Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 27, 2019
    100
    This is the first time I have given a game 10/10. I said I never would give a game that score but I cannot find anything bad to say about Gris. Its near-perfect. Brilliant art style, beautiful music and brilliant gameplay. It all combines into a controllable watercolour of pure joy. Just go and play it now, I wish I could experience it again for the first time.
  2. Dec 11, 2019
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. 85
    What I expected from GRIS was a solid, beautiful, platformer that could occupy a few hours of my time. What I got from GRIS was quite close to that, but somehow more beautiful than I could have ever considered or expected. If you want to see just how artistic games can get, or if you’re like me and just need a few hours occupied by beauty and platforming, then it’s hard to go wrong with GRIS.
  4. 85
    Gris is a serene experience all its own, filled with problems to overcome and success to achieve. Gris is a wordless game dependent on your ability to surpass what it throws at you. Pacing aside, not much gets more beautiful than witnessing Gris in full motion.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 9, 2020
    80
    A beautiful puzzle platformer with a clear artistic and mechanical vision. However, its story holds you at arm’s length and makes it tricky to find its heart. [Issue@#171, p.96]
  6. Nov 29, 2019
    80
    Nomada Studio's picturesque adventure has made it to PlayStation 4 almost perfectly intact. The game shines at an unwavering 60 frames per second, and it looks superb on a standard console -- let alone PS4 Pro. We did notice some very occasional audio stuttering, however, which is a shame given the otherwise immaculate presentation. That aside, GRIS holds together as an attractive, if somewhat shallow, platformer that you'll want to hang on your wall.
  7. Nov 28, 2019
    70
    One of the best-looking games of the generation and an indie adventure with a serious but subtle message to tell… it’s just a shame it’s still not that much fun to play.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 130
  2. Negative: 10 out of 130
  1. Jun 21, 2020
    9
    Artistically this game was wonderful, I personally love the use of colour in games since its highly under used. The music hit me right at theArtistically this game was wonderful, I personally love the use of colour in games since its highly under used. The music hit me right at the best moments and at points I was wondering why exactly was I so sad watching this poor little character cry over a statue. It wasn't till near the end it clicked (and when I accidentally unlocked an achievement mentioning one of the stages of grief) that I realised really what this game was showing. Its a short but wonderful game and I think fans of other smaller games like Journey will like this as well. Full Review »
  2. Feb 4, 2020
    7
    This game is a metaphor. It's unclear through the actual game what it's a metaphor for, unless you complete various obscure optionalThis game is a metaphor. It's unclear through the actual game what it's a metaphor for, unless you complete various obscure optional challenges and get all the collectables.

    The highlight of the game is the gorgeous, hand-drawn graphics. The world is very pretty, and the cutscenes are reminiscent of indie animated films. It's entirely wordless except for the instructions of what button to press when you get a new ability (which happens only 3 times).

    As for gameplay, it's a puzzle-platformer. None of the platforming is at all challenging, and most of the puzzles are obvious on the face of them. One or two will require a bit of experimentation, but that's about it. There are also hidden collectibles, some of which are moderately challenging, but most of which just involve going the "wrong" way at a juncture. It's not at all obvious which way is right and which is wrong, so you're likely to miss several on your first playthrough. The controls are smooth, but with the game's plodding pace it hardly matters.

    If you want something pretty, slow-paced, and thought-provoking, you'll enjoy this. If you want something exciting or challenging, with a narrative story, you should pass.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 10, 2020
    0
    Beautiful, artistic, creative, gentle, relaxing. My only criticism is that there are some times where it's a little unclear at how to proceedBeautiful, artistic, creative, gentle, relaxing. My only criticism is that there are some times where it's a little unclear at how to proceed due to the level design. Overall, I enjoyed it very much. Full Review »