User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 214 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 214
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Muito divertido, impressionante a fluidez do jogo,um jogo indie muito bom.. Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    Game diferenciado, encantador e tecnicamente bem elaborado. Uma ideia fascinante, de encher os olhos, uma obra de arte.
  3. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game from the shows I saw seemed to be an innovative idea.
    I wish this game success both in terms of feedbacks as well as sales.
    Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2019
    8
    Real contrasting, bright neon in gloomy scenery. Heard it was inspired by JSRF. Can totally see why with traversal platforming elements and decorating the levels with a palette of easy to use thematic tools. Easy to make a mural on basically any wall. Reminds me of the movie Coraline, but only a little.
  5. Oct 10, 2019
    5
    El juego pudo ser más, lamentablemente no llegó a un buen resultado principalmente por la poca ambición qué se tuvo
  6. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    Amazing game! Playstation with more greatness as this is a visual masterpiece and best use of HDR to date. Mechanics work really well and the story is brilliant.
  7. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    Why am I not surprised that salty fanboys who being praising this game if it was on their system are review bombing this title solely because it isn't.
  8. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    Very pretty and sweet experience. This It also has an extra VR Mode but you dont need VR to play the Game
  9. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    Ignore the salty Xbox and Gears of Sh*t 5 Fanboys, this Game is a charming experience and perfect if you just want ro relax and enjoy the visuals for a bit
  10. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    u Paying 30 dollar & get a nice game
    what u expect?
    go compare this game with sea of thives state of decay 2 crackdown 3 & u cost 60 dollar & meta is 50 60 lol
  11. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    You need more then 5 brain cells to enjoy an artistic Game like this, thats why Gears of Flop 5 Fans dislike it and give this Game bad Scores ¯_(ツ)_/¯
  12. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    Not even a day old at the time of writing this and it's already being review bombed by angry fanboys typical.
  13. Oct 10, 2019
    9
    There has not been a game that I have connected with and enjoyed is quite a while. Concrete Genie is a touching story, that makes you appreciate life and the little things. I loved the games world, the creatures, art style and music. The game gives you so much creative freedom and makes everything you do and make feel unique. To me, this is a steal at $30 with a VR mode included and is aThere has not been a game that I have connected with and enjoyed is quite a while. Concrete Genie is a touching story, that makes you appreciate life and the little things. I loved the games world, the creatures, art style and music. The game gives you so much creative freedom and makes everything you do and make feel unique. To me, this is a steal at $30 with a VR mode included and is a must play PlayStation exclusive and earns a spot in Sony's first party no doubt. Expand
  14. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    Beautiful story with fun an engaging gameplay they that wows with its truly wonderful visuals and art style. Another must have for any PlayStation fan.
  15. Oct 11, 2019
    9
    If I were to describe this game in one word it would be beautiful, but not just because the world is beautiful, not just because the painting creations come alive in such beautifully animated colours, but also because the story that accompanies it is beautiful as well. The game itself blends old school concepts like floating collectables, and platforming, with new ideas like creating yourIf I were to describe this game in one word it would be beautiful, but not just because the world is beautiful, not just because the painting creations come alive in such beautifully animated colours, but also because the story that accompanies it is beautiful as well. The game itself blends old school concepts like floating collectables, and platforming, with new ideas like creating your own genies that accompany you throughout the levels helping you solve puzzles. This game is very unique and I can guarantee you won't have played anything quite like it. At $30, this was never meant to be a fully fledged title and comes in at around 6-7 hours for the first playthrough, the mileage you get after that is dependent on how much you enjoyed exploring the world and painting the additional scenes. I feel like there is something really special here that if expanded into a full fledged AAA would be mind blowing and I really hope they make a sequel. Expand
  16. Oct 9, 2019
    10
    Jogo lindo demais

    fiquei apaixonado pelo universo e o gameplay, uma pena ser muito curto
  17. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    Jogo muito bom. Superou minhas expectativas! Trabalho de arte impecável! E narrativa e historia envolventes... pena que é um jogo com cerca de 6 horas. Ainda sim merece ser jogado! Parabéns aos desenvolvedores!
  18. Oct 11, 2019
    2
    Jogo de baixa produção, com comando amarrados e aparentemente feito para PSVR e adaptado de forma grotesca para os consoles sem precisar o uso do PSVR.
  19. Oct 9, 2019
    10
    This game has been flying under the radar since its announcement at 2017's October Paris Games Week. Yet another Sony exclusive! And boy what a fun time I've been having. It is a fantasticly original concept, creative and rewarding with a good story too.

    I won't go on here as spoilers abound, so all I'll say is I highly recommend this, especially at the great release price. I was between
    This game has been flying under the radar since its announcement at 2017's October Paris Games Week. Yet another Sony exclusive! And boy what a fun time I've been having. It is a fantasticly original concept, creative and rewarding with a good story too.

    I won't go on here as spoilers abound, so all I'll say is I highly recommend this, especially at the great release price.

    I was between a 9 or 10 but the fun originality wins it full marks. Not too many new concept games out there. And I absolutely love this. Bravo Pixel Opus
    Expand
  20. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    Una belleza de juego sin lugar a duda. Gráficos muy bonitos, buen gameplay e interesante historia.
  21. Oct 9, 2019
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fala galera Aki é ovelhinha, passando pra deixar minhas impressões e análise do game, foca na gostaria de criança com traumas de infância em diversas áreas da vida, as mesmas que tentao prejudicar o ahs, nosso personagem principal durante a gameplay,jogo bem legal, mais não é digno de uma nota verde, ótima narrativa,deixa a desejar na gameplay pra usuários que não tem VR,mais tem potênciau pra crescer sim, uma franquia que foi iniciada bem, minha nota é 65 Expand
  22. Oct 10, 2019
    8
    it's fun and has a unique idea what always good (did not play this in VR) .
  23. BMX
    Oct 9, 2019
    10
    Amazing game absolutely stunning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  24. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    This game its beautiful and fun like others games litte big planet and indies games
  25. Oct 10, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Game muito bom, uma ótima história, personagem cativante,e gráficos top, ainda estou jogando e não consigo parar Expand
  26. Oct 11, 2019
    10
    Everything about this game is beautiful the story the characters the animation everything
  27. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    Game is pretty unique with amazing animations. If you're into paintings and cartoonish style. Highly recommend.
  28. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    Beautiful game that lets you express your inner artist. Honestly a one of a kind experience with a heartfelt story and a unique gameplay mechanic. Do yourself a favor and pick this up. You won’t be sorry!
  29. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    What a masterpiece! I had my doubts, but I was completely blown away by this game!!!
  30. Oct 8, 2019
    8
    Игра приятная.
    Единичный продукт!Оригинальный геймплей и рисовка игрового мира.
    Видно сразу что всё это ручная работа.Разработчики креативны.
    Удачи им.
    От меня на эмоциях 10 баллов.
  31. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    This is a very beautiful game and fun, don't listen to all the negative reviews from the salty xbots review bombing this game. They're mad because they have no exclusives what so ever
  32. Oct 10, 2019
    4
    Queda solo en lo que prometió algo bonito, pero decepcionante. Quizá con algún contenido adicional alarguen su miserable vida.
  33. Oct 11, 2019
    10
    I was amazed at how beautiful this game was for only 30 euro..i enjoyed every single bit of it and even cried a little at the end. Must buy. And there is still some replay value for the trophies
  34. Oct 8, 2019
    0
    Strange game, meaningless and confusing. Art direction doesn't enchant. It looks like a game from the last generation and it doesn't get exciting. Another overrated Sony game
  35. Oct 10, 2019
    0
    Nego upvotando o jogo apenas porque é exclusivo. Diga não ao fanatismo, receba esse zero.
  36. Oct 8, 2019
    0
    The quality of PlayStation games is out the window. 4 hr game?? Horrible game please fix this
  37. Oct 8, 2019
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Concrete Genie’s painting tech impresses at first and its heart is certainly in the right place, but the game ultimately proves too aimless to support its already brief running time. Expand
  38. Oct 8, 2019
    0
    really a bad game, not cool, really easy. i can play it blinded.
    the puzzles are sooooo easy. incredible someone give 100 to this
  39. Oct 8, 2019
    0
    Monotonous, dull and shallow game. Very colorful but not exciting. Bad and locked gameplay. Game hyped by media only.
  40. Oct 8, 2019
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is an indie game so its garbage I wouldn't recommend buying it because indie games are never good Expand
  41. Oct 8, 2019
    0
    Mediocre and simple game, as if it had low budget. I found some bugs during gameplay. Mechanics very bad, story that does not excite. Another overrated Sony game
  42. Oct 8, 2019
    1
    Don't know where to start... Wanted to turn this garbage off 5 minutes into the game, it is that bad. Against my better judgement, I continued. Beat it already. I guess you can't expect a campaign the length of Gears 5 or Sea of Thieves when your game is $30 but geez. Not sure how returns work on this system but I'll sure be looking into it.
  43. Oct 14, 2019
    9
    Concrete Genie is a really beautifully crafted game with an amazing art style and soundtrack, as well as a simple yet touching story. You play as Ash, a young boy who loves to draw and paint. He wanders the streets of his old home, Denska, an abandoned town now only visited by misbehaving kids who bully him. Your goal in the game is to paint across all the walls in Denska which in turnConcrete Genie is a really beautifully crafted game with an amazing art style and soundtrack, as well as a simple yet touching story. You play as Ash, a young boy who loves to draw and paint. He wanders the streets of his old home, Denska, an abandoned town now only visited by misbehaving kids who bully him. Your goal in the game is to paint across all the walls in Denska which in turn will relight and bring the town back to life. You can also paint genies which come to life and help you along your journey throughout the game. The painting mechanic can get a bit repetitive but the game is short enough that it doesn't become too much of a bother. It really is a unique experience not like many other games. If you enjoy drawing/painting and exploring a world with a beautiful art style this game is for you. Expand
  44. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    Jogo ótimo, qualidade #Sonywins

    Chupem caixistas retardado que só tem pilhas e jogos velhos pra jogar
  45. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    A beautiful game, made by an amazingly talented team.
    Congratulations PixelOpus. This game is beautiful!
  46. Oct 15, 2019
    10
    Fantastic game. The light visual effects remind me of inFamous Second Son. Strongly recommend the game to anyone
  47. Oct 12, 2019
    9
    Muito bonito esse jogo só é pena o modo psvr ser só um bonus, devia ter mais
  48. Oct 13, 2019
    10
    Belleza de juego PS siempre imaginando y dando ventaja a un solo desarrollador jugadlo
  49. Oct 8, 2019
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. good game more with inaccurate controls can improve with updates weak story just now stuffing sausage Expand
  50. Oct 8, 2019
    10
    Outra grande surpresa dos estúdios da sony,muito carisma no personagem principal e dá para notar todo o carinho com que desenvolveram o game
  51. Oct 14, 2019
    10
    In the wake of so called AAA tripe being released (looking at you, Ubisoft). Concrete Genie is a charming and beautiful game unlike anything I have played previously.

    Yes it may be short but I enjoyed every minute I spent with the game and would recommend it to anybody and everybody.
  52. Oct 9, 2019
    10
    Game is beautiful, creative and stunning to play! The detail and small touches you can add to your paintings make it such an enjoyable and memorable experience for each and every new painting I conjure up next! I would definitely recommend this game and people should support it! Pixel Opus may be a small team and this game may not be for everyone or the next big AAA game but it's a gem inGame is beautiful, creative and stunning to play! The detail and small touches you can add to your paintings make it such an enjoyable and memorable experience for each and every new painting I conjure up next! I would definitely recommend this game and people should support it! Pixel Opus may be a small team and this game may not be for everyone or the next big AAA game but it's a gem in the rough. The game is fantastic and the developers put their heart and soul into this and it shows! Expand
  53. Oct 14, 2019
    10
    Happy little trees! I could easily spend hours in free paint making gorgeous landscapes that relax me. The sound effects, the 3d pop of the art from the walls. Its a perfect game for chilling after a long day.
  54. Oct 16, 2019
    10
    One of the best game of my life .. so beautiful , kind , cute and creative ! Also have a very good touching story . Thank you Sony for another masterpiece !!!
  55. Oct 18, 2019
    10
    After purchasing the game just a few days ago, I beat it and I couldn’t be any happier to express my thoughts in full with you.

    Without spoiling too much, I am amazed and enormously pleased with how fleshed out the story was. You play as Ash, a young boy who enjoys painting and after being harassed by the typical bully group, they disperse his drawings throughout the lakeside community
    After purchasing the game just a few days ago, I beat it and I couldn’t be any happier to express my thoughts in full with you.

    Without spoiling too much, I am amazed and enormously pleased with how fleshed out the story was. You play as Ash, a young boy who enjoys painting and after being harassed by the typical bully group, they disperse his drawings throughout the lakeside community of Denska, a local fishing area which has been abandoned due to the results of oil spills and competitive business, ruining the area. Ash has this desire to change the way people view Denska – which has since been overrun by this dark oily, ossified matter and of course teenaged delinquency that have trashed the village, and the goal is to spread light throughout the map basically through magic. This experience is incredibly rich and majestic, with vibrant colors that excite me with nothing ordinary of complete wonder. There’s a lot more hidden that really surprised me once I hit the 2nd to 3rd act of the story which brought out some intense and emotional feelings.

    Onto gameplay which I’m sure is one of the more important aspects to any game. I thought that it was refreshing and fun, quite honestly. There’s all sorts of tasks you can complete, from collectibles to wall painting objectives to finding different genie creatures that’ll help you take on different tasks. I suppose the more shocking moment of my entire experience was finding out that this game had platforming elements and a lot of it, and to my surprise, yet again; the platforming was very solid. I ran into hardly any technical issues jumping from one climbable asset to the next, which is a plus. Most Triple A Games aren’t able to compare to the level of quality demonstrated throughout this game and that’s saying something. To put it simply, the gameplay was fluid and felt like that from start to finish, with occasional, but less obvious frame dips, when it came to more intense parts of the game. As a whole, the gameplay was very fun and very rewarding.

    One thing many people tend to overlook in a game is the score, or the musical tunes that are present in it. I’m not like most people, though and I take into account everything there is that would be apart of a game, because it’s something that makes my experience more enjoyable. If I’m being truthful here, Concrete Genie has one of the best PlayStation Exclusive Tracks I have listened to in a long time, but my issue is that it isn’t a consistent one. You see, the musical underscore is there. When you print a design of an apple, or a tree, or a campfire on a wall, a tune will play, subtly, maybe even several times; which reinforces how beautiful the game is. Sadly, however, the score isn’t consistent as opposed to games that I’m used to, which have iconic main themes that always sticks with you no matter what. Concrete Genie’s score, on the other hand, is more of different tune mashups that work well collectively, which isn’t a compliant by any means as it is just something I would’ve preferred in the game. Still, though, I adored the track. It was artful.

    To conclude, Concrete Genie was a creatively unique, refreshing and crafty experience that impressed me every step of the way. I loved it, and I think you would too – which is why I’m giving it a 10 out of 10.
    Expand
  56. Oct 18, 2019
    6
    It's ok. Its a unique game with flawed game design imo. You basically run around a small town painting walls with your magical paintbrush, to clear the darkness from denska. You also create genies along the way to help with puzzles, and there are some light platforming thrown in. The story was nothing spectacular but it has a good message.
    Pros: Relaxing and charming game, unique
    It's ok. Its a unique game with flawed game design imo. You basically run around a small town painting walls with your magical paintbrush, to clear the darkness from denska. You also create genies along the way to help with puzzles, and there are some light platforming thrown in. The story was nothing spectacular but it has a good message.
    Pros: Relaxing and charming game, unique gameplay,charming genie interactions (best part of the game).
    Cons: Combat section was pretty bad, I also really hate the limited art you can decorate on the walls of this game.
    Now here comes my rant. This game has a similar blueprint to a game I loved which was tearaway. Why then can't we draw what we wanted like we could with tearaway? Why are we limited to set pieces of art we find, when we are not even sure how they would integrate with other pieces. That is a big con and took away my fun from painting on the walls. As a big fan of tearaway I am very disappointed with this game. Also, another game flaw is that you can literally spam the same set art piece over all the walls and complete the game. That is not called gamer option, this is called a game design flaw. The combat section was the right call (even though it was painfully bad), but this game was so limited by it's core game design, busting out a bat to smash genies over the head would be heinous. This game was short, but if I cant wait for this game to end only about 5 hours in, that's a problem.
    To end, who is this game for? If you want a family game. Hard to reccomend to anyone else honestly, even if its priced right. It's essentially an interactive game for kids published by nickelodeon.
    Expand
  57. Oct 21, 2019
    9
    Creative, graphic, story, drawing, and of course you can create your own GENIE!
    Actually i can't remember any game of this type, but maybe it's first new genre with drawing, i love drawing and this game make's you be more creative, so why don't create something from your dream?
    Graphic is stylish! Story is helpful against bullying, and i plunged into this story! I recommend this game,
    Creative, graphic, story, drawing, and of course you can create your own GENIE!
    Actually i can't remember any game of this type, but maybe it's first new genre with drawing, i love drawing and this game make's you be more creative, so why don't create something from your dream?
    Graphic is stylish!
    Story is helpful against bullying, and i plunged into this story!
    I recommend this game, you enjoy lot of fun! :)
    Expand
  58. Oct 20, 2019
    9
    Concrete Genie is an ambitious game, and it matches that ambition with heart.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Oct 21, 2019
    90
    Concrete Genie is visually stunning. the artwork is off the charts and was clearly meant to be the core interest of the game. As the player, you get to express your creativity in so many ways, and the game encourages you to do so. The gameplay itself can feel repetitive at times, and the backstory isn't as profound as i would except from such kind of a game. But even given those downsides, Concrete Genie is still a wonderful creation you should definitely check out.
  2. 75
    It's clear that Concrete Genie is a labour of love made by a small team that really believes in the pro-tolerance, anti-capitalist leanings of the story, and the central interactive street art creation makes for an experience that looks and feels like no other. Yet while this is a vital and worthwhile game you're left to make your own fun a lot of the time, so your enjoyment will depend on how committed you are to painting virtual murals.
  3. Oct 15, 2019
    60
    The originality of Concrete Genie proposal is marred by a lack of depth in the playable side, besides the multiple bugs.