Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
Buy On
  1. May 12, 2015
    93
    Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster is already great way to play these classic RPGs on the PS3 and Vita, and the even prettier PlayStation 4 version comes with the visual improvements you’d expect for the new-generation platform.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 26, 2015
    90
    This is how you pay homage to the greats. Rediscover your gaming heritage. [July 2015, p83]
  3. May 22, 2015
    90
    The remakes of these two classic games were masterfully done. Square Enix is no stranger to remakes and upgrades but they have outdone themselves with this iteration of X / X-2. From the orchestrated score, to the increased polygon count and improved textures the game is atheistically better in every way. If you missed out on playing these games on the PS2 this new layer of polish on these classic gems will leave you unable to guess one is 14 years old this year.
  4. May 20, 2015
    90
    Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster for PS4 is the best version of the classic that you will find but the changes from the PS3 last year remaster are not enough to make us buy it again, despite the graphical improvements and the inclusion of the Uematsu original soundtrack.
  5. May 20, 2015
    90
    This new PS4 version of Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD is of course better than the PS Vita/PS3 remaster released last year, and FFX is still a great game any RPG fan should play. If you missed it, this is the perfect occasion.
  6. May 18, 2015
    90
    A year later, its still hard to say bad things about this compilation. Final Fantasy X is still one of the best installments in the franchise, and the fresh coat of paint is a delightful treat.
  7. May 18, 2015
    90
    Despite remastering a remaster, this game has a lot to offer, with two adventures that are still worth playing. Besides that, solves almost every problem on the original HD Remaster, making a perfect hit.
  8. May 15, 2015
    90
    Final Fantasy X/X-2 fans, rejoice! The game finally arrives on PS4, after being released on virtually any Sony platform. If you already played one of the previous versions, you won't find nothing new here but some technical improvements. But if that's not the case, go and grab a copy. Like, now.
  9. May 12, 2015
    90
    It's nice to see that Square Enix gives a decent treatment to its remastered games. This is not just a washed up version of the same game we saw last year. The development team got their hands dirty and reworked many of the flaws that the press saw on PlayStation 3.
  10. May 12, 2015
    90
    The best possible version of Final Fantasy X and one of the best remastered version of an old generation console game to date: Square Enix did an amazing job to take all Tidus and Yuna’s fans back to Spira.
  11. May 11, 2015
    90
    More than a decade has passed since we listen for first time those four words, "listen to my story". A lot has passed, an change in the RPG genre. But with these HD versions, one can travel through time and doesn't live the High Definition visual style at the same time. Final Fantasy X is still an astonishing role playing game, with a great battle system, dramatic story and iconic characters. FF X-2 maybe is a step down, or a change of direction, but it's still a great game since its battle system point and a curiosity that a true Final fan must try, at least once in a lifetime. The most complete versions of two examples of how high and great the Japan RPG was one, full of nostalgia in every polygon now in HD.
  12. May 18, 2015
    88
    If you haven’t gotten your hands on a copy of Final Fantasy X|X-2 HD Remaster yet and have a PS4, don’t hesitate on experiencing two classic games upgraded and fit for this day and age on Sony’s current-gen console.
  13. Aug 12, 2015
    87
    That's how remakes should be done. If you never played it before, even the price is right for more than 80 hours of playtime.
  14. Power Unlimited
    Jul 24, 2015
    87
    FFX is still one of the best oldschool JRPG’s ever made. If you haven’t play this one you should totally pick up this bundle. [Jul 2015, p.067]
  15. May 12, 2015
    87
    Another remaster, another good game.
  16. May 22, 2015
    85
    Amongst all the controversy on the possible oversaturation of HD remasters in the gaming industry, I feel this is one that deserved the treatment and more importantly, was executed competently.
  17. May 14, 2015
    85
    Final Fantasy X|X-2 HD Remaster for PS4 is, in general terms, the same game we already played last year on PS3 and PS Vita. It offers slightly better visuals. However, only those who haven't played the game in the last remaster have a true reason to play it.
  18. May 12, 2015
    85
    There’s little reason to purchase it again if you’ve already played it on PS3 or PS Vita, but if you haven’t, it is obviously the best way to enjoy this magic adventure.
  19. May 28, 2015
    84
    Still two great games, but the PS3 version is $30 cheaper.
  20. May 20, 2015
    83
    All in all, I still feel like this is a collection that’s worth checking out, provided you haven’t already blitzed through both games on PS3 or PS Vita. The upgrades are nice, but not so big as to warrant another purchase a year later.
  21. Jun 9, 2015
    80
    This edition for PS4 does justice to what has been Final Fantasy X, remembered by many as the last of the classic Final Fantasy. There aren't real reasons to think about an upgrade from the PS3 or PS Vita version, but this edition is undoubtedly the best among the three.
  22. Jun 1, 2015
    80
    Still excellent, still worthy of a purchase... if you haven't already bought the PS3/PS Vita release, that is.
  23. May 27, 2015
    80
    The Final Fantasy X and X-2 are looking better than ever in this HD Remaster. There are some signs of aging though, especially in the background and the animations. Still this game is worth buying if you see what you get for a small price.
  24. May 18, 2015
    80
    The graphic overhaul is indeed a good one here, so fans of the original chapters will be delighted.
  25. May 14, 2015
    80
    A great package. While not all of it will suit everyone’s taste, it is worth the price of admission for Final Fantasy X alone. However, if you already picked it up on Vita or PS3, the jump in visuals isn’t quite worth the gil.
  26. May 12, 2015
    80
    The collection represents a great opportunity to jump back to a time when Squaresoft was seemingly unconquerable, and if you're totally new to the franchise, it's difficult to think of a better starting point.
  27. Jun 27, 2015
    70
    While it's still an essential part of any JRPG fan's collection, we recommend grabbing it on PS3/Vita instead. [Issue#162, p.104]
  28. May 20, 2015
    70
    Whatever you think of the original games this is one of the best HD remakes ever, and a considerable improvement on the already excellent PlayStation 3 and Vita versions.
  29. May 12, 2015
    70
    There’s no denying the quality of FFX, as it’s often hailed by some as the last “good” JRPG Square Enix has made in the last 15 years, but there’s already a much cheaper, slightly blurrier version of this compilation out there on the PS3.
  30. Jun 4, 2015
    50
    We're expected to value high-definition treatment of pop video games, so the question of how Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remaster looks seems redundant. The real question involves whether Final Fantasy X and Final Fantasy X-2 deserve attention more than a decade after their release.
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 469 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 469
  1. May 12, 2015
    10
    For all the people complaining about a more expensive PS4 version when there already is a PS3 and Vita Remaster... Let me remind you that someFor all the people complaining about a more expensive PS4 version when there already is a PS3 and Vita Remaster... Let me remind you that some people (like me) don't have a PS3 or Vita, but we do have a PS4. So, I am more than happy that they released this on PS4. One of the best JRPGs of all time, plus its sequel, and the extra international version content. (Oh, and being able to switch between the new and original soundtrack is always a plus). 10/10 Full Review »
  2. May 12, 2015
    10
    This is a great way to play these classics again. I enjoyed playing over again as i did the first time. Great rpg!
    Also a great opportunity
    This is a great way to play these classics again. I enjoyed playing over again as i did the first time. Great rpg!
    Also a great opportunity to jump back and play this game which came out a decade ago if im correct.
    Definitely recommend in my opinion
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 20, 2015
    10
    The best JRPG ever made, in my opinion. The golden standard that others look up to, with the most fluid turn-based combat system in existence.The best JRPG ever made, in my opinion. The golden standard that others look up to, with the most fluid turn-based combat system in existence. Tons of content (easily over 100 hours worth, if not pushing close to 200 hours), a great story, and some great dialogue. The voice acting is good all-around, and the music is fantastic, scored by legendary composer Nobou Uematsu. Get this game. Full Review »