Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 18
  2. Negative: 8 out of 18
  1. Feb 20, 2017
    65
    Despite how fabulous the extra stuff is, though, Double Dragon IV just isn’t a good game. It is, however, a compelling and fascinating oddity. For franchise fans it’s a must-purchase, since it’s as much a historical trip as it is a new entry. While I can’t recommend it based on gameplay, the fact that it’s such a straight-faced resurrection of a long-dead style alone makes it worth a look.
  2. Feb 7, 2017
    60
    Double Dragon IV is a sequel that came about three decades too late. While it’s a great follow-up to the games from the 8-bit era, it also unintentionally shines a light on the shortcomings of the time—which only the most diehard of fans will be able to overlook.
  3. 60
    As a positive, cautious first step with a beloved series, Double Dragon IV provides an enjoyable combat experience. The chosen art style undermines the game’s quality somewhat and the retro principles can lead to moments of frustration but I think this is worth your time. It’s unrefined and lacks bravery but it’s not bad.
  4. Feb 2, 2017
    60
    Double Dragon IV feels like the developer Arc System Works discovered an unreleased old NES game and emulated it on PS4. Its graphics, sound, and gameplay are utterly authentic to the period. Unfortunately, so are its cheap shots and frustrating design elements. It's certainly a lot of fun to play for a while, but once its nostalgic novelty wears off, only hardcore retro fans will likely want to come back for more.
  5. Jan 31, 2017
    60
    Arc System Work's staunch dedication to the retro aesthetic for Double Dragon IV is admirable, but still falls short of the mark even when juxtaposed to several of the series' own entries. Punch and kicking dudes as Billy and Jimmy still works, but many elements of IV just feel a little too off-brand for my liking.
  6. Jan 29, 2017
    60
    Double Dragon IV has some nostalgia value for longstanding fans of the franchise or those that just want a glimpse of what brawlers looked like in times long gone, but it offers little in terms of compelling gameplay or interesting mechanics. I’m a big fan of seeing old series recapture glory, but in this case, Double Dragon is an experience better left in the past.
  7. Feb 2, 2017
    53
    Double Dragon IV is a return to the good old days of beat 'em ups that fans may enjoy but it's also a flawed experience that modern gamers will likely be baffled by. Although it's not as good as I was hoping, I'm glad to see Bimmy and Jimmy kicking ass in 2017.
  8. 50
    It does seem as though Arc System Works were relying entirely on the nostalgia to sell Double Dragon IV. And while it captures the essence of those original games it falls short of being a good game today simply because the original hasn’t aged well. It would have been pretty rockin' back in the 80s though.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 7, 2017
    Stripped of the context of time (the 1980s) and space (the amusement arcade, where every life has a financial cost attached), that spell has been severely weakened.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 8 out of 28
  1. Feb 7, 2017
    4
    Saying I had high hopes for this is an understatement. The NES series of Double Dragon games is like an old friend. Double Dragon II inSaying I had high hopes for this is an understatement. The NES series of Double Dragon games is like an old friend. Double Dragon II in particular remains one of my favorite games of all time. Seeing the familiar aesthetic in the preview screenshots filled me with an old sense of joy. Double Dragon II has returned!

    I was never particularly taken by the arcade series for a number of reasons. I always felt the controls were loose, the collision detection was inconsistent at best, and brutal at worst. The AI was cheap and reactive and combat felt "one-for-one". I knock you down. You get up and knock me down. Repeat.

    In contrast, Double Dragon II felt natural. The controls were tight. The enemies seemed to have distinct personalities (all 5 or 6 of them... this was NES after all.) Billy and Jimmy had a simplistic move set that was easy to get the hang of, but deadly when mastered. (Flying knee! KERPOW!)
    Combine this with memorable setpieces, an eerie atmosphere and combat that was just plain fun and you instantly have everything that Double Dragon IV is not.

    Sad, but true.

    Playing Double Dragon IV instantly evokes the frustration I felt playing the arcade versions of the game.
    Despite having a similar moveset (albeit with a few added extras) the brothers feel clumsy and lumbering.
    Enemies hover just outside the "hitbox" when you attack them and then manage to slip a few attacks between your flurry of punches. Hi Billy... this is floor. You'll be spending a lot of time together.
    The reactive AI from the arcades is in full force in this game. At one point I was surrounded by 7 enemies... who were standing dead still. Why were they doing this? They were watching me stand dead still. Tap the control two steps forward. Lo and behold, we all moved two steps together and then stopped dead. Two steps back? Guess what happened. It was like watching an 8-bit line dance where you knew as soon as someone throws a punch all hell was about to break loose. Eventually i did throw a punch which floated through the air like without connecting with so much as a pixel. What did connect was every single attack that was thrown my way. The line dance was over. Hmph. Everyone is a critic.

    After playing the game for 10 minutes I was already spamming the "rising" special attacks to clear through the enemies. In fact, this easiest way to play the game is to wait for an enemy to knock you over and then thin the crowd using a super uppercut or flying knee. Effective? Very. Fun? Not so much.

    Is it worth playing? Definitely, if you are a fan of the game.
    The retro aesthetic and feel is not the problem here. The mechanics feel broken. The storytelling is weak, and the memorable moments just aren't there.

    Now, if you'll excuse me, I think I'll fire up Double Dragon II and take my frustrations out on some goons who don't mind a fair fight!
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 20, 2017
    8
    Looks like crappy nes, port of Double Dragon. Sounds like nes, feels like NES, but...Plays better, has more moves, more animation, more sound,Looks like crappy nes, port of Double Dragon. Sounds like nes, feels like NES, but...Plays better, has more moves, more animation, more sound, more everything. This is exactly as advertised. Enjoyed it a TON. Video on my YouTube: PLAYwithGREGG Full Review »
  3. Feb 6, 2017
    10
    I read a bunch of reviews from many big gaming publications and it makes me wonder what's wrong with the management of those editorialI read a bunch of reviews from many big gaming publications and it makes me wonder what's wrong with the management of those editorial agencies. They are clearly assigning work the wrong people. If your reviewer only knows about NASCAR you don't make him review a Formula 1 game. Reviewers need basic understanding of what a product is and to what kind of audience is the product designed for. This game was clearly designed for people who wanted a trip to the 80s, The game meets those requirements perfectly. There are no errors in accomplishing that purpose. The game is exactly what fans of the series wanted and therefore it deserves the highest recognition. Full Review »