Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 27, 2019
    100
    This is the first time I have given a game 10/10. I said I never would give a game that score but I cannot find anything bad to say about Gris. Its near-perfect. Brilliant art style, beautiful music and brilliant gameplay. It all combines into a controllable watercolour of pure joy. Just go and play it now, I wish I could experience it again for the first time.
  2. Dec 11, 2019
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. 85
    What I expected from GRIS was a solid, beautiful, platformer that could occupy a few hours of my time. What I got from GRIS was quite close to that, but somehow more beautiful than I could have ever considered or expected. If you want to see just how artistic games can get, or if you’re like me and just need a few hours occupied by beauty and platforming, then it’s hard to go wrong with GRIS.
  4. 85
    Gris is a serene experience all its own, filled with problems to overcome and success to achieve. Gris is a wordless game dependent on your ability to surpass what it throws at you. Pacing aside, not much gets more beautiful than witnessing Gris in full motion.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 9, 2020
    80
    A beautiful puzzle platformer with a clear artistic and mechanical vision. However, its story holds you at arm’s length and makes it tricky to find its heart. [Issue@#171, p.96]
  6. Nov 29, 2019
    80
    Nomada Studio's picturesque adventure has made it to PlayStation 4 almost perfectly intact. The game shines at an unwavering 60 frames per second, and it looks superb on a standard console -- let alone PS4 Pro. We did notice some very occasional audio stuttering, however, which is a shame given the otherwise immaculate presentation. That aside, GRIS holds together as an attractive, if somewhat shallow, platformer that you'll want to hang on your wall.
  7. Nov 28, 2019
    70
    One of the best-looking games of the generation and an indie adventure with a serious but subtle message to tell… it’s just a shame it’s still not that much fun to play.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. Jan 12, 2020
    10
    Beautifully made, great score. Platform game, easy at times, some times the transitions are a bit long, but overall a superb game. I love theBeautifully made, great score. Platform game, easy at times, some times the transitions are a bit long, but overall a superb game. I love the fact that there are no instructions, what to do how to do it, so you have to solve the puzzle yourself. Great art, pity it is rather short. Full Review »
  2. Jan 11, 2020
    7
    Beautiful artstyle, melancholic lyrical story, touching music. The gameplay is rather basic, but still engaging through it's 3 hours of gameplay time.
  3. Jan 3, 2020
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Cup head frustratingly difficult at some points Cool idea though , make it playable !! Full Review »