Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 38
  2. Negative: 9 out of 38
Watch Now
Buy on
  1. Dec 30, 2020
    90
    Despite its huge technical flaws, Cyberpunk 2077 is one of the most enjoyable RPGs we ever played.
  2. Jan 5, 2021
    87
    Cyberpunk 2077, within the grand scope of its interesting setting and lore surrounding Night City, is breathtaking. The plethora of missions, side activities, and characters are worth exploring. The vast openness of the game world offers choices and freedoms that have an impact on the story its self as well as personal levels of consciousness. When the game doesn't suffer from its various technical setbacks, it's addictive and fun. More often than not, Night City tells an interesting story that's worth reading to the very end and coming back to. Even with the base game, the amount of content, deep storytelling, and the engrossing environment is well worth the admission price as long as it's on PC or next-gen consoles.
  3. Dec 16, 2020
    80
    The troubled launch and the shoddy state of the last-gen versions will hurt nobody more intensely than the artists and developers, who may well have come to resemble the characters of their own creation—frazzled, fused to their computers, and wired into the limbo of non-stop work.
  4. Feb 10, 2021
    75
    Cyberpunk 2077 is a game brimming with potential, and it damn near reaches it on so many occasions, but the pitfalls of its development ultimately drag it down. There's still a lot to like here for RPG fans and lovers of the genre, but it's far from the generation-defining masterwork that the world was waiting for.
  5. Dec 18, 2020
    71
    Cyberpunk 2077 offers an entertaining story and a very well constructed world, which is severely affected by its many technical glitches and a lack of depth that leaves it behind compared to other titles of its genre.
  6. Feb 5, 2021
    70
    Cyberpunk 2077 is an ambitious, open-world game, and Night City feels alive, but it's often contradicting itself on its core aspects and often does the basics to get by.
  7. Dec 18, 2020
    70
    Cyberpunk entices you to dive into a gorgeous new world, until you get up close and spot the imperfections. There’s a lot to like about Cybperunk 2077 and just as many problems with the way it’s been put together. For now, consider this purchase carefully if you're a console owner.
  8. Dec 17, 2020
    70
    Cyberpunk 2077 is broken on last-generation consoles. That doesn’t mean you can’t see the finer details of the game, but you simply cannot enjoy them because of that brokenness. Where the game succeeds is in story, beautiful RPG elements, and a strong amount of customization that makes it feel like ‘your’ game and story. At the same time, Cyberpunk isn’t unique as the game feels like an amalgamation of Fallout and Bladerunner. Ultimately, aside from the game-breaking bugs, the game has good aspects that could have been great with a little more time in development.
  9. Dec 14, 2020
    70
    As it stands, I don't think I can recommend Cyberpunk 2077 to you if you plan to play it on a last-gen machine, at least not right now. Based entirely on my own experience of running the game on the PlayStation 5, I still think you might be better holding out until 2021 and the "true" next-gen versions of the game, at which point I've no doubt many of its more glaring issues will have been fixed...For now, Cyberpunk 2077 on consoles - on new-gen consoles, that is - is a good game. It's often a truly great game - one that I've been having a ton of fun with.
  10. Jan 5, 2021
    65
    Overall, Cyberpunk 2077 is a fun game that is plagued by bugs. Unfortunately, I can’t recommend this game in its current state, but with patches this should improve.
  11. Dec 14, 2020
    65
    It may not sound like it, but I enjoyed many aspects of Cyberpunk 2077. It doesn't hit the highs of The Witcher 3, but it still has a lot going for it. However, it was released in such an unfinished state that it's hard to give it a positive review. It's an 8.0 game hiding in a 4.0 game wrapper. I might change my tune in a few months, when patches have rolled out, but even when playing the best version available on the PlayStation systems, there's no getting around it: Cyberpunk 2077 might have been mocked for its delays, but it needed more of them. You'll still have fun if you pick it up now, but unless you're dying for it, it's best to wait until it's been patched and improved.
  12. CD-Action
    Jul 23, 2021
    60
    I launched Cyberpunk 2077 on my PS4 Slim several weeks after the release and most of the bugs were fixed, so I was able to play the game from start to finish. However, the quality of textures was painfully low, I usually had only 20-22 frames per second while driving around the city (with dips below 20), and some objects tended to disappear. The technical state and graphics of the PS4 version are awful, which is a shame, because the game itself has one of the best stories I have ever encountered, its gunplay is really good, and Night City is very impressive. [02/2021, p.30]
  13. Jan 18, 2021
    60
    Cyberpunk 2077 is a frustrating mess. Its main narrative and characters are compelling but it's all within a game so buggy that, in terms of games with good stories and botched launches, it gives Fallout: New Vegas a run for its money. While I enjoyed my time in Night City because of its solid writing and characters, I cannot give Cyberpunk 2077 a recommendation.
  14. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 8, 2021
    60
    A hugely ambitious, immersive RPG that too often works against itself. Perhaps worth playing – just not at full price and not on PS4 without further patches. [Issue#184, p.82]
  15. Jan 4, 2021
    60
    There's a great RPG buried somewhere beneath Cyberpunk 2077's mountain of issues, but it's going to be a while before that RPG is revealed to the world. Those that have followed the game's development since the reveal may want to hold off on picking it up until the problems are sorted out. Journey in now, and there's a good chance that Cyberpunk 2077 will leave behind a sour taste. Night City and a well-realized cast of characters may help with some of the disappointment, but Cyberpunk 2077 still needs some time in the oven.
  16. Dec 29, 2020
    60
    As someone with a lifelong soft spot for the medium-specific charm of video game glitches, Cyberpunk 2077’s botched launch just ain’t it. Even overlooking the rushed rollout, after an eternity of being bludgeoned in the face with hyperbole, running through 2077 feels like five different games stitched together into an entertaining, passably decent, generic behemoth.
  17. Dec 21, 2020
    60
    Cyberpunk 2077 is currently a strange one to judge and though there are definitely those out there who will still get lots of enjoyment from the game in its current state, the caveats are major, especially for anyone playing on consoles. CD Projekt RED’s management has absolutely rushed it out before it was properly ready, and at this stage it’s very much a case of buyer beware. It’s clear that lots of effort has been put into creating Night City and the well-linked major gameplay systems, but even when putting the technical issues aside, it still feels much like many open-world games that have come before.
  18. Dec 20, 2020
    60
    It is indeed very sad to see a game with such a huge potential go down like this, mainly due to bad decision-making. Cyberpunk 2077 is a marvelous Action RPG, but is not playable on the current generation consoles as countless bugs and glitches kill the game from the beginning . CD Project Red is a very talented studio and all we can hope is that they learn and recover from their mistakes, and go back to making great games.
  19. 60
    Cyberpunk 2077's Night City is one of the best sci-fi dystopias ever showcased in games. The stories it has to tell and the characters there are to meet are engrossing and terrifying. Despite some performance issues on PS5 backwards compatibility, it is still worth playing for the excellent character and narrative work. But, if you own a PS4, do not buy Cyberpunk 2077 as it is a technical mess that barely functions.
  20. Dec 17, 2020
    60
    Believe it or not, there is fun to be had in Cyberpunk 2077. Night City is an amazing place to explore and parts of the gameplay are kinda fun. But for all the promises and potential of a game that spent eight years in development, is this really it? The Witcher 3 managed to grow into a powerhouse of a game by the end of its lifecycle. Perhaps the same will be said about Cyberpunk 2077 in a year’s time? Maybe.
  21. Dec 17, 2020
    60
    Equal parts stunning achievement and terrible mess, for every wonder in Cyberpunk 2077 on PS4 there’s a handful of frustrations. Performance issues affect not just how the game looks, but how it plays and feels, constantly taking bites out of what would otherwise be an impressive and exhilarating experience.
  22. Dec 16, 2020
    60
    A lack of focus, vague combat, and some truly befuddling performance issues hamper the still competent, and often enjoyable, detective sim that the best parts of Cyberpunk 2077 want to be.
  23. Dec 15, 2020
    60
    Contrary to expectations, Cyberpunk 2077 is not going to set the world on fire. It's not the gaming revolution that was promised to us, but it's still a fun RPG- with plenty of room for improvement.
  24. Dec 13, 2020
    60
    Cyberpunk 2077 is a great game, but it could have been an incredible game that defined a generation. Instead, it falls victim to its own ambition and the industry’s constant desire to push, push, push it out. In its current state, it’s not for the faint of heart, and even hardcore Cyberpunk fans may struggle to stay interested amidst all the crashes and issues. If you have yet to pick it up, wait a few months and you could very well be treated to the experience we were all hoping for at launch.
  25. Apr 8, 2021
    55
    This five and a half is especially for you, Metacritic.
  26. Dec 15, 2020
    55
    Cyberpunk 2077 for PS4 reminds us of the game we played on our PCs, but it is full of glitches, the frame rate is poor, and the resolution is too low. Eventually it can become a great RPG, but right now it's a mediocre game, which doesn´t live up to expectations.
  27. Dec 23, 2020
    50
    The main quest is everything it should be, but unfortunately most of the side content isn’t nearly as interesting. Add to this a shocking amount of bugs, stupid AI, loads of performance issues… and you’ll understand why Cyberpunk 2077 is a contender for ‘disappointment of the year’.
  28. Dec 20, 2020
    50
    I have never equally loved and hated a game as much as Cyberpunk 2077. When it works, it’s definitely a fun game of sorts, but when it breaks, which it does too often in every sense of the word, it immediately saps any sort of fun from the experience. Worst of all, it wastes tens of hours of your time due to bugs and game-breaking errors. As it stands right now, I wouldn’t recommend playing it for anyone on the base PS4. I did, and I regret absolutely everything.
  29. 50
    Cyberpunk 2077, when it works, is a shallow popcorn flick of a video game, not an industry shaping experience that redefines the open-world RPG genre. Perhaps the bigger problem, particularly for console owners, is that Cyberpunk 2077 doesn’t work. It’s a mess of half-baked ideas and rough gameplay that should have never been released in the first place. While the PC version faces criticism for various issues and praise for others, the PS4 version of Cyberpunk 2077 feels and looks like a whole different game that simply needed a lot more time.
  30. Dec 16, 2020
    45
    Cyberpunk 2077 on PS4 and PS4 Pro is simply a mess.
  31. Jan 6, 2021
    40
    Cyberpunk 2077’s bugs and technical issues certainly hold it back, and with any luck those will be fixed in the coming months. But it’s more difficult to imagine CD Projekt Red doing enough to resolve the deeper problems: awkwardly balanced systems, storytelling misfires, and an inability to merge its open-world action and RPG gameplay into something smooth and cohesive.
  32. Dec 24, 2020
    40
    Playing Cyberpunk 2077 is like suffering a death of a thousand cuts. If the bugs don't get you, the bad quest design, the insensitive writing, or a million other small problems will. All told, Night City might not be worth the visit.
  33. Dec 16, 2020
    40
    Cyberpunk 2077 retains its gunplay, open-worldness and its many elements that really make it stand out as an RPG. Nevertheless, its performance is abysmal, at times making it near unplayable. CD Projekt RED's fans do not deserve all of the crashes and bugs that Cyberpunk 2077 is riddled with.
  34. Dec 16, 2020
    40
    Don't even think about playing Cyberpunk 2077 on base PS4, its performance is awful. Of course, no one can expect a game to run like it does on a good PC, where it is a stellar experience. But what we feel is that this version was abandoned, no effort was put in it. Blurry, not very smooth, suffering from NPC that just pop or have no faces for a couple of seconds. It also feels very empty, which obliterates its positive qualities. Not to mention myriad glitches and hiccups that are probably less evident on PS4 Pro or PS5, but which make us say that you need a computer or, if everything goes well, wait for the Next-Gen versions if you want to have a real taste of Cyberpunk 2077.
  35. Dec 14, 2020
    40
    If your only option right now is playing Cyberpunk 2077 on either of the base console platforms, I highly suggest you don’t play at all until its many terrible performance issues are fixed. And if you’ve already bought it and had an experience similar to what I’ve described, you should absolutely get a refund if possible. The PlayStation 4 and Xbox One versions are simply not in an acceptable state, and it makes me sad to think that so many people are having their first Cyberpunk 2077 experience ruined this way – because when it works, it’s a fantastic RPG.
  36. Dec 10, 2020
    35
    If the game remains relatively playable in its scripted sequences, with a few hiccups here and there, the exploration in the open world is often laborious, even sometimes unplayable. Textures that don't display or are runny, pronounced aliasing, low definition, overdue framerate, freezes, lagging interface, crash ... these Fat versions are a striking proof that Cyberpunk 2077 should have never been anything but a next-gen game.
  37. Dec 22, 2020
    30
    Cyberpunk 2077 is a blatantly unfinished game, and the worst part is that CD Projekt has known this to be the case for quite some time. On PS4 and PS4 Pro, poor performance comes close to wrecking the experience. On PS5 via backwards compatibility, there's still fun to be had — a glimpse of the game's excellent potential — but even then, it's crippled by countless bugs and unforgivable crashing issues. There's something special at the core of Cyberpunk 2077, but in its current state, it's simply not good enough. A disaster of a launch that'll be remembered for years to come.
  38. Dec 16, 2020
    30
    Cyberpunk 2077 on PS4 is a disaster that should have never ever occurred. The developers have butchered the technical condition of the game - the only positive thing about the PS4 version is that you can (with a bit of luck and patience) eventually finish it. There's no doubt CDPR will have to redeem itself somehow. But remember: somewhere underneath the utter myriad of bugs, hides an excellent game.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Dec 16, 2020
    A disappointing version of one of the most anticipated games of recent years. Players don't deserve this lack of effort to make a decent version of Cyberpunk 2077 for PS4 and Xbox One. [Not Recommended]
User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 10090 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Dec 11, 2020
    0
    Unbelievable. ps3 quality graphics. fps drops, bugs, looks terrible. cd projekt achieved the biggest disappointment of years. like a joke.
  2. Dec 11, 2020
    1
    Game is completely broken. Was sold on PC videos while PS4 got completely hidden from everybody. It is at the verge of unplayable and I cannotGame is completely broken. Was sold on PC videos while PS4 got completely hidden from everybody. It is at the verge of unplayable and I cannot recommend it to anyone. Terrible graphics, ridiculous performance, no NPCs in the city, no cars at the street, missing basic features like getting haircut to important ones like driving AI (which simply doesn't exist outside scripted missions, that's why police pops up out of nowhere, they can't pursue you in a car). Don't support such a scam. Full Review »
  3. Dec 11, 2020
    10
    Great game with huge focus on story, characters and world building. I dont remember last time when the rpg story absorbed me so much. YesGreat game with huge focus on story, characters and world building. I dont remember last time when the rpg story absorbed me so much. Yes there are few bugs here are there (playing on ps4pro), but nothing gamebreaking. Usually minor visual glitches. If you like story RPGs this is simply game for you. If the small bugs bother you too much, then this will be a game for you after few updates. But it one the must have eigter way. (sooner or later) Full Review »