enemies really brings out the glaring flaws in the combat system when facingThis game had me playing it until the very end. Although I was hooked, could I reccomend it? Not sure. Some of the level design is very lazy, copy and paste, everything looks the same. Some boss battles are just poorly balanced for all builds, and clearly needed more time in the oven. New game plus with enhanced enemies really brings out the glaring flaws in the combat system when facing bosses. Sometimes, they will be way too easy, not even dealing 1 bit of damage. Other times, a big weapon swing will kill you in 1 hit outside of your hitbox, with no chance of a dodge, along with your partner, meaning no revive. After many hours, I KNOW the makers of this game could do better with some aspects of this game. Interested to see what else they can do given more resources. I'd like to see more assets, and less recycling in the level design, along with better balancing with more QA tests. Also, Expand
  22. Dec 15, 2019
    4
    The game isnt bad, albit mediocre. But things go down hill after you access an area in the game (Cathedral of sacred Blood) the levels are more linear and annoying, mazes. The story just doesnt grip you at all, there is no hook that can capture a players attention. 60$ for this game is a steal, game re uses many assets, bosses arent memorable (Except the last 3). Weaponry and armorThe game isnt bad, albit mediocre. But things go down hill after you access an area in the game (Cathedral of sacred Blood) the levels are more linear and annoying, mazes. The story just doesnt grip you at all, there is no hook that can capture a players attention. 60$ for this game is a steal, game re uses many assets, bosses arent memorable (Except the last 3). Weaponry and armor (Bloodvails) arent that many and the blood vials just doesnt encourage fasion or a sense of style for the character. No, you must wear a bloodvail, most of them look edgy and gothic too. If the game was atleast 30-40$, i wouldnt be criticising the game this much. The NPCs tho, maybe thats my opinion, but most of them arent memorable. Theyre not unique or special, just your generic anime characters. Its not that hard or bad to use a different style that can have some sort of a memorable attention garbing NPC. At times, the game forces the NPC tagging along mechanic, i see it as an easy mode for those who arent familiar with the souls game, but placing millions of enemy waves in one position for you to face alone is indeed hard, but you arent forced to tag along an NPC, so ill give that a pass. Over-all, its not that much of a bad experience, but it left a sour taste in my mouth because this is not atleast a 50% souls game. Its entirly different, it has a mini-map, it has hints and a direction for you to head (quite opposite to Dark Souls). Expand
  23. Jul 17, 2020
    0
    After a game crash, I lost all the progress I played for the past two hours, including the walkthrough in two maps and two boss battles. I am pretty sure I activated all the mistles (checkpoints) on my way. It is puzzling to me that no data were saved.
  24. Jul 27, 2020
    3
    So far the worst "souls like" I've played. The combat is unbelievably clunky and unresponsive, even more so than the Surge or LotF. The bosses are extremely cheap, their moves and hit boxes are just all over the place. Take Guilded Hunter for example, the fight is an embodiment of playing Tekken with your 7yo relative, however much you try to actually play the game normally and do anySo far the worst "souls like" I've played. The combat is unbelievably clunky and unresponsive, even more so than the Surge or LotF. The bosses are extremely cheap, their moves and hit boxes are just all over the place. Take Guilded Hunter for example, the fight is an embodiment of playing Tekken with your 7yo relative, however much you try to actually play the game normally and do any moves and combos you will always succumb to the simple endless XXXXX button mashing. Or Uninvited Executioner or whatever her name is (I swear at least half the game's bosses are blue women in bikinis), you will definitely get hit by her "slow" debuff. You cannot avoid it because it is literally caused by all her attacks, and the debuff renders you basically immovable, well just why the hell? In every single other souls like game you can avoid debuffs with knowledge and reaction and there is not a single enemy I can recall that just mindlessly barrages you with endless spamming attacks non stop until you and your party are dead. And besides, the fact that in Code Vein your companions do half the work anyway, just drains any feeling of actual accomplishment of beating any of the bosses. The story parts and side stories are so flatly presented and edgy over the top, that I cant help but skip most of them, it really feels like an MMORPG where you just spam a button to skip all dialogue, it doesn't help that your character is fully mute again... I doubtfully waited for this to come down in price but now I'm regretting even the 20€ I finally paid for it, its just a cheaply thrown together souls clone and the "awesome" character creation is a scam as well, there is only like 7 different outfits total so like what.? I've completed all Fromsoft soulsborne games at least 3+ times each and completed every other soulslike game I've heard about thus far, and Code Vein is so far the most disapointing of them all. Expand
  25. Feb 1, 2021
    4
    Everything about this game is kinda bad, but not terrible. Bosses are spammy flailing annoyances, maps are samey and uninteresting, and difficulty is very uneven. But combat is often okay, exploration is fun enough, and having a permanent buddy helps. What really killed it for me was the story. It's uninteresting and pervasive.
  26. Jul 18, 2020
    0
    Good for - those that like a fun, challenging, action game with anime style. Possibly among the best looking anime games to date.
    Bad for- first time gamers or people who dont like anime art style and strategic games
    Similar games - dark souls, bloodborne Let me say as an individual who's played well over a thousand games. This is exactly another perfect example of how terrible "
    Good for - those that like a fun, challenging, action game with anime style. Possibly among the best looking anime games to date.
    Bad for- first time gamers or people who dont like anime art style and strategic games
    Similar games - dark souls, bloodborne
    Let me say as an individual who's played well over a thousand games. This is exactly another perfect example of how terrible " professional "critics are. Games like repeated CoD trash get great rating while this magnificent game gets knocked on. Now to my review, The character building is perfect, you can choose so many cosmetics. You can choose so many different armor types that tremendously impact gameplay. You can hide your armor (which actually looks great also) if you want only cosmetics. The character creation is amazing.Every character is so well designed you actually find yourself liking all of then. There is so much to do and you get an epic soundtrack as well. The story is well narrated and really thought out. You also have a chance to dive into everyones back story if you want.
    Expand
  27. May 15, 2020
    2
    То,что это игра souls-like её не оправдывает.Если вы фанат и скажите,что это неsouls-like,поздравляю,вы зарыли яму больше меня
    Как я уже и написал,это souls-like с аниме и уёбищный графон(я думал миадзаки делает ебалу в этом вопросе,но нашлись его ученики,превзошедшие учителя).
    Сама игра выглядит как кусок недоработки,как-будто я зашёл на creator gm и наставляю здание и вообще архетекуру
    То,что это игра souls-like её не оправдывает.Если вы фанат и скажите,что это неsouls-like,поздравляю,вы зарыли яму больше меня
    Как я уже и написал,это souls-like с аниме и уёбищный графон(я думал миадзаки делает ебалу в этом вопросе,но нашлись его ученики,превзошедшие учителя).
    Сама игра выглядит как кусок недоработки,как-будто я зашёл на creator gm и наставляю здание и вообще архетекуру просто так,шобы было.Спиженное замыливание при движение из ds2 это не спасает,а усугубляет.
    Story-line или lore-фикция,там это присуствует для пояснения ЗАЧЕМ ты пиздишься,а не РАДИ ЧЕГО,поверьте,дальше,по игре,это будет очевидно
    Интерфейс в стиле Forest или Rust-самое ебанутое что можно добавить,так они ещё и это спиздили ради улегчение(есть такое слово?не ебу)СВОЕЙ работы
    Намешивание 2 и 3д привели к тому,что контраст цветов не как не может нормально быть в балансе(постоянный пересвет,на гг цвет только один-два,не взависимости от локации,и т.д.
    Про геймплейные моменты затрагивать смысла нет,можно просто это назвать копиркой,но можно назвать её хорошой или плохой можно.Как вы поняли по оценке и посылу-я выбираю 2 вариант
    Цена-не заслуженно такая,за такого вида недоделки-шлака не превышают 2к рублей
    Плюсов я не нашёл.Либо копирка,либо плохо,либо супер-спорно(как к примеру:постоянные напарники)
    И ЭТО ОЦЕНКА,БЛЯТЬ НЕ ИЗ-ЗА ТОГО ЧТО ЭТО АНИМЭ,А ИЗ-ЗА ТОГО,ЧТО ЭТО ХУЙНЯ ВЫШЕ ЧИТАЕМ
    нахуй код вейн дум вечен ауе
    Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 69
  2. Negative: 2 out of 69
  1. Dec 2, 2019
    80
    Code Vein brings a few interesting additions to the recognizable souls-like formula. It's stylish, anime-like and has some cool moves & classes, and lets you bring an AI friend to keep you from feeling lonely while being really useful in combat. Well, most of the time. If you are itching for some quality souls-like experience, try this - it could be just what you were looking for.
  2. CD-Action
    Nov 25, 2019
    65
    Code Vein has its heart in the right place but I really wouldn’t want to spend my time playing stuff that have been already done better somewhere else. If a potential sequel finds its own identity, it would be an interesting addition to the genre. [13/2019, p.58]
  3. Oct 24, 2019
    50
    CODE VEIN is a vast disappointment, miles away from any of From Software's games, and the only thing to save is the blood code system which allows lots of freedom in the character customization.