Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 8 out of 18
  1. Feb 9, 2017
    40
    Double Dragon IV sounds like a surefire winner on paper. Craft a sequel to one of the most beloved arcade games of all-time, keep it retro in spirit, profit. However, seeing as the game was announced and released in just over a month it feels like about that much effort went into crafting this game. Will we ever get a solid follow-up to one of the greatest arcade games of all-time? Things are not looking promising for Billy and Jimmy.
  2. Feb 9, 2017
    40
    Sadly, I would only recommend Double Dragon IV to you if you are a Double Dragon fanatic or very die hard beat ’em up fan, and if that’s the case, you probably already own it. It is fairly cheap, but even then, I have played much more enjoyable games for the same price.
  3. Feb 8, 2017
    40
    Double Dragon 4 plays the nostalgia card harder than most, but its narrow-sighted reliance on this has left it feeling like a relic that perhaps shouldn't have been disturbed. The combat can be simplistic fun but is ruined by cheap AI, and the trio of modes don't offer much to stick around for. The presentation is a cool look back at the 80s school of design, but once the novelty wears off, you're left with a frustrating beat-em-up that inadvertently highlights the leaps in gameplay, animation, and visuals that games have made over the last three decades.
  4. Double Dragon IV serves as an inelegant reminder that sometimes the past is better left in the past.
  5. Feb 1, 2017
    35
    I am certainly not immune to the charms of 80s and 90s game design, but the NES version of Double Dragon wasn’t a great example for Double Dragon 4 to follow. It’s not just that this simplistic beat-em-up formula didn’t age well graphically or mechanically, it’s that it simply isn’t very fun or engaging to play in 2017.
  6. 30
    Even for those looking for a nostalgic trip through time, you are just much better off playing the original game and avoiding the mess that is Double Dragon IV.
  7. 30
    A Double Dragon for the current generation could have been a great thing, but this semi-revisiting of the franchise's heyday falls way short of the mark.
  8. 30
    The ‘80s nostalgia is laid on so thick you could almost choke from it, in this joyless proof that too much nostalgia can be a bad thing.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 7, 2017
    Stripped of the context of time (the 1980s) and space (the amusement arcade, where every life has a financial cost attached), that spell has been severely weakened.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. Feb 7, 2017
    4
    Saying I had high hopes for this is an understatement. The NES series of Double Dragon games is like an old friend. Double Dragon II inSaying I had high hopes for this is an understatement. The NES series of Double Dragon games is like an old friend. Double Dragon II in particular remains one of my favorite games of all time. Seeing the familiar aesthetic in the preview screenshots filled me with an old sense of joy. Double Dragon II has returned!

    I was never particularly taken by the arcade series for a number of reasons. I always felt the controls were loose, the collision detection was inconsistent at best, and brutal at worst. The AI was cheap and reactive and combat felt "one-for-one". I knock you down. You get up and knock me down. Repeat.

    In contrast, Double Dragon II felt natural. The controls were tight. The enemies seemed to have distinct personalities (all 5 or 6 of them... this was NES after all.) Billy and Jimmy had a simplistic move set that was easy to get the hang of, but deadly when mastered. (Flying knee! KERPOW!)
    Combine this with memorable setpieces, an eerie atmosphere and combat that was just plain fun and you instantly have everything that Double Dragon IV is not.

    Sad, but true.

    Playing Double Dragon IV instantly evokes the frustration I felt playing the arcade versions of the game.
    Despite having a similar moveset (albeit with a few added extras) the brothers feel clumsy and lumbering.
    Enemies hover just outside the "hitbox" when you attack them and then manage to slip a few attacks between your flurry of punches. Hi Billy... this is floor. You'll be spending a lot of time together.
    The reactive AI from the arcades is in full force in this game. At one point I was surrounded by 7 enemies... who were standing dead still. Why were they doing this? They were watching me stand dead still. Tap the control two steps forward. Lo and behold, we all moved two steps together and then stopped dead. Two steps back? Guess what happened. It was like watching an 8-bit line dance where you knew as soon as someone throws a punch all hell was about to break loose. Eventually i did throw a punch which floated through the air like without connecting with so much as a pixel. What did connect was every single attack that was thrown my way. The line dance was over. Hmph. Everyone is a critic.

    After playing the game for 10 minutes I was already spamming the "rising" special attacks to clear through the enemies. In fact, this easiest way to play the game is to wait for an enemy to knock you over and then thin the crowd using a super uppercut or flying knee. Effective? Very. Fun? Not so much.

    Is it worth playing? Definitely, if you are a fan of the game.
    The retro aesthetic and feel is not the problem here. The mechanics feel broken. The storytelling is weak, and the memorable moments just aren't there.

    Now, if you'll excuse me, I think I'll fire up Double Dragon II and take my frustrations out on some goons who don't mind a fair fight!
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 20, 2017
    8
    Looks like crappy nes, port of Double Dragon. Sounds like nes, feels like NES, but...Plays better, has more moves, more animation, more sound,Looks like crappy nes, port of Double Dragon. Sounds like nes, feels like NES, but...Plays better, has more moves, more animation, more sound, more everything. This is exactly as advertised. Enjoyed it a TON. Video on my YouTube: PLAYwithGREGG Full Review »
  3. Feb 6, 2017
    10
    I read a bunch of reviews from many big gaming publications and it makes me wonder what's wrong with the management of those editorialI read a bunch of reviews from many big gaming publications and it makes me wonder what's wrong with the management of those editorial agencies. They are clearly assigning work the wrong people. If your reviewer only knows about NASCAR you don't make him review a Formula 1 game. Reviewers need basic understanding of what a product is and to what kind of audience is the product designed for. This game was clearly designed for people who wanted a trip to the 80s, The game meets those requirements perfectly. There are no errors in accomplishing that purpose. The game is exactly what fans of the series wanted and therefore it deserves the highest recognition. Full Review »