Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 25, 2016
    90
    Ashes of Ariandel is the first of two DLC for the great Dark Souls III. This expansion is more of the same, and that is pretty good news for all fans. Must have if you enjoyed the main game.
  2. Oct 24, 2016
    90
    The Ashes of Ariandel breathed new life into a game that was already strong and vital, and set the stage for the final chapter in its dark saga.
  3. Nov 8, 2016
    80
    Focusing mostly on the PvP aspect of the game, Ashes doesn't bring enough to satisfy the thirst for more Dark Souls. The new story is on the short side, but what is there is masterfully executed.
  4. Oct 27, 2016
    80
    With Dark Souls' formidable reputation undisputed, other characteristics slip into transparency. Humor, long rumbling under the surface, receives a more stable focus in Ashes of Ariandel. Expectations are bent, defied, and destroyed in ways that are designed to simultaneously humiliate and impress series veterans. After five games and six pieces of downloadable content, it's hard to imagine a more suitable approach.
  5. Oct 25, 2016
    80
    After a base game that had me questioning if the formula had lost its spark, this DLC proves that there are still frigid regions still worthy of exploration and horrifying beasts still in need of slaying. I won’t go so far as to say it’s the best Dark Souls has ever been, but it’s certainly the best Dark Souls 3 has ever been.
  6. Oct 20, 2016
    78
    The Painted World of Ariandel presents a land that’s both enticing and dangerous, and there’s plenty of challenges to face even if you won’t have to face them too many times. However, unless you really love dueling in PvP arenas and can find sustained interest there, this adventure may serve as more of an appetizer than a full course meal.
  7. Oct 28, 2016
    75
    The enchanted scenery could have been bigger, the story longer than roughly five to seven hours, but nonetheless Ashes of Ariandel is a good expansion.
  8. Oct 27, 2016
    75
    Ashes of Ariandel is a downloadable content that surprised us, and not always positively. An extremely high overall quality collides with a paucity of content, creating a controversial result, which satisfies a little bit, leaving the player in the grip of conflicting feelings.
  9. Oct 26, 2016
    75
    Ashes of Ariandel is, plain and simple, disappointing. Is it bad content? Nope. Are you going to enjoy it? Most likely. Does the content justify the price? There's no doubt about this: no, it doesn't. We don't know what From Software was thinking when they decided that this could be a DLC but we really hope that the second one is better, since it will mark the ending of the series and it should be a memorable one.
  10. Nov 15, 2016
    70
    While satisfyingly challenging, the longevity of this awaited DLC leaves us disappointed.
  11. Nov 11, 2016
    70
    It's more great Dark Souls content, but this expansion offers few unique aspects to the tried and true formula. An additional PVP matchmaking system is a nice touch, but it could do with a bit more polish.
  12. Nov 3, 2016
    70
    The first DLC for Dark Souls 3 is short. But the cold setting, enemies, weapons and spells are entertaining. Could have used a bit more boss fights though.
  13. Nov 1, 2016
    70
    Ashes of Ariandel is a welcome addition to the Souls franchise. It's one of the most intriguing settings in a Dark Souls world so far, but you'll see most of it in only a few hours. Also the content is less challenging than the original game.
  14. Oct 31, 2016
    70
    The final boss fight is challenging and worth the DLC, while the PvP arena will keep fans busy for some time, but ultimately the world of Ariandel is bleakly beautiful if unsatisfying.
  15. Oct 27, 2016
    70
    What Ashes of Ariandel lacks in originality, it makes up for in cohesion with the full version of Dark Souls III.
  16. Oct 26, 2016
    70
    Splitting half the content between a mode many players won’t be interested in is an odd decision, but short as it is the new area still has that classic Dark Souls appeal.
  17. Oct 26, 2016
    70
    Dark Souls III: Ashes of Ariandel is possibly the weakest of all the Souls-Borne expansions, but that doesn’t mean it’s bad.
  18. Oct 26, 2016
    70
    The Painted World of Ariendel has a bleak beauty that’s begging to be explored, but it’s all over far too quickly.
  19. Mar 31, 2017
    68
    In the penultimate addition to the Dark Souls series (the next DLC will be the last, and thus, the end of the series ' sure.. sure it will be'), we see From Software's usually brilliance peeking through, but the Painted World of Ariandal, while worthy of the Dark Souls name, just isn't their best work. I don't doubt for a second that the final DLC will knock the series out of the park in legendary fashion, but this first Dark Souls III expansion feels a little lost in the blizzard.
  20. CD-Action
    Jan 12, 2017
    65
    It saddens me to see the game that stole more of my time than I’m willing to admit turn into a self-parody. Ashes of Ariandel is like a covers playlist prepared by someone who has never heard the original recordings. Its only truly valuable moment is the wonderful last boss fight. [13/2016, p.48]
  21. Nov 7, 2016
    65
    Though Ashes of Ariandel offers a new surrounding, new enemies and pretty challenging boss fights, there is nothing surprising or convincing about it.
  22. 60
    I appreciate that multiplayer is a big deal in the Souls games, but this is the first time From Software has crafted a piece of DLC content that focuses almost entirely on that multiplayer experience, and I think this will fall flat with plenty of other Souls fans.
  23. Nov 3, 2016
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  24. 60
    Pretty but shallow, Dark Souls III: Ashes of Ariandel is sorely lacking in content and inventiveness.
  25. Games Master UK
    Jan 1, 2017
    50
    It feels like From Software phone this one in. As DLC for the Souls series goes, this is a disappointment. [Christmas 2016, p.69]
  26. Oct 27, 2016
    50
    Dark Souls III: Ashes of Ariandel misses the mark. It fails to fill a large, fresh environment with tangible reasons to stay there any longer than a few hours, and although the new weapons and gear are some of the best in the game, you'll want to play about with them somewhere other than The Painted World.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jan 12, 2017
    The mystery, the wonder, and the challenge that have made Souls a durable gaming institution all feel a bit abbreviated in Ashes.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 193
  1. Oct 25, 2016
    8
    This dark souls 3 dlc offered some really unique locations but everything at first glance feels small. There are many different alternateThis dark souls 3 dlc offered some really unique locations but everything at first glance feels small. There are many different alternate routes you could have easily missed and it definitely feels a bit more open than the base game.

    There are some cool new enemies and weapons but nothing can really top your current equipment if you have already finished the game.

    The bosses are good. Do not watch the trailers or any gameplays of it or it will kinda spoil the experience. There is one that really stands out than the other but both fights were entertaining. OST wise it's awesome, just what you expect from any DS OST!

    PVP feature is a cool side feature....

    As a DS fan from playing all the games, it's definitely disappointing if you compare it to the other dlcs.
    The scale of this dlc just feels "small" and compare to the other dlcs, it can't get the theme of it right.
    Even the crowns dlc from ds2 got the theme and scale right.
    I took it more as something from the base game than a actual expansion.

    Now triple A games now a days are just not doing too great with expansions except for like Witcher 3. I feel like it definitely meets what we call DLC in these years. I didn't expect too much from reading the reviews of other people but I think this DLC is good.

    As a souls fan I would give this more like a 7/10
    But if you just turn your brain off and let it be just a dlc then its more like 7.5
    I hope expansion 2 will deliver the single player experience we truly wanted.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 26, 2016
    3
    Short and boring with a crappy almost non-ending. Sorry I paid 15 bucks for this and wish I had waited for reviews. I mistakenly thought IShort and boring with a crappy almost non-ending. Sorry I paid 15 bucks for this and wish I had waited for reviews. I mistakenly thought I could blindly trust From Software. Full Review »
  3. Oct 26, 2016
    7
    It hurts me to give any Souls title less than a 9 or 10, but for hardcore fans this just won't be enough. I took my time, did everything, andIt hurts me to give any Souls title less than a 9 or 10, but for hardcore fans this just won't be enough. I took my time, did everything, and it still only took a couple hours. And while one of the boss fights is pretty great, the other one is mediocre at best. Bottom line is when a dev gives you such stellar DLC as Artorias and Old Hunters, the expectations will always be high. Here's hoping the last installment will be up to par. Full Review »