User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 508 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 508
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2015
    10
    Being a long time srpg ,rpg and ,crpg player This game Is a must for consoles. Its vast diversity from the typical arpg makes exploring worth it. From pc to console Thiis company doesn't go wrong the devs are awesome, This is a rare gem you shouldn't pass by 10/10! And with divinity Os 2 kickstarter finished You can only expect more from a excellent dev crew
  2. Oct 29, 2015
    9
    Very solid game. Slow paced at times, but great RPG elements, character customization and voice acting. If you're new to the genre, DO NOT SKIP THE TUTORIAL DUNGEON! It will get even rookie players familiar with the concepts and the system. A solid purchase if you like the old Baldur's Gate style of game, with a modernized playstyle.
  3. Oct 28, 2015
    10
    Fantastic unexpected gem, with being a console player previously never having heard of this game until a Facebook ad caught my eye. Refreshing to the AAA cinematic games, in terms of gameplay its fantastic there is nothing like this really on PS4. Would recommend to any RPG fan
  4. Nov 9, 2015
    9
    This is a very slow paced isometric turned based game with lots of times spent in menus and with none of the streamlined features that are found in Diablo 3 PS4 Version. This is no Diablo in case you are thinking it is. The first 10 hours I have maybe been in combat 4 times or maybe 5% of the time. So why did I give it a 9. It has a cool story that unfolds from a simple murderThis is a very slow paced isometric turned based game with lots of times spent in menus and with none of the streamlined features that are found in Diablo 3 PS4 Version. This is no Diablo in case you are thinking it is. The first 10 hours I have maybe been in combat 4 times or maybe 5% of the time. So why did I give it a 9. It has a cool story that unfolds from a simple murder investigation. I am only getting to the good stuff at 12 hours (but you should be hooked by 3-5 hours), but I see myself finishing this one because of the story. I also really like the tactical combat and the range of abilities and loot that can be had even early on. A word of caution. The game does not scale enemies (they have preset stats), so if you find yourself in an area with enemies well above your level, you probably should turn back and try a different area. The gate soldiers will warn you. It might be good to listen to them, although I was able to triumph over enemies 2 levels above me (maybe I got lucky since he didn't even get to attack due to my quick kill). Be sure to examine the enemies with a character with a point or two in lore (the archer in the cage has that skill). It will show you enemy strengths and weaknesses. So in short, this is the polar opposite of a hack n slash rpg. Unlike many games these days it requires thinking and planning. Highly recommended for you to give it a try if this sounds even like it might possibly your type of game. I was on the fence and finally got it. I'm so glad I did haven't regretted it. Will have to pick up Fallout 4 later on. This game just won't let me go. Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2016
    9
    This game is D&D in a video game. It's awesome, create a character by picking a class and voice and grab a friend for the ride. Did i mention it was an RPG? oh well its an RPG and the quests are great, the dungeons are fun and the turn based combat is great. It's a little slow paced at times but that is a small price to pay for such an awesome game. Also one of the best quest lines is toThis game is D&D in a video game. It's awesome, create a character by picking a class and voice and grab a friend for the ride. Did i mention it was an RPG? oh well its an RPG and the quests are great, the dungeons are fun and the turn based combat is great. It's a little slow paced at times but that is a small price to pay for such an awesome game. Also one of the best quest lines is to solve a murder, it took me and my friend 12 hours and we had a blast... also may have stolen and sold paintings to make quick money... 11/10 Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2015
    10
    The base game was already extremely good and was a must buy in my opinion if you like RPGs in the vein of neverwinter nights or baldur's.
    But this? This is even better! Plus it's free if u got the previous version!
    Btter Ui, faster loading times, reworked IA, a new game mode etc etc!! I am very proud I got my hands on this game (PC and Console! ; Couch coop masterrace!) An enhanced
    The base game was already extremely good and was a must buy in my opinion if you like RPGs in the vein of neverwinter nights or baldur's.
    But this? This is even better! Plus it's free if u got the previous version!
    Btter Ui, faster loading times, reworked IA, a new game mode etc etc!!

    I am very proud I got my hands on this game (PC and Console! ; Couch coop masterrace!)

    An enhanced version of a must buy? A mustmustbuy!
    Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2015
    9
    Great classic turn-based RPG. Not an easy one (even normal mode is hard sometimes). Graphics is nice, story is AWESOME. Game-play is great, only minus is inventory management, it can be pain in the ass. It's great to have this game on console (had played PC version of original game before). Well done controls porting.
  8. Oct 27, 2015
    10
    It has been a long time since I have played a turn based RPG that captivated me from the get go. From what I have experienced so far, this game is up there with Baldur's Gate, Neverwinter Nights and Dragon Age Origins. The world of Rivelon is beautifully hand crafted complimented by a rich and interesting lore, characters are believable and dialogue (now completely voiced over) adds for aIt has been a long time since I have played a turn based RPG that captivated me from the get go. From what I have experienced so far, this game is up there with Baldur's Gate, Neverwinter Nights and Dragon Age Origins. The world of Rivelon is beautifully hand crafted complimented by a rich and interesting lore, characters are believable and dialogue (now completely voiced over) adds for a deep and immersive experience. The music and sound effects are added polish to an already well designed game. What is most impressive is how they have adapted this masterpiece to consoles in an almost seamless fashion, from control mechanics to split screen coop, something rare in today's gaming industry. More developers need to put this type of effort into their games. Congratulations Larian Studios, you have created an absolute gem. Expand
  9. HSC
    Oct 28, 2015
    10
    I know we like to min/max our metactiric scores, to make it seem like we can influence/make up for opposite scores. But this game is a 9 - 10 game no matter where you are at. The original was very good, this is a AAA effort here, they've improved on so many things. It's like a super patch, more time to balance, more dialog to make the story stick better, better direction, all voiced forI know we like to min/max our metactiric scores, to make it seem like we can influence/make up for opposite scores. But this game is a 9 - 10 game no matter where you are at. The original was very good, this is a AAA effort here, they've improved on so many things. It's like a super patch, more time to balance, more dialog to make the story stick better, better direction, all voiced for elegance. On and on, more better. Thank You! Expand
  10. Jan 7, 2016
    9
    My personal surprising game of the year. Deep character building and not a game play, that takes you on your hand through the world. But the best part is walking together on one screen through a real RPG with tactical fights.
  11. Apr 12, 2016
    9
    It's a totally fun game, especially with a friend. The only things that are lacking are a clear sense of direction, a pretty ruthless difficulty (which I did find fun, however), and a cumbersome interface. I can see causal gamers HATING this game, because it doesn't tell you where to go with a marker; you have to figure it out for yourself by actually listening to the dialogue or readingIt's a totally fun game, especially with a friend. The only things that are lacking are a clear sense of direction, a pretty ruthless difficulty (which I did find fun, however), and a cumbersome interface. I can see causal gamers HATING this game, because it doesn't tell you where to go with a marker; you have to figure it out for yourself by actually listening to the dialogue or reading short, in-game books or scrolls for information. For those willing to invest some time, though, this is all about quality and value. Expand
  12. Jun 21, 2017
    8
    I enjoyed this game, but I am actually kind of surprised by the rave reviews that professional game critics and users are giving the game. Yes, it's pretty good, but I personally can't give it more than an 8. The characters and story were very bland in my opinion. I wasn't a fan of the cartoony graphics either. The game can be EXTREMELY difficult at times (I played on the hardestI enjoyed this game, but I am actually kind of surprised by the rave reviews that professional game critics and users are giving the game. Yes, it's pretty good, but I personally can't give it more than an 8. The characters and story were very bland in my opinion. I wasn't a fan of the cartoony graphics either. The game can be EXTREMELY difficult at times (I played on the hardest setting, Tactician mode, and I died a LOT), but I appreciate a challenging RPG! So this was a good thing! I would never DARE play Honour Mode (where your entire save game is over if you dies once). What I DID like about the game is two things: 1.) there is a good amount of humor in the game, which I found funny at times and appreciated, and 2.) most importantly, the turn based combat is AWESOME!!!!! That is what kept me coming back for more. The story and characters didn't interest me, but I managed to push through the entire game on tactician mode (the hardest difficulty) because I loved the strategic, turn-based combat. It took me approximately 115 hours to beat the game and do almost everything (I used some guides I found online to make sure I didn't miss anything - the developers didn't make a strategy guide for the game). If you like very difficult, strategic, turn-based combat in your rpgs, you will enjoy this game. If you play rpgs mostly for the story, you will probably be bored. Expand
  13. Oct 28, 2015
    10
    nice game turn based combat its wonderful and everything is voiced its a must buy if you want crpg story and excellent combat and did i mentioned the nice graphics.
  14. Nov 1, 2015
    9
    everything about this game is awesome! BUT! i get error all the time in fights. Its really frustrating. I must restart the game and do the fight all over again.
  15. Oct 28, 2015
    10
    Fantastic game! Classic role playing at its best! Controls take a little getting used to at the start, but once you have that down they work great, and the graphics look very good on my PS4. I love the turn based combat, works very well on a console.I will advise there is very little hand holding in this game. There are tutorials at the start, but after a bit it is up to you. ThereFantastic game! Classic role playing at its best! Controls take a little getting used to at the start, but once you have that down they work great, and the graphics look very good on my PS4. I love the turn based combat, works very well on a console.I will advise there is very little hand holding in this game. There are tutorials at the start, but after a bit it is up to you. There are plenty of walkthroughs online though if you get stuck. Expand
  16. Nov 14, 2015
    10
    Gamepad controls mapping Unmatched RPG depth Fully voiced NPCs Split-screen co-op reat RPG elements, character customization and voice acting. Classic role playing at its best
  17. Nov 26, 2015
    10
    I just can say: woah. Enhanced version its really kickass (was really disappointed with first edition). Lots of role playing and fun. Ill try to say my honest opinion with this one,

    Pros: Nice fights, really fun and versatile. Role playing is kickass, you can alter quest such in a massive way. Interesting maps, really invites you to discover entire maps and keeps you with mystery
    I just can say: woah. Enhanced version its really kickass (was really disappointed with first edition). Lots of role playing and fun. Ill try to say my honest opinion with this one,

    Pros:
    Nice fights, really fun and versatile.
    Role playing is kickass, you can alter quest such in a massive way.
    Interesting maps, really invites you to discover entire maps and keeps you with mystery through them.
    Intuitive quests, not for lazy minded people.
    Leveling is fun, you can spend a bunch of time thinking what to invest, that's kinda cool imo.
    Enhanced edition improves almost everything, the improve in graphics, effects, optimization its really mindblowing in compared with the last year one. Pretty solid.

    Cons:
    Not best story or dialogues (its kinda weird, but that weird thing maybe keeps you interested).
    Voice acting isnt the best (sometimes its annoying to hear npc speech's)
    Difficulty: not friendly (old fashioned way, you can encounter high lvl mobs that only warns you not to keep going that way lol).
    Expand
  18. Oct 27, 2015
    9
    The game itself is brilliant. Beautiful graphic, intuitive control by Dualshock 4 and lot of thing to do. The only cons is really messy (chaotic) inventory.
  19. Oct 28, 2015
    10
    Amazing game.

    Beautifull graphics, sounds are amazing. Well thought out game. If you like RPG`s this is one of the best ever made. Vanilla was great but the enhanced edition made it even better.
  20. Oct 27, 2015
    10
    One of the best turn based old school rpg's I have ever played. Beautiful graphics, perfect amount of difficulty, good sense of humor, long story with endless side quests, great tactical combat, Rivellon is awesome and I would advise anyone and everyone to give it a shot... For it would be a sin too miss out on such an epic game... an Original sin.
  21. Oct 27, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So this is brilliant if you love couch coop and love rpg's. My buddy and I enjoying ourselves way to much. We even had our girlfriends jump in and drop out. Needless to say this fills a big void in competent, coop, loot, grinding, tactical rpg gaming. It's been about three years since anything close

    Graphics are solid. everything is solid. Joint decision making is a blast. being able to keep adventuring while my buddy goes to town is phenomenal. I have not played alone so I cannot rate that experience but together it is a 10/10 and one of my favorite coop experiences ever.

    The only bad i can think of right now is the menus and character management can be a bit clunky.
    Expand
  22. Oct 28, 2015
    10
    Best turned based RPG on the market. A coop heaven, lots of fun with friends. Now with extra content, control support, and many more enhancements. Play it, enjoy, love it.
  23. Nov 6, 2015
    10
    Great local co-op game. My wife and I we are playing this game split screen and we love it. While my wife is not a gamer she appreciate turn based combat(she has time to think), a lot of non combat quests and we are both surprised by number of options, game allow you to play in so many ways that we love this.

    Technically game is solid, 30 fps works well. There few moments when game
    Great local co-op game. My wife and I we are playing this game split screen and we love it. While my wife is not a gamer she appreciate turn based combat(she has time to think), a lot of non combat quests and we are both surprised by number of options, game allow you to play in so many ways that we love this.

    Technically game is solid, 30 fps works well. There few moments when game drops below this value but this not affect your experience.

    2 tips: - you can block split screen by pressing "left" on d-pad. - it is easier to pick up items from ground by long holding X button. Yellow circle will start growing around you and all items in that circle will be listed in separate window, then you can pick what you want to take.
    Expand
  24. Dec 5, 2015
    10
    This game is a blast! If you consider yourself an RPG fan you shouldn't miss this one. Even after finishing vanilla version of the game on my Mac I picked it up for PS4 just to enjoy the journey with my GF on splitscreen. Controls mapping seems to be good enough and more importantly consistent throughout menus and little improvement here and there improve the experience a lot.
  25. Jan 12, 2016
    10
    Shocked at how great this is. This is how a real RPG should be and I'm very glad to see that some game companies haven't tossed away the roots of the genre in favor of simplicity (Fallout 4...). Dialogue choices are dynamic, many quests have different branches and many (even main story quests) have alternative outcomes that require a new playthrough. Difficulty is reminiscent of old-schoolShocked at how great this is. This is how a real RPG should be and I'm very glad to see that some game companies haven't tossed away the roots of the genre in favor of simplicity (Fallout 4...). Dialogue choices are dynamic, many quests have different branches and many (even main story quests) have alternative outcomes that require a new playthrough. Difficulty is reminiscent of old-school RPGs, and planning and strategizing is key to winning, even in normal. If you're complaining about how most games developed these days are going easy mode to cater to more casual players, this game is for you. Not only is it difficult, but every fight is rewarding, every level gained is fun to get, and the customizations/builds are great. I wholly enjoyed the true split-screen co-op couch experience and it worked perfectly. I haven't seen games that have done such great couch co-op in a while. Voice acting, 99% of the game is voice acted, and voice acted WELL, which brings the game more to life.

    One tip though: Save A LOT. Abuse Quick save after every battle, every 5 minutes, etc. You'll need to get into the habit of this. This game exemplifies personal freedom, which is a double-edged sword. It WILL let you aggro every NPC possible (even your companions, who will leave you permanently if you piss them off too much) and it also WILL allow you to die even in unintentional circumstances (such as you accidentally triggering a trap that activates a poisonous gas or lava that wipes your party). You'll need to make sure you quick-save a lot in order to reload after you screw up (I screwed up a **** of times...). Also, this game may crash randomly from time to time, I experienced a crash every 10 or so hours, so quick saves will help prevent that.

    I recommend you get this game if you are nostalgic of traditional RPG elements and if you were disappointed in Fallout 4's freedom and are looking for something similar to fallout 3.
    Expand
  26. Jan 15, 2016
    10
    Game is amazing.

    That said its not for everyone, it is very challenging. Sometimes you actually fail in this game a few times before you can figure out the right tactic. This makes it very rewarding. I felt like every encounter mattered. The game focuses you to adjust your tactics to the situation.

    If you like RPGs at all you should enjoy this quite a bit.
  27. Mar 13, 2016
    9
    Divinity Original Sin Enhanced Edition
    New School RPG with an Old School Feel
    Divinity Original Sin tells the story of 2 source hunters that you get to customize at the beginning of the game, customization is pretty basic so you’ll be lucky to get a character to match your likeness even a tiny bit These source hunters are out to solve a town murder, but while solving this murder they’re
    Divinity Original Sin Enhanced Edition
    New School RPG with an Old School Feel
    Divinity Original Sin tells the story of 2 source hunters that you get to customize at the beginning of the game, customization is pretty basic so you’ll be lucky to get a character to match your likeness even a tiny bit
    These source hunters are out to solve a town murder, but while solving this murder they’re sent down a path and realize they need to solve something much larger than this.
    Before you play this game, you need to be self-aware with the kind of gamer you, because while this game is fairly new, the way it’s delivered isn’t.
    Don’t expect a top down Skyrim…
    I was reminded many times of Pokémon, in the sense that every city you go to has its own story that still connects to the main story.., you set out on a journey and that’s it, you’re on your own, see you later or never, the game doesn’t care.
    It will not hold your hand, other than marking the occasional few important places on your map for you to go check out
    This is a 60 hour journey that you’ll need to figure your way through.
    And the only way to do this is to listen to the conversations…
    At first this doesn’t seem like too much to ask, but every character you run into talks longer than your mom does when she bumps into somebody she knows at a grocery store,
    I’m almost certain 15 of the 60 hours was spent sitting through dialog..
    You can skip through any and all, but this isn’t advised as again, it’s the only way you’re going to figure out where to go to next,
    you have to literally immerse yourself into the game world to beat it... you have become your character…
    That being said, if you don’t have the time or patience to literally almost live another life you’re not going to like this game….
    Sure you can follow a guide, but who wants to do that for 60 hours?
    Otherwise, you’ll find this game to be quite the masterpiece
    You’re solving mysteries and puzzles, there are side quests that can help with main quests, tons of npcs to interacts and trade with, and you want to talk to every npc, helps them, get on their good side and sometimes be able to bring them along your journey..
    Their help is much welcomed because outside the city walls the wilderness if full of enemies ready to kill you
    Beyond the problem solving that’s going on, there is a turn based combat system here…
    This fighting system is very simple to understand with tons of skills and spells to learn based on your characters skills that you get to freely choose as you level up...
    You could easily turn a brute to a witch and vice versa….
    Through shops, chests, and bookshelves, you’ll find tons of skill books to teach your characters new moves for battles…
    You have your basic elemental attacks which come in handy since enemies do usually have a weakness, and the environment is completely interactive…
    You can catch things on fire, blow them up, throw poison grenades, it’s all fair game...
    My favorite though is the ability to summon creatures to help you…
    By the end all 4 of my characters could summon at least 1 creature, while only 1 of the 4 were a witch…
    You aren’t forced to stick to certain skills based on your characters stats... there is an insane amount of freedom here…
    Still, it took me a little over halfway through the game to get my team so stacked... so for the first half I had to rely a lot on scroll, which can be used to regenerate a fallen member, summoned creatures, or do elemental attacks…
    I did however feel that I was a little too over powered in the last 40% of the game…
    I hardly had to think during battles..
    It seems as though I’ve figure out the best strategy and it failed maybe 2 times onward…
    but even the final bosses were a breeze…
    This made the final few maps feel like a drag, and you kinda get to see just how repetitive the game real is…
    Still the first half of the game can be insanely challenging at times….
    some bosses 1 hit killing your entire team, having to force you to approach their rooms differently so all of your member don’t take the damage…
    Luckily you can find some epic loot to help with elemental damage, give you some stat boosts, and if all else fails, there is a quick save feature to let you retry as many times as you’d like, or leave, stock up and come back…
    The journey to the credits though is well worth it..
    Especially since your characters feel so real to you
    They will interrupt when they disagree with your dialog choices, causing you to have to rock paper scissors your way through a decision and this really an extra layer to the immersion..
    OF course even better if this other person is sitting on the couch with you, as this game does support split screen coop as well
    Despite feeling more like a puzzle game for the final half, Original Sin is one of the best RPGs in a long time.
    But if you aren’t willing to put in the time and effort this game demands,
    I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it
    I give Divinity Original Sin Enhanced Edition
    a 8.5/10
    Expand
  28. Dec 6, 2015
    10
    Love this Game The Wife and I have been having so much fun. I do enjoy the graphics design and the story is well written and the characters are well done.

    The soundtrack is a great asset in this game I found myself wanting to go and download them so I can listen the great tracks on my Ipod the customising with your character is fun too there is a lot of options but I still think that if
    Love this Game The Wife and I have been having so much fun. I do enjoy the graphics design and the story is well written and the characters are well done.

    The soundtrack is a great asset in this game I found myself wanting to go and download them so I can listen the great tracks on my Ipod the customising with your character is fun too there is a lot of options but I still think that if they put in races with attributes ect (Dark Elves, Men, Dwarves, High Elves ect) it would be a lot better but doesn't take anything away from the game.

    Co,op is so amazing I have been waiting for a game that I can have fun split screen with my friends and my wife, Co,op in this game is top notch to play with someone and battle over leadership is so much fun and honesty I don't think i have played a game where you can challenge you friend for leadership or disagree with the decision he made in a quest is so good!!!!

    Overall its fun to play the inventory could be better but I still love divinity on ps4 even if the Pc version is better (as it would be) but I think they did a excellent job porting it over to Ps4 Great Job!! Guys
    Expand
  29. Jan 21, 2016
    9
    This is a very polished, old school adventure rpg with a lot of depth to tactical combat, character development, crafting and gameplay mechanics. As a mature gamer (39) I often feel insulted by how dumbed down current games have become. Not so with DOS-EE: the game challenges you in many ways and this makes progress feel rewarding. The writing, voice work and music are all top-notch andThis is a very polished, old school adventure rpg with a lot of depth to tactical combat, character development, crafting and gameplay mechanics. As a mature gamer (39) I often feel insulted by how dumbed down current games have become. Not so with DOS-EE: the game challenges you in many ways and this makes progress feel rewarding. The writing, voice work and music are all top-notch and the environments and dungeons feel immersive and interesting.

    Regarding the negatives: my foremost worry before getting this was the turn based combat being detrimental to gameplay and immersion as I haven't been a great fan of that in the past. Remarkably though, that hasn't bothered me at all yet. The tactical aspects and mechanics behind the combat system make up for the lack of instant action.

    It does look and feel like an older game however. Partly due to the classic rpg formula in a typical fantasy setting but also in graphics and art direction. Whether that's an issue for you is very personal. I can live with the lack of highly detailed facial animations as long as the game world is immersive.

    One of the possible negatives to some people might be the pace of the game: not so much the combat but the depth to game mechanics make it slower paced compared to what we are used to nowadays: investigating information, inventory, equipment and skill management, crafting, and collecting the skills, gear and gold you need. These are all aspects that require time and attention to manage. All in all this gives the game a very laid back feel: you can't really rush in Divinity Original Sin, (you can try, but the game is very likely to kick your ass if you do).

    So if you like pointers and instant-gratification, this is probably not a game for you. But if you like a challenging, immersive game with a laid back feel to it, and when the old-school rpg looks and formula don't deter you, I would highly recommended you pick this one up.

    For me it is a breath of fresh air after all the generic themepark mmorpgs and hand-holding hack & slash games I've played over the years. That makes it a 9!

    (Hours played when writing this impression: around 60)
    Expand
  30. Feb 9, 2016
    9
    One of the best RPG's I have played in a long, long time.

    Baldur's Gate was easily my favorite game in a multi-year span before and after it came out. This game is reminiscent of that BG glory, and boy does it deliver. The best part about this title is that it is full blood RPG with great mechanics for actual roleplaying. The close second best part is that it absolutely does not hold
    One of the best RPG's I have played in a long, long time.

    Baldur's Gate was easily my favorite game in a multi-year span before and after it came out. This game is reminiscent of that BG glory, and boy does it deliver. The best part about this title is that it is full blood RPG with great mechanics for actual roleplaying. The close second best part is that it absolutely does not hold your hand, but throws you in the fire with some basic instructions on controls. The combat system is exactly, precisely, the combat system I like the most in any third-person games.

    This game just sucks you in and makes you spend hours upon hours exploring before you notice it's 3am.

    The only reason why it doesn't get a 10/10 is the menu and crafting system, which is quite tedious to say the least. Maybe PC gamers have it better, but on PS4, it is quite 2009.

    I had to wait until the PS4 version to get this game, forgot about it after a while, and then saw it on discount on PSN. Couldn't be happier that I finally downloaded this masterpiece. After all, it kind of got lost in the shuffle with plenty of AAA games being published at the same time, which, by the way, didn't hold the candle to Divinity: Original Sin. Not even close.
    Expand
  31. Mar 5, 2016
    8
    This is a good, fun RPG that requires a lot of strategy for its battles, providing you can be patient enough to get through the first few hours.

    It's very different in how its fights play out than other RPGs I've played. Fights are turn-based. Every member of your party has a certain amount of Action Points (AP). Everything you do, from moving to spell casting to swinging your weapon
    This is a good, fun RPG that requires a lot of strategy for its battles, providing you can be patient enough to get through the first few hours.

    It's very different in how its fights play out than other RPGs I've played. Fights are turn-based. Every member of your party has a certain amount of Action Points (AP). Everything you do, from moving to spell casting to swinging your weapon consumes a certain number of AP. Enemies have the same system. Your party member's turn ends when they run out of AP or you manually end the turn. Manually ending the turn with AP remaining will store that AP for the next turn.

    Learning the battle system is the second thing you'll have to slog through before you can start to enjoy the game. But eventually it just clicks and becomes a great strategic ball of fun. The first thing that players will need to get used to is the cumbersome menu. Switching between characters is simple enough, but navigating the inventory is especially frustrating. Each party member has their own inventory. If you pick up a grenade with Character 1, but want Character 2 to use it, you have manually transfer it. This goes for EVERY item on the game. It's downright painful and I really hope the developers fix it in their next game.

    If you can get past that and learning the battle system, the game is a delight. You learn quite early on that the game doesn't take itself too seriously. Tongue-in-cheek humour is EVERYWHERE in this game and it's often hilarious. The story is interesting enough and plenty of side quests exist.

    A word of warning though: this game does not hold your hand. You will be given many quests and while they will tell you generally where you need to go (eg north-east of town), there are no directional indicators or neon signs saying "here is the next part of your quest". It's a refreshing change, especially since most RPGs do the complete opposite. But It can be frustrating too. Sometimes I will think I've finished a quest, only for it to remain in the uncompleted section of my log with no information on how to proceed next.

    In spite of all these things, the game is fun and well worth a look. You might surprise yourself at just how different it is. And how refreshingly so.
    Expand
  32. May 16, 2016
    9
    Great rpg game with plenty of challenge. Well balance and great story line. Everything anyone could ask for in an isometric rpg game. Highly recommended.
  33. Mar 7, 2016
    10
    I loved this game. It is a classic, old school isometric RPG in the mould of Balders Gate, but with enough of a twist to keep the classic formula fresh and exciting. Great writing and plot, interesting combat mechanics, great crafting, freedom to interact with pretty much anything and a ton of content make this a joy. The game is challenging and takes time and thought, so may not be forI loved this game. It is a classic, old school isometric RPG in the mould of Balders Gate, but with enough of a twist to keep the classic formula fresh and exciting. Great writing and plot, interesting combat mechanics, great crafting, freedom to interact with pretty much anything and a ton of content make this a joy. The game is challenging and takes time and thought, so may not be for everyone, but if you like old school RPG's and enjoy a challenge, then this is the game for you! Expand
  34. Apr 7, 2016
    10
    Been playing SRPG, RPG, and CRPG for more years than I'd like to admit, but I dare say, if you have a similar taste, then this game is a must for yee console-gamers (or PC)! There's a lot of exploring that is well worth your time, and the dev. certainly have a profound sense of humor! And I'm happy to say that Divinity Original Sin will have a follow up (thanks to another turn via aBeen playing SRPG, RPG, and CRPG for more years than I'd like to admit, but I dare say, if you have a similar taste, then this game is a must for yee console-gamers (or PC)! There's a lot of exploring that is well worth your time, and the dev. certainly have a profound sense of humor! And I'm happy to say that Divinity Original Sin will have a follow up (thanks to another turn via a successful Kickstarter) which just make me even more happy! Larian Studios, I vouch for thee, and long to see what you'll hand me in the follow up! Expand
  35. Jun 27, 2016
    9
    MY KINDGOM FOR A DRY SHIRT! Definitely the best underrated game of 2015.

    Pros 1) Great game play with some in depth physics engine. 2) Branching skills which you can develop. 3) Great characters 4) Intense game play Cons 1) I have to admit that the reading thing can be boring despite the voice over. 2) Subpar animations 3) Poor console port. The PC UI was better. Overall
    MY KINDGOM FOR A DRY SHIRT! Definitely the best underrated game of 2015.

    Pros
    1) Great game play with some in depth physics engine.
    2) Branching skills which you can develop.
    3) Great characters
    4) Intense game play

    Cons
    1) I have to admit that the reading thing can be boring despite the voice over.
    2) Subpar animations
    3) Poor console port. The PC UI was better.

    Overall it's a great game. I will definitely buy Divinity 2 without a second thought.
    Expand
  36. Dec 13, 2016
    9
    This game went completely under the radar for me. I wish I played it earlier. If you're at all a strategy RPG fan, I think this game is definitely worth checking out. One thing that surprised me about this game was the level of detail. The voice acting is superb. The detail of the world is awesome; I spent most of the game in the max-zoomed out camera view but would zoom in to absorbThis game went completely under the radar for me. I wish I played it earlier. If you're at all a strategy RPG fan, I think this game is definitely worth checking out. One thing that surprised me about this game was the level of detail. The voice acting is superb. The detail of the world is awesome; I spent most of the game in the max-zoomed out camera view but would zoom in to absorb some of the stylized details. A lot of the previous reviews are correct about how it can feel slow-paced at times and seem like you're not getting anywhere. To anyone that feels that way, I highly recommend sticking through it (especially the beginning missions). To any newcomers -- Be patient with the inventory system (you'll eventually get the hang of it), read the Log, DONT SPREAD YOUR STATS TOO THIN, SAVE A LOT -- You'll have to LOAD A LOT, remember that you can trade with almost every NPC in the game, and from there, I think you'll see why it's a great game. As stated already, the game IS challenging. This is what re-loading games is for. You'll be swarmed by status effects early. If you're a casual gamer, this is definitely not for you. I look forward to seeing how Divinity OS 2 turns out and am crossing my fingers that PS4 port is in the works! Expand
  37. Mar 1, 2017
    9
    Pros: couch coop (forced/optional split screen), character appearance and full class customization, fantasy + dark humor, entertaining dialogues and voice acting, multiple quest consequences, great story, great music, complex battle and game play design, long play time

    Cons: at normal/classic level (fights begin to be easy mid-game - if you've immersed early on and understand the game
    Pros: couch coop (forced/optional split screen), character appearance and full class customization, fantasy + dark humor, entertaining dialogues and voice acting, multiple quest consequences, great story, great music, complex battle and game play design, long play time

    Cons: at normal/classic level (fights begin to be easy mid-game - if you've immersed early on and understand the game mechanics), helmets can't be hidden
    Expand
  38. Mar 14, 2017
    8
    Quite good crpg, combinations of magic elements and enviroments was awesome. Possibility of talking with every animal caused moral dilemmas. Not big fan of design level and atmosphere, too many jokes and references to our society. And typical problems with '"pc games"- total mess in inventory, hard to aim npc (especially while moving) if same button was responsible for interaction withQuite good crpg, combinations of magic elements and enviroments was awesome. Possibility of talking with every animal caused moral dilemmas. Not big fan of design level and atmosphere, too many jokes and references to our society. And typical problems with '"pc games"- total mess in inventory, hard to aim npc (especially while moving) if same button was responsible for interaction with other objects like buckets (steal) and technical problems including unloadable save files, disaster to play hardcore mode if ONLY ONE AVAIABLE SAVE SLOT can be corrupted. Expand
  39. Jun 29, 2017
    9
    Oh such a sweet couch Co-Op game, with a fun playful story that doesn't take itself too seriously but begs to be completed. A game bursting with fun little details that shows the attention to detail and love of a thoroughly competent team; no shortage of easter eggs here. Never been a fan of turn-based combat, but they done pulled it off quite well. A throwback to isometric RPGs but with aOh such a sweet couch Co-Op game, with a fun playful story that doesn't take itself too seriously but begs to be completed. A game bursting with fun little details that shows the attention to detail and love of a thoroughly competent team; no shortage of easter eggs here. Never been a fan of turn-based combat, but they done pulled it off quite well. A throwback to isometric RPGs but with a Diablo 3-like graphics and a refined combat system. For RPG fans hankering for loot and level-ups, and a wonderful quirkiness you'll fall in love with; grab a remote and a buddy and get ready to sink 100 hours into this gem, you'll be glad you did. Expand
  40. Oct 25, 2017
    9
    This is a very good game that thankfully doesn't hold your hand at all. It is filled with player choice and the game requires you to use your brain and not your reflexes which is how almost every other RPG is. It is filled with exploration, wonder and a great combat system.
  41. Jan 31, 2018
    10
    DIVINITY: ORIGINAL SIN ENHANCED EDITION one of the best ps4 rpg and one of the best of all time. Unique, pretentious and fun battle system. Great RPG!
  42. Apr 7, 2018
    8
    This is my first time playing DOS. I played on Tactical mode because I have been playing many turn-based games including XCOM so I think I could take up the challenge.

    The combat mechanic is brilliant designed. I felt in love fast once I set foot out of city. The Tactical difficulty is merciless and sometimes felt nasty but I still managed. However, once I passed the first area, it
    This is my first time playing DOS. I played on Tactical mode because I have been playing many turn-based games including XCOM so I think I could take up the challenge.

    The combat mechanic is brilliant designed. I felt in love fast once I set foot out of city. The Tactical difficulty is merciless and sometimes felt nasty but I still managed. However, once I passed the first area, it became easier and easier. On last area, I mostly won the battle flawlessly in 2-3 turns so it disappointed me a bit. (Except for the final battle though, it was good)

    The story only interested me at first area but then it kinda got boring in area 2-3. Compared with other rpg games I have played, the story in DOS:EE is average at best. If it is not because of awesome combat, I would have quit half way.

    On the bad parts though, I think Devs added too many traps. Some puzzles also annoying and take too much time to solve. It slows the game down. I like combat, but not puzzle and traps. One wrong step, your whole team dies, not fun in my opinion. Inventory management is also sluggish. The way you run in the town take too much time. I hope we could run faster outside combat. Voice acting is great though, but most of dialogs are very long, so I usually just read, rather than listen.

    In sum, I would give 8/10 as a solid score for DOS:EE. I think spent 80-100 hrs to the game , sometimes love, sometimes feel annoyed due to traps. This is clearly not a game for everyone but RPG hardcore turn-based gamers. I will look forward to DOS2 when it comes to console.
    Expand
  43. Mar 16, 2019
    9
    This is a great example of a deep, complex, strategic game with longevity than actually makes you think rather than just run around hitting or shooting stuff. The combat system is really fun, and so variable as to how you take each battle on and the how you develop your characters. Heaps of customisation in the way you do things and where you go in the game.

    The only criticism I have is
    This is a great example of a deep, complex, strategic game with longevity than actually makes you think rather than just run around hitting or shooting stuff. The combat system is really fun, and so variable as to how you take each battle on and the how you develop your characters. Heaps of customisation in the way you do things and where you go in the game.

    The only criticism I have is sometimes the game is a bit too difficult in trying to follow or figure out what to do next. You can really get lost without a guide to bring you back as if you miss one line or one character, you can be running around the map clueless. Some of the puzzles are really challenging too.
    Expand
  44. May 11, 2019
    10
    When Shang Tsung beat this game for the first time he said "flawless victory". Okay so it's not "flawless", but no game is. I wish the game were more difficult, but it is actually very difficult until you get to mid game, at which point it becomes only slightly difficult. That's about all I can say bad about it. The game sure is a unique experience and playing this game co op with myWhen Shang Tsung beat this game for the first time he said "flawless victory". Okay so it's not "flawless", but no game is. I wish the game were more difficult, but it is actually very difficult until you get to mid game, at which point it becomes only slightly difficult. That's about all I can say bad about it. The game sure is a unique experience and playing this game co op with my brother was probably the most fun and engaging co op experience either of us has ever had; we played the game through twice. Do yourself a big favor and don't read a gamefaqs while playing it. The game is full of a lot of fun and challenging surprises. Expand
  45. Jun 24, 2019
    10
    Awesome game! Incredible experience, one of the best rpg game that I ever played!
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 39
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 39
  3. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Jan 14, 2016
    92
    Brings the incredibly fun PC-style RPG experience to your console: co-op, physics, and bugs intact.
  2. CD-Action
    Jan 12, 2016
    90
    A real feast for RPG-loving console owners and one of the best games to play in co-op. [13/2015, p.47]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Dec 16, 2015
    80
    One of the most exciting PC RPGs of recent years effortlessly makes the transition to PlayStation without losing a drop of its tactical depth in the process. [Christmas 2015, p.82]