User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 264 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 264
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 20, 2016
    8
    Folks, let's be honest - this game is scrappy. It's a scrappy game, that feels like if it were to have some more time to bake it could have been certified as special.
    Just to put fears to rest, the framerate is not as bad as some have reported. It feels mostly smooth-ish, clocking what feels like 25-30fps most of the time.
    But this has to be one of the best open world games I've played
    Folks, let's be honest - this game is scrappy. It's a scrappy game, that feels like if it were to have some more time to bake it could have been certified as special.
    Just to put fears to rest, the framerate is not as bad as some have reported. It feels mostly smooth-ish, clocking what feels like 25-30fps most of the time.
    But this has to be one of the best open world games I've played in a while. The level design is fantastic, truly. The Ai is actually pretty decent, I'm a stealthy player myself and the stealth is good. The gunplay feels good, and actually more realistic than most shooters. There's also a lot of variety to the gameplay, with the different districts, making tasks you completed before feel fresh! There are lots of tools available to the player to get creative and to overcome the odds. As the deck IS stacked against you.

    There's a lot of very cool things in this game. And frankly I've enjoyed it more than FARCRY4. Which I did enjoy.
    The game i feel was oddly trashed by the critics and it seems strange, as I've played worse that has been rated higher! Just goes to show, the critics ain't always right.
    It's certainly not as polished as it could be but I think they will mostly likely patch the game.

    One of the better games I've played in the last 12 months. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2016
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not sure why this got such bad reviews. I didn't play on day one but I don't see any issues and its actually a very fun game to play. There are a lot of games out there that deserve a worse rating than this. It has a unique style of going from open warfare in the red zone to uprising citizens to rebel. Expand
  3. May 20, 2016
    9
    I found this game pretty good actually. I love the atmosphere and there are some nice ideas. It's a good melting between Dying Light and Far Cry with a lot of exploration on a huge map. The problem is that the game is technically a real mess. Really poor framerate (on PS4), frame pacing, tearing and freezes while auto-saving, add a lots of little glitches and yes, it just looks like anI found this game pretty good actually. I love the atmosphere and there are some nice ideas. It's a good melting between Dying Light and Far Cry with a lot of exploration on a huge map. The problem is that the game is technically a real mess. Really poor framerate (on PS4), frame pacing, tearing and freezes while auto-saving, add a lots of little glitches and yes, it just looks like an Alpha version.

    Anyway, after few patches to correct all those issues, it would be a must that will easily worth 8/10. For the moment, you should avoid it...
    Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2016
    8
    This is my second review for this game. I initially gave it a 4 because of the god-awful performance issues. I thought they would never be fixed. Well, 4 months and numerous patches later, I have to say that the game FINALLY runs at 30FPS. I always knew there was a decent game underneath all the technical issues. The game is like Far Cry 3 Urban Edition. The environments are not thatThis is my second review for this game. I initially gave it a 4 because of the god-awful performance issues. I thought they would never be fixed. Well, 4 months and numerous patches later, I have to say that the game FINALLY runs at 30FPS. I always knew there was a decent game underneath all the technical issues. The game is like Far Cry 3 Urban Edition. The environments are not that colorful, but there is a ton of stuff to do. Finding some of the radios/generators/supply packs can be annoying because they are hidden on 2nd or 3rd floors of buildings, however, there are some cool tools at your disposal like an RC car with explosives attached. The gunplay feels pretty good now and you can really feel the difference when you upgrade your weapons. Hey, the game is 10 bucks now (through GameFly) and I am enjoying my time with it. Side note to developers: Stop releasing your games in broken condition - it KILLS your review score which ultimately KILLS your sales. I appreciate that the game was fixed, but it should have played like this from the beginning. Expand
  5. May 18, 2016
    8
    Homefront: The Revolution doesn't have the polish of most games released this year. It feels like far cry and Half-life had a baby. It feels a tad old school. I have to say that I love Uncharted 4, but as soon as this completed download on my PS4. I played it for hours. Not perfect, but so much fun. The A.I. could be better. It has some glitches for sure. But like I said it's addictive fun.
  6. May 17, 2016
    8
    I am honestly enjoying this game. I don't understand how people can give a game a 0. Yea its not great but its not bad. There are some technical bugs that I am sure will be fixed up in updates. Graphics are about as good as most late previous gen games. the sound is effects are good. Gameplay is fun. Your character seems to move slow but once you buy the proper gear it improves greatly.I am honestly enjoying this game. I don't understand how people can give a game a 0. Yea its not great but its not bad. There are some technical bugs that I am sure will be fixed up in updates. Graphics are about as good as most late previous gen games. the sound is effects are good. Gameplay is fun. Your character seems to move slow but once you buy the proper gear it improves greatly. the fact that you can change your weapon attachments during a firefight is pretty cool. The story is mediocre but its not horrible. The Co-Op multiplayer is surprisingly very fun. The multiplayer has a lot to unlock and will provide any player with hours of gameplay. I honestly would give this game a 7-7.5 but I am giving it more because I feel the 0 ratings are from people who played the opening and stopped there. most of the 0 ratings showed up not too long after the games release and there is no way that they gave it the time to rate it fairly. Expand
  7. May 17, 2016
    10
    I don't get all the negativity! Put on some decent headphones, then run around blasting some bad guys in a derelict city. Had no issues with frame rates, no AI glitches or ammo issues. The graphics are good, gun mods are awesome, job done. Not a 10, but need to balance out these keyboard warriors giving it a zero which is completely absurd
  8. Jul 16, 2016
    9
    The hate is overpowered
    Yes, this game is not super duper aaa project, but the concept wigh Norh Korea is nice
    And the weapons are much more realistic than bo3
    You can grab your copy at sale and it will be good addition to your collection
  9. Aug 3, 2016
    9
    Good game not sure why all the hate. If you enjoy games like far cry or open world FPS then this game is for you. The main bugs have been patched and the graphics are decent. For $30 its a steal!!!
  10. May 23, 2016
    10
    I don't know why people gave this such a bad score.
    The game has some flaws but what game doesn't.
    I really like this game and there is a lot of diversity. I have to say also a lot of the same things but it is a good mix of both. Because of all the bad ratings i will give this a 10 out of 10 because i don't think this is a bad game. People are too spoiled these days that they don't know
    I don't know why people gave this such a bad score.
    The game has some flaws but what game doesn't.
    I really like this game and there is a lot of diversity. I have to say also a lot of the same things but it is a good mix of both.
    Because of all the bad ratings i will give this a 10 out of 10 because i don't think this is a bad game. People are too spoiled these days that they don't know what is good anymore.
    Expand
  11. Jul 26, 2016
    10
    This game is amazing. I do not know why it is rated so low. Maybe it is for political reasons. But the gameplay, story, and graphics are top of the notch. This game should be a 9.7 out of 10. I do not know what these critics are on. But maybe they need to go play a racing game and quit rating this game so low.
  12. Dec 29, 2016
    8
    There is a lot of hate based on technical issues that are by now fixed! So don't pay much attention to that. As of now, Dec 2016, the game is pretty stable, I downloaded the patch and turned on the Temporal Anti Aliasing option and works like a charm. At the beginning I was getting frustrated as the game is pretty hard (I am a casual gamer playing it on Hardened difficulty, which seems toThere is a lot of hate based on technical issues that are by now fixed! So don't pay much attention to that. As of now, Dec 2016, the game is pretty stable, I downloaded the patch and turned on the Temporal Anti Aliasing option and works like a charm. At the beginning I was getting frustrated as the game is pretty hard (I am a casual gamer playing it on Hardened difficulty, which seems to be the equivalent to "Normal"). However it is a matter of strategy. Going in guns blazing didn't do it for me, but then I started to recruit people and use them as cannon fodder, so that I can strategically get to my objective and is working great, I am enjoying that type of gameplay. Some people just want the typical FPS and when they get frustrated, they just give a super low score, they don't use the score appropriately, for them it is either 10 or 0. If you like what you read, you should give it a try, and now that its price is super low, you can get it as a bargain, Expand
  13. May 19, 2016
    8
    This is an excellent game marred by sub par execution when it comes to the technical aspects (framerate, auto-saving). The setting is one that's exciting to explore, the world is massive, there's a lot of things to do, and it's just a lot of fun. If you can look past the flaws that are here, this game deserves a look. This game is in no ways a "disaster" or anything close to that. It's anThis is an excellent game marred by sub par execution when it comes to the technical aspects (framerate, auto-saving). The setting is one that's exciting to explore, the world is massive, there's a lot of things to do, and it's just a lot of fun. If you can look past the flaws that are here, this game deserves a look. This game is in no ways a "disaster" or anything close to that. It's an ambitious but technically flawed game. Expand
  14. Aug 1, 2016
    9
    This game is so underrated , yes there were issues on launch and now it seems a lot of people have written this game off . I think they are missing out. The issues have now been resolved through patches and I am really enjoying playing it . The gunplay is really good and desperate feeling and requires some strategy such as flanking , recruiting and preparation. The setting is awesome, bitThis game is so underrated , yes there were issues on launch and now it seems a lot of people have written this game off . I think they are missing out. The issues have now been resolved through patches and I am really enjoying playing it . The gunplay is really good and desperate feeling and requires some strategy such as flanking , recruiting and preparation. The setting is awesome, bit like red dawn where society starts fighting back and the game world changes as the story progresses. The developers have captured it perfectly. I have been playing for about 20 hrs and haven't experienced any real problems except for a tiny bit of pop in after a loading screen which doesn't really bother me. If people like stealth/action games they will like this. Reminds me a lot of far cry / metro / and dying light which are all great games. Again yes it HAD problems but **** happens , that's what patches are for .The developers are always working to improve. This is a great game and if it was reviewed again I know it would get a fairer score. Must buy and experience. Expand
  15. May 18, 2016
    10
    This game is awsome i dont know what reviewers think,the game have a good graphics also shooter system is very near to the reality and gamespace make gamers to feel to be a partian or militia and i allways like it
  16. Jun 9, 2016
    10
    This game have what Call of Duty Deserves, so in that case.
    I think that these people should did something like that with games like Battlefront, Overwatch, and Loads of CODs.
  17. Mar 10, 2018
    8
    Picked this up during a PSN super sale early 2018. Didn't love it at first, but gave it a chance and now can't put down the controller. Yes it's not perfect, but if you look you can find issues with any game. I actually really enjoyed the story, and the gameplay - you cannot run and gun, you have to gun and run... take out a key enemy (a heavy, an armored car) and run like hell or you willPicked this up during a PSN super sale early 2018. Didn't love it at first, but gave it a chance and now can't put down the controller. Yes it's not perfect, but if you look you can find issues with any game. I actually really enjoyed the story, and the gameplay - you cannot run and gun, you have to gun and run... take out a key enemy (a heavy, an armored car) and run like hell or you will be overwhelmed with reinforcements. And I really enjoyed taking out all the strategic locations before hitting the story missions...reminded me of taking over gang territories in GTA San Andreas. So if you see this on sale, pick it up and fire it up with an open mind. Expand
  18. May 30, 2017
    9
    All this hate for Dambuster and this game. Yes on launch this game It had many technical problems but with time have been resolved , and now this game is a great OpenWorld FPS. If you like the FarCry series you will definitely enjoy this game too.
    Ps and the graphics are gorgeous, being a cryengine game.
  19. Nov 19, 2017
    10
    This game is a solid 7 out of 10 all the hate was on a shabby launch if you like far cry games you will like this and its so cheap now just buy it already
  20. May 21, 2017
    9
    Maybe the thecnichal problems in the beginning was a realy big problem,the only thing to understand the very negative reviews,10 hours of this game,until now is very underrated,great graphics,good graphics perfomancvery good ambience sound,nice history,adictive gameplay,but is hard,good mechanics,and dana moore,good character,etc...buy this game if you like a difrent type of fps.
  21. Dec 29, 2017
    10
    I'll admit it, at launch this game was rough. So rough in fact that I returned it. A year later I pick it up on sale on the Microsoft store and WOW what a difference. This game has been patched to significant progress. Frame rate is stable except for a few seconds when saving. The gunplay is FANTASTIC and feels really good and the enemey reacts in movement as to where they've been shot.I'll admit it, at launch this game was rough. So rough in fact that I returned it. A year later I pick it up on sale on the Microsoft store and WOW what a difference. This game has been patched to significant progress. Frame rate is stable except for a few seconds when saving. The gunplay is FANTASTIC and feels really good and the enemey reacts in movement as to where they've been shot. The developers really show an appreciation to this game and with it no longer being full price and including all DLC this is a MUST BUY. Expand
  22. Sep 22, 2017
    10
    I have just finished this game on my PS4 Pro. I didn't meet a single issue and really enjoyed the story plot. The game is good in every aspect. Not that easy and is politically intolerant. All those critics with negative scores on the left side have been certainly paid by Korean People's Army.
  23. Aug 3, 2018
    8
    I know this game had alot of issues at launch but it seems to me those issues have been fixed and Im glad to say its a good,fun game. I just bought it from the PS4 store for $12 and it came with all the DLC. Few games catch my attention and get me to play hours on end,this game has done that. If your looking for a solid game to get you through the end of summer drought,pick this up. ThereI know this game had alot of issues at launch but it seems to me those issues have been fixed and Im glad to say its a good,fun game. I just bought it from the PS4 store for $12 and it came with all the DLC. Few games catch my attention and get me to play hours on end,this game has done that. If your looking for a solid game to get you through the end of summer drought,pick this up. There are so many ways to play this game,im choosing stealth,so many gun customizations,so many gadgets,feels kinda Splinter Celly,for $12 you really cant lose and hey Im looking for CO OP players,"MrHayven" ps4 lets play. Expand
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 43
  2. Negative: 18 out of 43
  1. Games Master UK
    Jul 25, 2016
    69
    An interesting but underwhelming take on the open-world shooter - novel, but seriously janky. [July 2016, p.68]
  2. Edge Magazine
    Jul 24, 2016
    30
    A messy jumble of broken parts. [Aug 2016, p.112]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jul 6, 2016
    40
    Botched and broken, irritating and offensive, this samey, soulless sandbox fails to overthrow the old regime's ruling shooters. Good guns, mind. [July 2016, p.75]